125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Jan 11 2013, 09:45 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(sunghajung11 @ Jan 11 2013, 09:43 PM)
upgrading wheels ve significant difference?
currently using merida road bike race lite 903 tat costs 2.3k
thinking whether to upgrade from sora groupset to sram apex down the road.
also wanna change to fulcrum rzcing 3 wheels.
the upgrades will cost double the bike price now . what do u guys think?
worth it?
if u wanna feel immediate difference, upgrade the wheels

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Jan 11 2013, 09:46 PM
butthead
post Jan 11 2013, 11:52 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 11 2013, 09:29 PM)
holyfk what did u just show me? u can stick a velcro on those legs
it's a fly trap...

worth it?
the more recent race lite 903? with 10s tiagra?? changing to apex, you'll still see some weight being dropped... but you have to be sure you really like how SRAM operates first... i've got the weirdest feeling that not most people like it.... so, you have to put some thoughts into that...

wheels on the other hand is more apparent as a little bit of weight dropping on the rotational mass enables a faster spin up rate... comparing to the current wheels on the race lite 903...

i'd say, if you can pull a bit of budget from the apex and live with the tiagra 10s for a longer period of time (meaning hold the apex upgrade)... up the budget a big and consolidate it into buying a pair of slightly more expensive Racing 1's or even 0's.. (0 should be another RM1k away)... R1 and R0 is lighter than the R3 and even stiffer... and it is something you can move over to the new bike in case you decide to purchase an even better bike some 2 to 3 years down the road...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 11 2013, 09:44 PM)
that's a cannondale synapse
eagle eye miao strikes again....

the seat stay does look a bit different.. but maybe this is older version...

butthead
post Jan 11 2013, 11:52 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 11 2013, 09:45 PM)
if u wanna feel immediate difference, upgrade the wheels
salesman of the year (2012) speaks...
miaopurr
post Jan 12 2013, 12:19 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 11 2013, 11:52 PM)
the seat stay does look a bit different.. but maybe this is older version...
ya lorr... seat tube looks different.
mrjgx
post Jan 12 2013, 01:27 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 11 2013, 06:45 PM)
don't know what bike is that.. but it sure looks pretty...

what sort of ride feeling?? comfort, power transfer?

if say, you are already at a mid level carbon frame... 100 dollar question is whether you can feel the additional BB or general frame torsional stiffness of a better and more expensive...

on the other hand, a wheel upgrade can be say for instance your FR0 to a set of 202 carbon clinchers... which should see minor punchier accelerations and stuff like tat...if you have a Shimano RS-10 and upgrade to 202, of course it'll feel like heaven and hell...

it's all about how big a gap you are trying to close... if you have a bigger gap, the more you feel or in my words.. the easier you notice the difference...
Indeed. So what do you say, with my carbon Merida would it be less meaningful to upgrade to a higher end frame? Perhaps it will feel lighter on a steep climb but that would be on a climbing aspect.

I'm not sure about it though but I assume getting an aero bike can actually saves a few watts here and there.

To my eyes it's fugly but after some calculation, for not so many differences of cash I can get an S5 equipped with Ultegra groupset..

Putting wind as a constant factor, can aero frame be more beneficial upgrade than a set of 404 FC?

worth it?
IMO you can feel the difference quite a bit especially on the shifting mechanism and feel, and a it of stiffer wheel will helps in your overall bike stiffness.

Thx. With that classic look I first thought it is a Cinelli.
rjb123
post Jan 12 2013, 02:13 AM

1,820 posts

Same like mine thumbup.gif
miaopurr
post Jan 12 2013, 02:46 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Jan 12 2013, 01:27 AM)
Putting wind as a constant factor, can aero frame be more beneficial upgrade than a set of 404 FC?
wheelset first. frame 2nd. biketechreview site is down. there's a really good aero advantage ranked by items; helmet, shoes, wheels, ceramic, frame etc....
butthead
post Jan 12 2013, 02:53 AM

593 posts

Indeed. So what do you say, with my carbon Merida would it be less meaningful to upgrade to a higher end frame? Perhaps it will feel lighter on a steep climb but that would be on a climbing aspect.

it's not about whether it is meaningful... for sure you'll want to know if you have really put your money at work and that is by you feeling any difference... and not first impressions... but long term ones...

and again, whats a few watts of saving to you and me? we dont compete and we dont have the capabilities to ride at 100% our limits for long durations...

it all comes down to whether you yourself can justify for the extra spending...

its like a myvi can take you from point a to point be... but a beemer will take you to the same place maybe a little bit more comfier and faster... do you need to pay the premium to have that, when your aim is to only get to your destination?

its all about justification at the end of the day...and its different for everyone
butthead
post Jan 12 2013, 03:00 AM

