Savings Account in Malaysia

koala225
post May 30 2019, 11:26 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Apr 12 2018, 06:46 PM)
Got reply from Maybank, at first they say the annual fee can be terminated, then I asked to confirm again. End up was told it will follow back whatever settings from previous account for the reclassification.

Not to worry, we have checked on the charges with the relevant department. Yes, you may request for termination of the said subscription (RM8.48) at our nearest branch. Please bring along your IC & ATM card. However, service fee of RM0.53 (including 6% GST) for fifth withdrawal and above in a month will be imposed. [Free first four (4) cash withdrawals in a month at any Maybank ATM.]

Generally, the ATM service charge fee will follow as your previous ATM card. If there is no unlimited ATM withdrawal facility set, it will not change even when the account is being reclassified.

As per checking, the terms and condition do not affect the reclassification account. It will follow the previous Imteen ATM card facility.
May I know how was the result at the end? Do you have to pay the annual fee? If no, how to switch back to non annual fee service?
koala225
post May 30 2019, 03:17 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 30 2019, 01:10 PM)
i see... so DEBIT ADVICE is for unlimited ATM withdrawal only can cancel at branch despite u have called to call center?
Debit advice is debit card annual fee which told by cs from fb. I just got back from my home branch, the staff told unable to change to no annual fee with no unlimited withdrawal. The only way is close and open and new account but it is a lot of work. It depends on the staff will help u to do so. I cannot do it at my home branch because my IC change to different state, So I have to open account based on my IC. She said nothing she can do. Reopen account is subject to the branch too because after u close and reopen u need to provide some documents to reopen saving account. The bank in my state told me have to wait 6 months, while my home branch told me only need 24 hours to do so. I also asked how if I terminate my debit card, she said I will no longer to login maybank2u if I do so. There is no other option, as she also show me her text talk to her senior/ HQ I don't know. At least she try her best to help me. Nothing she can do. If really very care the annual fee, u may close your account. I was thinking is there any chance if I close account and open MAE account after that. Because MAE account no need to have saving account in maybank. But you have to close existing account first else the MAE account debit card will link to existing account.
koala225
post May 30 2019, 03:49 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 30 2019, 03:40 PM)
may i know what SA are u holding with MBB that got charged with DEBIT ADVICE (annual fee)?

i just browse back my conversation last year with Maybank CS via Facebook regarding annual fee for ATM, was told able to terminate the unlimited ATM withdrwal subscription (RM8.48) at branch.
besides, due to reclassification of account last year, was told that the reclassification will not affect the annual fee subscription option as the subscription is following ATM card but after 1 year it shows that what the CS said is not reliable.

Imteen switch to personal saver account
koala225
post May 30 2019, 07:04 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 30 2019, 06:36 PM)
probably not doable for Personal Saver Account type, unless the staff telling the wrong info again mega_shok.gif
Do you plan to reopen basic SA in future?
koala225
post May 30 2019, 08:05 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 30 2019, 07:20 PM)
opened on the spot while closing the PSA simultaneously because compulsory to link a primary CASA before unlink the PSA.
What did u mean? link with existing debit card? They allow u to close and open account on the spot? Which account type do u chosen to open new account?

This post has been edited by koala225: May 30 2019, 08:09 PM
koala225
post May 31 2019, 12:05 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 30 2019, 11:33 PM)
yes, open and close simultaneously. they cannot just close primary CASA like that prior assigning another CASA as primary because currently having other Maybank products and access for M2U, as well as without scraping existing debit card.
i was not given choice to choose type of account as told only kawanku can opt for non annual fee. in m2u the account name is Savings Account, i believe it should be Basic Savings Account. how do i know the account type in M2U?

Added on
btw, just called MBB contact centre ask regarding no annual fee for PSA, was told it can be waived and asked to call them at the branch if staff don't entertain such request. i am puzzled who should i believe whereby both side are also under same entity. can u try go to branch and contact call center when staff don't allow u to opt for non annual fee so that i can revert my closed account
Do u have any slip for opening new account and close account at the same date for me to show the officer if they insist can't close and open account at the same time? I felt every branch given different answer, it is very hard to argue if I don't have any proof.

koala225
post May 31 2019, 12:15 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(skylineremix @ May 31 2019, 12:09 AM)
I faced the same thing this week.
Savings account open long time ago and never once charged with annual fee.

