Dog Sports n activities, agility, frisbee, freestyle, retrieve...

Jenn77
post Apr 15 2007, 12:17 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Mar 25 2006, 01:36 AM)
icon_rolleyes.gif  Yup Odie's d 1. Silkies r from Petnu side. Good 2 know dat he is back on track with d poles. No pressure at all, if unsure just join d Basic Jumpers n Novice Jumpers class.

Trials = real competition. Do u mean practice on d obstacles b4 d trial itself? Yup will try n organise a warmup ring with some jumps n weave poles, but most of d other obstacles will hv to be in place at d proper trial ring beforehand.
Sorry for my poor interpretation, I was referring to the 'warm up'! Coz new enviroment dont know Shadow can adapt or not.. We are trying to re-introduce Shadow to the weaving pole after a bad accident last week, now Shadow is kinda afraid lookin at the poles! Hopefully tomolo's class will bear fruit. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 17 2007, 11:02 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Apr 16 2007, 12:04 AM)
Oops, hope d poles didnt fall on him ... rclxub.gif
Yalor land on Shadow's back.. its the pole he is scared of.. and the sound..

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 16 2007, 12:41 PM)
hahah...last time pacco oso got knock b4...but tat's juz PVC...not d standard metal material...or else, really will get pengsan...
Honestly if metal should be damn steady oredi lor.. its really my fault.. I should have know better. Anyway, last sunday Agi class was good and Shadow manage to conquer his fear! The problem is for the handler to maintain the speed with Shadow coz I would say his tiny n fast! sweat.gif Hopefully can see Groovie & Pacco at YMCA soon and get some 1st class hands on experience! rclxm9.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 18 2007, 10:51 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 18 2007, 01:10 PM)
yea....our dogs speed like every round was their 'hot lap'.....is difficult for me to keep up wit her.... sweat.gif n during d k9 day, v join d agility game...pacco was so fast until she slid down from the pause table.....'brake pad' malfunction.. laugh.gif
Install ABS lor.. at least can pause on time.. tongue.gif I heard they minus marks or add minutes as penalty everytime the dog miss the obstacles or they do not do it the proper way, correct me if Im wrong.

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Apr 18 2007, 10:11 PM)
rolleyes.gif Bsides training ur dog 2 b proficient n pacy at d obstacles, another very important aspect of d sport is 2 train d handler 2 read d course n run it in d most efficient n smoothest manner possible. Only den will u hv any chance of keeping up with ur dog. Ur training school shld b able 2 teach u d moves if dey r for real.  hmm.gif

I totally agree with you. I really appreciate Fawn for introducing me to JRT's and his advice to me all the time. THanks bro! Not to forget Amanda., hope to meet yea soon! rclxms.gif Alrite back to the topic.. no offence to my current doggie skool.. a little money minded I would say! How do u expect to train a 9 month old Afghan Hound, 1 year old Pug and a Shi Tzu to play Agility, without first giving them OB? The problem is the lack of attention from instructors that makes the whole circuit like a big mess.. Last Sunday 15.04.07 was the worst training ever.. GR's and some mat salleh gal with a dalmation just goes in out of the circuit (which they did not pay for) and 3 big dogs just got stuck in the damn tunnel and rumble inside until it roll on the grass..! doh.gif Is not that v r selfish.. 1 hour is quite short I would say.. ppl walking in out really distracts us.. and d instructors did nothing , maybe scared they will offend the ppl kwa... rclxub.gif I just feel that there are too many students at one time .. chaos! Im not trying to say my dog is the best.. but surely 4 weeks he manage to overcome all d obstacles except the weaving poles off leash.. icon_rolleyes.gif This is all due to my wife (Jennifer - Pflakes) kind attention and enthusiatic towards Shadow. I would not say that the instructor didnt do anything, but they just dont give enuff... sometimes I feel like I want to switch venue. Odie's owner has been complaining all this while.. think that she will change venue soon.. I'm thinking of enrolling for some extra classes (dancing etc.. ) from Pet N you.. Shadow really meant alot to us after all the hardship v have been through together.. so I think giving Shadow d best is not too much after all.. wub.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 19 2007, 11:45 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 19 2007, 01:48 PM)
for me, if my dog really pay attention...1hour is more than enough, (but that won't b happening until d next decade)....but if u keep having short break n chit chat around, then obviously is rather tight...tunnel rolling to d grass?!?! that must b funny.... laugh.gif
since they had so many students, i think they shld actually separate d agility classes, to beginners n senior...
Yeah.. pay attention.. sweat.gif The problem is the instructor is nowhere to be found.. only to be seen in a minute or so.. Actually the tunnel incident is quite funny.. at the mean time dangerous coz the dogs inside the tunnel are actually struggling like mad and accidents could happen. sweat.gif

