HiMedia Q3II,Q5II,Q6II,Q10II, Q9... Android BOX, Best Android Smart TV BOX

!gent's
post Feb 5 2014, 04:33 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(ccs221 @ Nov 19 2012, 01:42 AM)

Android Smart TV Players:

hi.... i thought the Q5-ii has built in with DTS/AC3 audio decoder?

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?&id=18922161573

8、芒果嗨Q(Q5II)不仅仅是一台网络机顶盒;普通网络机顶盒主要是为网络播放设计,本地播放非常差;但海美迪Q5II不仅网络播放强悍,本地高清解码更是超强,还支持DTS解码,也同时拥有音频同轴,光纤,可组建真正的家庭影院!而且Q5II更支持外接SATA口的硬盘,SATA几乎是发烧友必备的接口!所以对于发烧友来说,Q5II是他们的终极选择!

!gent's
post Feb 8 2014, 11:26 AM

147 posts

True... 2 GB is not enough sometimes...
But vendors always use this tactic. Later produce 8 GB Flash memories. Then 16, 32 GB... Like smart phone.
!gent's
post Feb 8 2014, 01:06 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 8 2014, 12:28 PM)
one way is to install es file explorer (file manager does not show all folders/files) from playstore. then manually remove certain files like those in backup if you have already saved them on external drive.

for q5ii, there is only 1gb but after all the sys apps, user apps, etc., it takes up 500mb or so - still ok with 50% capacity since i dun think i will need many more big apps.

it is always good to remove dormant apps via settings that one hardly use - some are 5mb, some are 20mb.
If we tamper the Linux os or the installer to allow user pick the destination path.... Point to sdcard1/external storage for instance... How nice.

I thought the 4 GB nand flash memory space came with 2 GB used for os, 2 GB free?
!gent's
post Feb 14 2014, 01:21 PM

147 posts

Xbmc has its own built-in video software player right? Thus we don't need to install bsplayer apk third party players?
!gent's
post Mar 2 2014, 10:55 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 24 2014, 01:44 PM)
Just bought the Q6II last nite. Can play MKV with DTS HD MA as well as dobly HD. No issue.

But fail at the DTS Wave files (DVD-Audio), which just generate noise.

Anyone else experince the same thing?
it happens to mine as well, with Q6ii emmc tvbox. while playing the xbmc's movies.. streaming (very annoying sound once the streaming buffered done)
!gent's
post Mar 2 2014, 10:57 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Feb 26 2014, 08:57 AM)
bro try the samba option from here
as for the update you can reach here..
http://pan.baidu.com/s/1jGFkHqY#dir/path=%...9E%9C%E5%97%A8Q

look for QII file without emmc.
I think that will bring u to 1.0.5 which integrated with mangoTV

Your interface will be changed to something like attached.

You will lose application like PlayStore so if you highly rely on PlayStore its recommended not to upgrade to 1.0.5
my Q6ii tvbox is using english firmware upgraded from within the tvbox on the air.
will it crash or not if overwrite with this baidu firmware version?
!gent's
post Mar 2 2014, 11:14 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 26 2014, 02:09 AM)
good news for qe5ii owners finding lagging in xbmc 720p/1080p streaming. biggrin.gif

one way (not sure if it is the only way) is to overwrite a file to change the cache size so that a bigger buffer is used.

very impt, first read and do what this page says:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-T...the_video_cache
save the file named advancedsettings.xml described in the article on a usb drive (sd1), plug into machine.
using es file explorer, find this file:
/sdcard/Android/data/org.xbmc.xbmc/files/.xbmc/userdata
copy the xml file onto it; u will be asked to overwrite existing file, ok.

the xml file is this:

<advancedsettings>
  <network>
    <cachemembuffersize>104857600</cachemembuffersize>
  </network>
</advancedsettings>

not sure if all default is the same but that new file modifies the cache size, increases it by 5 times. 100mb cache apparently requires 300mb ram which is ok for q5ii which has 1gb ram.

720p aac2.0 is now easy, 720p dd5.1 even dts 5.1 ok. 1080p dd5.1 seems to be a bit jerky still.

not responsible if the above will give you problems but it worked for me, so just sharing, ya? tongue.gif
another tip - the "grrrr" noise when streaming 720p/1080p... this seems to be the problem only with hdmi. if you connect the audio via coaxial/optical to avr, the audio is perfect - for both dolby and dts. thumbup.gif
thanks..may be i will try with this value, <cachemembuffersize>0, not sure if it meant for the tvbox built in 4GB flash memory? or the external HDD act as logical memory..?

<advancedsettings>
<network>
<buffermode>0</buffermode>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
</advancedsettings>

0.0262sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:51 PM