(WTA) Can i hav tires with diff width of tyreface?, 175 and 185?

TSgoonerboy
post Nov 9 2012, 09:30 AM, updated 14y ago

75 posts

hi all

ive myvi with 175 65 14r..and my front tires are botak!
so i contacted a tyre shop today n they told me IF i wanted cheaper tires, i can opt to change the new tires to 185 60 14r...wat u guys think bout this?

mechanic said i can put the current rear tyres at the front and put the NEW 185 60 14 ones at the rear..

is this advisable?...will it change the feel of the driving or damage anything in a long run?
pls advise SIFUs!!

GB
thomasyke
post Nov 9 2012, 09:33 AM

409 posts

185 is the width and 60 is the thickness? Ican't remember.
TSgoonerboy
post Nov 9 2012, 09:39 AM

75 posts

•175 means the width of the tyre face is 175mm (6.89 inches)
•65 means that the size of the sidewall is 65% of the width of the tyre face
•R14 means that the tyre is designed to fit 14 inch rims

thomasyke
post Nov 9 2012, 09:52 AM

409 posts

so effectively you're getting a thinner but fatter tyre?
Icehart
post Nov 9 2012, 11:45 AM

14,897 posts

shinjo
post Nov 9 2012, 11:53 AM

138 posts

Dear TS,

Not advisable.... will affect your driving performance and comfort. Hence,u might feel abit heavy on the front using that 185.
wanna change, all same size better as ur car is not design to handle these differences . Not like BMW.

ask me and drop by my thread in this forum section.
selinix
post Nov 9 2012, 06:08 PM

7,343 posts

front 65 .. back 60.. I think the biggest issue is the difference of height not so much of the width..
shinjo
post Nov 10 2012, 11:28 AM

138 posts

the height do play a part in this.. So that's why not recommended.
whyeo6
post Nov 10 2012, 03:01 PM

38 posts

No problem with wider tyres at the back but why don't u maintain the height by using 185/65/14
SUSxeda
post Nov 11 2012, 09:55 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Nov 9 2012, 06:08 PM)
front 65 .. back 60.. I think the biggest issue is the difference of height not so much of the width..
QUOTE(shinjo @ Nov 10 2012, 11:28 AM)
the height do play a part in this.. So that's why not recommended.
QUOTE(whyeo6 @ Nov 10 2012, 03:01 PM)
No problem with wider tyres at the back but why don't u maintain the height by using 185/65/14
The height difference would be even worse if he used 185/65/14.

If he used 185/60/14,the height difference would be around 3 mm,but if he used 185/65/14,the height difference would be around 10mm.

You must remember that the height/sidewall thickness is measured by percentage of the tyre width,if its 185/60,means the sidewall thickness is 60% of 185mm,it DOES NOT mean that the sidewall thickness is 60mm

To answer your question,you CAN use the shop recommendation. The height difference is NEGLIGIBLE,and would not affect your cars performance or comfort at all. In fact,I think it would be better,since you're getting wider tyres at the back.

This post has been edited by xeda: Nov 11 2012, 09:59 AM

0.0147sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:02 AM