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Apr 19 2007, 11:27 PM)
In a proper trial, a team will incur faults for missed, wrong or incomplete obstacle. Any obstacle not completed will mean elimination. In Msia n Spore, to keep things simple, dey just add 5 secs to ur course time for every fault incurred. In Western countries, dey look at the number of faults first b4 looking at d course time to determine d team standings.

Always willing 2 share tips with a fellow JRT owner or any dog 4 dat matter. Good 2 know dat Shadow is progressing well n am sure dat d weave poles will only b a matter of time.  thumbup.gif

Dogs n owners running in n out of d agility training ring is unavoidable, u know how Msians r ven dey wanna try something.  rolleyes.gif  It bcoms worse ven there r a lot of dogs at 1 place. In d end, wat matters is d quality of agility dogs dat come out from any school ie. dogs dat really cn perform on d field n trials. Just hv 2 look at d hit/miss ratio n u'll know wat I mean.  whistling.gif
I would have to agree with you.. I would rather use the word annoying to describe those people. One of the students even brought her dog on heat.. so all the other male dogs are going crazy! She brought it there becoz she had to perform a short dance b4 the graduation ceremony. I hope to find a doggie school with a proper trainer, to start with.. so that v can excel in something me and my wife are keen at.

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Apr 19 2007, 11:49 PM
Jenn77
post Apr 21 2007, 12:48 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 20 2007, 01:40 PM)
then it must be amber d GR..., right?
heat for training, is normal la...last time she went to k9 day while on heat oso.. biggrin.gif
I dont think is nice to mention any name lor. But I think she's quite snobbish and the way she handle her dog is very irresponsible, Im trying to be friendly not to offend any ppl, but if I sound her tat day.. it would be very teruk. She even invite another auntie into the circuit and ask her and the dalmation try out.. wtf mad.gif The instructor saw her, just ignore oni. Dont know why. After that the crowd just get bigger, seems like everybody is conducting their own class in the circuit. The most boring class I ever attended. So my wife told me that next time v should sound them, and I would this time.. no more Mr.Nice Guy.
Jenn77
post Apr 26 2007, 10:51 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 26 2007, 01:41 PM)
yea...tat's even  sweat.gif but olympic day onli got 1 category to join...PAAPP got so many leh...3 class...equals to RM90

btw.....wat prize u get during d SPCA day...

i didn't realize that they actually change d venue to a park...if not, i would had went for it too.... wink.gif
V were at BU, but it was around 6pm.. so v didnt go..AHA.. if not we could have beaten Groovie whistling.gif Btw, Amanda, going to PAAPP? ASk mummy to sponsor and daddy to provice transport.. can make it a family trip also. Shadow is going for operation this weekend.. Please pray for Shadow. cry.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 27 2007, 11:40 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Apr 27 2007, 09:45 AM)
so shadow decided to take part in PAAPP oso??
great news man....

yeah, i wish to go...but since it might cost me quite alot to take part....i'll seriously consider it 1st.....c how's our performance for this 13 may.....if i fail to get in d podium, i will not go for d penang 1.....

btw......my daddy n mummy is 100% will not offer to drive me there....they hate dog events.... mad.gif

n we wish shadow a speedy recovery...
No lah they scared the sun only.. Actually v feel like taking part in d 5.13 first, see how Shadow reacts to d different set of obstacles... honestly he's still new kids on d block. So I think its better for us to try out 1st. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 28 2007, 03:07 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Apr 28 2007, 12:24 AM)
On leash events, am fairly sure that Pacco will get a podium finish. Off leash, depends on ur degree of contol n her level of focus.

