After a couple of days my back started to ache. Is there any wrong method here?
Btw when I do the first video workout, my muscle doesn't seem to 'expand'. Should I do it anyway?
Nedd some help
Nov 6 2012, 04:37 PM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,082 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Last week I started doing this two :
After a couple of days my back started to ache. Is there any wrong method here? Btw when I do the first video workout, my muscle doesn't seem to 'expand'. Should I do it anyway? |
Nov 6 2012, 08:32 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
How are we supposed to know if your form is wrong if you don't post a video of yourself?
Nov 6 2012, 09:03 PM
9,309 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sabah-Australia-Shah Alam. |
You said you started last week but you see no muscle growth....dude, give it time, it's only been a week!
Here's my experience. I started doing pushups diligently about a year ago. The first 2-3 weeks, no visual change. One day when I was resting my upper arm on a table the triceps felt weird, as if something hard was implanted in my triceps. Only a few more weeks afterwards did my friends say my triceps are starting to bulge out. See, these things take time dude. Free weights or body weights, the same thing applies. Also I agree with -Dan there that if you don't post at least a picture we won't know if you're doing it in the right form or not. |
Nov 6 2012, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 6 2012, 08:32 PM) owh i do the exact same thing.I'll post my vid up later, hope you can be my mentor ^^ Added on November 6, 2012, 10:08 pm QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 6 2012, 09:03 PM) You said you started last week but you see no muscle growth....dude, give it time, it's only been a week! I've started my training 2 months ago. And thank god I can see improvements, well at least some shapes on my body (:Here's my experience. I started doing pushups diligently about a year ago. The first 2-3 weeks, no visual change. One day when I was resting my upper arm on a table the triceps felt weird, as if something hard was implanted in my triceps. Only a few more weeks afterwards did my friends say my triceps are starting to bulge out. See, these things take time dude. Free weights or body weights, the same thing applies. Also I agree with -Dan there that if you don't post at least a picture we won't know if you're doing it in the right form or not. It's just that I stumbled upon these two vids last week. Hence I tried doing it. But a couple of days later my back ache. Sure thing, I'll upload my video later (: This post has been edited by Puteih: Nov 6 2012, 10:08 PM |
Nov 6 2012, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 6 2012, 10:06 PM) owh i do the exact same thing. Which part of your back? Either you've done them in the wrong form or that your weak back muscles are being trained. That depends on the kind of pain you're experiencing. If it's mild to medium tightness and soreness it's probably the effect of your back having experienced new workload. If it's sharp, cramp like pain, that's something else.I'll post my vid up later, hope you can be my mentor ^^ Added on November 6, 2012, 10:08 pm I've started my training 2 months ago. And thank god I can see improvements, well at least some shapes on my body (: It's just that I stumbled upon these two vids last week. Hence I tried doing it. But a couple of days later my back ache. Sure thing, I'll upload my video later (: |
Nov 19 2012, 05:57 AM
soooo, imma not a videogenic. and so sorry that I had to delay the videos because imma shy person
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « notice on the first video I had to stop at certain sets. It because my back is in pain and I need to take a breather. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The pain is all over in the box area, or somewhere near it. Is this normal? This post has been edited by Puteih: Nov 19 2012, 05:58 AM |
Nov 19 2012, 06:53 AM
6,955 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
your back is in pain bcoz your core is weak. you need a strong core to support ur lower back.
Nov 19 2012, 09:59 AM
I see you did the plank. The pain near the lower back is normal. Like janson said it is because your core is still too weak. Keep doing what you're doing and it will get stronger. I see you do the plank there which means you're in the right track. Build it up to 2-3 minutes.
Might I suggest slowing down your tempo? Or at least fast positives and slow negatives (fast 'up' and slow 'down'). Your muscle would stay in contraction for longer and this will lead to better strength gains, hypertrophy and will also help with your form. It will also increase the difficulty. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 19 2012, 10:00 AM |
Nov 19 2012, 10:29 AM
229 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Try duin some abs n back exercises..hanging leg raises helps a lot in improving your core..sit-ups with weights also helps..deadlift also helps..bent over rows..etc..
