Hi All,
Anyone have any suggestion for W8 tablet ? Looking for light weight W8 Tablet.
Thanks...
Windows 8 Tablet, Windows 8 Tablet suggestion
Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Hi All,
Anyone have any suggestion for W8 tablet ? Looking for light weight W8 Tablet. Thanks... |
Nov 3 2012, 12:02 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: -Butterworth, Penang- |
Dell XPS 10...
estimate launch in Mid Dec... in my waiting list now |
Nov 3 2012, 05:16 PM
68 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
they have been showing off some models in lowyat, but everytime i asked them they pointed somewhere in lowyat...i searched everywhere all i can see is refurbished atoms and old lowyat selling cheap with windows 8. I wonder when can i really go and buy one.
Nov 4 2012, 02:36 AM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
I have done some searching but no success. I believe it might take a while to flood the market with W8 Tablet
This post has been edited by c0ffeebucks: Nov 4 2012, 02:36 AM |
Nov 5 2012, 10:27 AM
107 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: Gombak |
I think that now W8 Tablet is on the market with high price...
Don't buy it first... Regards, Gan. |
Nov 5 2012, 02:20 PM
1,416 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Is there anyone here using Acer W500/1 with Windows 8?
It basically has the 'minimum' requirement for running win 8... I wonder how it performs.... |
Nov 5 2012, 08:37 PM
188 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bangi - Proton COE |
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Nov 5 2012, 02:20 PM) Is there anyone here using Acer W500/1 with Windows 8? i'm using it since developer preview. actually i install it on the first day that i bought on january this year.It basically has the 'minimum' requirement for running win 8... I wonder how it performs.... here is my WEI score for the final Windows 8 pro: ![]() Almost everything works except that snap feature since resolution is lower then requirement. here is also a video that i upload few month ago that show the w500 connected to plasma tv with consumer preview |
Nov 5 2012, 09:57 PM
5,750 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sri Kembangan |
QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Nov 5 2012, 08:37 PM) i'm using it since developer preview. actually i install it on the first day that i bought on january this year. W500 has a totally different processor. It runs on dua core AMD APU on a traditional large laptop harddisk where as W510 runs on a dual core new ATOM processor running on SSD.here is my WEI score for the final Windows 8 pro: ![]() Almost everything works except that snap feature since resolution is lower then requirement. here is also a video that i upload few month ago that show the w500 connected to plasma tv with consumer preview |
Nov 5 2012, 11:05 PM
Nov 5 2012, 11:34 PM
yup correct it run on SSD 32gb... look at the WEI score above.. its 6.4.. normally hdd is 5.9
that new ATOM only faster abit from that amd c-50.. what the most advantage is the better power consumption Here is 510/Atom Z2760 WEI score... 3.5 for Processor 4.6 for RAM 3.5 for Graphics 3.2 for Gaming Graphics 5.6 for Primary Drive ... This post has been edited by Mr.PeeNutt: Nov 5 2012, 11:42 PM |
Nov 6 2012, 12:05 AM
PeeNutt.. .right now u're using that W500?
what kinda software/apps u stuffed into that thing? how is it performing? Is kinda hard to judge to overall performance right after the windows is installed... need to install programs, than can see how well it goes.. It uses SSD, but only 2GB of RAM, right? Is the RAM / SSD upgradable? This post has been edited by d3v073d_50uL: Nov 6 2012, 12:06 AM |
Nov 6 2012, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Nov 6 2012, 12:05 AM) PeeNutt.. .right now u're using that W500? hehehe yup i'm using the w500.what kinda software/apps u stuffed into that thing? how is it performing? Is kinda hard to judge to overall performance right after the windows is installed... need to install programs, than can see how well it goes.. It uses SSD, but only 2GB of RAM, right? Is the RAM / SSD upgradable? i'm a 3D/2D artist so most of my programs is power hungry but for me surprisingly it run ok la.. sure cannot compete desktop werstation but for lite job ok jer. Ssd is upgradable with msata drive but RAM cannot already soldered. 2gb is more then enough for a tablet. Most huge programs i install on 32gbSDHC card using junction ntfs method. Still hav 10gb sdd left after install alot of metro apps. Here another video that i upload playing wif 3ds Max |
Nov 6 2012, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(d3v073d_50uL @ Nov 5 2012, 11:05 PM) thanks for the correction. I dont think 32GB is enough for a windows system. Windows OS is not like other tablet OS that cant do shit. When you can do lotsa shit on an OS, you normally need bigger storage to store all the shits that you are gonna get lol for exam - cuz i can run Electronic Art's Origin on Windows OS, i am going to install lots of hardcore games yadda yadda .. |
Nov 8 2012, 11:13 AM
858 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
i'm looking the same thing as you.
VivoTabâ„¢ or VivoTabâ„¢ Smart. I'm still comparing http://www.asus.com/vivo/en/vivoTab.htm |
Nov 8 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 8 2012, 11:13 AM) i'm looking the same thing as you. smart is 10" and Vivotab is 11" Vivotab comes with keyboard. Smart does not. Smart is equivalent to Acer 510 which is currently selling at RM1699.VivoTabâ„¢ or VivoTabâ„¢ Smart. I'm still comparing http://www.asus.com/vivo/en/vivoTab.htm |
Nov 8 2012, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 8 2012, 11:13 AM) i'm looking the same thing as you. i seriously cannot trust a computer brand that cannot even come up with a properly working website! It shows not that there was not testing/QC done!! VivoTabâ„¢ or VivoTabâ„¢ Smart. I'm still comparing http://www.asus.com/vivo/en/vivoTab.htm http://my.asus.com/Tablet/ Click on the Vivotab link and you get this http://my.asus.com/PageError/ |
Nov 8 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(c0ffeebucks @ Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM) wait for AMD Hondo APU tablets. It supports USB3.0 natively and i believe the tablets with come with 2.5" laptop size harddisks. so we will see 320G or above storage instead of the mere 32-128 SSD storage. |
Nov 8 2012, 02:48 PM
2,800 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: - |
Nov 8 2012, 08:04 PM
Nov 9 2012, 01:22 AM
Nov 9 2012, 07:55 AM
Nov 9 2012, 09:19 AM
1,770 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 9 2012, 01:22 AM) Asus VivoTab RT come with keyboard,Asus VivoTab/VivoTab Smart should be include of keyboardQUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 9 2012, 07:55 AM) only Asus VivoTab RT run on Windows 8 RT» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by marcus20125: Nov 9 2012, 09:26 AM |
Nov 9 2012, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 9 2012, 01:22 AM) if you notice the battery information for Smart and none Smart. You noticed that once mention battery on the tablet and battery with keyboard docking. on the battery spec for Smart - it only mention battery on the tablet not with keyboard docking. It maybe an error |
Nov 9 2012, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 9 2012, 10:31 AM) if you notice the battery information for Smart and none Smart. You noticed that once mention battery on the tablet and battery with keyboard docking. on the battery spec for Smart - it only mention battery on the tablet not with keyboard docking. It maybe an error yea i saw... confusing. |
Nov 9 2012, 10:46 AM
Nov 9 2012, 01:15 PM
Nov 9 2012, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(eligible @ Nov 9 2012, 01:15 PM) i see Acer is listed in Dexcom's price list http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceLists http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...rice(4)_2_0.pdf and jayacom is slashing the previous generation of Acer W501 tablet by whopping RM400!!!! if comes with W7 HP. you can upgrade it to W8 Pro at RM49. The only downside of the tablet is that it does not have enough resolution to support W8 Snap - side by side app feature. http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...20laptop_15.pdf i dont see Samsung, Asus or Fujitsu Windows 8 tablets listed although they have been launched in Malaysia. Guess shops are still busy clearing out W7 laptops and Android Tablets! |
Nov 9 2012, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 9 2012, 02:33 PM) i see Acer is listed in Dexcom's price list Yea. that's why PC fair always out there to clear their stocks. I still very excited for the asus tablet. hahas. I'm a fans of asus. http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceLists http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...rice(4)_2_0.pdf and jayacom is slashing the previous generation of Acer W501 tablet by whopping RM400!!!! if comes with W7 HP. you can upgrade it to W8 Pro at RM49. The only downside of the tablet is that it does not have enough resolution to support W8 Snap - side by side app feature. http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...20laptop_15.pdf i dont see Samsung, Asus or Fujitsu Windows 8 tablets listed although they have been launched in Malaysia. Guess shops are still busy clearing out W7 laptops and Android Tablets! personally, I don't trust Acer |
