Credit Cards Citibank Credit Cards V2, Discuss here

whyteaz
post Jan 13 2014, 05:24 PM

281 posts

hi, i m new to credit card and i just got my 1st card approval from citibank.

I would like some advise on how to manage credit card payment? tips on rebate/reward and so on
whyteaz
post Jan 14 2014, 10:45 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jan 13 2014, 05:45 PM)
One of our resident sifu is Gen-X Check out Gen XYZ Blog on Credit Cards. Just google those keywords and you will be directed to his Blog.  You can also search his postings on this section

For payments, just remember, if u CANNOT afford to pay in full, DO NOT swipe the CC. Don't pay any interest to the CC. Only get cash rebates / points from the CC. Make money from the CC and not the other way.
Thanks sifu.

OMG i just went to the blog and it is so messy and full load of ads~
I cant find what I want to find, I guess this Gen-X need to hire someone to redesign his blog = =''

So do you mean that to pay CC in full, on time every month when statement come? Is that the only way to skip interest?

BTW, when I apply that guy told me can waive annual fee by calling them. Why I see forumer said policy change and something?? OMG, m I kena conned?
= =''
whyteaz
post Jan 14 2014, 12:29 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 14 2014, 11:02 AM)
hahaha, for your case, just go click Credit Card Tutorial Page at the top menu (or click here to the Page directly) and click on CC101 and Credit Card Interest Rates. But my articles are not for those seeking to be spoon feed  tongue.gif
Wow, it was a wall of text, but I finished reading including some article u wrote about oversea spending.
So is it advisable to use cc in overseas than to exchange cash from malaysia and bring it for overseas travel?

Btw, my feedback still the same. Get your website FIX~! biggrin.gif
whyteaz
post Jan 14 2014, 03:37 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 14 2014, 12:36 PM)
Bro, on how much money (cash) one brings overseas, it is up to individual preference, and if you want to go to Casinos, yah make sure you got CASH. I always make sure I have enough cash in case I get stranded. But then again, I got many debit cards to get cash if necessary.

Don't like my blog layout, well, don't visit it tongue.gif
haha, okay u win....
u got damn alot of card man btw
whyteaz
post Jan 15 2014, 12:33 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jan 15 2014, 10:33 AM)

Scenario 1

You make a Transaction, say Petrol of RM80 on the Jan 8 2014
Transaction will be captured in the Jan 10th Statement
Statement arrives on Jan 13 2014
You have until Jan 30 2014 to pay
You can only, pay say RM40.

Now, for Jan 10th Statement, you will not be charged interest as you are new Customer (or did not owe any amount in the past) but this interest for the balance RM40 will appear in Feb Statement.  Rough Calculation will be

RM40 * 15% * 10 days (Jan 30 to Feb 10) / 365 days = RM0.16

Scenario 2

You make another Transaction, say Petrol of RM100 on the Jan 12 2014
As this is after Jan 10, it will only be captured in Feb 10 Statement
Statement arrives on Feb 13 2014
You have until Mar 2 2014 to pay
Because you have not paid in full, an interest of 15.0% is charged immediately
RM100 * 15% * 29 days (Jan 12 to Feb 10) /365 = RM1.19
Total interest in Feb Statement will be RM0.49 + RM1.19 = RM1.35

Hi and thanks, great advise you have there. Yes I have read many article and visited GenXYZ blog but still feeling unsure.
What do you mean "Statement arrives on"? Does it mean the statement bill/letter which made available to me by bank?
For scenario 2 calculation, where does the RM0.49 come from?

Yea, I usually not a big spender but this is 1st time I owned a CC so I need to be caution.

whyteaz
post Jan 15 2014, 12:36 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jan 15 2014, 10:52 AM)
For a start, I think it is better for first time credit card holders to make payment more frequently and not wait until the statement arrives. Like make a habit to pay every week, like say everything swiped on the 1st-7th, you make payment on the 8th for that week's usage. Since now IBG transfers are only 10 cents, it is easy and also cheap to make payment via IBG.

