I read a rather handful interesting comparison reviews between the venge and tarmac though..which I can safely say I'll go with the latter.
It just that the venge looks more awesome!
Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes
Dec 23 2012, 02:57 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Yes..it keeps on changing. Money enough already to buy my dream bike, just postponing the purchase..my current bike still not kaput anyway
I read a rather handful interesting comparison reviews between the venge and tarmac though..which I can safely say I'll go with the latter. It just that the venge looks more awesome! |
Dec 23 2012, 09:22 PM
Get the yellow mavic lah..dunno what model...no bont fans here? Wiggins use bont what. Haha
Dec 23 2012, 10:40 PM
Dec 24 2012, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 24 2012, 12:37 AM) saddle i understand. why top tube... the top tube mentioned is when you crash and suddenly your balls crushed onto the top tube ler. or when your top tube too high when you stand over it it presses your balls nobody rides on the top tube? Added on December 24, 2012, 12:42 amfurthermore... no one says cycling is the best sport... monetarily... football playet earn more than cyclist for less vigorous training and more chances of being victorius... career ending injuries also accounts for less than pro cycling if i am not wrong.. physically, it could not beat swimming in terms of physocal training without causing bodily damages to joints and stuff... swimming is sort of like exercise in a weightless envoronment...don't cause excessive wear to joints |
Dec 24 2012, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(yolk @ Dec 24 2012, 11:02 AM) Ahhhh speaking of shoes and Bont .. went to a bike swap meet the other day and there was this Bont A3 for sale, open box. It was 44.5 EU UK 10. Tried it on and it was really ngam ngam fit without much room. The sides felt a bit tight though. I usually wear UK 10/11 depending on the cut coz I got wide feet. Usually if buy sports shoes will look for 4E width (New Balance). I'm now thinking of getting cycling shoes and have been looking around. Tried shimano and it was really tight especially at the sides, only size 47 EU I can shove my wide feet in but there was so much gap between the toes and tip of the shoe. dude..shoes for wide feet people is Bont. I am wide footed myself. Make sure you choose the wide version, there will be 'W' at the sizing specs to indicate it is the wide version..I use Bont A-two...and it has plenty of space for my wide forefoot. It is the only shoe where you can find the shape is wide starting from the toe, very unconventional. Other shoes will have a pointy shape towards your middle finger. (feet)Any brand recommendation that is known for people with wide feet ? Also some say the stiffer is better but for someone starting out is going really stiff a good thing ? I assume the feet will take time to get used to the stiffness There's currently Bont sale online with 30% off, so tempting but so dangerous to buy without knowing for sure what my size is. Some ppl bought it based on the online calculator and it still came out not so perfect and was a tight fit. It's quite stiff, on a longer ride I'll had a numbness on my left foot..perhaps not moulded properly enough...just give it a try. mine is Europe 45 W |
Dec 25 2012, 02:52 AM
well received and reviewed..the frame geometry looks kinda similar with specialized tarmac sl4..the sloping headtube...what do u guys think? ![]() ![]() |
Dec 25 2012, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 25 2012, 06:42 AM) jus go with the venge and stop flip flopping around... or buy both venge and tarmac haha.that what made my everyday intyeresting..reading a lot of bike reviews, browsing forums, finding as much as I can about user reviews..if one day I have bought one bike that I want, want to search for other bike reviews also not fun anymore..am trying to be a sensible buyer here the new lineup of scultura looks almost like the tarmac, i agree with you especially the top tube... problem being the scultura pro series is going to cost a bomb... most likely over 10k...and we have yet reach the top tier SL series.. at that price point would you rather have a merida or spez... jus ask yourself seriously... the scultura comp 904 is already priced at 6k on the dot... practically the same frame but heavier and less stiff and uses clamp fd instead of braze on... sensible in a bike world? naah!~ donwant a venge. always want a tarmac sl4...i like to climb..i hate cycling hard and fast in a peloton..i enjoy bike riding with only 1 or 2 cycling buddy, climbing at a moderate pace, conquered the top of the climb, went to pit stop eat mee goreng..and then descend peacefully...damnnn I miss KL! Added on December 25, 2012, 11:38 pm QUOTE(minizian @ Dec 25 2012, 01:18 PM) I had the magizine with that review.. Greenish man. Better buy now before the road are flooded with merida I kid you not..Merida will be like Giant..lots of people will be using it and they also have some premium models..despite their name, Giant etc, people will actually buy it..there;s a lot of Giant bike here..the SL and etc...cos the pros are using it..so we commoners also want to use.. This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 25 2012, 11:40 PM |
