Movies Cold War (寒戰) 1 & 2 2012/6, directed by Sunny Luk & Longman Leung

TSMov_freak
post Nov 11 2012, 01:53 AM, updated 10y ago

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Plot

Asia’s safest city is about to be tested.

In Asia’s safest city, the police have long been untouchable. Approaching midnight in Hong Kong, police headquarters receives an anonymous call: a fully loaded police van carrying the force’s most advanced equipment and five highly trained officers has disappeared off the grid. The hijackers possess direct knowledge of police procedures and are already several steps ahead. The police must meet a list of demands to ensure the hostages’ release, including the delivery of a large ransom. Any delay will cost lives. The clock has begun to tick.

Rival Deputy Commissioners Sean Lau and Waise Lee fight to take charge of the rescue operation, code named COLD WAR. Lau wants to negotiate with the hijackers while covertly tracking them to their hideout. Lee is ready for an all-out aggressive attack, no matter the cost. For them, there’s much more at stake than the safety of the hostages or the reputation of the police. With the Secretary for Security stepping down, the seat will soon be vacant. COLD WAR will decide who climbs to the top.

Lau and Lee are aware that every decision is crucial, that each minute counts. But as they execute a carefully planned attack, they know they’ve become unwitting pawns in a bigger, more dangerous game.
Cold War 2 is a 2016 Hong Kong-Chinese crime thriller film written and directed by Longman Leung and Sunny Luk. The film is a sequel to the 2012 box office hit, Cold War, and stars returning cast members Aaron Kwok, Tony Leung, Charlie Young, Eddie Peng, Aarif Rahman, Ma Yili and Alex Tsui, joined by new cast members Chow Yun-fat, Janice Man, Tony Yang and Bibi Zhou. Cold War 2 was released on 8 July 2016 in 2D, 3D and IMAX 3D

(excerpt from wikipedia)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 8 2016, 01:16 PM
TSMov_freak
post Nov 11 2012, 02:10 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Cold War (寒戰) 2012

How times have changed

Used to be everybody clamor to be the first to put a movie info or review for a movie here, and now...

Honestly, I'm hesitant of current Hong Kong movies.

Style over substance seems to be the norm.

Poor story telling is covered up by "Star Power" and "Stylish Production" (as far as Hong Kong is concern)

We are VERY far away from the Golden age of Hong Kong movie from the 70s (Shaw brothers and Bruce Lee), 80s (Chinese Vampire Movie, Samuel Hui and Brothers, Chow Yuen Fatt etc) and 90s (Stephen Chow)...

They might not ALWAYS have high production value, but with a little bit of Asian ingenuity and which a little tongue and cheek, I can rewatch those movies till the cows come home!!

But I digress, we are here to talk about Cold War.

It does reminds me of a little bit of Infernal Affair, but not quite.

The story is very ambitious and about 70% of the movie, the execution is actually good.

And have to add, there are JUST too many loopholes and discrepancies that stop this movie from being... GREAT

Aaron Kwok spearheads this movie along with Tony Leung

They both did excellent work

Up and comer Aarif Rahman is also in the mix

One main complain about this movie is that is tries to hard to be complex and clever, and because they tried too hard... They tend to trip over themselves.

One of the better Hong Kong movie to come out in a long time

If you are a fan of Infernal Affair/Hong Kong movies, give it a go.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 12 2012, 06:42 PM
JustForFun
post Nov 11 2012, 10:54 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Just watched it... Awesome

It's been so long since I watch a decent HK film, this one's great.
tonYe
post Nov 12 2012, 01:05 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

the first 2/3 of the film's brilliant but the final third is extremely sloppy with many questions that should be answered.
Leong Dei Prince
post Nov 12 2012, 11:15 AM

517 posts

nice movie smile.gif
mitodna
post Nov 12 2012, 02:12 PM

14,039 posts

it is decent, accidental watch it, it is one of the first HK movie in recent years, best of all, I think I missed the last 5 minutes, and got refund, very nice experience indeed

back to the movie, this really need a remake material,
xerox5566
post Nov 12 2012, 05:46 PM