Nov 9 2012, 03:43 PM
Nov 9 2012, 03:53 PM
Nov 9 2012, 04:51 PM
Nov 9 2012, 07:36 PM
Nov 9 2012, 07:38 PM
Nov 9 2012, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 9 2012, 07:38 PM) sony one need to fork RM4k sigh .. lenovo u mean the yoga ? .. asus vivo smart tab already sell in malaysia or else hmmzz any laptops.. tablet wasn't sure since they are new developing tablet / touchscreen. so far no solid reviews on their durability of their tablets. but i can say their laptops are remarkable!!! |
Nov 9 2012, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 9 2012, 04:51 PM) sigh .. looks like i have to buy the damn expensive sony viao duo 11 fujitsu has an AMD Hondo tablet.Dell has a hybrid and a tablet HP has a tablet - Envy 2 Lenovo upgraded their Android Thinkpad to a Windows 8 Thinkpad 2 Samsung has a W8 tablet also. so many choices. Vaio Duo is a hybrid and it looks heavy! |
Nov 10 2012, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 9 2012, 08:24 PM) fujitsu has an AMD Hondo tablet. if u have the money which one would u buy .. still waiting for that microsoft surfaceDell has a hybrid and a tablet HP has a tablet - Envy 2 Lenovo upgraded their Android Thinkpad to a Windows 8 Thinkpad 2 Samsung has a W8 tablet also. so many choices. Vaio Duo is a hybrid and it looks heavy! |
Nov 10 2012, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 9 2012, 02:33 PM) i see Acer is listed in Dexcom's price list I cannot find that Rm400 deal on that pdf price list.. it only show Rm 1299. My friend would like to buy 1 if it 400. U cant even buy netbuk wif tht price http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceLists http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...rice(4)_2_0.pdf and jayacom is slashing the previous generation of Acer W501 tablet by whopping RM400!!!! if comes with W7 HP. you can upgrade it to W8 Pro at RM49. The only downside of the tablet is that it does not have enough resolution to support W8 Snap - side by side app feature. http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...20laptop_15.pdf i dont see Samsung, Asus or Fujitsu Windows 8 tablets listed although they have been launched in Malaysia. Guess shops are still busy clearing out W7 laptops and Android Tablets! Oooopp sorry u mean it slash 400 haha .still a good deal since 501 equip wif 3g This post has been edited by Mr.PeeNutt: Nov 10 2012, 10:09 AM |
Nov 10 2012, 03:15 PM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i saw prestige it in lyp 2nd floor oledi have asus vivotab rt i believe
Nov 10 2012, 03:15 PM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i saw prestige it in lyp 2nd floor oledi have asus vivotab rt i believe
Nov 10 2012, 03:51 PM
just came back from Lowyat plaza. Windows 8 tablets are no where to be found. Acer at the ground floor said they ordered 20 units of W700 but sold out like goreng pisang. He expects new stocks to arrive next friday. From the look of it, to get your hands on the Acer Iconia W8 tablets, you have to pay deposit to book your unit thats if Acer does that at all. The shop lists the Intel i3 11.6" FULL HD IPS 64GB SSD, 4G RAM W8 64 bit at RM2199 without keyboard.
W510 is RM1699 without keyboard. |
Nov 10 2012, 04:16 PM
oh Senheng/SenQ is having W8 galore!!!!
They are giving card members RM50 discount on Acer iconia W700. SRP is RM2199 ![]() |
Nov 10 2012, 05:37 PM
345 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
2199 is kinda worth it consider it is not RT, but with Intel Core i3 inside.
Nov 10 2012, 06:08 PM
64 gb acer w7 kinda low memory .. dunno if buy this for show off the touch2 thingy only or for drawing sigh ..
Nov 12 2012, 07:54 PM
50 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
tested sony vaido duo 11 the other day and immediately fell in love...but rm4k is a little bit too much
Nov 12 2012, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(skyline100 @ Nov 10 2012, 05:37 PM) yeah RM2199 - you dont get the keyboard me think. Iconia W510 - dua core atom processor is selling at RM1699 (no keyboard) and RM2199 with keyboard .. the keyboard (also comes with another battery extending batery life 2x) is like worth RM500 wtf |
Nov 14 2012, 09:26 AM
I just bought my ATIV Smart PC Pro 700T
without kb dock, price RM 3599 sold as ultrabook range becoz of the processor. kb dock full set is RM 3999. This one uses micro hdmi (they dont sell the cable) but get a good one in viewnet price range is RM 39 - 40. Dont get short adapter get a wired one, short adapter for a micro hdmi out is too light and the hdmi cables are heavier - u'll get alot of dc becoz that. For expansion, it uses Micro SDCard. with 1x usb 3.0 since, i dont have a kb dock and kickstand-ish. I combo with the use of microsoft wedge product. Works very well with wedge kb and kickstand. The stylus is amazing! comes with Samsung preinstall app like those in note tablet S-note and etc. My own review on device This post has been edited by icy_wolfy: Nov 14 2012, 09:46 AM |
Nov 14 2012, 01:22 PM
1,162 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: PJ |
Back from Midvalley megamall. Lenovo at the third floor displays Both Lenovo thinkpad Twist and Yoga, priced at around RM 3600 and 3500 respectively. Its impressive to say the least. Certainly to look out for.
Not for me as it does not come with digitiser. |
Nov 14 2012, 01:51 PM
2,928 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Somewhere On The Earth |
Nov 15 2012, 08:17 PM
277 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(icy_wolfy @ Nov 14 2012, 10:26 AM) I just bought my ATIV Smart PC Pro 700T Dear icy_wolfy, may I know where you bought it? Is it a local set or oversea set? As lelong got come with dock for rm3499...Lelongwithout kb dock, price RM 3599 sold as ultrabook range becoz of the processor. kb dock full set is RM 3999. This one uses micro hdmi (they dont sell the cable) but get a good one in viewnet price range is RM 39 - 40. Dont get short adapter get a wired one, short adapter for a micro hdmi out is too light and the hdmi cables are heavier - u'll get alot of dc becoz that. For expansion, it uses Micro SDCard. with 1x usb 3.0 since, i dont have a kb dock and kickstand-ish. I combo with the use of microsoft wedge product. Works very well with wedge kb and kickstand. The stylus is amazing! comes with Samsung preinstall app like those in note tablet S-note and etc. My own review on device This post has been edited by picfantasia: Nov 15 2012, 08:26 PM |
Nov 16 2012, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(picfantasia @ Nov 15 2012, 08:17 PM) Dear icy_wolfy, may I know where you bought it? Is it a local set or oversea set? As lelong got come with dock for rm3499...Lelong lowyat, upstairs cant remember which floor definately not LG and G, is very near the escalator going up ; two guys maning the small samsung booth. ATIV looks very like laptop when on clamshell mode... tengok betul betul u will find it.Added on November 16, 2012, 9:21 amthings to know when using windows 8 tablets windows + printscreen on keyboard = screenshot now appears in library picture folder in metro mode; hold windows (homebutton) + vol down = same as above in metro mode; hold windows (homebutton) + vol up = accessibility option, read aloud screen etc. in metro model; hold windows (homebutton) + power = quick power/logout button (tablet version of control + alt + del) This post has been edited by icy_wolfy: Nov 16 2012, 09:21 AM |
Nov 16 2012, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(icy_wolfy @ Nov 16 2012, 08:46 AM) lowyat, upstairs cant remember which floor definately not LG and G, is very near the escalator going up ; two guys maning the small samsung booth. ATIV looks very like laptop when on clamshell mode... tengok betul betul u will find it. means urs actually have keyboard but out of stock la keyboard the dock ? . cause i ask they said the keyboard is included . if need to buy then i say babai samsungAdded on November 16, 2012, 9:21 amthings to know when using windows 8 tablets windows + printscreen on keyboard = screenshot now appears in library picture folder in metro mode; hold windows (homebutton) + vol down = same as above in metro mode; hold windows (homebutton) + vol up = accessibility option, read aloud screen etc. in metro model; hold windows (homebutton) + power = quick power/logout button (tablet version of control + alt + del) |
Nov 16 2012, 11:48 AM
correct, that time I bought it in lowyat was the 10th November. (they still setting up the set that time so new) I think by now should have kb dock dy , dunno need to check.
