Credit Cards Citibank Credit Cards V2, Discuss here

hye
post Dec 7 2012, 11:38 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I don't see the need to get upset over a piece of plastic. Equally, I don't see the need to throw sarcasm at the bank using profanities.

I have gotten upset at Citibank before and without the use of any profanities, I received a personal call from their head and an agreement to reprimand a staff regarding a serious misconduct.

If anyone can match my achievement using any form/degree of profanities thrown to the bank - please let me know and I'll buy the fella a cup of coffee.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 7 2012, 11:38 PM
hye
post Dec 19 2012, 07:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Dec 19 2012, 07:20 PM)
I got an offer to apply for citibank cash back platinum card...currently im using clear card. Is it worth the upgrade? I'm using my card mostly for petrol and paying bills....sometimes shopping
Forget about the perceived status of the card. (Read : don't be blinded about the Platinum status) It's all about getting a card which matches your lifestyle and not creating a lifestyle around your card.
If switching cards means forgoing what you enjoy and getting less ... then why bother ?
hye
post Jan 16 2013, 07:42 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Jan 16 2013, 03:38 PM)
Either that is a naive and prejudicial remark, or you are just stating your personal preference.
The returns from a cash back card are not necessarily better than a reward points based card.
That's right. End of the day it's all about personal preference and what does one want in return from their loyalty/spendings with the bank.
So I disagree if anyone want to influence others that reward cards is better or the latter. Equally, the banks "designs" their product to a specific target group and this is one example of such - Rewards Centric and Cashback Centric.

hye
post Jan 28 2013, 08:05 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Jan 28 2013, 04:05 AM)
I have a question here.. Citibank gave me 2 cards which they are linked together (Clear card + Shell Card)
I made my payment after received the statement with MEPS Giro to Clearcard number.. Do I need to transfer into both account number or either 1 is enough?
You need to transfer to both accounts.
hye
post Feb 4 2013, 05:02 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vincentxiang @ Feb 3 2013, 06:23 PM)
GST is govt enforcement, there is no way to waive it. In general, bank will advise cm to offset it by accumulated point or cash back.
My words simplified as quoted.
I'd like to remind readers that GST is collected by the government and the banks enforce it on behalf of the government.
If anyone refuse to pay the GST then please use a debit card and don't rant here telling how stingy the banks are to pay for your own GST which you should be paying in the first place. There's an option for everyone who doesn't want to pay GST - those wanting to hold a credit card, be aware of the responsibilities that you need to upheld and among others paying the GST. Please get rid of your subsidies mentalities - those belong in the 3rd world countries!

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 4 2013, 05:03 AM
hye
post Feb 4 2013, 07:49 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Feb 4 2013, 07:32 AM)
Hi, I agreed your statement about complaining bank doesn't give rewards to offset gst Is an immature attitude and RM50 gst is card holder responsibility.

However, I don't agree that finding a way for bank to subsidize us RM50 gst is 3rd world countries mentality! I didn't see anything wrong with someone finding a way to get additional RM50 cash back to offset gst. Many of us hold credit cards because we want the cash back/additional discount rather than for convenient sake. So is there anything wrong asking any loophole where bank will give additional RM50 cash back? I really didn't see anything wrong with this mentality and enquiries.

Sorry for my poor English.
I don't mind if the bank provides incentives to offset the GST. However, I do have concerns about the number of readers insisting to the bank that the GST be offset as a condition for them to remain as customer - that's plain outright subsidy mentality. (And that was the recent concern ... the posts were disapproved and deleted) To compound the problem further, the members posted in several threads.

To note : I'm not against anyone who is able offset the GST on their own means. That's their luck and I'm fine with that. However, no one should be trolling, using this section of the forum to rant about banks not offsetting their GST or discussing ways to bypass the system. You have the Kopitiam for such things - go there and say whatever you want about the GST. GST is the decision of the government to collect it and it is not the banks - this is the fact that will be in place in this forum.

Anyone who has a personal problem with my opinion or the rules of this forum may take it via PM. I don't see the need for public attacks especially when a person thinks I'm against their belief.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 4 2013, 10:10 AM
hye
post Feb 4 2013, 07:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

notingz You may keep your opinions and thoughts - it's all yours and you are entitled to it.

I will not allow misleading information to exist here. I hope this ends here and I do not wish to prolonged it or do you want to remain hostile ?

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 4 2013, 07:28 PM
hye
post Feb 5 2013, 09:42 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

nothingz If you do not care about accuracy of the terminology, I'll appreciate if you keep that as your preference.
I don't see why us and especially me need to agree to your preferences especially when accuracy is compromised and readers can be confused.