However, I have current account with Maybank (m2u Premier).
Visit home branch to get service fee refunded and cancel ATM card service for Personal Savings Account. Internet banking still maintain.

Since I hardly withdraw cash from ATM, when needed just instant transfer to my other savings account with other bank and withdraw from there.

Was told that I could apply ATM service for current account without annual fee but have to specifically mention only the current account and pay rm12. Will consider if atm card is really needed in the future.
I visited 2 branches today. Both officer said if i cancel debit card I cannot access maybank2u anymore. But u said can still browse online banking. Do u try to browse online banking after cancel card?
koala225
post May 31 2019, 12:59 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 12:36 AM)
don't cancel, u have to pay for issuance of new debit card. assign ur existing card to new CASA prior closing the current linked CASA.
Do u mean open new account first before close the existing account then link the old debit card to new account? If they refused to close and open new account, u just contact call centre on the spot and complaint? or pass your phone for the officer talk to call centre? What if the officer don't want to pick up your phone talk to them? write down their name complaint to HQ maybank and BNM? Most probably they refuse to reopening account because they have alot of work to do.
koala225
post May 31 2019, 02:22 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2019, 12:28 AM)
Cancel and issue you a new one. Can access again.
What is the purpose to cancel and get a new card? I already get charged rm8 annual fee. reissue a new card have to pay rm12. The problem isn't solve, I'll get charged again rm8 next year because your account type didn't change . the name still Personal SA
koala225
post May 31 2019, 02:29 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 01:32 AM)
sometimes info here is more accurate than what was told by officer. why do they always like to frighten ppl. i was thinking why cancelling of Debit card will revoke the access to M2U whereby credit card users can have access to M2U without CASA with the bank. shouldn't have believe them despite they are more in person

thanks for the confirmation, without asking i would just blindly believe the branch officer that it is not refundable 😑🤦‍♂️
I had told the officer I have credit card already link with maybank2u. If I cancel debit card, I can still using credit card to create new account and log on. But she your primary is debit card, the whole online banking will be close. End up did nothing.

My problem now is home branch different town. My IC already changed to new town, so i cannot open and close at the same time. Means I have to open account in my current town then close in my home branch? But my current town branch officer already said nothing changes if i open a new account? very frustrated. I think i better email to HQ cc to BNM get further action.

May I know your new account account numbers is same with the old account numbers?

This post has been edited by koala225: May 31 2019, 02:37 AM
koala225
post May 31 2019, 11:49 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 10:46 AM)
to be safe then don't terminate ur PSA first as it is ur primary CASA that linked with M2U and debit card. maybe what the officer told u is true.

no such thing closing account must be at home branch. can be close at any branches, same goes to other banks that i have experience before.

impossible to get back old account number for new account unless u request for conversion or reclassification of account type. btw HQ contacted me and i told the issue, they able to assist to communicate with the branch for my PSA account conversion and revert the closed account.
May I know You contact branch first or contact HQ first? If I contact HQ impossible to hold the line so long while I'm waiting for my queue. I am not cancel my debit card because officer told will effect access to online banking because it really happen to my hlb after I cancel my debit card. I think i better open a new account first before close the old 1. Bank didn't say we only can opening 1 saving account what. My friends have 5 saving accounts with hlb. As I check with mbb cs they said we can have more than 1 saving account.

PS- Damn the officer always give wrong info said if i close and reopen account the annual fee still the same. 2nd, I only can open new account after 6 months if i close my existing account. The summary is they are lazy to do a lot of work. I will visit again next time because I have online fd not reach maturity cannot simply close account. If they said the 6 months cooling period again , I'll get their name and feedback to HQ see whether that person need to train again.

Anyway thanks for your sharing.

