The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N

uraki
post Nov 8 2012, 11:21 PM

182 posts

Hi, new NEX-5RY owner reporting for duty!
Sifu-sifu please take care of me smile.gif
uraki
post Nov 9 2012, 10:12 PM

182 posts

dear NEX-6 owners, do you get battery charger in the box?
NEX-5RY got no battery charger provided doh.gif

anyone can recommend a good 3rd party charger for NEX-5R?

This post has been edited by uraki: Nov 9 2012, 10:18 PM
uraki
post Nov 9 2012, 10:37 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Nov 9 2012, 10:28 PM)
i thought only nex6 don't have battery charger .........
nex5r also same...?
yes, no battery charger for NEX-5R as well, so disappointing
so even we have extra battery, we can't use the camera cos the camera is needed to charge the other battery ....
uraki
post Nov 12 2012, 06:39 PM

182 posts

I had a bad experience with the Sony customer service today.
Called them as I found my online registered NEX-5RY has only 1 year warranty, instead of 1 year + 3 months.

The representative asked for my hp number and IC and then I addressed my problem.
He replied "this is because the promo is over". shocking.gif
I was not happy and ask him why is there a note in the camera box which indicates online warranty registration will get extra 3 months warranty.
The representative then asked me to wait for a few mins and then he told me he made the changes.

Now my NEX-5RY has 1 year + 6 months warranty. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by uraki: Nov 12 2012, 06:42 PM
uraki
post Nov 15 2012, 04:11 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Nov 12 2012, 07:03 PM)
i just check at sony website..
i only got warranty 1 years...
2moro morning i will call them to increase the additional 3 month warranty....Zzzz

thanks for the info uraki
you're most welcome smile.gif
so you get the extra 3 months warranty d?
uraki
post Nov 27 2012, 05:04 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(moonmoon88 @ Nov 27 2012, 04:45 PM)
RM 4 for two paid NEX apps
1. moonmoon88
2. loon1983
3. hlteh
4. tarm
5. geek8585
6. ellenzex

Who else? XD four more~
Count me in bro, thanks!
Btw, how to share the apps? hmm.gif
uraki
post Dec 27 2012, 11:33 PM

182 posts

Hi guys, how do you top up US PSN account wallet?
I wish to buy the apps, but both my Maybank and Stand Chart visa card not accepted...

or recommend me a US PSN prepaid card seller?
uraki
post Dec 29 2012, 07:33 PM

182 posts

Hi guys, just to share how to purchase the apps via US Sony account without using US credit card.

We can actually buy $20 and $50 PSN card [Online Game Code] in amazon.com, the code will be given online, then redeem the code in our US Sony account and the wallet will be loaded. Do not buy $10 PSN card in amazon.com, cause the code will not be given online.

Tested this method works.
uraki
post Jan 4 2013, 07:53 PM

182 posts

anyone tried the time-lapse app?

every time I use the app, after first shot, my 5R hangs...
need to remove batt to 'revive' the camera

after re-installed the app, even worse...
camera hangs whenever I start the app...

FIX: restore camera to default setting and make sure soft skin effect is off. once soft skin effect is on, same problem again.

This post has been edited by uraki: Jan 5 2013, 12:54 AM
uraki
post Jan 9 2013, 11:56 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(krajoksai @ Jan 9 2013, 11:21 PM)
Hi All,

Hi Sony Malaysia,

I just purchased a NEX 6 and I would like to install some free and paid apps

I have registered my Sony Entertainment Network and set Region as Malaysia because I added my credit card in order to purchased paid apps.

I connect NEX 6 to PC and verify connection at https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com and they managed to see and communicate to each other but when I sign in I get this message "Signed out since the service is not distributed in the Country / Region of your account" and that's it, I can't download any apps.

Unless, I register another SEN account with US region but I will not be able to add my credit card and will not be able to purchase paid app.

My question is when this service will be available in Malaysia? This really matters to me.