593 posts

IMO you can feel the difference quite a bit especially on the shifting mechanism and feel, and a it of stiffer wheel will helps in your overall bike stiffness.
Thx. With that classic look I first thought it is a Cinelli.
aero is a complicated matter nowadays..of course it will be crazy not to say it is he best to have both... but having them also means that you need them to work with one another...

like wheels in recent years made claims of aero performances... subsequently aero performances at multiple yaw angles... and most recently, talks about how it is capable on cleaning airflows that leaves the rim or the trails so that it flows through the frame as smooth as possible without turbulence beyond the wheel... and that is what zipps fc is about...
mrjgx
post Jan 12 2013, 03:31 AM

59 posts

Hurm. Ok I need time to digest your replies before concluding. It's ok for each and everyone of us if we ride just to 'ride' from point A to point B. I do that sometimes but you know there's a feeling inside to be a little bit faster, lighter, yada yada yada wink.gif

Ok then. I guess I should stick back to my 5 years cycling roadmap!

P/S: Rapha on sales!
miaopurr
post Jan 12 2013, 11:14 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Jan 12 2013, 03:31 AM)
Hurm. Ok I need time to digest your replies before concluding. It's ok for each and everyone of us if we ride just to 'ride' from point A to point B. I do that sometimes but you know there's a feeling inside to be a little bit faster, lighter, yada yada yada wink.gif

hope this helps

http://biketechreview.com/reviews/frames/477-speed-for-sale
miaopurr
post Jan 12 2013, 11:16 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 12 2013, 03:00 AM)
aero is a complicated matter nowadays..of course it will be crazy not to say it is he best to have both... but having them also means that you need them to work with one another...

like wheels in recent years made claims of aero performances... subsequently aero performances at multiple yaw angles... and most recently, talks about how it is capable on cleaning airflows that leaves the rim or the trails so that it flows through the frame as smooth as possible without turbulence beyond the wheel... and that is what zipps fc is about...
i foresee development of frame, fork and wheels as a system....
miaopurr
post Jan 12 2013, 11:20 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 11 2013, 11:52 PM)
it's a fly trap...
no wonder it's called venus flytrap
butthead
post Jan 12 2013, 03:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Jan 12 2013, 03:31 AM)

of course everyone wants better things whether it is their bikes, cars, home, lifestyle, makan, etc... it's the endless pursuits of finer living as they call it...

it's how you pin a value on this things at the end of the day.. a cash-strapped person might think that swapping from a set of FR0 to a set of Zipps is crazy for the price you spend... never mind a set of Zipps to Lightweights..because to them, they are thinking about "value for money" as the FR0 is already light enough with factors thrown in like the dangers of carbon rims cracking and stuff like that which adds worry to their investment...but another person might think it is totally worth the extra RM3k to RM4k for being 5kmh down the flat straight and if they do meet with such unfortunate incidents that the worst happens, excuse for another upgrade... different people different point of view lar basically...

"价值关联" as the chinese put it...

so in general.. you can put it in a cost vs gain measurement
don't bite me for accuracy lar, roughly only

for instance, my view on frames for example

green = low end aluminum (merida race/ride, scott speedsters)
blue = high end aluminum / entry level carbon (canyon ultimate al9.0, canondale caad10, merida scultura comp, bmc roadracer)
yellow = mid range carbon (bmc racemachine, scott F0il, merida scultura pro/sl)
red = high end carbon (parlee z5sl, trek madone 6.9ssl, pina 65.1)

or maybe wheels

green = mavic aksiums, fulcrum racing 7 (1800 grammish?), easton ea50, shimano rs-10
blue = mavic ksyrium SR, fulcrum racing 0 (1450grams), easton ea90slx
yellow = zipp 202/303/404 (1100 - 1500 grams), easton ec90slx, fulcrum racing speed, mavic r-sys slr
red = lightweights (<1000 grams), reynolds rzr, campy bora ultra 2, campy hyperons

as you can see.. gains might get lesser and lesser to the point where your returns might not equate to the additional amount of your spendings...so, once you get pass the yellow zones... i believe people who are not into competitive riding is just making excuses to buy better equipment at that point because it would not serve as much purpose as it would for something a little cheaper...

it's the old saying in the MTB days... why buy an XTR derailleur when you can buy 3 LX derailleur and not worry about trashing it..

so, personally... my limit would be around the blue line while mr.jgx... you might be around the yellow line.. and the red lines are reserved for those people who has too much money without anywhere to spend 'em...
butthead
post Jan 12 2013, 03:04 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 12 2013, 11:16 AM)
i foresee development of frame, fork and wheels as a system....
eventually because i think this buggers are already running out of new ideas to sell us...
butthead
post Jan 12 2013, 03:07 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 12 2013, 11:20 AM)
no wonder it's called venus flytrap
venues flytrap is a pus-sy with teeth.. not hairy legs

hairy legs are like insect stickers

it's like general calrissian flying the millenium falcon into the core of the death star and got trapped by the maze..