This post has been edited by koala225: May 31 2019, 12:30 PM
koala225
post May 31 2019, 01:02 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 12:34 PM)
for account closure and opening, i din contact Maybank Customer Care Centre because it already can be done at branch without any issue. i contacted call centre prior visiting the branch regarding the pay-per-use and refundable annual fee for PSA. end up still believe what the officers in the branch told because they bring up the whole team to explain it is not doable doh.gif

don't cancel ur debit card, why need to pay unless u want to get a new debit card. open another CASA (Basic Savings Account for ur case if u want no annual fee) before closing ur current primary CASA. they can do the opening and account closure simultaneously.
u can have more than one CASA with same bank if the CASA type not already exists and active.
What I plan to do is don't tell them anything just inform I want to open account. After open an account, then proceed closing old account because I want to change home branch and whatever excuses. Then I can skip the hassle look for customer care.

The funny thing is the home branch officer convince me to pay annual fee. RM8 only ma. Seriously? U know how much the bank earn if they charge a million of people RM8. Do u want to pay me? Seem RM8 is not money.

This post has been edited by koala225: May 31 2019, 01:06 PM
koala225
post May 31 2019, 01:08 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2019, 01:06 PM)
If you don't tell them lagi they open paid account for you. No banks will open free account for you unless you say you want free account.
I mean don't tell them about what I gonna do because of PSA issue. I'll only tell them open basic SA without annual fee.
koala225
post May 31 2019, 02:49 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 02:17 PM)
is normal practice they will just ask to pay the annual fee since 1 year once and RM8 only, even other banks also do the same
but not everyone is convinced to pay that.
I should shoot her I save money in your bank and u are using my money and loan for others to earn high interest, u should give me high interest instead of charge me annual fee and giving pathetic interest which unable cover up the annual fee.
koala225
post May 31 2019, 03:09 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2019, 02:53 PM)
Normal practice by all banks in Malaysia. That's why need to know what you are opening and not blindly signing the paper. When you know what you are opening,  this kind of stuff won't happen.
This is not what account we are opening. This is convert by the bank after u are not teenagers. Bank can convert what they wanted but we cannot convert to other type of account. Seem very logic huh.
koala225
post May 31 2019, 03:38 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2019, 03:20 PM)
Ah make sense. If that's the case just close and open account. Issue settle.
I know. But the officer seem don't want to do so. My home branch said u can open after 24 hours after closing account. Because my IC city already change they don't allow I open account at there. I visit my current town, officer said I only can open account after 6 months if I close account. That's why I plan not to say anything. Open new account first, then close the old account. Case settle. I will try to proceed middle of next month because my online FD yet to mature.

This post has been edited by koala225: May 31 2019, 03:39 PM
koala225
post May 31 2019, 03:49 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(akhito @ May 31 2019, 03:27 PM)
Annual fee RM8 is for the atm card/ur debit card. Some bank waive them, most dun. If u dun take the atm card, they cannot charge u RM8 annually.
I plan to cancel it yesterday. But the officer said if i cancel it, I'll no longer access maybank2u. Since I've online FD so I won't take any chances to do so. I'll switch my online FD after maturity. Because someone already verified still able to access maybank2u after card cancellation.
koala225
post May 31 2019, 05:06 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 04:52 PM)
yeah, i accept that if we choose for the account type that compulsory for annual fee, we should responsible for that but not that with our case whereby MBB forced reclassification to PSA without given any choices. this is ridiculous, wanted to terminate the account last year but got informed the reclassification will not affect ATM withdrawal facility which was wrong info as discussed earlier, so have maintained the PSA until koala225 tagged me out of sudden on post from more than a year ago, which trigger me to check on that and surprise that i have the same issue too.

Added on
just got feedback from Maybank regarding refund of charged RM8 annual fee, the branch could not refund for that as it is part of product features.

Kindly be informed that the branch have reverted to us that they have explained on the product features and there is no waiver on the Rm 8.00 for the said account. If the closure was done with your consent, hence the account is unable to be reactivated back.
Means it is possible to get waiver before close account. After get the waiver then proceed to close account and open a new account.

koala225
post May 31 2019, 06:37 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2019, 05:52 PM)
yes when contacted CS, was told the refund / waiver is up to the branch's discretion. for ur case u should put that to lower priority as ur main purpose is to close ur PSA and open CASA without annual fee since they wouldn't want to perform ur request straight forward. u should pray hard if they could perform ur request, rather than concentrate on the waiver.
I don't care the waiver if they allow me to open new account without fee. As I said earlier I will open new account first, then close account in future since already charged annual fee still have 1 year time to proceed closing.

0.0467sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:26 AM