HiMedia Q3II,Q5II,Q6II,Q10II, Q9... Android BOX, Best Android Smart TV BOX

WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2013, 04:34 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I tried to play fullhd movie using xbmc and i find it to be very lag. Anyone face this issue? I have the Q5II. But if I use back the normal way, then its all fine and smooth.
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 27 2013, 01:38 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 27 2013, 12:23 AM)
you mean streaming hd movies with xbmc vs playback of media files?

i dun think the issue is with the q5ii.

streaming smoothness depends on the speed you have, the integrity of the sites you access, the infra traffic, etc.
i get it smooth with some, jerky with others.
mashup is usually fine, 1channel and icefilms less so.

paid channels usually are good, free ones - anything goes...

playback - all is good, like any other media player.
nope. its playback from local media via wireless connection. using the built it browser it works ok, but on xbc lag. normal non hd video is ok.

what should i do? is it some setting in xbmc i set wrongly? or maybe the firmware version is old?
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 27 2013, 02:12 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 27 2013, 01:55 PM)
i c...

but why wud u want to playback via xbmc and not file manager direct?

about xbmc, i was trying to tweak the settings to improve the 720p streaming but then realised the settings were for playback. u may want to try tweaking a bit and c how...

go: system-settings-video.... there are things like refresh rate, sync, etc there to play with. let us know if it helps.
coz i wan to use the xbmc feature to pull down movie/tv info for that file..

do you what is the latest english firmware version for Q5II ?

Mine is show in setting as xxx1.0.3xxxx
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 28 2013, 12:40 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 27 2013, 05:19 PM)
u must hv missed this, posted a week ago in this thread by ccs:
Thanks. Is there instructions on how to flash this firmware?
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 28 2013, 11:29 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I put the latest firmware in a usb drive, go to settings and under system upgrade i click and get the message "no upgrade package" wtf doh.gif

i try to put under C directory, same thing happened.

i open the zip file and look at the build prop it has a slightly newer version then show on the Q5II

I wonder will it make a diff between eng n chinese firmware.. can they be flash between each other.
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 28 2013, 11:37 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Balls... so annoying. Finally found out why it doesnt want to upgrade. It is looking for a file name exactly as follows :

update_dualcore_Q5.zip

The downloaded file is name "update_dualcore_Q5_en.zip" doh.gif

Updating now. It might be a good idea to put a notis info regarding this at front page.
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 30 2013, 01:44 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I realize something.

Chinese language firmware version : HMD-1.0.3 2013-10-23.192033

English language firmware version : HMD-1.0.3 2013-10-24.100314

Any they both have totally different GUI...
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 30 2013, 01:46 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Full HD XBMC support on Himedia Q5II.. unknown firmware.
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 1 2013, 01:08 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 30 2013, 01:29 PM)
thanks for ccomments.

i hv played with all kinds of setting combinations with my tv, acryan, bd player and himedia.

tv is a sharp 42" lcd, capable of 1080p 24hz.

on acryan and bdp, 1080p 24hz makes no diff compared to 1080p 60hz - to my eyes.
trouble is everytime the xx hz changes with a diff file, the display (correctly) will be flashed, screen goes black for a second or 2 - i find this irritating.
so, i usually set all players 1080p 60hz, turn off the 24hz option. perhaps video quality diff notiecable only on larger tvs?

himedia q5ii does not have a setting for 24hz, so the tv with this machine is always on 1080p 60hz.
my original question remains: anyone able to watch all 720 and 1080 material smoothly with q5ii streaming, no jerks? am i missing some setting or 10mbps unifi lan too slow or something else?? tq for any comment.
When you play via online stream, is the interface of the player looks different?
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 2 2013, 07:17 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Dec 2 2013, 11:38 AM)
just bought himedia q5 ii yesterday and installed xbmc..

but all my hd mkv file stutters when i play it via xbmc..how do i resolve this problem?
xbmc 12.2 has no hardware video acceleration for our q5II.

this is suppose to be fixed in gotham with libstagefright

solution is use external player. but this is a hit and miss also..

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Dec 2 2013, 07:18 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 4 2013, 09:49 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ameeyn @ Dec 3 2013, 08:39 PM)
looks like xbmc version firmware will be released in mid december

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=641143532595012
what is Q5-II eMMC??

He made a custom firmware?
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 4 2013, 10:12 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Abit of digging and I found this :

http://ka8.hk/shoprm.asp?action=show&id=99&class=1

Seems there is another version of the Q series which has a higher spec GPU, use a newer chipset and using eMMC instead of NAND.