374 posts

Reading above good review, will gonna watch this movie this week smile.gif
shakiraa
post Nov 14 2012, 09:52 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

thumbs up!
vassilius
post Nov 16 2012, 03:59 PM

494 posts

incredible movie... it has been a long long time since HK had had such powerful film...

the suspense and pace are well kept... although actions are less, but the strong interaction between all the main cast are the main point here... really a well-done piece of work by the director. thumbup.gif

the ending seems abit weird though... there are things left unexplained... maybe Cold War 2? tongue.gif
TheSecRet
post Nov 16 2012, 04:12 PM

432 posts

Yes there will be a second episode of Cold War.
vassilius
post Nov 16 2012, 04:17 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(TheSecRet @ Nov 16 2012, 04:12 PM)
Yes there will be a second episode of Cold War.
source? brows.gif
don^don
post Nov 16 2012, 05:44 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

i've watched it accidentally, missed out the first 5 mins (or is it 10 mins), awesome movie, some part also quite action packed, but needs more actions tongue.gif

and also somehow i came out of the cinema with too many questions, which is abit of a letdown... the movie doesn't explain alot though about the story...
ftf87
post Nov 16 2012, 09:57 PM

145 posts

good movie with cincai ending
TechHub-Asia
post Nov 16 2012, 11:09 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(ftf87 @ Nov 16 2012, 09:57 PM)
It is very common in HK movie, I still remember another movie "杀人犯" which is play by the Aaron Kok as well, the ending is totally SUCKS, anyone watched that too? doh.gif
vassilius
post Nov 17 2012, 03:29 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(TechHub-Asia @ Nov 16 2012, 11:09 PM)
It is very common in HK movie, I still remember another movie "杀人犯" which is play by the Aaron Kok as well, the ending is totally SUCKS, anyone watched that too? doh.gif
me... ending is truly the WTF kinda ending...
tonYe
post Nov 17 2012, 04:17 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

not just the ending. the whole scene right before the fireworks on the rooftop was WTF as well
alexus
post Nov 17 2012, 10:44 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(ftf87 @ Nov 16 2012, 09:57 PM)
QUOTE(vassilius @ Nov 17 2012, 03:29 PM)
me... ending is truly the WTF kinda ending...
I think the ending is ok, but certainly not cincai nor WTF, what kind of ending you looking for?

QUOTE(tonYe @ Nov 17 2012, 04:17 PM)
not just the ending. the whole scene right before the fireworks on the rooftop was WTF as well
I do agree at how did they arrive at the right building and with the right people there should be explained/hinted properly, but the rest of the scene is ok, understandable.
kinabalu
post Nov 17 2012, 10:46 PM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

going to watch it tomorrow.
SUSFenrir7
post Nov 18 2012, 01:23 AM

83 posts

Didn't get it. Some things were really predictable, like
but everything else was confusing, and I didn't really get how one thing led to the next. Maybe I'm just daft or maybe this one is just trying hard not to be another Infernal Affairs and ended up being just some convoluted pile of nonsense. Or maybe that was the plan and the guy's who wrote it are geniuses who will wow us with it's sequel.

This post has been edited by Fenrir7: Nov 18 2012, 01:27 AM
ftf87
post Nov 19 2012, 02:32 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(alexus @ Nov 17 2012, 10:44 PM)
I think the ending is ok, but certainly not cincai nor WTF, what kind of ending you looking for?
I do agree at how did they arrive at the right building and with the right people there should be explained/hinted properly, but the rest of the scene is ok, understandable.
no need to be so defensive, it is still a good movie after all. nowadays HK movie sucks and this is probably the best action HK movie I have seen in years

Double_Ace
post Nov 21 2012, 09:49 PM

517 posts

Hi guys sry ar i dont understand chinese, the last part the subtitles was too fast for me to catch. May i know why the son went bad for???
TSMov_freak
post Nov 21 2012, 09:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Nov 21 2012, 09:49 PM)
Hi guys sry ar i dont understand chinese, the last part the subtitles was too fast for me to catch. May i know why the son went bad for???