Any of you has this issue? I really want to use Timelapse app

I have emailed to Sony but yet to receive respond.
you need to register a US sony account and buy the apps from there.

if you wish to reload the US sony account using credit card in order to purchase the apps, you will need a US bank issued credit card.
another option is to use prepaid card to reload the US sony account.

you can buy $20 or $50 PSN card [Online Game Code] in amazon.com, the code will be given online,
then redeem the code in your US sony account and the wallet will be loaded.
Do not buy $10 PSN card in amazon.com, cause the code will not be given online.

tested this method works myself.

This post has been edited by uraki: Jan 9 2013, 11:57 PM
uraki
post Feb 14 2013, 01:44 PM

182 posts

Hi guys, i was told by Sony customer service that camera accessories are not entitled for extra 3 months warranty. Is it true?

My electronic viewfinder only gets 1 year warranty...
uraki
post Feb 24 2013, 01:21 AM

182 posts

Went to the Alpha NEX Home Portraiture Workshop yesterday, learned a lot from the pros smile.gif
Here're some of the pics taken during the workshop, sifu sifu kindly please comment.

This post has been edited by uraki: Feb 24 2013, 01:26 AM
uraki
post Feb 24 2013, 07:00 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Feb 24 2013, 01:55 AM)
8, 10 not ok..
others is ok..
Thanks for commenting. smile.gif
I think I know why you thinks 8 and 10 not ok.

uraki
post Mar 18 2013, 10:43 PM

182 posts

No one share SAE 2013 pics?
Spam! Spam! tongue.gif

uraki
post Apr 29 2013, 11:31 PM

182 posts

Short miniature video taken during my Tokyo trip using the time-lapse apps.
Sifu-sifu please comment. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by uraki: Apr 29 2013, 11:32 PM
uraki
post Jul 4 2013, 11:12 PM

182 posts

Please comment smile.gif

uraki
post Jul 6 2013, 12:04 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Jul 5 2013, 09:01 AM)
cool shots.
QUOTE(stevenys @ Jul 5 2013, 10:59 AM)
Nice and very sharp.. (y)
Thanks guys smile.gif
Do you guys find the background of the photos are messy?
uraki
post Jul 6 2013, 03:29 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Jul 6 2013, 01:34 PM)
In due fairness to the lens use?  I will not pick on that aspect.  Using kit Zoom lens; DOF  and Bokeh is always a compromise.  Shooting prime wide open is another ball game all together.  Framing, distance to object to optimize control DOF and Bokeh and still keep sharpness spot on in the appropriate area are advance skills.  Even HCB shots can be noisy if one wants to be picky  blink.gif
Thanks for giving your thoughts. smile.gif
Someone commented on the background of the pictures in another forum, therefore I would like to here more opinions.

btw, I was using Sigma 30mm F2.8 and SEL55210 for shots, satisfied with the Sigma lens so far.
uraki
post Jul 13 2013, 12:30 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Jul 12 2013, 08:03 PM)
Where to buy the OEM/3rd Party battery charger and spare battery for NEX-5R?
Which 3rd party battery is safe to use?
I'm using the PISEN TS-DV001-FW50 which is very nice.
Does not discharge so fast like the original Sony NP-FW50.

Go search in eBay if interested, China and Hong Kong sellers always provide free shipping.
uraki
post Jul 29 2013, 09:58 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Jul 29 2013, 04:48 PM)
I would suggest to get bigger one, later you will regret for the small one.
No need to rush for one since u not getting many lens now. wait for warehouse sales offer.
AIPO quality is good. I'm using the AP68EX.  thumbup.gif
I have 6 lenses now, but never consider buying dry box before this, cause using my cam on weekly basis.
Seriously consider buying one just to be safe.

I have: NEX-5R body, External EVF, SELP1650 (might sell it soon), Sigma 19mm F2.8, Sigma 30mm F2.8, SEL55210, SEL5018 and Fujian 35mm F1.7 (don't really care). Not planning to buy any new lens in near future.

Please advise which dry box size should I buy, 38-40L good enough?
Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by uraki: Jul 29 2013, 10:00 PM

0.3833sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:17 PM