MilesAndMore Thank you.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 5 2013, 09:49 AM
hye
post Feb 14 2013, 09:50 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mytmnet @ Feb 14 2013, 09:14 AM)
I firstly apply in Nov 2012 and citibank reject me without giving any reason and notification. I try again in JAN 2013 and after 1 week I got 2 cards although I only apply for one hmm.gif
Is that my agent trying to get more commission from me? doh.gif
It all depends as to whether you filled up the forms yourself or did you allow the agents to do most of the filling up by the agent ?
If the latter, this is the consequences of allowing agents to fill up sections of the forms without supervision. The damage could have been worst. If you felt this should not have happened, then you consider lodging a complaint so that such things are not repeated ever.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 14 2013, 09:51 AM
hye
post Mar 7 2013, 12:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

To all members. I'd like to take this opportunity to mention that no solicitation is allowed in any form in the cc section. (I have previously mentioned this and this is the reminder again)

There are other sections in this forum for such purpose and it does not belong here.
hye
post Mar 12 2013, 09:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:07 PM)
Citi Prestige is equivalent to what level? Visa Infinite? World Mastercard?
My suspicion is that Citibank applied an internal branding of this card rather to use what VISA/Mastercard card categories/level.
I have observed that the card is not marked with neither the World/Infinite/Signature which is normally associated with Premium level cards.
Update : It just might be the first World Elite Mastercard in Malaysia!

chokolato I do not want to be sounding rude but if you have the mentality of Free/Waive AF for Citi Prestige, I wish you all the best as you may not deserve such cards. These are (if I've correctly understand it) true Premium cards from Citibank vs. Citi Premier Miles which I think not a Premium card as many think it is due to the naming convention used.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 12 2013, 10:43 PM
hye
post Mar 14 2013, 11:05 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chokolato @ Mar 14 2013, 10:42 AM)
i understand what u mean. but normally those rich ppl kedekut wan.. they rather spend RM50k buy something to entitle annual fee waiver. if not kedekut, how to become rich. maybe only those who get easy money willing to pay the rm1k annual fee.
You'll be surprised otherwise but this is not the concern. Many kinds of people out there and equally many types of rich people.
Many folks these days are status crazy - thinking credit cards is the measurement of wealth. We get CL increase, card type increase, Platinum chasers and etc. in bundles and look at our Recommendation Cards section - practically almost 100% want nothing else but free cards and highest CL.

We notice the population trends and been around long enough to understand general cardholders mentality.
hye
post Mar 14 2013, 02:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Mar 14 2013, 02:11 PM)
citibank prestige world elite mastercard have promotion now..once approved u will get 180,000 points free equivalent to nicon camera..why wait lai lai apply now
rathian_mhfu I'd appreciate it if you were to be more responsible and to also state the T&C of the promotions as well to any information that you state here. (I'd been observing your posts) Given the way you are currently stating it, I see it as misleading our readers because there are additional details but you are not stating it either intentionally or not.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 14 2013, 02:52 PM
hye
post Mar 27 2013, 10:07 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Mar 27 2013, 09:52 AM)
few questions.

do ur annual income exceed RM200,000?
cannot get approved if annual income below RM200,000?
any welcome gift?
do u received a Nikon Camera wotrh RM2718 as a welcome gift?
Citibank is very strict on the approval on this card. Your income need to hit a minimum of RM200,000 or please don't bother to apply. You'll waste your time as they as I said Citibank will follow the requirements to the letter.

No welcome gifts. However, for a limited time, they will award you with welcome points. (I can't remember the amount)
You use the points to redeem for the Nikon camera.
hye
post Mar 27 2013, 11:34 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Mar 27 2013, 10:25 AM)
I saw in the citibank website and it stated welcome gift for nikon camera

https://www.citibank.com.my/prestige/applynow.html
Did you throughly check the website to look for the **Terms & Condition or you just look at the picture and got excited ?
Always look at the fine print and I can't emphasize the numerous times which I mentioned this. Please tell me and all of us here and say whether there's any fine print or not to the gift ?
hye
post Jun 3 2013, 11:41 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Jun 3 2013, 09:22 AM)
u know its kinda surprise permiermiles website didnt mention anything about protection. other cards got provide travel protection such as flight delay, lost luggage, travel insurance(this is PM amex got)... but PM visa dont have anything mentioned on their website abt protection !!! shouldnt a travel card have this?
It depends on the card feature and it is entirely up to the bank as to whether they want to bundle such protection with the card.
Honestly, you should not be too bothered about this as if you are a serious traveller, you would know that it is better to get a separate travel insurance/protection rather than to rely on freebies from the bank.

As a hint, you may want to Google and make comparison between paid travel insurance and "bundled" cc travel insurance. You will be surprised by the offering gap.
hye
post Aug 27 2013, 06:34 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I'd like to remind our readers that GST are not waiverable for credit cards in Malaysia. If you wish to use credit card, pay the GST. Else if you insist to get GST waived then there's a great product for you - get the Citibank debit card. No need to ask others on how to get GST waived.

I hope I made myself clear on this long standing and never ending issue.

0.0271sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:47 PM