Hope this helps

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 21 2012, 09:59 PM
alexus
post Nov 21 2012, 10:52 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(ftf87 @ Nov 19 2012, 02:32 PM)
no need to be so defensive, it is still a good movie after all. nowadays HK movie sucks and this is probably the best action HK movie I have seen in years
I'm not defending anything, just trying to justify it by contributing my opinions... I would say the same to you..
soonlee33
post Nov 22 2012, 12:46 PM

2,677 posts

personally, i dont feel Andy suits the character of of Sean Lau
he is too para-para sakura-ish to me with his forever-young look xD

i would prefer if it is lau ching wan
teng&nel4eva
post Nov 22 2012, 12:56 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Nov 22 2012, 12:46 PM)
personally, i dont feel Andy suits the character of of Sean Lau
he is too para-para sakura-ish to me with his forever-young look xD

i would prefer if it is lau ching wan
It's aeron kwok not Andy -.-
soonlee33
post Nov 22 2012, 02:52 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(teng&nel4eva @ Nov 22 2012, 12:56 PM)
haha sry typo there wub.gif
how was the story?
teng&nel4eva
post Nov 22 2012, 03:54 PM

30 posts

The movie is daebak. . thumbup.gif
zackhan
post Nov 23 2012, 04:10 PM

75 posts

this is the movie I willing to buy ticket and watch it in Cinema. I cannot recall what is the last HONG KONG movie I watch in Cinema, (may be is Infernal Affairs)
Mickey C
post Nov 24 2012, 08:35 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Nov 11 2012, 10:54 PM)
Just watched it... Awesome

It's been so long since I watch a decent HK film, this one's great.
I like the movie too. But the sound quality is not good, I can't barely hear them.
And I watched not 2D, not so nice in picture quality.....

LightningZERO
post Nov 24 2012, 08:45 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

I thought it was so so. The beginning and middle part were pretty good (although some scenes, like the bad guys aiming for the excess cash was extremely predictable once you watch enough of these police thrillers). But the whole thing seemed gone to hell once we reach the end game...I kinda got lost there and don't get me started with that WTF ending.

I do have some questions and hopefully someone can answer me this.

Thanks guys
kueks
post Nov 24 2012, 08:48 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hmmm the subtitles at the end is too fast... cant catch up

it is something about hk has xxx law/judicial system whereby during emergency... etc etc.... other countries should emulate their system....

TSMov_freak
post Nov 24 2012, 09:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Nov 24 2012, 08:45 PM)
I thought it was so so. The beginning and middle part were pretty good (although some scenes, like the bad guys aiming for the excess cash was extremely predictable once you watch enough of these police thrillers). But the whole thing seemed gone to hell once we reach the end game...I kinda got lost there and don't get me started with that WTF ending.

I do have some questions and hopefully someone can answer me this.

Thanks guys
That is correct Act 1 and 2 was paced in such a way that they feed most information to the viewers as if they are idoits. and then at the end, needed the viewers to make leaps and bounds with the story...

Hope the above helps

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 24 2012, 10:20 PM
LightningZERO
post Nov 24 2012, 09:25 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Thanks!

Also, I really don't know why HK films always cast those who can't speak cantonese, and then have their lines dubbed. It was so pointless
tangtang22
post Nov 24 2012, 09:52 PM

213 posts

Aaron kwok just can't carry out this leading role s this role is more for a stylish n charismatic actor. He is more of the detective b+ role, where he just got a lucky streak...

Hate to say this, I GuESS this show will b better if it was Andy Lau or tony Leung Chiu Wai who was playing e role instead. The viewers will then follow the character more..

Overall, good movie, but e kind where u wAtch if there's no other option....
TSMov_freak
post Nov 24 2012, 10:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Nov 24 2012, 09:25 PM)
Thanks!

Also, I really don't know why HK films always cast those who can't speak cantonese, and then have their lines dubbed. It was so pointless
Er... Well, Hong Kong movies now is in a interesting situation.

They now really have access to the Chinese market.

Although Hong Kong actors have already got market share in China, but if they use Chinese actors as well, that might attract additional Chinese viewers.

Also, I believe Hong Kong movies are dubbed in Mandarin, when shown in China.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 25 2012, 12:38 AM
jacky.kequn
post Nov 24 2012, 11:54 PM

64 posts

long time no see such a nice hong kong police movie. like it very much. esp the Andy Lau.
xphossis
post Nov 25 2012, 01:42 AM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

This should be a pretty intresting movie coming out from hk in a long time but I think the director and casting spoils it.

