Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

snowfire64
post Nov 23 2012, 07:14 PM

305 posts

Hey guys,

Just wanna ask if anyone of u know any shops that sells carbon road bike frames? Gone to a few shops
In kl but they don't have it. Will try asking spez shops tomorrow.

Also whats the range of price i'll be looKing at? Not interested in those high grade carbon. Just a normal type.

snowfire64
post Nov 24 2012, 01:15 AM

305 posts

Ah. Ic, Thanks for the link. Its weird that they have the catalogs but they don't sell seperate frames.

Was hoping to find some reputable brands like Spez, giant, merida, cannondale or trek to be safe.

Not sure if i could get one with a budget of 3k just for the entry level carbon frameset(not complete bike) tho.
snowfire64
post Nov 24 2012, 06:13 AM

305 posts

Ah.

Man sl3 is 5.9k. Way over my budget. And s-works too. Haha. Is there any non s-works with lower price? biggrin.gif

Guess, i'll be looking for a complete carbon bike then since buying the frame individually is not so viable. :/

snowfire64
post Nov 24 2012, 08:20 AM

305 posts

Wow! Thanks for the suggestion.. I don't mind getting the sl2 if its still available.

Can i still get it here?

This post has been edited by snowfire64: Nov 24 2012, 09:12 AM
snowfire64
post Nov 28 2012, 01:18 PM

305 posts

Hey all,

So I managed to narrow down my frame purchase to the sl2 and willier. (not sure which wilier, forgot. hoping its cento uno).

the spez is around 500 more expensive b4 discount (don't know if can get one) than the wilier.

Specs wise, which one is better? Color wise both are about the same.

Tq.

snowfire64
post Nov 28 2012, 02:46 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 28 2012, 01:36 PM)
is the cento uno cheaper than the older sl2??? which year was it from?

cento uno has 1 problem... integrated seat mass, if you decide that you no longer want to own it and want to sell it off... you are screwed if you cut the seat mass too low... a resale point of view...
QUOTE(joonming @ Nov 28 2012, 02:03 PM)
GH ware house sale start this Friday, probably can take a visit if dun mind older version.
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 28 2012, 02:04 PM)
i think u can find reviews on these two frames on the net. also u should really consider my boss' advise.
Great replies!

Hm, not sure about which year the wilier is. The integrated seat post does bothers me too. Will call the shop to confirm.

GH the Specialized store?? Cool. Thx for the news.

Yeah, well still under considerations. Don't mind older model as long at it meets my criterias. Which is carbon, good brand and color schemes.

Just in case there are other models to justify why i can opt for alternative than the sl2. Huhu.

Thx again.

This post has been edited by snowfire64: Nov 28 2012, 02:52 PM
snowfire64
post Nov 28 2012, 04:21 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 28 2012, 03:46 PM)
my aluminum frame costs a whopping RM2.4k... i think that justifies what you are paying for your so called "outdated" carbon...
that is gin huat's new warehouse... used to be in gombak area...
Haha. Well, thanks for that. I am well assured now tongue.gif .

Gonna do more research then. Thanks! biggrin.gif

0.0526sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:36 PM