Savings Account in Malaysia
Nom-el
Dec 8 2015, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 7 2015, 09:01 PM) Revision of Deposit Rates wef 1/1/2016 by Affin Bank http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Whats-...Jan2016-BI.aspxThose bal above RM20k, the int rate drop around 100 bps +/- This is the third time Affin revises down its saving account interest rate this year. Other banks like OCBC & Ambank are introducing new saving accounts with high interest rate while Affin keeps cutting the interest rate. Take note that Affin interest rate is based on deposit band tier. Meaning the effective rate is lower than the one shown. Affin used to have 1 of the highest interest rate saving accounts but not anymore.
Nom-el
Oct 25 2016, 06:58 PM
UOB revised their eAccount interest rate to 3.08% from 2.78% for account balances above 20k. Most of the banks reduce their rate, so it's good to see a bank increasing their rate instead.
Nom-el
Nov 24 2016, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(street @ Nov 22 2016, 07:22 PM) Never mind, I went to the bank myself. Apparently, you must present the bank officer a letter of employment, student ID, or business registration if you're self-employed. They need to do a background check for fraud prevention (misuse of account, money laundering, etc.). QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 22 2016, 07:26 PM) alamak.... then my neighbour's school drop out sons that are current working as hawkers can NEVER be allowed to open a bank S/A...liao  Most banks do not need those supporting documents to open a savings account. Only selected banks' branches / staff want to be so particular about it. Some staff like to make it difficult for customers while other times it is their superior who issued the instruction. It is not a valid reason for an unemployed to be denied opening a savings account although I have heard that excuse before. Where do you expect people like housewife to keep their money in? Milo tin? You can actually complain to the bank's HQ or Bank Negara if you don't mind the hassle. I suggest to try another bank / branch though. QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 23 2016, 01:42 PM) Btw, it's 8x/month.
Nom-el
Nov 24 2016, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 24 2016, 05:06 PM) Depends on bank. For me the bank told me it's 4x/month. Which bank is that? Are you sure your account is a BSA? For all BSA, the min. is 8x/month. QUOTE(ketnave @ Nov 24 2016, 05:16 PM) There's no annual fee (debit card) for CIMB Basic SA, but the Basic SA is super limited, as in: 1) Can't transfer out $ via CIMB Clicks 2) Can't pay for CIMB Credit Card using that Basic SA Basic SA from Public Bank on the other hand is just like a normal / regular saving, just without the annual debit card fees. Really? I have an islamic BSA with CIMB, I am able to transfer money using CIMB Clicks.
Nom-el
Nov 28 2016, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(ketnave @ Nov 25 2016, 01:30 AM) I think mine is Basic Saving without Fee, not Islamic. Screenshot: http://imgur.com/a/mEAIKReally ? Basic SA too Basic ?  You can try Islamic Basic SA as per some forumers. As for me, the Basic SA of mine is kinda limited  Did you contact customer service about this issue? Did CIMB staff tell you that this basic savings account cannot do online transfer?  As far as I know, most if not all basic savings account (conventional or islamic) from the other banks can do online transfer without any problem.
Nom-el
Jan 18 2017, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jan 18 2017, 10:31 AM) why cimb basic saving account (new account) - charging rm8 fee? no atm card also.. Did you tell the staff that you wanted to open a fee-free basic savings account (with limited ATM withdrawal)? If not, the staff probably open a basic savings account with annual fee for you with unlimited ATM withdrawal.
Nom-el
Jan 18 2017, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jan 18 2017, 11:40 AM) problem is.. no ATM facility.. basically just want to do a banker cheque from cimb.. i had cash of rm5k.. but the officer enforced to create a saving account then only can do the banker cheque.. so no choice die die must create an account for the sake of banker cheque.. Sorry to hear that. If your account is BSA with fee, you will be charged every year regardless of whether or not you have an ATM card. The staff should have opened the non-fee BSA for you since you are not using the ATM facility at all. Problem is, sometimes they don't ask you what option you want. They just simply choose the default option for you if you did not specifically mention the option you want. This post has been edited by Nom-el: Jan 18 2017, 12:40 PM
Nom-el
Jan 20 2017, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jan 18 2017, 03:11 PM) do u think can appeal for reversal?  I don't know but you can try. What I do know is you cannot convert a non fee-free BSA to a fee-free BSA and vice-versa. The only way to do that is to close the existing account & open a new one.
