Credit Cards Citibank Credit Cards V2, Discuss here

MilesAndMore
post Sep 3 2013, 07:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Aug 20 2013, 07:54 AM)
i cancelled my Citibank Cash Back Platinum card after my request to waive annual fee was refused. apparently from this year onwards, they will not waive the annual fee anymore. The annual government service tax of RM50 could not be waived also. The worst thing was that because there was a transaction in the month of renewal, i had to pay pro rate of the annual fee. So as an early warning to those who are holding Citibank Cash Back Platinum card and are expecting to have their annual fee waived, do take note of this and if you wish to cancel, make sure you cancel before it's due for renewal. by the time you receive the bank statement with the annual fee, it's too late. you're already charged the government service tax fee and if you happened to make a transaction on the month of renewal, you'll have to pay pro rate of the annual fee.
That is not true. I just got the annual fee of my two Citibank credit cards waived very recently.

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 3 2013, 03:43 PM)
to renew each category you have to pay RM 100 a year
But can be automatically waived if your spending in the last year is more than a certain amount.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 11 2013, 07:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Sep 11 2013, 05:48 PM)
Anyone received new Business platinum card to replace their current Cash Back Platinum Card?

They claimed my Cash Back card product going end of life, I should upgrade my card to  Business platinum card. However nightmare happened once upgraded.

All my transaction with the previous card  are not displayed in my new login (the new card), thought they claimed all records will be moved to the new account.

The customer service eventually sent me all my previous record all the year. But this makes me really annoyed with the service.
Btw, any big difference between cash back and business platinum?
Which Cash Back Platinum Card are you talking about ? The blue one with 5% cash back for petrol ? I have this credit card and mine is going expire soon and they already sent the new credit card to me (same card) a month ago with a new expiry date.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 24 2013, 10:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Sep 24 2013, 09:49 PM)
I thought normally platinum card should be around 60k? No?
This is the lower-end Platinum credit card. So it's just RM40k/pa.

MilesAndMore
post Sep 26 2013, 11:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(melonlicious @ Sep 26 2013, 11:19 PM)
Maybank IV? I am surfing mbb website but can't find it.
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

You may want to read Gen-X blog.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 1 2013, 12:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Sep 30 2013, 10:56 PM)
Citi Plat get waiver is you swipe 3 within 60 days. Not sure is it auto or have to call plus guarantee waiver though. 3 swipes is easy to achieve.
You need to call.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 4 2013, 11:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Oct 4 2013, 10:59 PM)
Yes, the Bank will Deduct from Credit Card (limit) Every Month
Actually that's incorrect.

QUOTE(Liuteva @ Oct 4 2013, 10:48 PM)
Make it simple.

For example an object is 1200, installment 12 months.

So my credit limit let's say 3000, it deduct 100 every month or 1200 at once?
RM1,200 at once.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 4 2013, 11:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Liuteva @ Oct 4 2013, 11:09 PM)
Hmm, then I saw those instalment thingy for example in SenQ what mean?
For example:
credit card limit : RM3,000
available credit card limit : RM3,000
bought a mobile phone (RM1,200) with 0% 12-month installment : so you pay the bank RM100/month for 12 months

The moment you swipe your card at SenQ for 12-month installment, RM1,200 will be deducted from your available credit limit. Thus your remaining usable credit limit is only RM1,800. Some banks will slowly increase your credit limit again when after you've paid every month, while some banks will only release the whole credit limit (RM1,200) when you have fully paid the whole amount.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 5 2013, 10:43 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Oct 5 2013, 10:23 AM)
citibank is different, it has 2 different limits, available credit limit and instalment limit as per its statement.  lets say your available credit limit is 10k, your instalment credit limit is 5k = total 15k, i think the 1200 will eat into the 5k portion
For 0% installment, it will eat into your normal available credit limit, not the separate installment limit. Currently I have a 0% EPP on my Citibank VISA and it is counted under my available credit limit.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2013, 01:32 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chongaik82 @ Oct 5 2013, 07:35 PM)
I have 0% installment Iphone 5. The amount deduct from Installment Credit Limit. Wonder why there is a different. Hmm...
Is it ? Mine is for Dell computer. Anyway, I'm not in Malaysia now. When I'm home i'll have a look at my latest statement again.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2013, 03:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 6 2013, 12:06 PM)
Bro, this is because Citibank found a loop hole to increase their card holder CL without needing the cardholders' consent. Only recently they separated CL for retail and installment plans.
Actually Citibank separated my credit card limit into two (credit limit + installment limit) more than a year ago. I noticed a huge jump in my credit limit in my Citibank credit card statement early last year, if I'm not mistaken.

However, for this recent Dell PC that I purchased through phone (had to place the order through phone because I wanted them to give me the free backup OS CD, too lazy to make a backup CD myself as it is very time consuming tongue.gif ), it eats into my normal credit card limit.