Nov 16 2012, 05:11 PM
162 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
i using my laptop for work, using photoshop and visual studio at my laptop.
possible win8 tablet to replace my laptop? can windows' tablet install these software? |
Nov 16 2012, 09:04 PM
thats what im using mine for
Nov 16 2012, 09:38 PM
323 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Malaysia |
Nov 17 2012, 11:12 AM
265 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi, want to ask if i get a windows 8 tablet, can i install n play pc game like diablo3 or other online game with it?
Nov 17 2012, 01:09 PM
1,809 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Nov 17 2012, 11:12 AM) Hi, want to ask if i get a windows 8 tablet, can i install n play pc game like diablo3 or other online game with it? Depends on the specification.But based on my research, those with intel hd4000 can play diablo 3 at a lower res. However, you have to be sure that your windows is windows 8 pro, not windows RT. |
Nov 20 2012, 10:23 AM
16 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(c0ffeebucks @ Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM) i have a Microsoft Surface, the original Windows 8 tablet by Microsoft. You can visit here |
Nov 26 2012, 09:23 PM
460 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I have a question.
Is there any WINDOWS 8 PRO tablet which intergrated with GPS capability? So far, only WINDOWS 8 RT tablets have that feature. |
Nov 28 2012, 02:22 PM
![]() does anyone bought Surface RT from ipmart ? price quite reasonable la |
Nov 30 2012, 05:31 PM
Nov 30 2012, 10:03 PM
1,692 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Neither here nor there |
I am getting my Acer Iconia W700 tablet tomorrow. it's the most decently specced hardware minus the expensive pricetag. Acer is really improving quite a lot now compared to previous years ...
Dec 1 2012, 12:44 AM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Dec 1 2012, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Dec 1 2012, 12:44 AM) Afaik, for MY market Acer MY only bring in one color ... In the US, they have 3 variants of the same W700, and they also comes with black together with white / silver.BTW, just got wind that MS Surface with Win8Pro will be available for sale in the US January next year, but pricetag very expensive worr ... at USD899 ... imagine here Surface with WinRT got ppl selling almost RM3K plus ... With Win8Pro surely will double the price ... |
Dec 1 2012, 08:51 AM
184 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
There're certain places selling surface below rm2.4k.
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 1 2012, 08:01 AM) Afaik, for MY market Acer MY only bring in one color ... In the US, they have 3 variants of the same W700, and they also comes with black together with white / silver. BTW, just got wind that MS Surface with Win8Pro will be available for sale in the US January next year, but pricetag very expensive worr ... at USD899 ... imagine here Surface with WinRT got ppl selling almost RM3K plus ... With Win8Pro surely will double the price ... |
Dec 1 2012, 01:47 PM
984 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 1 2012, 08:01 AM) BTW, just got wind that MS Surface with Win8Pro will be available for sale in the US January next year, but pricetag very expensive worr ... at USD899 ... imagine here Surface with WinRT got ppl selling almost RM3K plus ... With Win8Pro surely will double the price ... The surface pro price above doesn't include the keyboard though. So add another USD100 or so for the keyboard.Also, reports are saying that the battery life won't be as good as the surface rt. The surface pro will last about the same time as ultrabooks, which is about 4-5 hours. Personally i think that for that price, there are better options out there. Battery life if pretty much on par with other ultrabooks, so it's not a plus point here. Maybe the surface rt is better for those looking for tablet-type devices. Surface pro is probably aimed towards the ultrabook market. Whaddya think? |
Dec 1 2012, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(plateau @ Dec 1 2012, 01:47 PM) The surface pro price above doesn't include the keyboard though. So add another USD100 or so for the keyboard. Read an article somewhere that tech analyst said Surface Pro might not be targeted for consumer, more for enterprise. For what strategy MS was thinking when they announce the pricing for Pro, no one knows, mebbe they are doing it so that they can push more sales of their RT .... As for me, just got mine Iconia W700 today. Haven't turn it on yet, now doing the compulsory 8 hour first time charge .... Will update tomorrow once i have turn it on ... Also, reports are saying that the battery life won't be as good as the surface rt. The surface pro will last about the same time as ultrabooks, which is about 4-5 hours. Personally i think that for that price, there are better options out there. Battery life if pretty much on par with other ultrabooks, so it's not a plus point here. Maybe the surface rt is better for those looking for tablet-type devices. Surface pro is probably aimed towards the ultrabook market. Whaddya think? |
Dec 2 2012, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 1 2012, 09:26 PM) Read an article somewhere that tech analyst said Surface Pro might not be targeted for consumer, more for enterprise. For what strategy MS was thinking when they announce the pricing for Pro, no one knows, mebbe they are doing it so that they can push more sales of their RT .... As for me, just got mine Iconia W700 today. Haven't turn it on yet, now doing the compulsory 8 hour first time charge .... Will update tomorrow once i have turn it on ... Please do |
Dec 2 2012, 07:35 AM
Ok, i have turned on my W700, and all i can say is, wow ... booting up using win8 on the tablet is way faster than win8 loading on my C2D desktop with 8GB ram. the downside is that the W700, doesn't come with a physical keyboard and memory expansion slot (microSD). I have installed Win8 on my desktop first and have logged into it using my hotmail account, have downloaded several Metro apps in it. when i logged in to the W700 using the same account, all my settings, contacts and apps from my desktop appears on it as well. Now that is cool.
As for the pricing, i bought it from the sellers here in LYN forum, so if you want, you can head on down to Notebooks & Tablets in Garage Sales and search there. |
Dec 2 2012, 01:23 PM
Waiting for Acer Iconia AMD Hondo tablet
Dec 2 2012, 05:12 PM
The Vivotab Smart seems like a good buy for a budget Win8 tablet
According to reviews, the Clover Trail CPU is worst than Tegra3 and the dated performance of Atom processor is it that bad? |
Dec 3 2012, 11:57 AM
594 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 2 2012, 07:35 AM) Ok, i have turned on my W700, and all i can say is, wow ... booting up using win8 on the tablet is way faster than win8 loading on my C2D desktop with 8GB ram. the downside is that the W700, doesn't come with a physical keyboard and memory expansion slot (microSD). I have installed Win8 on my desktop first and have logged into it using my hotmail account, have downloaded several Metro apps in it. when i logged in to the W700 using the same account, all my settings, contacts and apps from my desktop appears on it as well. Now that is cool. I agree with you. I got mine on the 30th November and by far this tablet seems like it is worth the money. I am happy with most aspects of it even though it doesn't include the Bluetooth keyboard like other countries.As for the pricing, i bought it from the sellers here in LYN forum, so if you want, you can head on down to Notebooks & Tablets in Garage Sales and search there. One thing about it is the SSD space which is 64GB doesn't seem sufficient enough if you are going to put HD movies, photos and full fledged Windows games inside. Edit: what is your current storage space? Mine is at 32GB This post has been edited by farkingdom: Dec 3 2012, 11:59 AM |
Dec 3 2012, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Dec 3 2012, 11:57 AM) I agree with you. I got mine on the 30th November and by far this tablet seems like it is worth the money. I am happy with most aspects of it even though it doesn't include the Bluetooth keyboard like other countries. I have 27GB left .... will be carrying my external then after this ... sigh ...One thing about it is the SSD space which is 64GB doesn't seem sufficient enough if you are going to put HD movies, photos and full fledged Windows games inside. Edit: what is your current storage space? Mine is at 32GB |
Dec 3 2012, 07:18 PM
I am looking for one which has the docking station that has network cable connection. And one that has Wacom pen option.