Penang trials, d courses arent difficult but dey do hv a few dogs (large n small) who cn perform reasonably well, so d competition cn b tough.  flex.gif
V r looking forward to join the PPAAP, as spectators for this time. V still dont have much confidence yet. V will contact Groovemaster for further details.
Jenn77
post May 1 2007, 12:11 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ Apr 29 2007, 04:28 PM)
cool2.gif Great, Penang cn b good fun coz u also hv d beaches n hawker stalls ... mainly Chinese, so more dog friendly den KL.

If Shadow cn run a 'figure of 8' course layout, den he shud b able 2 handle deir Beginners class trials (jumps n tunnels), n perhaps even d Elementary class (jumps, tunnels, seesaw n table). However, deir jumps r set at 16" or 40cm much higher den d 12" jumps dat u train with. Broad jump set at 2.7 ft in length. Dose r d main differences, plus deir tyre jump looks slightly different as well.

A sample of PAAPP Elementary course cn b viewed at
http://www.agility-penang.com/news.htm
Wah, v need tuition class liao.. how much u charge? Our Shadow currently resting coz just went for a successful small surgery. After tat some warm up is essential b4 going back to d circuit.. thanks for d encouragement Groovemaster, will ring u soon.. rclxms.gif
Jenn77
post May 2 2007, 11:45 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ May 2 2007, 10:41 PM)
Hey Jenn77, didnt notice any agility trial or comp for Olympic Day hmm.gif . Is dat confirmed? Shadow doing any demo on d day itself?
Oh sorry v were absent for last week's class because Shadow was having a minor operation. Recovering now.. So far didnt receive any info's yet. Will update u once we get the real deal. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post May 3 2007, 11:15 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ May 3 2007, 10:13 PM)
shakehead.gif Know wat u mean, imagine being K9 Olympic Champion by winning best dressed, best twin, waggy tail n eating contests. Dog olympics without agility, just like Olympics without d athletic events. Best not 2 take it too seriously n just play, play lor.

D long jump over powder - no easy way coz dogs arent dat silly whistling.gif. Just hv train so dat dog recognises a 'Big Jump' command vs. normal 'Jump'. Perhaps u cn practise with 1 hurdle n a blanket laid out to simulate d powder. Show her d obstacle 1st n mention 'Big Jump' b4 attempting. If she can link d command, den it's possible.  wink.gif
Wah wut u 2 discussing about? So deep one? LOL.. Anyway Im more interested at the PPAAP then Olympic Day.. For me, if dun wana play dun play, play oredi must go to d max. Fawn, just to ask ur opinion, is silky terrier's good enuf to do agility? Or issit all dog is able to do it?
Jenn77
post May 5 2007, 01:22 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(groovemaster @ May 4 2007, 12:54 AM)
tongue.gif Talking bout d games on olympic day n if u've sn d long jump event, u'll know wat v mean. Games dont really jive with d olympic theme, so dats why play, play, just for fun only lah.  whistling.gif

Or course, if ur r referring 2 agility trials/comp, den shld play properly n do ur best but also not forgetting 2 hv fun as well. Interested in Penang, den shld start training on 16" jumps.

All dogs cn do agility, only diff is d pace n drive dat dey do it at. Hv sn a couple of Shihtzus doing it, naturally at deir own slown steady pace n with no drive. Silkies being terriers, r fairly adept at agility if u cn get dem 2 focus on u. Trouble is dat most owners treat dem like lap dogs, hence dey begin to lose deir terrier roots. Once d drive is gone, den its hard 2 get back
Correct Fawn, the drive is the 'thing'. I hope that v can continue to excel with Shadow.. and hopes to train another dog. Thanks for d advice again. Tomorrow Shadow is going to d vet again to check on his stitches.. hopefully he gets a clean bill n able to go class on Sunday.. Actually not Shadow tak sabar to go.. its d owners.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ May 4 2007, 09:32 AM)
terrier r aggressive little mutt wit great drive....

but if d dog got no drive, use d racing greyhound method.....ppl actually caged them day n night to stimulate their drive...laugh.gif

as for d long jump, i think 1 way would b asking her to stay @ a distance n i myself stand at the other end..... or mayb bring along my private stick... laugh.gif

i think this time, janice's scruffy got a big chance in winning d RM500 cash on d olympic day....
Cage tak main lah Amanda.. tongue.gif I dont know why I dont like cage them, barricade them will do.. but I think sometimes depends on d luck oso.. if get a dog with a good drive to play den ok lor.. else.. sakit hati.
Jenn77
post May 6 2007, 01:09 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ May 5 2007, 08:56 AM)
actually for me, i had no choice but to cage my dog, due to family problems...
but i only start caging when she was 1/2 yrs old...
Well if it benefits the dog, then caging is a good solution lor. Coz not all ppl can accept dogs.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(groovemaster @ May 5 2007, 01:58 PM)
U looking for a new Silky? Take it easy with d stitches, normally takes at least 10 - 14 days to completely heal.