Firstly the casting, aarif (icac guy) is totally unconvincing and can't even read his lines clear. Aaron kwok is just Aaron u don't feel him being the Acting Commisioner.

Secondly the director. Too ameturish thus making the flow and plot cliched. Can't blame them first time director anyway.

Well hope the sequel will be better. With a stronger cast and better directors.
greyshadow
post Nov 26 2012, 11:08 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

one of the best HK movies after Infernal Affair

albeit still got some plot holes here and there, but still forgivable for the stunning play from a few vet actors.

highly recommend to watch the stunning 2D version, it's more immersive in most of the scenes.

can't wait for sequel
skylinelover
post Nov 29 2012, 06:50 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 24 2012, 10:18 PM)
Also, I believe Hong Kong movies are dubbed in Mandarin, when shown in China.
haha it is been like that all this while but i still like cantonese speaking more than chinese speaking any day laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TSMov_freak
post Nov 29 2012, 01:26 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 29 2012, 06:50 AM)
haha it is been like that all this while but i still like cantonese speaking more than chinese speaking any day laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Hmmm.... with so many bigger HK production being made in China (eg. Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame (2010)) I'm more partial to Mandarin for those.

Also bare in mind that Most of Shaw Brother movies (50s, 60s, 70s, 80s) were all dubbed in Mandarin for International market

It is only during the middle of 80s that they used Cantonese for their movies....
pirantos
post Nov 30 2012, 12:27 AM

86 posts

so this is really a good movie....

PS : saw this pic in Maxis website user posted image

thumbup.gif
buy 1 free 1 is back rclxm9.gif
ftf87
post Nov 30 2012, 10:58 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(teng&nel4eva @ Nov 22 2012, 12:56 PM)
Kesian aaron kwok, once done a para para movie before then forever too para para ish for someone. I think he's great in the movie and no, lau ching wan would probably more suitable for leung ka fai's role
beck_ken
post Dec 10 2012, 12:17 PM

4,716 posts

waiting for Cold War 2 where Andy Lau (Mr. Luk) will have more screen time..
hochimama
post Jan 17 2013, 10:11 AM

81 posts

Is there any news abt the second installment ?? when is it out ??
TechHub-Asia
post Jan 18 2013, 05:45 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Dec 10 2012, 12:17 PM)
waiting for Cold War 2 where Andy Lau (Mr. Luk) will have more screen time..
Yes, expecting for it too... smile.gif
MR_alien
post Jul 7 2016, 10:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

after 4 long years
finally back
another highly recommended must watch movie yet again
worth every penny
and definitely will have part 3...just hope no.3 doesn't have to wait another 4 years
jenniferjen
post Jul 8 2016, 12:45 PM

410 posts

U watched de? How the verdict?
Currently rewatched part 1, damn the ride is fun
nonamekid
post Jul 8 2016, 04:59 PM

432 posts

Aaron kwok is so so so so so handsome & smart (dont look like 50 years old at all) a must watch HK movie (i'll give 9/10).

geolee76
post Jul 8 2016, 06:20 PM

533 posts

QUOTE(nonamekid @ Jul 8 2016, 04:59 PM)
Aaron kwok is so so so so so handsome & smart (dont look like 50 years old at all) a must watch HK movie (i'll give 9/10).
i have one complaint only... add 3 mins of screen time about ending then is perfect else 9.6 /10
Lynixx
post Jul 8 2016, 07:51 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

got end credits?
Joe2011
post Jul 8 2016, 08:32 PM

39 posts

Can't leave my seat from beginning till end. Have to tahan going to toilet.
Human Nature
post Jul 8 2016, 10:03 PM

- student of human nature -
26,533 posts

Really that good? Better than the first?
MR_alien
post Jul 9 2016, 09:34 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

watched it on the 1st show on thursday 6PM
i'd give it 9/10 prior to the 1st movie...still epic and twisting
this is the kind of movie hong kong should produce, everything said and used is true..all the laws and technical stuff
no unlimited bullet action
EPIC acting performance
the only 1 point lack is the tunnel shooting

other than that, a HIGHLY RECOMMENDED movie to watch
can't wait for no.3, let's hope we won't need to wait another 4 years