Nov 19 2012, 06:14 PM
Nov 19 2012, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 19 2012, 09:59 AM) I see you did the plank. The pain near the lower back is normal. Like janson said it is because your core is still too weak. Keep doing what you're doing and it will get stronger. I see you do the plank there which means you're in the right track. Build it up to 2-3 minutes. QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 19 2012, 09:59 AM) Might I suggest slowing down your tempo? Or at least fast positives and slow negatives (fast 'up' and slow 'down'). Your muscle would stay in contraction for longer and this will lead to better strength gains, hypertrophy and will also help with your form. It will also increase the difficulty. btw is my training complete? i mean does it cover my body wholesomely? |
Nov 19 2012, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(Seasick85 @ Nov 19 2012, 10:29 AM) Try duin some abs n back exercises..hanging leg raises helps a lot in improving your core..sit-ups with weights also helps..deadlift also helps..bent over rows..etc.. care to share some vids? I only found out what reps means last week; i'm not familiar with bodybuilding terms. |
Nov 19 2012, 06:42 PM
536 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: London, United Kingdom |
Nov 19 2012, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 19 2012, 06:19 PM) ahh, I only do for 30 seconds. hopefully I can hold my plank for over 2 minutes and more. I forgot your video and my internet is too slow for me to play them again.ooo, I've always in a rush btw is my training complete? i mean does it cover my body wholesomely? Though I don't remember you doing any significant leg work. You need to have more legs and back exercises. For the back and arms you can do pullups and chinups, but you need to have somewhere you can hang. There are lots of ways to do pullups and progressions as well. I am training for the one-arm chinup and right now doing towel assisted one-arm chinup (look it up if you don't know). Really brutal stuff for the back (latissimus dorsi) and biceps, and the triceps of the assisting arm too now that I have my hand nearing the end of the towel. I combine that with an L-sit to work on my abs at the same time. For legs you can do squats. You don't need extra weights, just progress your way to a one-legged squat (aka. pistol squat). Also as a rule of thumb, once you're able to do 15 reps with proper form and proper tempo, move on to something harder. Don't fall under the 'reps' trap. I did for a while. I worked my way up to 70 reps in diamond pushups...... What a waste of a few months. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 19 2012, 07:30 PM |
Nov 19 2012, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 19 2012, 07:26 PM) I forgot your video and my internet is too slow for me to play them again. aaaa i cannot do pullups. if chin ups maybe just 3 for a day, then I cannot go on any further. Though I don't remember you doing any significant leg work. You need to have more legs and back exercises. For the back and arms you can do pullups and chinups, but you need to have somewhere you can hang. There are lots of ways to do pullups and progressions as well. I am training for the one-arm chinup and right now doing towel assisted one-arm chinup (look it up if you don't know). Really brutal stuff for the back (latissimus dorsi) and biceps, and the triceps of the assisting arm too now that I have my hand nearing the end of the towel. I combine that with an L-sit to work on my abs at the same time. For legs you can do squats. You don't need extra weights, just progress your way to a one-legged squat (aka. pistol squat). Also as a rule of thumb, once you're able to do 15 reps with proper form and proper tempo, move on to something harder. Don't fall under the 'reps' trap. I did for a while. I worked my way up to 70 reps in diamond pushups...... What a waste of a few months. gosh , i guess my back is very very very weak huh. as for pistol squat, is it okay if I started doing it assisted? Meaning if I squat for the right leg, my left hand is holding onto a chair or something. because I can't really squat well, my body just won't let me squat well even with two legs. heck my left hand can't touch my left shoulder. |
Nov 19 2012, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 19 2012, 09:01 PM) aaaa i cannot do pullups. if chin ups maybe just 3 for a day, then I cannot go on any further. No no, 3 is good. I would advise for you to do 1 rep for up to 10 sets, 1-2 mins rest in between sets, a few days a week (3-4 days). Don't rush that one rep, do fast up and 3 seconds down. Focus on your form. Pretty soon 2 straight chinups would be very easy, then 3, then 4. Just keep adjusting the number of sets so you total about 10 in a day. Just work your way up to 10 straight picture perfect, proper tempo chinups. A few pullups SHOULD be possible by then.gosh , i guess my back is very very very weak huh. as for pistol squat, is it okay if I started doing it assisted? Meaning if I squat for the right leg, my left hand is holding onto a chair or something. because I can't really squat well, my body just won't let me squat well even with two legs. heck my left hand can't touch my left shoulder. You just can't skip pullups or chinups, there's no solid reason for you not to do them. They give you strength in your arms and back, they give you a good looking torso, they promote grip strength, they work on your core a bit (for stability when doing them). You don't have to squat with a single leg right away, assisted or not. I'm just saying you should work your way up to it for maximum gains before eventually going to weighted squats. If you can barely squat with two legs, start by perfecting your 2 legged squat before moving on. Don't rush into things. If your knees start to feel even the slightest bit weird, STOP. Give it a day of rest and then continue the day after if they feel ok. |
Nov 19 2012, 10:03 PM
497 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I'll salute you if you can pistol squat right away
Nov 20 2012, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Nov 19 2012, 09:23 PM) You don't have to squat with a single leg right away, assisted or not. I'm just saying you should work your way up to it for maximum gains before eventually going to weighted squats. If you can barely squat with two legs, start by perfecting your 2 legged squat before moving on. Don't rush into things. If your knees start to feel even the slightest bit weird, STOP. Give it a day of rest and then continue the day after if they feel ok. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Nov 20 2012, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(kubuk @ Nov 19 2012, 10:03 PM) If I hold things to support me can lah If not holding things then only halfway then fall down lol Added on November 20, 2012, 3:32 amoh i forget to tell you guys, i do this sets 5 rounds. can i eat peanuts while work out? or drink some plain water... This post has been edited by Puteih: Nov 20 2012, 03:32 AM |
Nov 20 2012, 10:02 AM
Wrong form for the squat. Your heels should never leave the ground. Do you mean you fall backwards? Try using your hands as counter balance, put them out in front of you.
I don't know eating while working out, but you sure can drink water any time you like during your workout. Just don't down a whole bottle of water in a few seconds, your tummy would be too full of water and it'll slosh around. Not a good feeling. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Nov 20 2012, 10:12 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0193sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:19 AM |