The firmware definitely cannot go into our lower end Q5II
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 4 2013, 12:24 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ccs221 @ Dec 4 2013, 12:11 PM)
q5ii n q5ii emmc diffierent is just change nand flash to eMMC flash, eMMC version boot time n R/W speed will be faster, but CUP still is dual core..

Dec batch stock for Q3II, Q5II, Q6II all will change to eMMC version, the firmware is different de between q5ii n q5ii eMMC de
sad.gif It also has a Mali 400 Quad core vs the normal Q5II is only Mali 500 dual core

eMMC version also is upgrade to Hi3718 chipset. The old one is using Hi3716CV200ES

Boot up is now 25sec vs 50 sec
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 5 2013, 09:22 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

/system/app
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 5 2013, 11:24 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

u cant use file manager

file manager lowest directory u can go is /mnt/flash or /mnt/sdcard (both are the same folder)

you need to install ES File Explorer which can bring you to the root (/ directory)

only from there you can go to /system/app
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 10 2013, 04:09 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(jimliew @ Dec 10 2013, 03:26 PM)
What is the difference if install the Enlgish firrmware?

And I have Q10 unable to install XBMC error "...incompatible with your device". I downloaded the ARM version.
diff GUI

but for me the biggest diff for china firmware, you have the option to set an app to boot at launch. its an option that is not available for english firmware (afaik). this is important for me as I want to launch xbmc at start of the device automatically.

you need to go xbmc.org and download the android version of the xbmc. but currently to play 720p & 1080p vid u need external media player. default xbmc player cannot support video hardware acceleration.

this should be fixed by the next xbmc release, but god knows when that will be. I download the latest xbmc 13 alpha10. fixed most of the bug but introduce new one... always crash & still buggy...

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Dec 10 2013, 04:12 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 21 2013, 03:09 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

For those that are not aware, there is a new firmware for q5 II. Firmware version is 1.0.4
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 23 2013, 11:58 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Coolrap @ Dec 23 2013, 09:40 AM)
Could u please provide the link for download?
Thanks!~
I use the online update function inside Android settings
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 24 2013, 01:44 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2013, 09:47 PM)
i m just getting it now, very slow.

one thing, before it started to dwnld, chinese instructions appeared alto everything I have is in eng.

will it all become chinese or stay eng when i confirm the upgrade?
Stay english
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 30 2013, 03:37 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

After using HiMedia Q5II just over a month, here is my review. Keep in my that my use case is limited to playback via Synology NAS and online streaming via XBMC

- Firmware 1.0.3, XBMC 12.2

Unstable playback using the default HiMedia player when I stream from my NAS. I experience an unacceptable level of crash when watching via NFS. When watching movies via Samba, the crash is lesser but still happening. The frequency is about once every 2 movies. Crashes are random. The OS will freeze and stop working. To recover I have to restart the HiMedia. I notice the issue is only when playing 1080 or 720 movies. File type is mkv.

Original XBMC 12.2 is also buggy. Native hardware video acceleration is unavailable for HiMedia. The work around is to use external player but 12.2 has a bug that make that not possible. But for my use case, I only stream tv shows in sd format which can be played by the default xbmc player with "no problem".

Depending on luck, XBMC 12.2 will sometimes crash and exit while playing. Quite annoying as you need to go back in and redo all over again to get back to the show I am watching. Also it will crash on a specific point in the show. I suspect its a quirk in the video that XBMC cannot handle. Changing source makes no diff as far as I can tell.

Another issue with XBMC is that after 2-3 show, the sound starts to crack. A restart of XBMC makes no different. I suspect its a HiMedia problem because after I restart HiMedia, its ok again. I also tested the speaker by restarting it just in case the issue is with the speakers, but its not.

- Firmware 1.0.4, XBMC 12.3

I didn't test with NFS yet. But with Samba, no crash so far.

XBMC 12.3 doesn't crash out of the app anymore. Instead it just return back to the source server list. Which is a much better type of crash imho. Haha. At least I don't need to dig thru all the menu over again. The frequency of crash is also slightly less. But the support for external player is stil not fixed. I guess I will need to wait for XBMC 13 for it.

The cracking sound from XBMC is almost gone. I heard it a few times here and there but its not as bad as it was before.

Root is broken when upgrading from 1.0.3 -> 1.0.4. I haven't try to re-root it again.

The interface seems to be slightly smoother now. Boot up is still slow as it was. Take about 1 min+

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Dec 30 2013, 03:37 PM

0.0220sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:52 PM