Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 5 2012, 02:34 PM)
Thanks butthead.

next, since my disposable income are no where can match with ever advance technology and it's prices, do an old model Spez acceptable?

Do SL2 or SL3 are the minium spec to get?
everybody else is on SL4 or venge now. i chose SL3 instead. i'm happy with my purchase.
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 03:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 5 2012, 02:34 PM)
Thanks butthead.

next, since my disposable income are no where can match with ever advance technology and it's prices, do an old model Spez acceptable?

Do SL2 or SL3 are the minium spec to get?
the question is not minimum spec or not... the big question would seriously be.. say, would you feel the 10% increase in stiffness between an SL3 and SL4 that the marketing material says?? and does that justify for the difference in price proportionately?

it's just like a old camry vs new camry... differences in design and interior or maybe even the engine and it costs 10 thousand more.. do you feel safer driving the new one vs the old one or would it go any faster or save any more petrol in proportion to the money paid? most likely not... for most people, it only looks better or the fact that they know it's a new car... in other words, syiok sendili...

i believe many people just blindly taruh money where they don't need to...we don't always need to own the latest and greatest equipment as it will never end...of course, if you have nowhere to spend the money...why not... but on tighter budget... sacrifices have to be made or you can just withold your purchase until you have enough funds to splurge for it...

you just need to know your priorities.. if your priority is money... and you get a chance to buy a cheaper older but still new SL3... why not? if your priority is to own the best in the world... then be prepared to spend like nobodies business and don't complain about the high costs of this things...

it's just a marketing thing at the end of the day and whether you get suckered into it is the question..

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM)
everybody else is on SL4 or venge now. i chose SL3 instead. i'm happy with my purchase.
point proven...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 03:29 PM
TSvin_ann
post Dec 5 2012, 03:42 PM

10,912 posts

problem is i dont even know how to feel stiff how good my Giant Alloy bike is.

what's more a carbon bike. Ok. self-awareness, gotta ride more before really upgrade.

Guess, im still wearing "newbie' tag in cycling...

10,000KM mark is my next point to review my next upgrade. Justify or not?

Currently 1 year 5 days into ownership of my Giant TRC SL3... clocked more than 2,000KM.

on other hand, i think it's good opportunity to ride other brand bikes. "widen" your riding experience with different frame, brand and bike setup. i think i were noob rejected the offer to ride BMC...

argh... think back, opportunity flash in front me and now no more... gotta ride more n try my chance!
miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 03:53 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 5 2012, 03:42 PM)
problem is i dont even know how to feel stiff how good  my Giant Alloy bike is.

what's more a carbon bike. Ok. self-awareness, gotta ride more before really upgrade.

Currently 1 year 5 days into ownership of my Giant TRC SL3... clocked more than 2,000KM.

on other hand, i think it's good opportunity to ride other brand bikes. "widen" your riding experience with different frame, brand and bike setup. i think i were noob rejected the offer to ride BMC...

argh... think back, opportunity flash in front me and now no more... gotta ride more n try my chance!
chill. if u have the right frame size, just use it until u have enough money to buy what u really want. i was on my previous frame for 7 years before i got my SL3. unless ur giant's the wrong size. what's the rush?
TSvin_ann
post Dec 5 2012, 04:34 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 03:53 PM)
chill. if u have the right frame size, just use it until u have enough money to buy what u really want. i was on my previous frame for 7 years before i got my SL3. unless ur giant's the wrong size. what's the rush?
no rush. just exploring the option for futures. Ask now, just in case i can use it for blow blow water topics...

icon_rolleyes.gif
mrjgx
post Dec 5 2012, 04:38 PM

59 posts

Yea2..I'm still with my Merida here among the superbikes in my group ride. And i really mean it, 'superbikes' with the venges, cervelos, and the likes.

I feel like driving a kancil to a Ferrari gathering, but I kid u not it's on par with some of the Ferarris. Why? Because it's cycling and it's all depends on the rider smile.gif

My 105 can match the new DA9000, Red or whatever..but when u buy a better frame it gave you this psychological boost (like I'm telling myself how fast I am with my FR0 as that wheel is allowing myself to compete with the Ferarris).

7 years before upgrading to a new bike is amazing. Kudos bro!

For me I want the sl4 because of the looks. I know I'm still at my current speed even if I use top of the range bike anyway tongue.gif

Ps: perhaps when I'm back in msia I can join the p2k group already, 35-40kmh is getting easier nowadays thanks to a lot of group rides.. 85km each week smile.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 5 2012, 04:48 PM
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 04:43 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 5 2012, 03:42 PM)
problem is i dont even know how to feel stiff how good  my Giant Alloy bike is.