The problem with first time card holders are like what cfa28 said, sometimes it's not we don't have the cash but after swiped, we tend to just forget it for that moment and we spend that ready cash on something else like shopping/entertainment, so when the statement comes we are already out of cash to pay.

Until today I still make it a habit to pay frequently, just that from weekly payment I change it to every 2 weeks. So far so good. biggrin.gif
Ouh, so we can actually pay by partial before the statement come or cycle end?
Does citibank online provide realtime statement? I am still waiting my CC to be courier to me.
I am quite suprise that I applied on Sunday and get approved on Monday. A HSBC banker said it is impossible. LOL
whyteaz
post Jan 16 2014, 03:07 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jan 15 2014, 12:44 PM)
I am assuming that the Statement will be mailed to your address, hence needs few days to arrive but with E-Statement, it may be redundant. Hence, if Statement Date is 10 Feb, you will only get it say on 11 Feb or thereafter

For scenario 2, apologies, its a typo, it should be RM0.16 c/f from the calculation in Scenario 1.

As long as u pay in full every month and on time, you have nothing to worry about.  Just remember to check your statements carefully for any fraudulent expenses. One way to minimise fradulaent trnasactions is to request for a lower SMS Alert. Currently, the default by most Banks / CC Company is RM500. So, u only receive a SMS ALert for Transactions higher than RM500.

This means someone can swipe your card for RM499 for many times until your credit limit is reached.  Out sifus here have managed to reduce the SMS Alert to just RM1.00, meaning that u will receive SMS Alert for all transactions. Tbis is good if u go clubbing / restaurants, etc where it takes very long time for your CC to come back to you.

The Cashier could just swipe twice and you won't be aware of it but with a lower SMS Alert, you will be notified immediately.
Oh thanks alot for your information. Now I m fully understand liao.

Btw how did the sifu manage to lower the limit to RM1? I just called CITIBANK and they say minimum they can lower it till RM201.
whyteaz
post Jan 16 2014, 03:08 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jan 15 2014, 12:45 PM)
Can, those partial payments will be reflected/credited in your statement. Citibank's online statement is not real-time as far as I know but any transactions made say today should be posted the next working day so you will see it in your online account the next working day.
Thanks alot. Because I sked sometimes the cashier will swipe my card twice or something happen so i can check it easily online.
whyteaz
post Jan 16 2014, 03:58 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jan 16 2014, 03:45 PM)
Refer here, post #314 by Human Nature  https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1796957/+300

You will have to insist on it being set at RM1.00 and report to BNM if u need to

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?pg=en_theb...en_about&ac=795

Please do update us on your progress / success after u have made a complaint to BNM
Thanks again for your info. So this is provided the BNM take action against my complaint?

May I know what information is needed to logde this compaint? Banker name? or etc? So I could ask the detail from CITIBANK before writting it.
whyteaz
post Jan 17 2014, 12:07 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 16 2014, 05:20 PM)
If I have any email from the bank stating that my request is not possible, I will just use that and forward to Bank Negara. If it is from a phone conversation, then I state the date. Yes, have to provide name and card number.
Ouh, I just called CITIBANK again today and they still dowan help me to change said that is their policy/system.
However they say they will get back to me by Monday again. I got report number for this case. So I just write this down right?
whyteaz
post Jan 17 2014, 02:00 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 17 2014, 07:24 AM)
was looking for details on the tickets contest, found this.

22 nov 13 to 28 feb 14
10,000 prizes
min 6 tickets to qualify
top 10,000 ticket holders as winners
8xx,xxx tickets issued so far 3xx,xxx cardholders

very low chance... biggrin.gif

https://www.citibank.com.my/english/promo/c...51113#kana_wrap
do u know a way to check how many ticket u have currently?

0.0427sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:19 PM