Not many choices though.. Does S-Pen similar to wacom pen capacity ? |
Dec 3 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 3 2012, 06:23 PM) I'm using mine mainly for school work though, games and movies in my other laptop. I googled somewhere that someone managed to upgrade his SSD. Here's the quote:QUOTE Hi, I am a new user of this forum. I've read with interest the topic on acer Iconia W700. I bought a unit 3 weeks ago and I like the unit, but my model comes with i3 Sandy bridge. By the way, I am from Malaysia. The W700, although, comes with lower spec, is amazingly fast. On the hardware side, for those interested, I have ordered upgrade Msata 240gb, to be replaced with my 64gb model. I found the Msata from Mushkin, has the fastest speed and this, I hope can substitute the lower CPU spec. Any idea? QUOTE(peter32 @ Dec 3 2012, 07:18 PM) I am looking for one which has the docking station that has network cable connection. And one that has Wacom pen option. Samsung Ativ Smart PC Pro will do the trick.Not many choices though.. Does S-Pen similar to wacom pen capacity ? |
Dec 3 2012, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Dec 3 2012, 09:59 PM) I'm using mine mainly for school work though, games and movies in my other laptop. I googled somewhere that someone managed to upgrade his SSD. Here's the quote: I am sure that there is always room to upgrade the W700 further, but if you upgrade it on your own, you will void the Acer warranty, unless u get Acer to upgrade it for you. i believe the W700 can become more powerful with rams upgraded to 8GB and SSD upgraded to 250GB. I do hope that the folks in iFixit.com would be kind enuff to provide us with a teardown of the unit.Any idea? |
Dec 4 2012, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 3 2012, 11:40 PM) I am sure that there is always room to upgrade the W700 further, but if you upgrade it on your own, you will void the Acer warranty, unless u get Acer to upgrade it for you. i believe the W700 can become more powerful with rams upgraded to 8GB and SSD upgraded to 250GB. I do hope that the folks in iFixit.com would be kind enuff to provide us with a teardown of the unit. I don't think I would risk upgrade my w700 by myself unless I sent the unit to be upgraded by someone else. Yeah but I believe our RAMs are soldered onto the motherboard so it might not be possible to upgrade that unless you ''add more rams'' into it. The w500 and 700 use mSATA SSD that is upgradeable to 250GB. But, how do you even open the back cover in the first place????I would really love to upgrade mine to 256 GB SSD. Just hope some sensei can shed some light here on the process. |
Dec 4 2012, 07:01 PM
Dec 4 2012, 09:14 PM
Dec 7 2012, 02:24 PM
6 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
guys, anyone try on the Vaio duo 11?? I would like to get some recommendation..
Dec 7 2012, 03:32 PM
212 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
so far the convertible tablets out there are a bit disappointing. They're either have minimum power, or when they have maximum power (maximum will have only Intel HD Graphic 4000), they only have 4.5 hours battery life. Even the one coming next year, the Microsoft Surface Pro has 4 hours battery life.
So it's either 8 hours battery life with minimum power or 4 hours battery life with maximum power. |
Dec 7 2012, 03:39 PM
if 4 hours battery life only, it will be worst comparing to ultrabook...
Dec 7 2012, 03:41 PM
Then get the keyboard which has battery in it. Like acer, envy x2. Double battery life, if I'm not mistaken up to 18 hours in total.
Dec 7 2012, 05:05 PM
212 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Dec 7 2012, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(toda_III @ Dec 7 2012, 05:05 PM) ultrabook different. powerful ultrabook can easily last for 8 hours, but heavier, thicker and not convertible. its dilemma for me now, either buy an ultrabook now or wait for better hybrid lappy to come out....Added on December 7, 2012, 6:01 pmany news that when samsung ativ pro launch?? Added on December 7, 2012, 6:05 pmany news that when samsung ativ pro launch?? This post has been edited by tomtom13: Dec 7 2012, 06:05 PM |
Dec 7 2012, 07:01 PM
Samsung ativ pro is already launched, just not enough stock..
Dec 7 2012, 07:10 PM
Dec 7 2012, 07:22 PM
Rm3,599
Dec 8 2012, 07:31 AM
Dec 8 2012, 12:59 PM
Dec 8 2012, 01:00 PM
2,960 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
3.5k is too high for what it does. Try wait til more products come out
Dec 22 2012, 11:27 AM
Just got acer iconia w700 so far loving it lol. Worth the wait and price tag <3
Dec 22 2012, 12:10 PM
am waiting for intel haswell then will get a hybrid laptop ...
Dec 27 2012, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 22 2012, 11:27 AM) I do agree on this. Having a w700 for several weeks and so far I love this so much. Those who can't shell out rm3.5k for Ativ Pro, I suggest going for w700, one is for the price, which beats the normal Ativ that only packs Atom, second this has a beautiful full HD screen and a very satisfactory battery life up to 8 hours. |
Dec 27 2012, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Dec 27 2012, 02:24 PM) I do agree on this. Having a w700 for several weeks and so far I love this so much. Ativ PC Pro use full intel chip, I think i5, same as W700. The main difference is that Ativ pc Pro has digitiser interface, which is good for handwriting or for graphic artist. It will be good for photoshop user etc...Those who can't shell out rm3.5k for Ativ Pro, I suggest going for w700, one is for the price, which beats the normal Ativ that only packs Atom, second this has a beautiful full HD screen and a very satisfactory battery life up to 8 hours. NOrmal ativ that uses Atom chip also comes with S-Pen (wacom) digitiser, its god sent for graphic artist. |
Dec 28 2012, 12:54 AM
317 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Sony Vaio 11
Dec 28 2012, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(peter32 @ Dec 27 2012, 04:23 PM) Ativ PC Pro use full intel chip, I think i5, same as W700. The main difference is that Ativ pc Pro has digitiser interface, which is good for handwriting or for graphic artist. It will be good for photoshop user etc... The w700 comes with i3 only, but it is sufficient to run most of the stuff. The ATIV pro does pack much more such as Wacom digitizer, i5, keyboard dock and possibly microsd slot, but comes at a much pricier price tag of RM3.5k - 3.9k (with dock), while w700 is only around RM2.2k. I never tried the Ativ Pro myself but only the normal Ativ with Atom (RM2.5k), and I can say the w700 is much more worth the money than the normal Ativ with its build quality (aluminium) and full HD screen. If you have the money, I'll say go for the Ativ Pro since it has more functionalities.NOrmal ativ that uses Atom chip also comes with S-Pen (wacom) digitiser, its god sent for graphic artist. |
Dec 29 2012, 03:10 PM
612 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Anyone know what windows 8 tablet have 3G sim slot? Same as Acer W501, but I want a latest one.
