Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

auhckw
post Nov 15 2012, 10:53 PM

1,008 posts

I decided to pickup cycling with folding bikes. Day1 today and so ngam new thread.

ORi M10 (Hunter Green)

Lots to learn from you guys...

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 28 2012, 09:00 PM
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 06:32 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 15 2012, 11:38 PM)
i don't know what you expect to learn other than c0cking 101

that bike is cool looking... the stem worries me a bit though... to be frank...wonder if it can take the weight sweat.gif
Haha... Cannot tahan laugh. Cycling thread v3/v4 really got a lot of off topic post sweat.gif

Anyway, bike specs says:
The maximum combined weight of rider and luggage should not exceed 110kg

I'm only weighing 57kg+-

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 16 2012, 06:41 AM
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 10:45 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Nov 16 2012, 09:17 AM)
They have their own space in the living room.So no problemo  wink.gif
Your living room full of bikes. Some more park in front of TV and got hanging bikes. How to walk around there... hmm.gif laugh.gif
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 10:46 AM

1,008 posts

Day2: This morning I took a ride in Desa ParkCity.

auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 11:37 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 16 2012, 11:27 AM)
dead slow... didn't noticed that before... where was that???

didn't noticed there was a gradient signboard as well... wonder what is that for anyways...at least my gradient sensor is correct...haha

you go climb the park city hill in the evenings lar...sometimes can see sunset there... and of course with a side serving of chicks bouncing around the parks...

if scared... ride slow slow lar... it's not a competition.. you don't get teh tarik for flying down at high speeds...
Dead Slow is on the left about 20 meters before the top roundabout

I'm not doing fast, but down hill how to slow? Press breaks also still moving. I didn't even paddle, it just roll down fast. No control at all. Next time I would probably have to push bike down

Btw, I do runs at DPC too, running is nicer than cycling in terms of seeing bouncing things laugh.gif

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 16 2012, 11:42 AM
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 11:39 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 16 2012, 11:32 AM)
btw auhckw... you sell tea or wat???

i heard pu-er is good for weight loss but causes low bone density... osteoporosis...

i am a tea drinker myself...雪茶 everyday...chinese starbucks...
I not seller. I just collect some for fun.

There is a limit of what you should consume. Drink with moderate and it shouldn't be a problem smile.gif
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 11:49 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 16 2012, 11:41 AM)
you sure your brakes are working properly.. you have v-brakes at the back which should have massive stopping power.. the front dual pivot might not be that powderful... but should still stop the bike...

you are not trying some super late braking rite...
while looking from afar.. you can watch without being caught watching mar... hahaha
I have not compared with other brakes before, but this brake doesn't seem massive. Will get it checked the next time I go service the bike.

The seller said to use front brakes when emergency, so I've not pressed it so far when cycling.

When going down hill, I was pressing and letting go, pressing and letting it go to slow down. Is this the right technique?

Don't get caught, wear sunglass la... but I guess you already practicing it cool2.gif

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 16 2012, 11:50 AM
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 12:11 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 16 2012, 12:07 PM)
tea is expensive... i don't understand it...same like wine...
tell it to the girls... they think that it is miracle tea...
Yes. Tea is expensive. Can be as expensive as RM100k for a 1950s puerh 357g

Tea & Teapot has appreciation value if you buy the right wans and letting it go after some time of storing it.

For more of my Tea punya cerita, you can visit this thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=236&t=1392369
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 02:00 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 16 2012, 12:07 PM)

usually... v-brakes paired with v-brake lever are damn powerful... if you pulled it full force without thinking twice on the front, you will flip and go over the handlebars... that is what happened to me more than 10 years back first time after installing v-brakes... but your front is a normal caliper.. so, no worries...

actually... why the front is better is because when braking... weight transfer happens and all the load goes from the rear to the front loading the front wheel up while it unloads the rear making it easier to lock up the rear wheel...

in some cases, it is dangerous... but i prefer to brake with the rear more than the front because i hate losing the front end compared to the rear end in case the wheel locks up due to sand on the ground or stuff like that...

you should balance the use of front and rear brakes in normal circumstances... be it 60-40, 40-60, 70-30 or 30-70 front-back is up to you...asalkan you stop in time..jus dun try superhero late braking and banking into corners like motogp riders and you'll be safe...

it's a personal thing.. how you control the brakes is up to you... whether you modulate or pulse it is no issue... either ways is correct as long as you get down safely... the only problem riding the brakes too much is accelerated rim wear...

sunglasses... that is so mainstream in miao's words... i spy from afar with binoculars..
Thanks for the advice. Will try what you suggest about using both breaks but with different pressure.

Once I understand more about the bikes part, I would probably upgrade them progressively. Still missing many accessories haven't buy yet.

Im now considering whether should I get water bottle pouch or the bottle holder...
auhckw
post Nov 16 2012, 06:43 PM

1,008 posts

I went and last minute register this today and collected the goodie on the spot too. I took the 30km Fun Ride. Only RM20

Goodie Bag

Anybody else going ah?

This post has been edited by auhckw: Nov 16 2012, 06:44 PM
auhckw
post Nov 18 2012, 01:04 PM

1,008 posts

This thread is for roadbikes only ah... Anyway, my today's cerita on my foldie experience. Saw many roadbikes also today. I have to admit, I feel a little small next to them. It feels like they are big boys and I'm a kid. Haha.

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 18 2012, 12:56 PM)
I just came from...
Bike X Series 2012

How did my ORi M10 performed

Now the ouch part

auhckw
post Dec 8 2012, 05:58 PM

1,008 posts

Today I joined a group of riders for Bentong (Pahang) ride.

auhckw
post Dec 9 2012, 12:48 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 9 2012, 12:43 PM)
u guys really know how to have fun... that is what cycling is all about ... especially foldies...
Yesterday was a mix bikes ride. There are foldies, mountain and road bikes. It was fun but hot. We started at about 7am but I left early at 2pm. The others were still having durian near the waterfall. They went for late lunch after too.

Looking fwd for more of such ride. Cycling in big group is fun and I feel safer too cause traffic can see us clearer.

0.0511sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:11 AM