Dec 26 2012, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 25 2012, 11:49 PM) how many top end giants have you seen compared to tarmac sl3, sl4s and venge? not to say the giants and meridas cannot be compared or not in the same league as the big brands... but there is always other factors affecting the buyer's mindset... You are right, and I agree with you on the reality that most of us suckered into their brilliant marketing strategy..but it is fair to say that the number of bikes you see on the road (Merida) will be increased, at least compare to now when they are not sponsoring any pro teams. That's why I relate it to Giant with their Rabobank (now Blanco whatever). YES, they can't topple the spez, trek, colnagos, and the likes.i think you see even more colnago c59s than those top end TCRs... truth is... giant and merida will never make it as big as the big boys like spez, trek, and the others presence wise...they might have the capital to topple even spez but the teams they sponsor is either wonky or on most probably not gonna make it big time...if they manage to dig up money to buy into sexy bank and watch contador win on their scultura sl... see if anyone doesn't want a merida then??? spez and sram reportedly pays berty on the sideline to ride their bikes... so, they know how important berty's image is to their bikes...those technological bullshit is just "technological bullshit" to use general consumers... what we need to know is that we are riding equipment as good as what berty is riding.. no matter how good they make their bikes.. they can't fight the human stupidity of getting suckered into good marketing campaigns..and pro riders winning on those bikes does their fair share of suckering in more idiots... true story... See Fuji bikes, they are sponsoring a pro-continental Champion Sys..you can see that the number of Giants available are much more higher than Fuji..it's not happening only in Malaysia but it goes to here as well. A plenty of them expats here..especially in my group ride, those European guys, chose Giant over Trek, Spez, Pina, etc. They have the options to buy other brands, and IMO the pricing isn't much of a difference either. (I'm talking about the top end models). Why? I believe they too suckered into the Giant marketing strategy by sponsoring Pros. But then again, they can't topple the big boys that's for sure. In the end, what most of us cyclists forget, it isn't about the bike, it's always about the rider. I accompanied my friend buying a $10,000 wheelset yesterday,and im' happy he's happy but then again, it all boils down to who has the best legs. There are however exceptions..I don't recall Storcx sponsoring any pro team, but they are selling quite well here, despite one of the model I saw reaching $60,000 in retail price. This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 26 2012, 12:16 AM |
Dec 26 2012, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 26 2012, 12:49 AM) Nope but they have coffee ride here, more like a recovery ride and get-together kind of thing every Sat morning..there's a resort in the middle of the desert route.![]() http://meydanhotels.com/babalshams/index.htm Couldn't even match the nasi lemak at my Janda Baik pit stop warung This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 26 2012, 12:54 AM |
Dec 26 2012, 01:09 AM
u have to google on 'desert safari' on that. they hv belly dancers for sure, but im not sure at the resort hv or not..prolly at nightime..the coffee ride always during bfst time only
Dec 26 2012, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 26 2012, 01:11 AM) storck is one of those oddball brands that over charges...i think it was them who gave free wind tunnel session if you buy their TT bikes... they did launch one that was quite revolutionary couple of years back... Well there are many more bikes here that I'm unfamiliar with, de rosa, etc. some that I never heard of the name before most of the suckers here i guess is not as rich as the desert expats ... so, they aim for the best whenever they can as they only have 1 bullet while you expats might have a chain of bullets from the crate loaded onto their machine gun.... they can jus change at the whim of their hearts content or they might even already have one but didn't bother to take it out for a ride... the bike comes when you are in a competitive state and you find your rivals on par with you neck to neck, so... it all goes down to who owns he better equipment... shake your bum bum... shake your bum bum... go hawaii la... there happier...only wear 2 coconut shells... Added on December 26, 2012, 9:31 am ![]() it's a sexy thing though... QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 26 2012, 10:20 AM) yup. last time at 1,000KM mark, i had 3 flats on front wheel.... Flat is ok, not sidewall burst. That one is not OK! Bad experience..thinking about what happened to me makes me want to bring an extra tyre on my ride.changed to GP4000s, switch michelin tyre from back to front and GP4000s to rear... y u ask so? btw, do u rotate ur tyre? btw, what is wash tyre? is it take out tyre, washing in and out and inspect for any cut? anyone do this? |
Dec 26 2012, 03:26 PM
I always ride to win..not races but to win my own heart..