Dec 29 2012, 07:12 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 29 2012, 03:10 PM) Ativ XE700T2C-H01MY is the model you should get, I am loving it every minute. Supports 3G and faster connectionswith it's Sim card slot. Has so much power and the HD display is great. Initially wanted to wait for the wifi model with Keyboard but they said mid January 2013 -turn not wait that long sol took the sim card model without the Keyboard but I bought a dock unit From the USA and now have a Microsoft Bluetooth keyboard and I got A free microsoft multitouch mouse This makes for a potent combination. The great thing about the dock I bought is that it has a USB 2.0 usb port and Ethernet port at the back and you can charge the item and it acts as a stand at the, same time. The keyboard they supply does not have the network port and that costs RM 500, which is way too expensive. The dock/stand is Kinda cool don't you think so? Compare auto the ACER W 700, this thing is quite powerful |
Dec 29 2012, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(Rags68 @ Dec 29 2012, 07:12 PM) Ativ XE700T2C-H01MY is the model you should get, I am loving it every minute. Supports 3G and faster connections Can you provide info link? I cant find it on google. Btw have you owned this unit? Care to upload some of yours? with it's Sim card slot. Has so much power and the HD display is great. Initially wanted to wait for the wifi model with Keyboard but they said mid January 2013 -turn not wait that long sol took the sim card model without the Keyboard but I bought a dock unit From the USA and now have a Microsoft Bluetooth keyboard and I got A free microsoft multitouch mouse This makes for a potent combination. The great thing about the dock I bought is that it has a USB 2.0 usb port and Ethernet port at the back and you can charge the item and it acts as a stand at the, same time. The keyboard they supply does not have the network port and that costs RM 500, which is way too expensive. The dock/stand is Kinda cool don't you think so? Compare auto the ACER W 700, this thing is quite powerful |
Dec 29 2012, 08:12 PM
2,387 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: royal town of klang |
QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 22 2012, 11:27 AM) Bought and use it for a while and im getting bored and kinda regret the decision i take..i even open a new thread to sell it but after spent half day with it now im fall in love..tak jadi jual..haha.. |
Dec 30 2012, 01:02 AM
Dec 30 2012, 02:14 AM
oh it is XE700T1C, not XE700T2C no wonder I cant find it lol.
Btw it looks nice. This version using i5 right? How much you bought? |
Dec 30 2012, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Dec 29 2012, 08:12 PM) Bought and use it for a while and im getting bored and kinda regret the decision i take..i even open a new thread to sell it but after spent half day with it now im fall in love..tak jadi jual..haha.. I've been without a laptop for over 2years, w700 restored my faith in them again lol |
Dec 30 2012, 10:55 AM
Dec 30 2012, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 30 2012, 02:14 AM) oh it is XE700T1C, not XE700T2C no wonder I cant find it lol. RM3599 for core i5 tablet with 128GB SSD , the problem with iconia is there is no SD slot, U need to plug in a usb drive in it, 64GB is not much storage if you consider full Microsoft office 2010, Adobe PDF professional etc etc , Btw it looks nice. This version using i5 right? How much you bought? I spent another RM300 for docking station(ordered from US), RM300 for the Microsoft Bluetooth keyboard, FOC for Microsoft multi touch mouse. Pretty expensive but by far the fastest most powerful full functioning tablet with reasonable storage space in the market now. Later Microsoft surface pro will be out, sometime February. Good thing about the Samsung is the S-pen , you can maximize handwritten notes and the software will recognise it. That's something the iconia cannot do, actually there is an i5 iconia with 128SSD in the market but Acer Malaysia did not bring it in , most probably due to it may breach the RM3K mark This post has been edited by Rags68: Dec 30 2012, 12:02 PM |
Dec 30 2012, 12:56 PM
only if w700 comes with a keyboard dock it would be perfect ....
Dec 30 2012, 01:08 PM
Dec 30 2012, 01:17 PM
isit really convenient to bring another KB out with you ? btw with KB dock you can have extra battery life the original battery life is 8 hrs with dock probably more than 10 i dont need to bring charger out ....and ohya 64GB isnt much ....128 is would be better since i plan on multibooting on it....
Added on December 30, 2012, 1:21 pmhope there will be more and better hybird devices announced on 8 Jan CES....and finger crossed that they will be coming to msia... This post has been edited by KHOdin: Dec 30 2012, 01:21 PM |
Dec 30 2012, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Dec 30 2012, 01:17 PM) isit really convenient to bring another KB out with you ? btw with KB dock you can have extra battery life the original battery life is 8 hrs with dock probably more than 10 i dont need to bring charger out ....and ohya 64GB isnt much ....128 is would be better since i plan on multibooting on it.... No sweat since there's extra pocket in my bag and for the battery life..also in my bag one power bank for emergency use. Added on December 30, 2012, 1:21 pmhope there will be more and better hybird devices announced on 8 Jan CES....and finger crossed that they will be coming to msia... This post has been edited by Bujal.x: Dec 30 2012, 01:50 PM |
Dec 30 2012, 02:21 PM
no doubt that the price is worth for w700...but im willing to pay more to get one that suit me better ...how i wish that transformer book are coming to msia...
This post has been edited by KHOdin: Dec 30 2012, 02:45 PM |
Dec 30 2012, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Dec 30 2012, 10:55 AM) Lets make official thread for w700.i need to ask lots of thing since this is my first windows 8 tablet.. I have kick started a W700 discussion thread at the Mobile Computing section. Link is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2648154 This post has been edited by farkingdom: Dec 30 2012, 03:22 PM |
Dec 30 2012, 03:46 PM
1,865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: XBOX Live |
Dec 31 2012, 12:48 PM
Dec 31 2012, 04:40 PM
5,750 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Asus transfomers nice too!!
Dec 31 2012, 05:21 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
31,607 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Jan 1 2013, 01:21 AM
Jan 4 2013, 12:06 PM
2,554 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Jan 4 2013, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jan 4 2013, 12:06 PM) The Ativ model I got supports 3G and NFC. I will try to upload more pictures with my new dock I just received from the USA, the whole ensemble cost close to RM4.1k, blue tooth keyboard, blue tooth mouse and dock stand. It support NFC ad well, there is a location at the back of the tablet that has the NFC sign Cheers |
Jan 5 2013, 10:52 AM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I want to buy Samsung Ativ Smart PC Pro but need some answers.