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 12 2013, 03:08 PM
rjb123
post Jan 13 2013, 01:45 AM

1,820 posts

Did about 41-42km around DPC tonight. Not sure on average speed unfortunately as I forgot to reset my computer from the last ride sad.gif
mrjgx
post Jan 13 2013, 02:54 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 12 2013, 03:01 PM)
of course everyone wants better things whether it is their bikes, cars, home, lifestyle, makan, etc... it's the endless pursuits of finer living as they call it...

it's how you pin a value on this things at the end of the day.. a cash-strapped person might think that swapping from a set of FR0 to a set of Zipps is crazy for the price you spend... never mind a set of Zipps to Lightweights..because to them, they are thinking about "value for money" as the FR0 is already light enough with factors thrown in like the dangers of carbon rims cracking and stuff like that which adds worry to their investment...but another person might think it is totally worth the extra RM3k to RM4k for being 5kmh down the flat straight and if they do meet with such unfortunate incidents that the worst happens, excuse for another upgrade... different people different point of view lar basically...

"价值关联" as the chinese put it...

so in general.. you can put it in a cost vs gain measurement
don't bite me for accuracy lar, roughly only

for instance, my view on frames for example

green = low end aluminum (merida race/ride, scott speedsters)
blue = high end aluminum / entry level carbon (canyon ultimate al9.0, canondale caad10, merida scultura comp, bmc roadracer)
yellow = mid range carbon (bmc racemachine, scott F0il, merida scultura pro/sl)
red = high end carbon (parlee z5sl, trek madone 6.9ssl, pina 65.1)

or maybe wheels

green = mavic aksiums, fulcrum racing 7 (1800 grammish?), easton ea50, shimano rs-10
blue = mavic ksyrium SR, fulcrum racing 0 (1450grams), easton ea90slx
yellow = zipp 202/303/404 (1100 - 1500 grams), easton ec90slx, fulcrum racing speed, mavic r-sys slr
red = lightweights (<1000 grams), reynolds rzr, campy bora ultra 2, campy hyperons

as you can see.. gains might get lesser and lesser to the point where your returns might not equate to the additional amount of your spendings...so, once you get pass the yellow zones... i believe people who are not into competitive riding is just making excuses to buy better equipment at that point because it would not serve as much purpose as it would for something a little cheaper...

it's the old saying in the MTB days... why buy an XTR derailleur when you can buy 3 LX derailleur and not worry about trashing it..

so, personally... my limit would be around the blue line while mr.jgx... you might be around the yellow line.. and the red lines are reserved for those people who has too much money without anywhere to spend 'em...

Wow..are you an economist? To come up with the graph to summarize it all is brilliant! laugh.gif I like the colored line with the details in it..that somehow helped me to come to my conclusion. I'd go for the yellow line, and as depicted, once crossing the gain will be decreased so no point going further for riders like myself. Anyway foil series considered yellow line? ..they did have models in the blue line too.

Just to ask, what is the price for BMC Roadracer SL01 Tiagra in Malaysia?

butthead
post Jan 13 2013, 08:37 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Jan 13 2013, 02:54 AM)
Wow..are you an economist? To come up with the graph to summarize it all is brilliant!  laugh.gif I like the colored line with the details in it..that somehow helped me to come to my conclusion. I'd go for the yellow line, and as depicted, once crossing the gain will be decreased so no point going further for riders like myself. Anyway foil series considered yellow line? ..they did have models in the blue line too.

Just to ask, what is the price for BMC Roadracer SL01 Tiagra in Malaysia?
F0il? Is there any difference in the team issue, premium and the standard 10, 20, 30 type models.. doesn't seem to indicate on the site other than just componentry differences...looks like same carbon and the same mention of carbon material...

i'd say the scott f0il is yellow and the cr1 is the blue line... although not a very perfect example as f0il was made to be an all in one bike which combined a most of the cr1 with aerodynamics...

SL01 tiagra? Should be around RM6k.. i know the SL01 105 2012 model was being sold for RM6.7k though...
butthead
post Jan 13 2013, 08:39 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jan 13 2013, 01:45 AM)
Did about 41-42km around DPC tonight. Not sure on average speed unfortunately as I forgot to reset my computer from the last ride sad.gif
divide it with roughly the amount of time it took... like 1.5 hours and your average would be around 28kph...

how did you pull 42k out of DPC.. just riding the loop??? not exactly a lot of roads there unless you ventured out into kepong...

125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:02 AM