So howwww? |
Dec 26 2012, 04:07 PM
Guys, let show off your ride..for others viewing. I wonder why only this cycling thread doesn't have members posing up their bike pictures
Added on December 26, 2012, 4:13 pm QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 26 2012, 03:56 PM) He will say this: "whatever yank your chain dude"This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 26 2012, 04:13 PM |
Dec 26 2012, 06:52 PM
Hi spez fans, any one know what is the current complete bike price for a Specialized Tarmac SL4 Pro at GHS? Preferably the Pro model and must be the 2013 version. RM15K with Ultegra?
I only know the Sworks frame is RM10K..and they don't sell the SL4 Pro frame only. |
Dec 26 2012, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 26 2012, 09:41 PM) Miao Miao... yessssss...the 2013 version! no venge for me though...i want the tarmac sl4..i want to climb like contadope this is what u talking about this morning??? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Jeng jeng jeng... Mr jgx » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2012/12/spec...sl4-pro-review/ If i'm a pro, I get the sworks. since I'm not even an amateur, i'll get the non sworks This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 26 2012, 10:03 PM |
Dec 26 2012, 10:06 PM
thx mannn...droooooling
So I saw saxobank colors, is that astana colors or omega pharma? no 4, from the top left.....slurps..ya forgot they have fb page..thx reminding. |
Dec 27 2012, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 26 2012, 10:14 PM) yes good one. I need this sort of encouragement..forgot u are butthead's salesman anyway Added on December 26, 2012, 10:21 pm is it really necessary to reason? just get the sworks if u can afford it. |
Dec 27 2012, 10:41 PM
For 1 year I've been riding with an incorrect stem length..I need a 70mm stem instead of the one i currently using at 100mm. Just ordered the 3T from wiggle. I know that it is incorrect as my arms often feel sore, as I need to stretch it more to reach the hood and also I can see my front hub before my handlebar.
For guidance, refer this pic below: ![]() Bike fitting DIY at home: http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2010/04/scie...f-bike-fitting/ This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 27 2012, 10:43 PM |
Dec 28 2012, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 27 2012, 11:50 PM) dude, check the date of that post dude. you'll be the one to hear it from me..ordered already from wiggle. beside it's only 3cm shorter from my 100mm standard stem and i need a shorter stem..Added on December 27, 2012, 11:52 pmnobody i know has 70mm stem on their roadbike. never. it'll make a difference. i know it when i change my bar from 42mm to 44mm, it made a whole lot of difference in term of comfort..body geometry of everyone is different maa |
Dec 28 2012, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 28 2012, 12:24 AM) usually, on a roadbike, if u use a stem shorter than 90mm, something must be wrong. usually incorrect frame size. err..wrong info. just check. my handlebar now is 42mm...changed from 40mm which cause back discomfort...now ok already...Added on December 28, 2012, 12:35 am size 44 handlebar; how tall are you? recently found out i need a shorter stem..hopefully it fits perfectly. |
| Change to: | 0.0267sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:08 AM |