Is it designed to operate 24 hours? Can it handle the heat as I want to keep it in my pouch bag while its on? Or should I keep it in standy mode? Does it produce heat in standy mode? Can recieve SMS in stanby mode? Sorry for so many questions. |
Jan 5 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(Nasuru @ Jan 5 2013, 10:52 AM) I want to buy Samsung Ativ Smart PC Pro but need some answers. receiving sms while on standby mode/sleep mode requires connected standby/currentness. Only tablets with Intel Atom Clover Trail. Smart PC Pro does not come with Clover Trail. The cheapest Windows 8 Ativ tablet does.Is it designed to operate 24 hours? Can it handle the heat as I want to keep it in my pouch bag while its on? Or should I keep it in standy mode? Does it produce heat in standy mode? Can recieve SMS in stanby mode? Sorry for so many questions. |
Jan 5 2013, 05:17 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 1 2013, 01:21 AM) Asus launch it in Msia but not selling here??? http://www.lowyat.net/2012/11/05/912/asus-...dows-8-devices/ This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 5 2013, 05:18 PM |
Jan 5 2013, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(Nasuru @ Jan 5 2013, 10:52 AM) I want to buy Samsung Ativ Smart PC Pro but need some answers. It generates heat when you are using it seriously like a PC, that is why there are multiple slots behind and above it, If in sleep mode, no power consumption. I am not sure about receiving SMS as the SIM is for boradband use, I have tried last night and it worked well with Micro sim from Celcom. Is it designed to operate 24 hours? Can it handle the heat as I want to keep it in my pouch bag while its on? Or should I keep it in standy mode? Does it produce heat in standy mode? Can recieve SMS in stanby mode? Sorry for so many questions. Maybe there is a SMS software for windows for windows which allows you to receive SMS |
Jan 5 2013, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 5 2013, 05:17 PM) Asus launch it in Msia but not selling here??? i ve been searching around most of the staff dont even know what is it ... i ask transformer they point me the android transformer http://www.lowyat.net/2012/11/05/912/asus-...dows-8-devices/ |
Jan 5 2013, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 5 2013, 09:15 PM) i ve been searching around most of the staff dont even know what is it ... i ask transformer they point me the android transformer Its like they just hiring without an interview.i remember last time asking asus staff for asus transformers tf101 case but they look puzzled.and got this one boy laugh at me at shouted "your model now no more le..obsolete" that time tf101 just launched so i pull out the tablet from the keyboard and after that all jawdrop.. |
Jan 6 2013, 09:28 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 5 2013, 09:15 PM) i ve been searching around most of the staff dont even know what is it ... i ask transformer they point me the android transformer i've checked online, the whole wide world is waiting la..... they predict/estimate Q1 of 2013.... Asus show first... then sell duno how many months later.. potong stim..... |
Jan 6 2013, 11:49 PM
Q1 2013 @.@ ...by april intel will release new haswell processor with 2x better graphic performance and lower battery consuming might as well wait for that too ...lol
Jan 6 2013, 11:59 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jan 4 2013, 12:06 PM) And NFC as well if not mistaken. tablets like Acer Iconia W510 has NFC support but they're not able to receive big files. I had no problem receiving contact cards but not images. |
Jan 7 2013, 04:46 AM
OMG Vizio's 1080p Windows 8 Pro AMD Hondo Z60 11.6" tablet
http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/06/vizio-t...dows-8-tablet// ![]() This post has been edited by g5sim: Jan 7 2013, 04:47 AM |
Jan 8 2013, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 7 2013, 04:46 AM) OMG Vizio's 1080p Windows 8 Pro AMD Hondo Z60 11.6" tablet dual-core, 1GHz AMD Z60 chip good ah?http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/06/vizio-t...dows-8-tablet// ![]() |
Jan 8 2013, 06:08 PM
Jan 20 2013, 11:04 PM
20 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
i think best hybrid windows 8 tablet-notebook is Asus Vivo Tab for the moment....also come with 3G version.....RM2k plus....it's a touch by genius...
Acer iconia beaten down completely |
Jan 26 2013, 12:28 AM
1,206 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
how about surface pro from Microsoft? it going to launch soon, can run all programs from windows 7 and also apps in windows store, but the price a bit high...but i think it's more worthy than ipad
Jan 27 2013, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(donjaybourne @ Jan 20 2013, 11:04 PM) i think best hybrid windows 8 tablet-notebook is Asus Vivo Tab for the moment....also come with 3G version.....RM2k plus....it's a touch by genius... the smart pc and Iconia are basically the same thing just that Smart PC comes with touch pressure sensitivity sensor and a Waco pen.Acer iconia beaten down completely This post has been edited by g5sim: Jan 27 2013, 03:47 PM |
Jan 29 2013, 10:59 AM
36 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Jan 29 2013, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(ifvrynxar @ Jan 29 2013, 10:59 AM) pressure sensitivity sensor refers to the capability to recognize writing pressure and palm pressure. palm pressure will be discarded.Asus launches Vivo Tab Windows 8 Atom powered tablet http://www.lowyat.net/2013/01/29/4239/firs...-by-intel-atom/ RM1799 for Wifi RM2099 for LTE (3G and 4G) RM300 for the LTE modem alone. WOW!!!!!! No full size USB and most importantly, NO RADEON graphic good competition for Acer 510. RM100 difference. This post has been edited by g5sim: Jan 30 2013, 07:15 AM |
Jan 29 2013, 06:46 PM
12,176 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
anyone using W510? how's the performance? I plan to use it as program complier
Feb 6 2013, 10:39 PM
2,152 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I would recommend the ASUS VivoTab, looks really sleek
Feb 7 2013, 10:58 PM
984 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
What do you guys think of the surface pro?
I think that it's quite expensive and there are better options out there for that price. Even though surface is not retailing here |
Feb 21 2013, 09:45 PM
Anyone got first hand experience with samsung hybrid, or dell x2?please share
Feb 25 2013, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(awansakti @ Feb 21 2013, 09:45 PM) Recently purchased a Dell Latitude 10 with windows 8 pro installed, along with its digitiser pen and docking station. So far so good. Its expected to handle low size documents in the near future. But now, I experimented it to stream multimedia files, eg. full HD videos with both MPC-HC and XBMC and see how well it handles video files. Overall Dell does make a stronger tablet than others I think, with docking station that suits office user. I choose dell because of this. |
Feb 25 2013, 07:59 PM
2,554 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Feb 25 2013, 09:54 PM
2,677 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malacca<-->Johore |
Any idea can we print screen on our win8 tablet?
Feb 26 2013, 01:39 AM
50 posts Joined: Nov 2012 From: 1Arah |
Feb 26 2013, 06:01 PM
Feb 26 2013, 06:24 PM
Feb 26 2013, 11:20 PM
Feb 27 2013, 02:54 AM
50 posts Joined: Nov 2012 From: 1Arah |
May 2 2013, 08:02 AM
For those that owned SmartPC Pro, here is my genuine review of the keyboard dock here .
Careful when choosing keyboard accessories, some keyboard doesnt support fn lock, and most of the windows 8 keyboard is shortcut by default instead of function keys. Some doesnt even have utility to revert back. Very difficult for desktop users to use software such as photoshop etc. |
May 25 2013, 12:56 AM
191 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anyone interested to get the ONLY decent case compatible with/without keyboard dock for Samsung ATIV Smart PC Pro? I'm ordering soon, but looking for ppl to join the bulk to share the shipping cost.
Thread's over here. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2824175 |
May 25 2013, 01:08 AM
285 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Beside Microsoft surface pro (not available in msia), what is the current best windows 8 tablet you guys think off? Wanna get one but struggling between W700, Ativ Smart, Vivotab smart, W510, etc...