Nom-el
Jul 10 2017, 11:23 AM
Hong Leong Bank's 7% p.a. CASA/-i Bonus Interest/Profit Promotion (7/7/2017 - 13/7/2017) https://www.hlb.com.my/content/dam/hlb/my/d...branch_CASA.pdf
Nom-el
Feb 9 2018, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(shuin1986 @ Jan 30 2018, 11:16 PM) Thanks for the update, seems like top 3 saving accounts are these, for now: 1. UOB eAccount: 3.60% p.a. for above RM50k [no max amount] 2. OCBC 360: 3.60% p.a. for 2 easy-to-achieve monthly requirements, 4.10% p.a. with min monthly spending of RM500 [interest earned only up to first RM100k] 3. Alliance SavePlus: 3% p.a. for above RM100k [no max amount]  How do you get 3.60% p.a. for OCBC 360 Account? It should be 2.90% p.a. only if fulfill 2 requirements. QUOTE(cringe @ Feb 7 2018, 10:06 PM) So if I open a basic account at CIMB and choose with limited atm withdrawal, CIMB will never charge me with their RM15.90 Annual Fee? Yes.
Nom-el
Apr 13 2018, 05:06 PM
New savings account from OCBC - Booster Account Balances below 30k - 0.25% p.a. Balances of 30k & above - 3.25% p.a. https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...ster/index.htmlThere is a Wealth Bonus promo going on as well.
Nom-el
Jul 23 2018, 01:39 PM
Affin Bank revises down their Savings Account / Current Account rate again effective 1/8/2018. This year alone, the rate has been revised down multiple times. http://www.affinbank.com.my/General/Rates-...erest-Rate.aspx
Nom-el
Aug 3 2019, 06:45 PM
Anyone has any idea on the daily cut off time for bank's interest calculation for savings / current account? In other words, by what time the fund must be in the account for it to be considered as part of the balance for that day? OCBC's cut off time is 9:45pm for e.g. What about HLB, UOB, MBB, CIMB, PBB, Affin etc.?
Nom-el
Jan 12 2021, 04:38 PM
Nom-el
Jan 12 2021, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 12 2021, 04:39 PM) Closed or put into dormant? All my accounts are active.
Nom-el
Jan 12 2021, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 12 2021, 04:59 PM) If it's an order from HQ, you should receive an official letter from HQ stating their action in doing so with valid reason to do so. The letter will probably request you to go to nearest branch, home branch or HQ to sort it out. Sounded very fishy to me. I requested an official letter from HQ from the branch's staff who contacted me and did receive a letter from the bank a few days later. However, it was not from HQ but from my home branch instead. No reason was given either in the letter. QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jan 12 2021, 05:12 PM) more often than not, there will be a reason. u should know what money came into ur account - whether that is the reason ur account is gonna be closed. The problem is the bank is not disclosing the reason for their actions. So, we could only speculate. Almost all the transactions in the accounts were among my own bank accounts. They don't even need to tell me why? That is so unfair. So much for Treat Your Customer Fairly charter.  Maybe I should demand for an explanation from HQ? Can they ignore my demand? I cannot appeal or explain myself if I do not know what I did wrong (if any).
Nom-el
Feb 2 2021, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 19 2021, 04:09 AM) The terrible bank, UOB.
Nom-el
Apr 15 2023, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(MMMoney @ Apr 7 2023, 11:29 PM) Yes, you can. But still, you need to visit the branch even if you open the account online. Make sure you bring along your latest phone bill statement and payslip. Is this your recent experience or was this some time ago?