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jul 9 2016, 09:34 AM
kueks
post Jul 9 2016, 07:36 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hmmm is there scene after credits?

lights was not on though during credits... didnt wait for it to finis xD
MR_alien
post Jul 9 2016, 09:09 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jul 9 2016, 07:36 PM)
hmmm is there scene after credits?

lights was not on though during credits... didnt wait for it to finis xD
i noticed it too but i also didn't stayed back
skylinelover
post Jul 9 2016, 10:15 PM

11,265 posts

so is this the beginning of the revival of hong kong cinema eh laugh.gif rclxms.gif
ngmx88
post Jul 9 2016, 10:19 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(nonamekid @ Jul 8 2016, 05:59 PM)
Agree.. fall in love with Aaron wub.gif

Asgaard
post Jul 9 2016, 10:54 PM

1,249 posts

Highly recommended movie. My only complaint is ending part. Should be longer and more details...
DreamChaser
post Jul 10 2016, 12:12 AM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

7.5 from 10 from me. story was gooding and prepare for nxt episode...
jenniferjen
post Jul 10 2016, 12:23 AM

410 posts

Epic movie must watch, agree that ending should had explained more
leawitt
post Jul 10 2016, 02:17 PM

26 posts

Storyline quite similiar to TVB drama Line Walker ...

the whole story too concentrate on Aaron Kwok and Tony Leung ... Chow Yuen Fatt, Eddie Pang, Aarif Rahman and Charlie Yeung under utilised ... Quite alot of TVB actor in this movie as well ... The explosion at the cabin site - CGI quite fake ... Too hungry for the next sequence and make the ending no ending at all ...

Overall the story, the twist and the script was strong and enuf to cover the above loop hole ..

6/10 from me

This post has been edited by leawitt: Jul 10 2016, 02:17 PM
MR_alien
post Jul 11 2016, 11:44 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 9 2016, 10:15 PM)
so is this the beginning of the revival of hong kong cinema eh laugh.gif rclxms.gif
not really, its only this movie alone
the 1st movie is epic
so the 2nd follows
and i believe so will the 3rd
shinoxun
post Jul 11 2016, 11:46 AM

261 posts

2nd epi is quite meh compared to the 1st one. Too many loose end. They dint even care to elaborate more details to the audiences.
amaze01
post Jul 11 2016, 04:30 PM

146 posts

aaron kwok english speaking is.....

btw,what camera did she use for photo shooting?how possible it can sync to icloud?
hybr1d3d
post Jul 11 2016, 09:51 PM

101 posts

Aaron Kwok and Tony Leung's argument in hospital was epic, how you speak your line without distracted by opponent? They must've filmed this part for quite an amount of takes
ZenMmm
post Jul 11 2016, 10:14 PM

What's up, movie buffs! rclxm9.gif
I watched this movie over the weekend unplanned and boy oh boy... whistling.gif

Feel free to LIKE, SUBSCRIBE & SHARE it around to support this local channel on movie reviews! thumbsup.gif
Much appreciated! smile.gif
Stay awesome and ciao for now! icon_rolleyes.gif
MR_alien
post Jul 11 2016, 10:57 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(hybr1d3d @ Jul 11 2016, 09:51 PM)
Aaron Kwok and Tony Leung's argument in hospital was epic, how you speak your line without distracted by opponent? They must've filmed this part for quite an amount of takes
this is one of the highlights back in no.1 too brows.gif
kentckh
post Jul 12 2016, 02:11 PM

IMHO, CW2 is not great but acceptable. I still prefer Overheard 2.

Aaron Kwok shouldnit have spoken english in the begining and ending of the movie. Spoiled thw whole CP image. The english just....

Wish more screen time was given to Chow and Eddie Peng. Both of them were really good.

