The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N
drklyong
Nov 14 2012, 05:50 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie who bought a nex 5n 2 weeks ago. Couldn't wait for 5r as my trip to tioman was last week. Oversea trip is early next month. Anyway no regret as 5r is about 700rm more than 5n and I'm quite happy with the quality of 5n. Will be posting some picture up . Please give some comments on how to improves them.
drklyong
Nov 15 2012, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Nov 15 2012, 02:46 PM) Video part is not true actually, the highest bitrate for NEX 5N/5R/6 is 28Mbps (this is 28 MegaBITS per sec) while the minimum write speed of a Class 4 SD card is already 4MB/s or 32Mbps (8 bits = 1 byte), which is well above the minimum required speed. That's why in the manual it is stated min is class 4. Most SD class 4 cards will give you higher than minimum, I had a class 4 sandisk before, benchmarked it and it was writing at 7MB/s or 56Mbps, more than double the requirement for 1080p 28M. So for video, anything above class 4 is overkill. But for photos, especially burst mode (10fps  ) then lain cerita, cause how fast you can write to the SD card will determine how fast you can shoot continuously (assuming in camera buffer can tahan). And also of course higher SD card speed means you can copy to laptop/pc faster.. but I think that's not very important. Sandisk extreme 32GB is only selling for RM96 after conversion at Amazon Updated note:hmm ok it looks like doesn't matter what card we use, it's 10fps then 2fps after that.... http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonynex5n/5 Added on November 15, 2012, 11:15 pmI'm going to buy an extra sd card soon. From the discussion above the conclusion is SanDisk ultra 45mbp/s is the one to buy. Or should I buy the 30mbp/s and save some money. What is the price of the 30mbp/s ? Another thing is I saw a very nice casing for Nex in sony centre. It will be great for travelling as compare to the bag that comes with original purchase. Any suggestion where to get accessories for a cheaper price than sony centre. Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by drklyong: Nov 15 2012, 11:15 PM