Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V9, 3 million sold already!!

joytest
post Nov 18 2012, 09:54 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Nov 18 2012, 09:37 PM)
If I don't want to use TouchWiz, any other ROM to introduce? I still want all the feature including S-pen, air view and so on tongue.gif
If you want aokp and aosp but still want s-pen use, i recommend the app called Handy Note by appbody. It's only $1. Otjerwise install any tw rom and switch launcher.
joytest
post Nov 18 2012, 10:33 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Nov 18 2012, 10:04 PM)
From the ROM detail, basically it just optimize the stock ROM.

Will try it tomorrow and report back after few days of usage. biggrin.gif

Edited:
Wow, OMEGA look more promising. Encounter any problem with it so far? rclxms.gif
I'm still on omega v4 and happy so far. A little tired to get into flashoholism.

Others have recommended monxdified, which will be next on my list when I get to it.

joytest
post Nov 18 2012, 10:36 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ladygagafanz @ Nov 18 2012, 10:13 PM)
Anyone tried paranoidandriod ROM before?
IMHO, PA is suitable to play on screens 7" and larger. I feel there's no point to mucking about with Phablet/Tablet mode on a screen of our size.

On a 7" device, it makes a difference coz you can force the app to increase the display area significantly. I have a 7" device and I forced Nova launcher to enable tablet mode for more icons. If you did this on 5.5", you will get a very cramped screen and tiny icons.
joytest
post Nov 18 2012, 11:05 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 18 2012, 10:57 PM)
AOSP/KP roms are seriously lacking in features compared to stock rom. Apart from being light, they dun really have the speed advantage for our device. Plus they still have bugs since its new.

Added on November 18, 2012, 10:59 pm
Some people got very sharp eyes.  tongue.gif They love it even on S2.
My what sharp eyes you have..... cool2.gif
joytest
post Nov 19 2012, 01:10 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 19 2012, 12:46 AM)
ok
hahaha.. didnt know there got service center.. i always though hatten square got nothing or high class thing only to see so just skip tat place
Haha Samsung thinks they are the equivalent of crApple now.... oh, they have actually bested crApple....
joytest
post Nov 19 2012, 12:44 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(dallas316 @ Nov 19 2012, 11:53 AM)
guys, when purchasing to playstore. theres a double deduction? 1 for the game price then the other is for?

ex.

Asphalt 7 = $.99 Dr=3.11
other deduction Dr = 1.01 rm

is this normal?
Happens to me also. When you make payment, sometimes you will get a notice saying "Your institution may impose additional charges for this transaction." I get this on some purchases.

When you see that message, it's likely you have the additional RM1 charge.
joytest
post Nov 19 2012, 12:49 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Nov 19 2012, 12:45 PM)
most probably you purchased with Ebay ... I think there is an additional "Charges" in terms of service charge of using Ebay
No, it happens when making Play Store purchases via my credit card. I got a couple of these messages even for the $0.25 sale in September. There were some additional RM1 charges.

I got an RM1 fee when I registered for Paypal as well.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 11:27 AM

13,188 posts

4 days busy, and the thread is almost full. Pretty amazing N2 forum is still going at approx 20 pages per day, 1 thread a week. Should be a chart topper.

QUOTE(antt00 @ Nov 19 2012, 05:14 PM)
You so lucky. When I was 17, I only got house phone to use. tongue.gif
QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Nov 19 2012, 05:19 PM)
Same here. When 19, I asked for a 3310. Got scolded by dad, said that I don't need a handphone at such a young age.
QUOTE(crazyissac @ Nov 19 2012, 05:21 PM)
not only 17....even primary school kids ady own fruity phone  doh.gif
Kids nowadays....yeah.... well mine will earn their own keep.

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Nov 19 2012, 07:20 PM)
Am planning to buy the Note 2 soon and was wondering what is the best pouch(that attach to the belt) for the Note 2? I'm currently using the Kata DF406 (http://shashinki.com/shop/kata-df406-digital-flap-pouch-p-6167.html ) for my S3, but the Note will not fit in. Any recommendation?
I think in v3 or v4 I posted a link to a Delsey belt pouch with extra loops. I use it on my belt. It's just slightly larger than N2 and has extra compartments for me to keep coins, keys, USB cable etc. Damn useful.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 23 2012, 12:33 AM)
I will try buying one.If it is nice,will get all complete collection.. Used to own gamebooks when I was growing up smile.gif
OMG hahaha....I used to own gamebooks and play lots of pen and paper RPGs.... now it's all electronic. Can't beat the camarederie of an RPG session though.

QUOTE(Uchiha_Itachi1991 @ Nov 23 2012, 12:34 AM)
Surfmore50 is definitely better than smartplan48... The reason I took digi is for smartplan88 for rm68 (rm63 for 1st 6 month) + I scared of the shocking bill from maxis if I exceed data... sweat.gif
Just download Onavo or My Data Manager to give you up to the minute stats and even throttle your data when you hit a certain limit. Even the stock data usage monitor allows you to do that. On Maxis, you get sms notification when you hit 80%. After that, it's RM0.30/mb, so it's still bearable. Well, you have free tools, use the apps above to help you.