Please share your current opinion... |
May 25 2013, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(jameslow @ May 25 2013, 01:08 AM) Beside Microsoft surface pro (not available in msia), what is the current best windows 8 tablet you guys think off? Wanna get one but struggling between W700, Ativ Smart, Vivotab smart, W510, etc... It is depending on what aspect do you value most. In general, whether is it necessary for it to support full fledge Windows program or not. After deciding that, ATIV Smart PC or Vivotab (RT only) for highest portability, Dell XPS 12 for best overall experience, Acer Iconia for price, Sony VAIO Duo 11 for lightest tablet with keyboard + VGA & LAN port available.Please share your current opinion... |
May 25 2013, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(SCC @ May 25 2013, 01:25 AM) It is depending on what aspect do you value most. In general, whether is it necessary for it to support full fledge Windows program or not. After deciding that, ATIV Smart PC or Vivotab (RT only) for highest portability, Dell XPS 12 for best overall experience, Acer Iconia for price, Sony VAIO Duo 11 for lightest tablet with keyboard + VGA & LAN port available. Was thinking RT initially, decided to go for full windows due to some x86 program needed.Ativ smart can get it below 2k, although built and review are not convincing but within budget and have the important feature I want such as 3G and expansion slot. Does vivotab smart PC comes with 3G and keyboard? Dell xps 12 will be heavier, I need something really light. Never think of Sony due to the price tag. Acer iconia w700 without 3G and sd slot, W511 review said worst than the previous model. Thanks for the reply. |
May 25 2013, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(jameslow @ May 25 2013, 09:57 AM) Was thinking RT initially, decided to go for full windows due to some x86 program needed. Yes, indeed that's why I go for full Windows. It's very practical to use.Ativ smart can get it below 2k, although built and review are not convincing but within budget and have the important feature I want such as 3G and expansion slot. Does vivotab smart PC comes with 3G and keyboard? Dell xps 12 will be heavier, I need something really light. Never think of Sony due to the price tag. Acer iconia w700 without 3G and sd slot, W511 review said worst than the previous model. Thanks for the reply. ATIV Smart PC below 2k should be Windows RT. Built quality should be decent, even though it doesn't look as it is. Can't justify the price tag. Lol. Vivotab, not really sure. Didn't look into it more since it's Windows RT. Dell XPS 12 is really nice to use, best ultrabook as reviewed, except the weight. Btw, it's same price as Sony one. Acer Iconia is the cheapest one though. |
May 25 2013, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(SCC @ May 25 2013, 11:46 AM) Yes, indeed that's why I go for full Windows. It's very practical to use. I'm actually referring to this, should be full windows 8 right?ATIV Smart PC below 2k should be Windows RT. Built quality should be decent, even though it doesn't look as it is. Can't justify the price tag. Lol. Vivotab, not really sure. Didn't look into it more since it's Windows RT. Dell XPS 12 is really nice to use, best ultrabook as reviewed, except the weight. Btw, it's same price as Sony one. Acer Iconia is the cheapest one though. http://www.mudah.my/Samsung+ATIV+smart+PC+...fi-21467874.htm seller is directd, I bought several stuff from them before. |
May 25 2013, 02:01 PM
Now I am actually confused. From what I knew earlier, Smart PC is running Windows RT, but just checked around and found out that it seems to be full Windows 8. Guess maybe I got the wrong information. >< U may verify with others again.
May 25 2013, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(SCC @ May 25 2013, 02:01 PM) Now I am actually confused. From what I knew earlier, Smart PC is running Windows RT, but just checked around and found out that it seems to be full Windows 8. Guess maybe I got the wrong information. >< U may verify with others again. Ya man, Asus Vivotab Smart also windows 8 not RT |
May 25 2013, 05:30 PM
1,720 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
none of your think of hp elitepad900? the optional accessories is cool as well..pm me to get special price with full accessories
May 26 2013, 04:00 PM
May 27 2013, 06:47 PM
Do you need a digitiser pen ?
If you do, there isn't much choices around. |
May 29 2013, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(SCC @ May 26 2013, 04:00 PM) You are right, no dock and no 3G... QUOTE(peter32 @ May 27 2013, 06:47 PM) What models with digitizer or stylus? Ativ Smart, Microsoft? |
May 29 2013, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(jameslow @ May 29 2013, 12:02 AM) Dell, lenovo & asus have windows 8 tablet that comes with digitiser. I own Dell latitude 10 which does, and I also know that lenovo has almost similar model as dell. Asus by far has the highest spec, 11 inches screen size that comes with one too. Do look it up from the web. I personally feel that digitiser is useful for small screen tablet like windows. Some window features do not designed with fat finger touches in general, unlike IOS etc. |
May 29 2013, 08:04 AM
QUOTE(peter32 @ May 29 2013, 12:09 AM) Dell, lenovo & asus have windows 8 tablet that comes with digitiser. I own Dell latitude 10 which does, and I also know that lenovo has almost similar model as dell. Asus by far has the highest spec, 11 inches screen size that comes with one too. Do look it up from the web. Some good products but they are not well introduce in Malaysia, therefore, lack of product knowledge from the local dealer/reseller, accessories are extremely hard to find, for instance, screen protector and cases.I personally feel that digitiser is useful for small screen tablet like windows. Some window features do not designed with fat finger touches in general, unlike IOS etc. I agree with you about the digitizer, it's useful especially served the mouse over effect, drawing and photoshopping. |
May 29 2013, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(jameslow @ May 29 2013, 08:04 AM) Some good products but they are not well introduce in Malaysia, therefore, lack of product knowledge from the local dealer/reseller, accessories are extremely hard to find, for instance, screen protector and cases. My dell latitude 10 has to order through authorised dealer (in PJ), they no longer sell it through the web. This model has docking station and pen which comes extra. I got all that, along with a soft case cover which works very well. No screen protector yet though. I agree with you about the digitizer, it's useful especially served the mouse over effect, drawing and photoshopping. Digitiser works great for kids who like to draw and writing recognition. Now windows 8 already has writing recognition for even chinese character too. So its good for overall usage at home. But for serious drawing and professional rendering, you will need bigger screen and i5 or i7 chip. For me, best combo is latitude 10 or lenovo equivalent and pen. |
May 29 2013, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(peter32 @ May 29 2013, 12:35 PM) My dell latitude 10 has to order through authorised dealer (in PJ), they no longer sell it through the web. This model has docking station and pen which comes extra. I got all that, along with a soft case cover which works very well. No screen protector yet though. I have selected Samsung ATIV Smart due to the popularity, S-Pen, 3G, docking keyboard, favorable samsung online and support centre (PJ), found-able accessories in major shopping complex...Digitiser works great for kids who like to draw and writing recognition. Now windows 8 already has writing recognition for even chinese character too. So its good for overall usage at home. But for serious drawing and professional rendering, you will need bigger screen and i5 or i7 chip. For me, best combo is latitude 10 or lenovo equivalent and pen. I may acquire the i5 version if the new launching Intel Haswell doesn't hit the tab market, yet. |
May 29 2013, 01:32 PM
Its a good choice.
My initial choice on dell is based on initial plan to use it in the office, with digitiser for data entry by writing actually. And the docking station of dell can automatically relay the screen to bigger LCD screen if I placed the tablet onto the docking station. Its good for office use. Docking station housed a network socket plus 3 USB, which can connect to additional full size keyboard and mouse. Mainly all those are suitable for office environment. |
May 29 2013, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(peter32 @ May 29 2013, 01:32 PM) Its a good choice. What is the spec and how much you pay for the whole set? Care to share the official link?My initial choice on dell is based on initial plan to use it in the office, with digitiser for data entry by writing actually. And the docking station of dell can automatically relay the screen to bigger LCD screen if I placed the tablet onto the docking station. Its good for office use. Docking station housed a network socket plus 3 USB, which can connect to additional full size keyboard and mouse. Mainly all those are suitable for office environment. Does digitiser detachable or standalone? Relay to bigger screen? do you mean it has an HDMI or display port on the dock? It will be nice for the network socket and 3 x USB, I believe it will be USB 2 if your tablet is running on Intel Atom. |
May 29 2013, 02:11 PM
I got mine from Computernetworks.com.my, they are official dell supplier in PJ. Just need to email them for details.
Price is RM2100 for dell tablet with Win 8 I think single language. After adding 1. Upgrade to win 8 Pro 2. Digitiser stylus (dell brand= RM180 each) 3. Docking station Total was RM2850. Pls compare it with lenovo options. yes docking station has a HDMI video output. It will automatically turn on the LCD screen once you dock the tablet onto it. That docking station is heavy and steady indeed. |
May 29 2013, 11:19 PM
This is good, i5 8GB RAM 256SSD, could be very expensive.
http://www.neowin.net/news/lenovo-yoga-11s...e-for-pre-order Is it available in Malaysia? |
Jun 3 2013, 04:58 PM
287 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kay Ell |
QUOTE(peter32 @ Feb 25 2013, 02:05 PM) Recently purchased a Dell Latitude 10 with windows 8 pro installed, along with its digitiser pen and docking station. So far so good. Its expected to handle low size documents in the near future. But now, I experimented it to stream multimedia files, eg. full HD videos with both MPC-HC and XBMC and see how well it handles video files. how much & where u bought them? can't find in dell site...in dilemma either to take this dell or samsung ativ smart pc(with 3 g but no keyboard dock)...Overall Dell does make a stronger tablet than others I think, with docking station that suits office user. I choose dell because of this. |
Jun 3 2013, 05:29 PM
Jun 3 2013, 11:38 PM
Hi folks! I'm selling off a month old Dell XPS 12 at much discounted price. Plz feel free to contact me if u are interested. Details can be found from the following link.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2781890&hl= |
Jun 7 2013, 02:04 AM
Hi folks! If there is anyone interested in Samsung ATIV Smart PC Pro 700t's case that is compatible with/without keyboard dock, plz feel free to let me know asap.
