This post has been edited by kry183: Mar 9 2013, 03:05 PM
kry183
post Mar 11 2013, 03:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Mar 11 2013, 10:11 AM)
hi guys do u keep ur nex in dry box?
is it ok if the lens attach to the body..without take it out since it dont come with caps
just diy urself a dry box if you want~
there is not a problem just keep the lens attach with the body when no use.
kry183
post Mar 15 2013, 12:56 PM

157 posts

Waterfall inside Janda Baik Trekking, a good place to go~
kry183
post Mar 18 2013, 11:22 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Mar 17 2013, 11:36 PM)
i found that the Nex-6 focus is not doing very good in low light & moving object with the 16-50mm kit lens... most of my model shot in the Guess cat walk at Sony Experience 2013 are out-of-focus & overexpose/wash-out(due to the various lighting situation at the stage, in both Auto or Manual mode).

p/s: and i notice only when i look at the picture in my computer screen. Most of the pictures looks fine in my Nex6 LCD screen (perhaps it is because 3" vs 24")

I'm doing it in these modes/setting, but all in same result:
-Dial Mode: Manual, Superior Auto & Aperture
-Metering Mode: Matrix
-Autofocus Area: Multi
-Drive Mode: cont. Shooting
-Clear Image Zoom: On (16-50mm kit lens, some of the picture shot with x2 time zoom)
-Shuttle Speed: 1/80 +- (some below safety shutter speed)
-Focal length: 30 ~ 50mm x2 clear zoom
-ISO: 400~3200 (depends on Dial mode, Manual mode i keep from 400~1600max)
-hand held but leaning on the back of the chair (the blurness maybe affected by the rotation when i trying to aim at the walking models)

Anyway, a question to all the Sifus here.
In low-light for portrait shot, should i:
1.) turn the metering mode to center/spot weight ?
2.) turn the autofuocus area to flexible spot/center??
to help on the issues mentioned above??
i've go through a few photos, and i found out that i seems to be the backfocus issue like many users faced...
can post some image example so can hav more details?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kry183: Mar 18 2013, 11:23 AM
kry183
post Mar 20 2013, 01:24 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Mar 18 2013, 12:14 PM)
I guess so~ but if u are using 1/400, how is ur ISO... should be very high right? (max ISO for shutter priority is 3200?)

or u are using a fast lens?
i'll shared some pictures after i get back home tonight
here you go:

maybe you can try on these NEX feature:
- if you using cont shooting and auto focus on moving object, the AF mode can turn to Continuous AF (you can find it at Setting-> Camera -> Autofocus Mode)
- use Object Tracking and track on model face (Setting-> Camera -> Object Tracking)
- when use nex Digital Zoom, no matter how many X, then the autofocus will becum cacat abit.....is time to manual focus since NEX with peaking mode

to made sure you focusing is more accurate

and of coz....
if you have a F1.8 or wider lens will be more better tongue.gif
kry183
post Apr 4 2013, 01:01 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ Apr 3 2013, 09:03 PM)
Help please...

I using the Nex-6 with SEL1018, but how come it not able to manual focus?
do you set your camera to manual focus mode?
if yes, hav try other lens for the manual focus see it work or not?
if it work.......then sad case adi... ohmy.gif

....you need to claim warranty for ur sel1018
kry183
post Apr 4 2013, 05:06 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 4 2013, 01:32 PM)
hoping to get sigma 30mm for my nex 6. anyone using it and how was it compare with sel35mm?

also, anyone know how to disable the auto-color correction after captured the picture?
don't compare for the IQ, just look for some simple usage compare between 2 lens.

1st, if you have enuf budget for SEL35mm,
- and if you really really really really like 30-35mm FL and muz is a prime lens, then juz go for it, juz forget about Sigma30mm

2nd, for the usage ability, SEL35mm max aperture is F1.8, Sigma only F2.8, so SEL35mm WIN. Although you don always wide open, but when you need it, then you appreciate.

3rd, built quality, like other NEX lens, SEL35mm was built solid and nice. Sigma 30mm built quality just so so only (the comment is base on old version Sigma 30mm lens, http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/8449...2_8_EX_DN.html)

4th, focus speed, for normal photo shooting actually can't feel the different, but when come to low light, SEL35mm win becoz of F1.8. And when focusing, Sigma 30mm is more noisy than SEL35mm.

5th, focal length, 30mm vs 35mm, which 1 you more prefer?

so, Summary:
Sigma 30mm - cheap, super sharp image, built quality so so, max aperture F2.8, wide FL, performance is superb for the price range
SEL35mm - not cheap at all, not much review for this lens, but it was great, well built quality, max aperture F1.8, arrow FL, standard performance base on the price

btw, i go Sigma 30mm becoz:
- cheap, really cheap, budget saving (save alot man)~
- I hav a 50mmF1.8
- i just need a lens to replace my sel1855 for normal daily photo shooting (30-35mm FL)
- The IQ is superb for this sigma 30mm, like a cili padi, small but HOT~ I think so far no other lens can fight within these price range.
- Sigma 30mm is more wide, i prefer this

kry183
post Apr 5 2013, 04:45 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 4 2013, 06:22 PM)
looks like sigma 30mm suits me well since im not really a pro but would like to get sharper image.

how about this compare with 16-50mm? will i gain more benefit if i go for sigma 30mm? i normally use it for travel, portrait and low light

also, is there any difference with the new sigma 30mm? worth the extra $50? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9188...2_8_dn_for.html
Depends on what you looking for:
- zoom lens (16-50) is more on flexibility, can zoom in zoom out, almost all kind of scene can settle with it, a very GENERAL lens
- prime lens (30mm) is more on image quality, bokeh, large aperture, specify usage (30mm is useful for street photography and indoor portrait)

if just can choose either 16-50mm and 30mm for travel, i choose 16-50
- landscape, portrait, food, street, building, indoor, outdoor, 1 lens settle it all
- low light? juz use NEX 6 built in pop-up flash, settle

not sure what really different the new sigma 30mm, the lens still under pre-order status, dun hav any review for comparison yet....
kry183
post Apr 6 2013, 03:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 5 2013, 05:12 PM)
so no point to get prime lens unless i am very pro? 35mmf1.8 from sony is just poisoning me especially in low light condition
emm..not to be say pro or not pro....

The formula is:
you buy it, you use it, you like it, you worth it

sound easy but not easy~
kry183
post Apr 25 2013, 06:04 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(babycherie @ Apr 24 2013, 04:32 PM)
Hi guys
I am not interested playing camera as hobbies..I know many people like to snap photo all around even bring it like a baby. but my purpose using camera when going travelling or some special event or big day.

Today I come across a a few type DSLR/mirrorless Entry Level Camera. My budget around Rm1000-Rm2000

i am Dilemma between this 2 model

1) sony nex 5nk Rm1999
2) sony nex F3  Rm1400

which i saw in court mammoth today.having a camera fair..can up for installment for 24 month.

what else.you guys advise.

I'm just a newbie ,but I like to take picture, play with manual mode but don't want to bring a bulky complicated.
Forgot about 5N and F3, just go for NEX-3N.
kry183
post Apr 26 2013, 05:19 PM

157 posts

Aprill full moon~
kry183
post May 14 2013, 02:46 PM

157 posts

A famous spot at UPM Tmn Pertanian~~