Added on May 5, 2007, 2:17 pm

Not my preferred choice, but caging/ crating may actually work. Just imagine if a human was locked in room for a day, ... am sure dat ven he's let out, he'll b jumping around like a monkey n wanting 2 run loose immediately. rclxm9.gif

Standing at 1 end, she may just choose 2 walk round d long jump rclxub.gif ... unless u train consistently.

Cash prize, u may also hv a chance if u start practising ur OB coz 10/12 games r OB inclined or based on looks or just plain puppy games. Only 2 require some degree of athleticism. Wldnt hv made a difference if dey called it rdo or k9 day, instead of olympic. whistling.gif
This is all about dog psychology.. I am really curious how Shadow thinks and wuts boiling in his little brain.. hmm.gif
Jenn77
post May 9 2007, 11:40 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ May 9 2007, 09:28 AM)
really?! drool.gif  but make sure it looks veli pro until my family dun believe tat's my pacco wor....  icon_idea.gif

but u need 2 b prepare tat my pacco will non-stop bullying ur dookie....coz she 'love' JRT pup laugh.gif
No worries Shadow is here to save d day! Pacco fly fly away.. flex.gif Pupppp..py power!

This post has been edited by Jenn77: May 9 2007, 11:41 PM
Jenn77
post May 12 2007, 01:02 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

Alamak dashyatnya.. sweat.gif doh.gif is not a bad idea but how come I didnt think of that? doh.gif Pacco posing proudly to tell that she oredi conquered the 'weird' object.. 2 bad this 2 weeks my wife had been very busy and v didnt warm up Shadow with our flimsy wave poles.. dont know if he would even go near it on Sunday.. sweat.gif OOps.. I forgot I think it's a dog kennel? hmm.gif
Jenn77
post May 22 2007, 11:05 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ May 21 2007, 02:41 PM)
some of my weird obstacles
A frame tongue.gif
What de.. scary worr.. but Pacco sure looks macho.. Shadow is hiding from the weaving poles again.. dun know why.. anyone can help.. rclxub.gif
Jenn77
post May 29 2007, 11:34 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

What a shame.. I feel so shame.. What are these organizer trying to promote here? This is not really professional. As I told Fawn earlier, I rather bring my dog go walk walk then to join this lame events again. Imagine the whole family with 1 dog, each one enter 1 event, then if they win the points will be divided? If the family got 5 person then must own 5 dogs to become the Olympic Champion? What silly doggy politics they are up to.. shakehead.gif
Jenn77
post May 31 2007, 10:58 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

Should i quit from the school? rclxub.gif Duno leh.. was thinking after i shift hse might join Pet n u and get more exposure.. lately more n more ppl joining agi class. Big crowd small place..
Jenn77
post Jun 5 2007, 12:03 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Jun 1 2007, 09:40 AM)
haha....dun get urself involve in those politics la...juz enjoy urself n go wherever ur dog loves...
Well v think of loaction n convenience lor.. I just want our dog to have a good time n some exercise only.. thumbup.gif for Amanda.. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Jun 18 2007, 11:12 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Jun 18 2007, 04:52 PM)
Jenn77,

here's d map to the Bukit Gasing trekking trial

hope shadow can come n join in d fun...
Thank u so much Amanda.. PAcco was great.. v will be coming if v can make it .. will check with u if the trekking is on.. me n wife might be bz coz our new hse key is almost ready for handover.. got to check the hse out. V definitely had a great time at d class last sunday, except for the ugly introduction from Russell, hope it wont happen again.. otherwise is nice to be able to blend in.. xtra thanks for Fawn for the kind attention. rclxms.gif

0.0257sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:48 PM