The price is as low as RM105 at the moment, depending on the bulk size. More details can be found from this topic. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=21&t=2824175 Comments: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=100&t=2824213 This post has been edited by SCC: Jun 7 2013, 02:07 AM |
Jun 11 2013, 01:27 PM
I would like to share this: http://www.remotemouse.net/ Turn your Android/IOS devices to wireless mouse/keyboard to your windows tablet Free version - keyboard is deactivated Paid version - keyboard is enabled If you have any better solution that this, please do share. Thanks. This post has been edited by jameslow: Jun 11 2013, 01:30 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 30 2013, 12:09 PM
57 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
I wish to know if any of the tablet supportds MT4 ( metatrader 4 ) ? Because i do forex trading alot, wish to handcarry the tablet around. Do you guys know which is better ? I have my eye on Microsoft surface pro though
Jun 30 2013, 10:05 PM
2,148 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: ireland with her |
can anyone suggest me the cheapest win8 tablet...that run win8 and not the lame RT version
Jun 30 2013, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Jun 30 2013, 10:05 PM) About RM 2000(Running Core i3 or i5) Acer W700 & Acer P3 (Running Atom DC) Acer W510 Samsung Ativ Smart PC XE500T This post has been edited by jameslow: Jun 30 2013, 10:23 PM |
Jul 10 2013, 11:36 AM
1,939 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Pricing aside, which win8 tablet has high spec and suitable for work, using software like adobe.
Preferably 1 with a separate keyboard dock. Is there any good 1 on the market now, or wait later for a better/cheaper 1. No rush though, just doing research now. |
Jul 11 2013, 12:35 AM
Adobe? If u mean Photoshop and u really wanna work effectively, look for Razer Edge Pro. Otherwise, I think there'd be at least some performance issue. If it is not a concern for u, then Samsung ATIV Smart PC Pro. It's an acceptable option, but be mindful of the uncomfortable heat that it'd produce when using as tablet.
Jul 11 2013, 10:12 PM
I heard Dell XPS 12 having good review
Jul 13 2013, 01:20 AM
Jul 13 2013, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(+ @ Jul 13 2013, 01:20 AM) like that flipping i sked sure got problem in long run It's with premium build quality, as it's the high-end range of its product, so it'll be at least more reliable than normal range. But considering Dell's overall breakdown rate, it's still something to be concerned of.though i doesnt have problem with my 6yo inspiron other than battery |
Jul 16 2013, 06:18 PM
dell have high pencentage being faulty meh?
i thought other than overprice laptop like sony/toshiba, dell n asus is 1 of the okay 1 i can rely on |
Jul 16 2013, 10:48 PM
Asus, u can rely on, as it has the lowest breakdown rate, but heard many comments that the after-sales service is terrible. While for Dell, despite it has relatively high breakdown rate, u can still rely on it, since it has superb after-sales service, i.e. next-business-day on-site service.
But of cuz, low breakdown rate vs superb after-sales service, low breakdown rate seems to be more effortless. But on the other hand, if u're willing to extend the warranty for Dell with extra cost, u basically get guarantee for a working PC for up to 3 - 5 years. Anyway, heard that their parts are inferior after all. Especially their wireless adapter, kinda proven to be problematic. This is the statistic, but take it as a grain of salt, as it's the only statistic that I can find. Still, it's a good reference. http://www.electronista.com/articles/09/11...pple.4th.place/ |
Jul 18 2013, 03:37 PM
174 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
TOSHIBA Satellite U920t/00S
12.5" HD IPS Widescreen LED Backlit Capactive Touchscreen Display (1366 x 768) they using 256GB SSD (mSATA) |
Nov 6 2013, 10:25 PM
384 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Acer W511 better or Asus Vivotab?
Nov 9 2013, 07:45 AM
thinking to buy surface 2 or Asus t100. any suggestion?
Nov 22 2013, 03:20 PM
21 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Tried all before during Microsoft's Techdays event. Samsung is expensive, Toshibas feel slow & are expensive, Surface is good, but Surface 2 should be out soon. Dell? Don't even bother
Ive got an Acer W511 and I LOVE it. If youre going for a budget one, try the Iconia W3. |
Nov 27 2013, 02:02 PM
16 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
budget win 8 tablet with mobile network?keyboard not necessary.full desktop mode not necessary.size doesnt matter.
Nov 28 2013, 10:17 AM
21 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(derex8x @ Nov 27 2013, 02:02 PM) budget win 8 tablet with mobile network?keyboard not necessary.full desktop mode not necessary.size doesnt matter. How small is the budget you have? W3 only 11xx in the website http://www.acer.com.my/ac/en/MY/content/model/NT.L1JSM.002 |
Nov 28 2013, 11:19 AM
112 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Dec 9 2013, 10:46 PM
159 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Fujitsu Q584
When will this tabs available in Malaysia? A GPS, 10", waterproof, 4GB RAM, Windows 8 Pro, with digitizer pen, available options dock etc. Can't wait to grab this..... This post has been edited by MANSTIR: Dec 9 2013, 11:03 PM |
Dec 11 2013, 11:30 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Am also looking for a cheap win8 tab. Looks like the cheapest now is surface rt. Any others?
Dec 12 2013, 01:33 PM
171 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: USJ, Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Tainted @ Dec 11 2013, 11:30 PM) Iconia W3 only RM1199 retail price. Sure you can find someone selling it cheaper in Lowyat. If im not mistaken, its full Win8 and not RT. Friend has one, and he says its pretty good |
Dec 12 2013, 07:11 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
But thats 8" only right? I prefer a 10"
Dec 16 2013, 01:07 PM
520 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Dec 26 2013, 05:46 AM
Dec 26 2013, 07:37 AM
Feb 27 2014, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(eagleknight @ Dec 26 2013, 07:37 AM) Good. just add a 64GB MicroSD will be perfect. Actually 32GB is good enough for daily business use unless you carry along with lots of music and movies. overall until now still ok? I using it at a tablet and never use the keyboard (which is still unopen and in box,haha) because my budget tight at 1500 MYR, I wont go to RT as it is useless to me, how about the apps? is Asphalt 8 playable on t100? or being restricted? kindly PM me... because I am going get this so soon and I don't want to purchase wrong thing. How much is T300 and T100? |
Feb 27 2014, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 27 2014, 05:19 PM) overall until now still ok? I am using Acer Iconia W4 now because personally feel 8" is more suitable as a mobile device for me.because my budget tight at 1500 MYR, I wont go to RT as it is useless to me, how about the apps? is Asphalt 8 playable on t100? or being restricted? kindly PM me... because I am going get this so soon and I don't want to purchase wrong thing. How much is T300 and T100? |
Feb 27 2014, 08:45 PM
May 6 2015, 01:40 PM
310 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
What about Toshiba Portege Z20t? Hybrid Ultrabook
May 11 2015, 12:05 PM
9 posts Joined: May 2015 |
IMO iconia w700 very good.. solid build with good spec..
the down side is the tablet itself kinda heavy |
Sep 3 2015, 10:01 AM
174 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hi, would like to ask all the sifu here, want to buy a tablet for doing pos system, any recommend? My requirement is the tablet must able to run win7 program, heard that window rt cannot run x86 program, right?
Tq. |
| Change to: | 0.1031sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:58 PM |