10,000KM mark is very fast to hit one wer with your P2k.. last time before i TFDB every damn thing... i rode about 8k per year...nowadays, 1 year cannot clock more than 3k, basketball... MTB years can hit over 15k per year... always go ulu yam play waterfall every weekend without fail and ride from home to RRIM whever we can...

you can always try other bikes.. but stiffness is usually only felt under brutish riders... those who tickle the pedals will seldom feel it...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 03:53 PM)
7 years... never had a bike that lasted 7 years... my Iron Horse FS-1 was the longest... 5 years before the chain stay broke.. last bike was sendili tangan gatal la, i admit...

when the time comes... you cannot control your impulsiveness... die is die one...this you have to trust me...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 5 2012, 04:34 PM)
no rush. just exploring the option for futures. Ask now, just in case i can use it for blow blow water topics...

icon_rolleyes.gif
explore is a dangerous word... explore, explore and suddenly you find yourself owning something new...

Added on December 5, 2012, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 5 2012, 04:38 PM)
Ps: perhaps when I'm back in msia I can join the p2k group already, 35-40kmh is getting easier nowadays thanks to a lot of group rides.. 85km each week smile.gif
your 35-40kph is on

p2k 35-40kph is on

jus speculating...only vin_ann have seen the true picture...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 04:48 PM
miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 04:48 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 5 2012, 04:43 PM)
7 years... never had a bike that lasted 7 years... my Iron Horse FS-1 was the longest... 5 years before the chain stay broke.. last bike was sendili tangan gatal la, i admit...
was aiming for C50, then SL3 came into the picture. haha

Added on December 5, 2012, 4:49 pm
7 years bcoz not enough money to get a C50

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 04:48 PM)
was aiming for C509, then SL3 came into the picture. haha

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 04:48 PM)

7 years bcoz not enough money to get a C509
This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM
miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 04:51 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM)

59.... even way out of reach... sigh....
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 04:52 PM

593 posts

YOLO rite...give you something to regret about...

the white ghost of colnago...

even thomas voeckler is going...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 04:55 PM
miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 04:58 PM

587 posts

already moved on la boss... now looking for something else
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 05:00 PM

593 posts

this one perhaps?

campy, lightweights, and a limited frame...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 05:02 PM
miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 05:01 PM

587 posts

waaa.... resize la. so bigass
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 05:03 PM

593 posts

miaopurr
post Dec 5 2012, 05:05 PM

587 posts

how to resize ah?
butthead

593 posts

while searching for inflamation...

this came up... hahhaa...

http://www.chacha.com/gallery/3903/health-...turbation/37313

Immunity Builder

You probably won't be surprised that orgasms increase the amount of hormones in your body, but you will be surprised to learn that it actually strengthens the immune system! A small amount of the chemical called cortisol is produced that gives these benefits:

Reduced inflammation
    Lower blood pressure
    Lessened reaction to allergies
    Increased energy

hahha... always getting sick... gotta do it more...
mrjgx

59 posts

Which bike has the shortest head tube aka racer position?

Is it Tarmac or perhaps Bianchi?
butthead
post Dec 5 2012, 05:06 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Dec 5 2012, 05:05 PM)
Which bike has the shortest head tube aka racer position?

Is it Tarmac or perhaps Bianchi?
kiddie bikes...

Added on December 5, 2012, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 5 2012, 05:05 PM)
how to resize ah?
save it, resize it with wateva you have... photoshop, acdsee, microsoft picture manager and re-up it back to image host...

This post has been edited by butthead: Dec 5 2012, 05:07 PM
TSvin_ann
post Dec 5 2012, 05:08 PM

10,912 posts

Yea2..I'm still with my Merida here among the superbikes in my group ride. And i really mean it, 'superbikes' with the venges, cervelos, and the likes.

I feel like driving a kancil to a Ferrari gathering, but I kid u not it's on par with some of the Ferarris. Why? Because it's cycling and it's all depends on the rider smile.gif

My 105 can match the new DA9000, Red or whatever..but when u buy a better frame it gave you this psychological boost (like I'm telling myself how fast I am with my FR0 as that wheel is allowing myself to compete with the Ferarris).

For me I want the sl4 because of the looks. I know I'm still at my current speed even if I use top of the range bike anyway tongue.gif

now u know! Riding alone Vs Group ride! The improvement are huge!

This coming Malakoff Interstate Fellowship ride, my Gold Giant going to phail many many "superbikes" smile.gif

Er.. 85km each week, ur group ride only once a week? 85km is just short ride for P2K on sunshine Saturday morning where it's fast and furious ride.

its followed by Sunday on long hilly ride...

125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:41 PM