Tony Leung for Best Actor 2016!
keewah
post Jul 12 2016, 02:39 PM

429 posts

Not bad movie .... but got 2 questions ....

uk15029
post Jul 12 2016, 03:25 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Jul 12 2016, 03:39 PM)

Tony's son
MR_alien
post Jul 12 2016, 03:40 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Jul 12 2016, 02:39 PM)

tonYe
post Jul 12 2016, 11:29 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

Stronger performance by Tony Leung Ka Fai but a disappointing sequel in overall.
kentckh
post Jul 13 2016, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 12 2016, 03:40 PM)

keewah
post Jul 14 2016, 11:26 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(kentckh @ Jul 13 2016, 08:13 PM)

This post has been edited by keewah: Jul 14 2016, 11:27 AM
lord_aminkin
post Jul 14 2016, 10:06 PM

♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫~♫
999 posts

The buzz around the movie makes me watch the first one. And then watched this one on the cinema. Preferred the first one. Much more complex and layered. The thing that threw me off is super cheap CGI. From the first to this one, its like there is completely no budget at all for effect. At this time and age of technology, its kinda unacceptable. Although I know, we watch these movies not due to the beautiful effect or action sequence but still kinda hope they put a little more effort to it. Overall pretty decent movie.

This post has been edited by lord_aminkin: Jul 14 2016, 10:07 PM
decypher
post Jul 15 2016, 03:42 PM

低头族
864 posts

Is there an after-credits scene? I am watching tonight and hope there will be extras like in the first one.
greyshadow
post Jul 15 2016, 05:07 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

1st one was epic
but 2nd... it's more complex, action scenes are done pretty well, but just 2 only, a bit little too less for me
acting of both Aaron & Tony is top notch, but overall this movie is still a bit of let down for me, maybe too high of expectation from the epic 1st one

yeah, pretty sure there gonna be part3 doh.gif

and on the hospital bed

uk15029
post Jul 15 2016, 07:37 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jul 15 2016, 06:07 PM)
1st one was epic
but 2nd... it's more complex, action scenes are done pretty well, but just 2 only, a bit little too less for me
acting of both Aaron & Tony is top notch, but overall this movie is still a bit of let down for me, maybe too high of expectation from the epic 1st one

yeah, pretty sure there gonna be part3 doh.gif

and on the hospital bed

His son
skylinelover
post Jul 17 2016, 09:13 AM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(kentckh @ Jul 12 2016, 02:11 PM)
IMHO, CW2 is not great but acceptable. I still prefer Overheard 2.

Aaron Kwok shouldnit have spoken english in the begining and ending of the movie. Spoiled thw whole CP image. The english just....

Wish more screen time was given to Chow and Eddie Peng. Both of them were really good.

Tony Leung for Best Actor 2016!
What so great of overheard? laugh.gif

QUOTE(uk15029 @ Jul 12 2016, 03:25 PM)
Tony's son
QUOTE(uk15029 @ Jul 15 2016, 07:37 PM)
His son
Spoiler lo bang oi doh.gif
selinix
post Jul 18 2016, 08:14 PM

7,343 posts

Somehow i really enjoy it as much as the first one. 8/10
TSMov_freak
post Jul 21 2016, 01:13 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Cold War II (2016)

I think Hong Kong movies on a whole is not as well received as it once was (80s & 90s) because of.... many reason.

I like the first Cold War.

Well cast, script and made.

How does the second one stand?

Apart of Aaron's Kwok scary attempt at English... Pretty good!

It really feels like a quality H.K. movie, with it's own identity.

Please do not go in and expect a full fledged action movie.

It is a drama movie with action elements.

All actors brought their A game.

Oh, Chow Yun Fatt's has a strong cameo.

If you like the first one, go for it

My Two Sen
MonkeyDLuffy
post Jul 22 2016, 09:03 AM

288 posts

You have to watch the first part in order to appreciate this second part. Highly recommended. The beginning of the movie already make my buru roma stands up. The part where the Commissioner of Police gave his speech in English. Ha ha ha.
ZenMmm
post Jul 22 2016, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(MonkeyDLuffy @ Jul 22 2016, 09:03 AM)
You have to watch the first part in order to appreciate this second part. Highly recommended. The beginning of the movie already make my buru roma stands up. The part where the Commissioner of Police gave his speech in English. Ha ha ha.
You used the right word there, “appreciate” but even as a standalone movie, it still is far superior than other likewise genre from HK, I would say. thumbsup.gif
That “speech in English” is by Aaron Kwok and yea, it wasn't a solid English but Ok lah, for his standard. laugh.gif

0.0443sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:00 PM