HiMedia Q3II,Q5II,Q6II,Q10II, Q9... Android BOX, Best Android Smart TV BOX

bruce07
post Jul 24 2013, 10:15 AM

368 posts

please pm me best price for Q5 and Q10...

or can recommend me best media player for seniors to watch TVB HK dramas, taiwan shows, stream from other laptops via wifi...

thanks...
bruce07
post Feb 25 2014, 03:50 PM

368 posts

can someone guide me how to access my laptop movies from himedia q5II??? and also where to download the latest Himedia firmware????

can't read chinese well... T.T

bruce07
post Feb 25 2014, 10:34 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 25 2014, 05:47 PM)
me either but manage to do some translate.. name me ur model emmc or non emmc?

for laptop u can find out how to share over network as samba... i remember u need to share to everyone..
then from himedia u got to samba then u will see your folder there and put in ur credential if required.. voila.. u get ur shared folder there..

so far using wifi i can work up to 720p smooth.. 1080p lag at starting and sometime in between the run...
mine is the non-emmc model... i tried the NFS Server but can't get Himedia to detect my shared folder...

thanks in advance for your guidance ^^
bruce07
post Feb 26 2014, 09:19 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 26 2014, 08:57 AM)
bro try the samba option from here
as for the update you can reach here..
http://pan.baidu.com/s/1jGFkHqY#dir/path=%...9E%9C%E5%97%A8Q

look for QII file without emmc.
I think that will bring u to 1.0.5 which integrated with mangoTV

Your interface will be changed to something like attached.

You will lose application like PlayStore so if you highly rely on PlayStore its recommended not to upgrade to 1.0.5
thanks for the great tip... n the warning for the missing Playstore after upgrade... i guess for now i won't update it since i do use Playstore.. ^^
bruce07
post Feb 26 2014, 10:39 AM

368 posts

did more research on SMB and NFS... it seems that SMB is more for SD quality media, it is recommended to use NFS for HD quality media.

source: http://www.mpcclub.com/temp/MPC_SMB_and_NFS_Guide_PCH.pdf
bruce07
post Mar 4 2014, 10:40 AM

368 posts

finally got my Himedia (downstairs) work with NFS happy.gif streaming from my external hdd connecting to my laptop (upstairs).

but question is howcome Himedia does not show folders that are written in Chinese???? i can't view the bunch of Stephen Chow's movies which are all written in Chinese. Is there an additional plugin????
bruce07
post Mar 5 2014, 10:35 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(jeffkoo84 @ Mar 4 2014, 04:18 PM)
I'm new in Smart TV Box and considering buying one.
But can you tell me what the main point is for buying a TV box rather than using a laptop to connect to your TV via HDMI? What can I get extra? It could be a stupid question but I really wanna know. smile.gif
the TV box is not only for connecting to laptop or external HDD... it can access to movies from xbmc, pps, pptv, etc and show it to your TV while you can still use your laptop for surfing FB or something...

but for me the important thing is i'm lazy to always connect and disconnect my external HDD (upstairs) to my TVBox (downstairs) ^^

This post has been edited by bruce07: Mar 5 2014, 10:36 AM
bruce07
post Mar 6 2014, 10:21 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 6 2014, 08:57 AM)
who want subscription ?

IPTV ( China, HongKong, Taiwan Channel)
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10146363/iptv.apk

after install ,  go other -> register new account
is this pay per view????
bruce07
post Mar 7 2014, 07:25 PM

368 posts

Guys need help. Why does my.himedia q5ii lags a bit while watching icefilm 720p?

Already tried the advancedsetting method. Still lags a bit like while its panning the screen like can't keep up during slight fast movement

This post has been edited by bruce07: Mar 7 2014, 07:48 PM
bruce07
post Mar 25 2014, 11:37 PM

368 posts

hi guys... my bro upgrade the q5 ii to 1.0.6 via the system settings and I found that alot of things are missing... anyone can help to advise me where to get back the 1.0.4 firmware or where to download add-ons like google playstore, etc
bruce07
post Mar 31 2014, 10:14 AM

368 posts

hi sifusss,

I'm facing a major problem with xbmc. First of all, I have a Himedia q5 ii with updated firmware of 1.0.6 chinese version.

After re-installing the xbmc 12.3 Frodo and setting up add-ons (Icefilms & Mashup), everytime when I play a movie xbmc exits regularly at approximately 20mins. What is wrong?

And also playing 720p movies is lagging even with a 5MB Unifi service.

Please advise.
bruce07
post Mar 31 2014, 10:44 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 31 2014, 10:38 AM)
i suspect u went thru the same thing like me - the q5ii non-emmc auto online updated to 1.0.6 chinese.
with that, u lose playstore. xbmc is untouched so yr old problem of crashing and lagging remain.

u need to wait for 1.0.6 non-emmc english, update via usb to correct things. not available yet. this version (judging from 1.0.6 emmc eng that i have in another unit) is good. playstore is there, u tube works, mangotv-hitv all there. this version will erase yr old xbmc 12.3 and install 12.2 tailored to the machine, something to do with decoding method, i read. this version works much better. try it when it is available. only thing in this 1.0.6 eng is it will screwup yr launcher/homepage, u can't find certain apps, need to do something extra like a second launcher to see all yr apps.

meanwhile, you can try the advancedsetting.xml method, described in my post 326. i had used that in 1.0.5 on xbmc 12.3, good improvement.

