Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V2, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

hye
post Nov 12 2012, 08:42 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Nov 12 2012, 07:56 AM)
Is that true that they will discontinue the cash back for 0.5% for business plat and business gold...
Yes ... myself also received the same notification from SCB.
The B&W from SCB is definitive and indisputable evidence of the massive revamp.
hye
post Dec 18 2012, 11:06 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Dear All

I'm rather concerned that the SCB thread has been flooded with strong (with profanities) replies of late largely due to members dissatisfaction concerning their promo + the changes to their reward system.

I'm affected too (I do hold SCB cards) but I see no need for members to voice out their grouses in such unbecoming manner. I have in the past post warnings but the situation has not improved. Thus I'm contemplating closing this thread temporarily if the situation worsens, subject to what continue to transpire from now onwards. And the reopening of the thread will be an unspecified date in the future. If such come into effect, no opening of replacement threads discussing SCB products will be allowed nor considered.

I hope that I don't need to resort to this so I seek the full co-operation from all members to continue contributing positively and constructively in voicing their concerns, supports and unhappiness to all SCB's cc products.

- Mod -

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 18 2012, 11:51 PM
hye
post Jan 2 2013, 01:54 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(sooyongng @ Jan 1 2013, 04:29 PM)
Emailed to SCB to ask my application status, since no news for 3weeks.
And they replied my application has unsuccessful.

My first time apply for CC...and first time rejected.
As already mentioned earlier by another member. For first time applicant, please avoid applying from foreign banks as your chances for approval are significantly lower due to the absence of credit history. This has been stated many times.

And it's not a big deal to be rejected. Most (if not all) senior members have at one time or another had their card application rejected before in their lifetime.
For the benefit of readers - it's not an obligation for the Malaysian banks to inform that you have been unsuccessful in your credit card application nor to tell you the reason behind the rejection. (Most Gen Y card applicants will ask for the reason behind the rejection - sometimes the "asking" part leans towards "Demand" )
hye
post Jan 8 2013, 09:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Everyone ... as much as we all hate SCB change of policy, the real damage can be done if everyone cancels their card and walk away from their product.

And everyone (I assume most of us) did enjoy the free money right ?

I'll appreciate if any bad language can be avoided in this forum. There are ways to express yourself with such words being used.
hye
post Feb 4 2013, 05:05 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

After reviewing the recent post and activities - the SCB thread will be suspended temporarily until 1st March 2013.
Members ... please take note of the following

- Use of profanities, abusive / vulgar languages and other deemed unsuitable language is not welcomed in any part of this thread or the cc section.
- Threads are used to share and discuss about the bank's cc products. This is not a hate thread. Anyone wanting to do so, do it it Kopitiam and I don't care.
- General T&C of the cc section applies.

Please all members to take note and please do not tolerate another member doing so. As much as I hate to freeze the thread, I will not hesitate to do so if necessary.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 8 2013, 11:50 PM
hye
post Feb 28 2013, 09:46 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Feb 27 2013, 10:57 PM)
Finally got all my credit cards cancelled. I called the bank and said that I've lost all my cards and ask them to cancel immediately. If they send me replacement cards I will not activate them. Problem solved. Bye bye standard chartered forever.
Not too fast.
Please check with your SCB online and see whether there are replacement credit card accounts created to replace the "missing" credit cards. One should not be too quick to assume just because the bank did not send the replacement cards, all of your credit card accounts are not cancelled.
hye
post Mar 10 2013, 07:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Mar 10 2013, 09:49 AM)
i think it is 6 months
No, there's none. The so called period is created by agents but this is not true.
You can cancel your cc the moment you received it.
hye
post Mar 22 2013, 07:43 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Mar 22 2013, 03:38 PM)
cancelled all my SCB cards last month.
Yesterday got a call from the guy from price solution, whose helped me to add cards, he sounded angry and question why I cancel the card, i told him no rebate on petrol anymore, then in a very sarcastic tone say " you cancelled because of that?", I just speechless. lol yawn.gif
Probably the guy had a long and bad day.
And retention tactics is failing coz of people calling in to cancel their cards. I mean you can't blame the customer for doing so when practically all of your competitors are just better than SCB when they removed the rewards/cash back/rebates right ?
hye
post Apr 4 2013, 09:23 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I see the points are back with SCB but the problem is that the points inflation is still there. Probably a stop gap measure but somebody forgot to review the redemptions rates.

