> How do Spectacle shop survive?

matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 02:26 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2012, 02:03 AM)
People normally change specs once a year some even more, sunglass maybe change even more.

But many times i see Spectacle shops opening in really remote place, or shopping center area where not many people passby, usually i see only the staff are in the shops, Spectacle shop is not like IT shop can focus on online sales and needs walk in business, so i'm wondering how these shops actually survive?

The profit margin may be high for the frame & lens but without sufficient sales still how they cover the rental, salaries & utility bills?

I'm talking about those smaller individual shops not big shops that open in prime locations like Paris Miki, Focus Point, England Optical.

I don't think people who launder money would bother opening spectacle shops so how they survive with such little customer flow?
working with mafia?

hell would i know...
the next thing is to ask ur business lecturer what is bargain and demand section
and dont sleep in a class pls..

matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 02:30 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2012, 02:27 AM)
if you don't know don't need to answer. thx.
dang one cant take critics ...

matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 02:37 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2012, 02:36 AM)
u wanna explain explain properly, dun simply say pple sleep in class. u think everybody study business, or have the chance to go to college meh?

supply demand, if the shop whole day only few people walk pass how they get good business? somemore secluded new shopping malls got old customers meh? just wondering cannot be money laundry coz laundry usually do those ah beng business one.
thats why, what u do when u got no customer? i dont take business..
but i always seen and follow business...

u got talent in business, why dont u do it?

matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 02:53 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2012, 02:51 AM)
matiko95 you need to stop posting before people start reporting you.

have a nice day 2".
no need to warn, just report me pls...
i told u what is important...

pls report me...
matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 02:57 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2012, 02:55 AM)
Good explanation but not quite the answer as i understand old shops and shops with good location usually no problem getting customers. But recently i notice smaller shops opening in less prime spots so even lunch time quite empty, so how they tahan?

Also if the frame margin is that high, why won't competitors go on cut throat price war? Or at least you'd see online private sellers selling it at maybe 70% of retail price? But you don't see that wo.

I believe the lens margin is actually higher.
its not that high.. usually they have their distributors on the other side of the internet that can supply them or selling for them
on the internet... thats why the frame is not a price war.. they usually put higher price at unique frame...
matiko95
post Nov 18 2012, 03:11 AM

922 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Nov 18 2012, 03:06 AM)

Online sales is a different story, it dosent really work out for spectacle because if you want to buy spectacle how you going to check your eye power? There are some customer who bought frame online & come to make lens but even buying online frames is risky because different frames fits different head, we all got different size & shape face so need to try physically in order to find the matching one...
that depends on customer.. even i seen in lowyat still they use to sell ray ban, uv protection glasses with power, its like goreng pisang..
when i see the actual shop, i dont believe it is like a ghost shop...

0.0130sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:26 AM