5mbps... i do not know how this is differ from 10mbps for q5ii.
anyone with more pls share, correct me if any error. i sense there is confusion and frustration now with 1.0.6-china-english and xbmc performance.
thanks so much for the detailed explanation... will try the advancedsetting method... hope the 1.0.6 eng version for non-emmc comes out quick...

additional to that dunno why after upgrade the HiTV, MangoTV all lags alot... even at 720p.. only some shows on SD will play smoothly... seems like the upgrade is NOT really an upgrade @.@
bruce07
post Mar 31 2014, 01:57 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 31 2014, 12:52 PM)
these are china stuff. they work very well in local china but subject to all kinds of stops and jams outside china.
5mbps isn't 5mbps when u try to access those sites. u can tell from the display that if speed is <100kbps, it wun work.
it needs 200-300kbps. same thing if u r using cloudtv.

suggest u try everything you can in mango and hitv. 1/3 work well, 1/3 dun work, 1/3 work sometimes! tongue.gif
for me, i only go to the 1/3 that works well, incl hd. altogether, it's enough.

lastly, i think 5mbps unifi does not work as well as 10mbps which is not perfect either.
10mbps, i have tried 2 units at same time in mango or hitv, little difference compared to one unit in operation.

like i said many times, i wait for the arrival of a plug n play machine that streams everything chinese and english hd all the time. i'll be happy to pay 1k for it. biggrin.gif
isn't there any way to fool the IP address or something.. kekeke.. seems like now this TVbox is not up to my expectations d....

bruce07
post Mar 31 2014, 02:42 PM

368 posts

ohhh yeah... where to get cloudTV??? after the upgrade it seems that there is no more cloudTV available...
bruce07
post Apr 7 2014, 11:54 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 26 2014, 02:09 AM)
good news for qe5ii owners finding lagging in xbmc 720p/1080p streaming. biggrin.gif

one way (not sure if it is the only way) is to overwrite a file to change the cache size so that a bigger buffer is used.

very impt, first read and do what this page says:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-T...the_video_cache
save the file named advancedsettings.xml described in the article on a usb drive (sd1), plug into machine.
using es file explorer, find this file:
/sdcard/Android/data/org.xbmc.xbmc/files/.xbmc/userdata
copy the xml file onto it; u will be asked to overwrite existing file, ok.

the xml file is this:

<advancedsettings>
  <network>
    <cachemembuffersize>104857600</cachemembuffersize>
  </network>
</advancedsettings>
i can't seem to find the path after upgrade to 1.0.6 non-emmc version.. please help...

bruce07
post Apr 7 2014, 02:00 PM

368 posts

thanks a million... now just need to know where to get esexplorer apk...
bruce07
post Apr 8 2014, 10:12 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 7 2014, 02:41 PM)
sorry, it called es file explorer.
ok manage to get the apk and set the advancedsettings.xml accordingly ( used the 2nd version). it shows improvement when watching HD, however when there are fast scenes like fighting of fast cars it still tends to lag alittle but the major problem is that whenever scenes like that occurs, the sound is not in sync with the picture (sound is faster than picture).

Was wondering would it be because of hardware or Unifi (5mbps) line....
bruce07
post Apr 8 2014, 10:20 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 8 2014, 10:18 AM)
yep, that happens with some 1080. even with 10mbps speed.

does not happen with 720 and lower.

try tweaking xbmc video/audio settings.

or press pause for a few second, then resume play.
u can also try the first advancedsetting.xml which increase cache size by 5 times.

nice to know u got it! biggrin.gif
alright, will try increase cachebuffer...

thanks a million ^^
bruce07
post Apr 9 2014, 09:59 AM

368 posts

oohhhh no... i've tried to increase the cachebuffer by 5 times den every 20 minutes it crashes... revert back to the origirnal version 2 xml file..still the same thing... tried uninstalling and reinstall and use back the version 2 xml file... still the same...

what is happening???? @.@
bruce07
post Apr 9 2014, 10:52 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 9 2014, 10:22 AM)
the 2nd advancedsetting has cache 5242880 originally.
on my unit, i actually changed that to 104857600, 20 times.
(if u have noticed, in mashup-hackermils, there is an option to increase the buffer too - it increases 5242880 by 4 times.)
result is not interesting - no change in terms of some 1080 stuttering, but is stable like original.
which probably means the buffer size is not critical or limit reached in this case when some other restrictions have been taken care of.
104857600 is an example given in the xbmcwiki page which increases buffer to 100mb, will use 300mb live memory, shud be ok.

no need to remove and reinstall xbmc 12.3. just copy and paste/overwrite the xml onto right folder.
also, go to settings, apps, xbmc and clear cache - this may help.

if u experience crashing again, it may be due to something else. could be yr broadband speed unstable or unusually weak at that time.
in my experience, xbmc crashing is common when broadband speed becomes unstable or goes to a low intermittently.
ohhhh did not know that internet speed will cause xbmc to crash... thought is the advancedsettings.xml that is the root cause... will try to restart Unifi and see how it goes... thanks again...

0.0335sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:25 PM