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 23 2012, 09:47 AM)
keep it to pm bro. mods everywhere  tongue.gif  and i sapu lots of pc hardwares by asking my fren in US help me to buy. but then need to wait few months for him to come back doh.gif
Citibank and Paypal are offering some proxy address in the US if you signup. Then you can bulk ship all your stuff at one go when you have all your orders. Haven't tried it yet.

QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 23 2012, 11:43 AM)
any browser tat support rss built in?
Use greader free....damn good feed reader, WITH a built in browser...hahaha the other way around for you. The built in browser lets you read more detail of the feed you click on. Highly intuitive.

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 23 2012, 04:28 PM)
Any1 know which exact file to rename to turn off the Camera Focus sound?
the beep sound when you press on ur screen to focus?
i tried rename all the related camera/shutter sound file but it's still there.
googled but it seems like a ninja file doh.gif
This camera sound thing was discussed back in xda Note1 forum. It seems the focus sound is built into the camera app itself as some sort of digital tone, so it can't be turned off without a hacked camera apk.

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Nov 24 2012, 10:16 AM)
nope i didn't do full wipe. dirty install it is  brows.gif kinda lazy to do full wipe  wink.gif
Well, in computer architecture, you can have dirty bits, dirty caches, and you can flush a dirty cache..... and also sleep states, wait states, hits, misses, Big Endians, Little Endians, Big.Little (A15 !!!!) ....

Still on Omega 4.0. Reading on rom experiences and looking out for near stock experience.

joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 04:41 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 24 2012, 04:36 PM)
should be, if not totally no idea how it connect lol
Apple kbd and mouse !!! I have never been a fruit user and abhor its policies. I have read that crApple products speak a crApple dialect of Bluetooth, so you need a pricier, "works with crApple" certification. Can anyone verify?

At any rate, our Note 2 seems to speak this dialect as well since it can connect to those items. Truly universal indeed.

It would have been better that the uploader demoed some use of remote access apps like Splashtop or Jump Desktop etc. This will really show it as a desktop replacement.

Added on November 24, 2012, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(gensys @ Nov 24 2012, 04:41 PM)
if you have logitech unifying that works well too.
I use it for kb and mouse
The MHL cable has already occupied the USB slot, so you need a BT kbd and mouse to do this. A Unifying receiver is a USB dongle itself.
I believe this would work if you used the multimedia stand with USB and HDMI out.

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 24 2012, 04:43 PM
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 06:14 PM

13,188 posts

I don't seem to see many people on Note2core.

When I had my Note1, Notecore was, IMHO, the best kernel with stock stability and good OC. I was using one of his OC kernels for months.

Appreciate more feedback on Note2core from users.

joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 06:18 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(BaronicTheMoronic @ Nov 24 2012, 06:13 PM)
will this happen to note 2?

only an SQLite reader is required to look at the Google Account data.

Uh, yeah, if someone with malicious intent finds and loads up your S-Note sqlite file.

Just like someone can crack your SIM card security in 5mins if they get their hands on it.

However, xda devs are typically responsible people who don't do such stuff. If they did, the other devs would immediately have notified everyone else.
If you sideload an *ehem* apk, well, better be sure of the app permissions.

With great power comes great responsibility.

Or just trust whatever some fruit logo-ed company tells you is best for you.

This post has been edited by joytest: Nov 24 2012, 06:23 PM
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 07:14 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 24 2012, 07:08 PM)
Wah sei...so much problem one  shocking.gif
From the xda thread, monx should be uploading his updated 4.1.2 on monday due to speed issues. I would give that a spin with Note2core.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 08:13 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 24 2012, 07:35 PM)
By the way, I think monx already uploaded the file today. His thread his been updated smile.gif  laugh.gif
Bro don't see his 01-02 link yet. He's got the details loaded, but the rom dl link is not there yet. I just refreshed the page.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 08:27 PM

13,188 posts

So wanna bet the stock ROM for Note3 is going to hit 1.5Gb minimum ? The default sizes for Nexus 4 and Nexus 10 might indicate something.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 09:02 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Nov 24 2012, 08:51 PM)
I felt that 4.1.2 seems to be a bit battery draining. anyone experience this?
monx or other ROM? I think you mentioned ARHD+redpill rite? Too many posts...
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 09:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 24 2012, 09:16 PM)
I find that stuff on xxx.softonic.com tends to be problematic ie too many popups on the site and it gives a rather shady feel.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 10:01 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 24 2012, 09:59 PM)
I thought cr = create
crApple = create apple lol
crap + apple = crapple
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 10:10 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Nov 24 2012, 10:08 PM)
but alu-bumper doesnt covers the back right? only the bezel.
User fik92 sells Kucipa casing. I got one from him. Soft TPU type with earphone and usb plugs, keeps dust out.
joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 10:15 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 24 2012, 10:10 PM)
BTW guys, any good pdf reader?
Download polaris office from Samsung App store. Does ok as a reader.

Otherwise, ezPDF is best. I got it during the 25c sale. It allows the S-Pen to be used for annotations, best damned feature for Note/Note2.

joytest
post Nov 24 2012, 10:29 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 24 2012, 10:27 PM)
Ok, will try nod.gif Any app that enables you to flip the pages like an actual book?
Hm, how to say this. Like the Note 2 User's Digest?
In ezpdf, there is a setting to do this. In polaris I don't know. I prefer to turn it off and just have immediate page transitions.

0.0379sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:54 PM