For example conversion to Enrich points 1000 ER = 43000 SCB Points.
MBB is still better @ 1000ER = 5000TP (Visa)
hye
post Apr 16 2013, 04:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(red_scorpion @ Apr 16 2013, 04:30 PM)
GF cannot? I sup Citi and Maybank to my gf before wor.
Banks officially allows family members as supplementary.
You declared your GF as GF in the supplimentary application form or something else ?
hye
post Apr 17 2013, 11:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(eggpg @ Apr 17 2013, 11:42 AM)
oh no, i better pick one and cancel the other. cancel means not need to pay right? i apply one, why the agent give me two cards. vmad.gif
I'm afraid it might be case of an overzealous agent who wanted to meet their target and signed you up for an additional 2 cards.
It is a good practice to cancel the tick boxes of the cards you don't want to apply to avoid this problem.
hye
post May 1 2013, 04:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ May 1 2013, 10:03 AM)
Looks like the new SCB WorldMiles has the lowest income requirement for a World Mastercard at only RM 24,000 annual income.

http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...s/tnc_scbwm.pdf
Not too fast folks. You can reference their other product which is the Preferred World MasterCard Credit Card - generally "World Mastercard" class cards have the word "World" above the above. However, this card product (WorldMiles) doesn't. I suspect it's just the way they name the product - confusing but it works.

Personally - the true "Premier" card holders would shun this card as it is not exclusive at all!
hye
post May 1 2013, 07:22 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ May 1 2013, 05:31 PM)
you are spot on
hence scb shud remove the word "world" from all the promoting stuff

it should be named Standard Chartered WorldMiles MasterCard Credit Card instead of standard chartered worldmiles mastercard world credit card
Well ... let it be then. I guess the product is aimed at the "travelling" segment. Just want to make this as an awareness to our readers - else they'll be chasing the card as a so called sign of prestige. Or go GaGa just because they think they can fly here and here with their spendings.

Could be good especially for AirAsia - complimenting the Citibank AirAsia card products. But readers need to understand (do your own homework) the redemption structure for AsiaAsia / MAS (e.g how many miles required to fly somewhere) else they'll start thinking that they could fly overseas with just regular spending of a few hundred bucks per month.

Hint : Many thousands of points required. You need to spend RM3000 per month just to get 1000 points on MAS. An average return ticket to Hong Kong will cost 45K points. Means you need to spend RM135K before you can fly to Hong Kong and you bear in mind you still need to pay airport tax and other fees. Might as well, you just buy that HK ticket off MAS (during promo) / CP / AirAsia. Much ... much cheaper.

So if you spend RM1k per month ... you need 135 months/almost 10 years before qualifying for that flight. (I hope I got my rough calculations right)

And to bear in mind ... flight redemptions - you are still liable for the airport tax and fees which can run into the thousands if one choose to fly on MAS to Europe / North Asia sector.
hye
post May 2 2013, 01:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ May 1 2013, 08:31 PM)
From SCB T&C page: WorldMiles Card means the Standard Chartered WorldMiles MasterCard World Credit Card

I tried to google it out, but I cannot find a lower ranking Mastercard under the name Mastercard World.

If it is true that this is not the equivalent of World Mastercard, then it is outright confusing to customers.
ben83 Just a wild guess but I believe that there is a difference between "World Mastercard" and "Mastercard World"
Mastercard calls it "World Mastercard" and "Elite World Mastercard" for their top 2 card class. So ... SCB uses "Mastercard World" - go figure and don't forget their other product is a "World Mastercard"

It is not confusing but merely an illustration where definition can make a difference. (Kudos to my fan club members) brows.gif
As I mentioned, those card chasers who fails to notice this will gullibly apply for this card thinking it is a Premier Card. (Well the income requirement is a dead giveaway as to whether you can consider this to be a Premier card or not)
hye
post May 22 2013, 09:15 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

A note to everyone.
All sections of the cc threads are vulgarities / profanities / undesirable language free.
hye
post Oct 7 2013, 09:25 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2013, 10:19 AM)
I just categorized the Standard Chartered Bank Visa Infinite as the worst Premier Credit Card. As you are all well aware, SCB has one of the worst reward redemption program in Malaysia and effective this month, the SCB VI no longer permits unlimited entries to airport lounge but twice a year only!!

To find out which are the 3 Ultimate Credit Card for Airport Lounge, click here to read my updated/revised article titled The Best Credit Card for FREE Entry to Airport Lounge.
Just to add, Standard Chartered revised Priority Pass privilege is effective from the 10th October 2013.
This used to be the last saving grace for SCB's VI card but I agree with Gen-X that there's very little value to hold SCB's VI.
hye
post Oct 11 2013, 09:39 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Dear Readers

This thread (V2) will be up for closure @ 12pm 12 October 2013.
I thank you to all contributors.

Those interested to open Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V3, please PM me.

0.0500sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:58 AM