QUOTE(ChancellorBean @ Oct 6 2013, 03:14 PM)
is citibank clear credit card's annual fee of rm90 worth paying? i got people telling me to never get credit card that requires me to pay annual fee.
No. It is not. Normally we call to ask them to waive the annual fee. I have been using Citibank credit cards for more than 3 years now and I never paid the annual fee for my Citibank credit cards (I have two).
MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2013, 05:02 PM

9,301 posts

The Citibank Platinum credit card (normal one) now sports a new look and design and it comes in matte finish. It looks just like the Citi Business Signature VISA. I miss the big CITI wording as the background of the card sad.gif

MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2013, 05:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 11 2013, 05:18 PM)
Seems more banks prefer to use matte finish nowadays. Maybe it doesn't wear out so fast and thus they can issue a longer expiry card?
Yeah, it is true that a matte finish card doesn't wear out as quickly as those of glossy finish. This new card comes with 5 years validity. The previous one is valid for only 3 years.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2013, 10:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 11 2013, 10:08 PM)
Black Matt for a Plat, I like it. I guess Citi wants to make their Plat a wannabe or "fake" Premier cards, hahaha.
No leh bro. It's actually silver matte and it looks so much like a silver card than ever doh.gif When i opened up the envelope, i actually thought it's a new credit card product as it looks so different compared to my current VISA Platinum. Besides, the Platinum wording on the card is printed in white and it is not very clear. One can easily mistakes it as a silver card sweat.gif

Bro, you got a letter from Citi where they increase the Installment CL  like I posted in my blog? See my previous comments below:
I think i did see the letter. But they have already assigned me a separate installment limit way before. Anyway, i just came back to Malaysia and i've been lazy the past couple of months and stopped filling my credit cards statements sweat.gif I will look for that letter later on and also to check if my recent DELL desktop 0% EPP purchase eats into my normal credit card limit or the installment limit smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Oct 11 2013, 10:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 11 2013, 10:42 PM)
OIC, from the photo, it looks black.

As for the previous Plat (which I have), without the word Platinum, one would think it is silver, haha.
This new one is worse. Wait till you get yours biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Oct 12 2013, 03:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 12 2013, 03:34 PM)
That's the old one. But the actual VISA logo printed is different.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 20 2013, 08:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 6 2013, 05:35 PM)
In July 2013, I received a letter from Citibank and it goes as follows:

Effective July 2013
Card Credit Limit (X) = RM80,000
Installment Plans Limit (Y) = RM69,000
TOTAL CREDIT LIMIT (X) + (Y) = RM149,000

So, Citibank DID NOT ask my consent if they could increase by Credit Limit as required by BNM, but as you can see, my effective credit limit has increased.
Bro, you got a letter from Citi where they increase the Installment CL  like I posted in my blog? See my previous comments below:
I think i did get the letter but i have no idea where did i put it already. I remember glancing it through but it wasn't a promotional letter that gives me free money, so i just tossed it aside. And now i couldn't find this letter but most likely it is in one of the boxes inside my messy room sweat.gif

This (X) + (Y) thingy first appeared on my Citi credit card statement more than a year ago. Back then it was just RM40,000. I had a look at my credit card statement just now and i was surprised to learn that it has been increased to RM67,400 ohmy.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 6 2013, 05:35 PM)
Yes, because unlike previously (and for most credit cards in the market) where the credit used for installment plans will also means that you have used up the credit limit line, now it is no longer the case for Citibank credit cards.
I couldn't get a clue whether my DELL PC installment eats into my normal credit card limit or installment limit. But i managed to find this out in my Citi Online and it indeed eats into my normal credit card limit, not the installment limit. My card installment loan limit is RM67,400 as of last month, but available installment limit still stands at RM67,400 (see below).

MilesAndMore
post Oct 20 2013, 08:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 20 2013, 08:13 PM)
Yah, looks like your installment limit is untouched.

Wow, you can go buy a car with your installment credit limit, hahaha
Yeah. I think Citi realy 'sot' liao rclxub.gif

MilesAndMore
post Oct 21 2013, 12:24 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Oct 20 2013, 11:04 PM)
Bro,

I am in the same situation with you. Back then my cr limit was at 10k. Then after 6/7 months my cr limit was increased to 18k. The CS officer told me the 8k was for cash advance or etc (can't recall the term). I was like  shakehead.gif

They never asked any consensus from me & simply increase a 80% from my limit. Damn.  rclxub.gif
Yeah. I don't really need such a high limit for my Citibank credit cards. But if it were Maybank offering me such high actual credit limit increase, meaning not coming up with a separate installment credit limit but an actual credit limit increase, i would be overjoyed to be honest as almost all my spending goes to my MBB2 AMEX and i did burst my Maybankard credit limit a few times already to the point that i had to transfer a bit money from my M2U Savings to the card just so i can continue to use my MBB2 AMEX. I just did not want to give up the opportunity to earn 5x TP, not even for one day or 1 swipe at places that accept AMEX! laugh.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2013, 12:01 AM)
Sifu MilesAndMore, watch out for my upcoming article titled China Mission and Armed with Debit Card for Cash Withdrawal in couple days time. It's my first action thriller article in format similar to 24 HOURS and it's a true story based on postings here  smile.gif
Haha. Sure. I look forward to reading it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 21 2013, 12:24 AM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 21 2013, 12:53 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Oct 21 2013, 12:28 AM)
QUOTE(hkboey @ Oct 21 2013, 12:44 AM)
High-five!!! laugh.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 21 2013, 12:48 AM)
As you guys know, it is like really tough for me to get MBB to increase my CL since I got no pay slip. So do what zenquix taught me - go request temporary increase in credit limit - no need submit whatever documents. You can even request how much and long the temporary increase is good for. After it expire, go ask again  smile.gif
Hmm... wasn't aware of this. Most likely i missed zenquix's post on this. Will give it a try next time biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 21 2013, 12:53 AM

0.0394sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:55 AM