sniper on the roof
post Nov 3 2012, 11:10 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 3 2012, 10:26 PM)
It is a swiss pedigree but is owned by Hong Kees.

It uses ETA movement aka mass produced factory engines by the Swatch Group. To me, it is no different btw a Tissot, Certina, Cyma or Ball..... They are just different on the outside.

I think the EU should have an Anti-Trust Law against Swatch & Co for buying up all the small watch maker. This kills competition and creativity.

Xuzen
Swiss is not part of the EU
sniper on the roof
post Nov 4 2012, 12:11 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 3 2012, 11:16 PM)
A few more wouldn't hurt.  biggrin.gif
Orient?
+1

Or Citizen tongue.gif

I think that askmen article of "the cheapest high end watch" is in order tongue.gif

http://www.askmen.com/fashion/trends_600/6...-end-watch.html

QUOTE(saru04 @ Nov 3 2012, 11:55 PM)
Whats EU? lol.

As in the movement of the watch?
European Union.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 4 2012, 01:39 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 4 2012, 01:26 AM)
Although Citizen makes some automatic movements, their main focus is on quartz Eco-Drive. (80% of their production in 2011)

My daily wear "cheapest high end watch".  biggrin.gif

Mine says hi

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 4 2012, 01:42 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 4 2012, 07:00 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 4 2012, 04:36 PM)
the watch snob from the next cubicle in the same office space will balk at such a write up!
Even the watchsnob approves of seiko and rightly so smile.gif

http://www.askmen.com/fashion/mens-watches...watch-snob.html

Added on November 4, 2012, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 4 2012, 01:55 AM)
Very nice shot with good colors and focus. What camera are you using?
60d + 17-50mm

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 4 2012, 07:03 PM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 5 2012, 10:04 AM

23,414 posts

Aqua Terra also... Omega's going all co-axial escapement
sniper on the roof
post Nov 5 2012, 12:28 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 5 2012, 12:14 PM)
i like the cleaner dial of black face more
whistling.gif

+1 and no need to worry about the purported 1st generation co-axial teething problems
sniper on the roof
post Nov 5 2012, 04:41 PM

23,414 posts

I vote for pre-loved speedy tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 5 2012, 05:43 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 5 2012, 04:40 PM)
How do you guys (if ever) clean your own watches?
When it gets sticky... I bathe with it tongue.gif

Ps: I was at the shop yesterday and that Spork is still there.

QUOTE(chimaera @ Nov 5 2012, 04:44 PM)
Omega Speedy or LV Prelove Speedy? hahaha...
So glad the missus is over her bag phase.

QUOTE(jackiewong @ Nov 5 2012, 05:31 PM)
a new term "ABT".. anything but tag..  rclxms.gif
tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 6 2012, 04:18 PM

23,414 posts

I wonder how much operation freedom that companies like Ball have from their owners?
sniper on the roof
post Nov 7 2012, 08:15 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2012, 05:59 PM)
mine was maintaining +4s / day.
my seiko monster is +2s / day tongue.gif
My 7S36 does +15sec/day doh.gif

QUOTE(chopin @ Nov 7 2012, 06:17 PM)
oh, yeah, u r right, it's 600m and with date...

what's HEV?
Helium Escape Valve
sniper on the roof
post Nov 7 2012, 08:19 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 7 2012, 03:08 AM)
Joined the Seiko Club  ;D

Handsome looking piece.

Do wear it in good health.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 8 2012, 09:54 AM

23,414 posts

Hmmm .... not quite sure about diver watch and leather strap
sniper on the roof
post Nov 8 2012, 05:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 8 2012, 05:08 PM)
Picking a Seiko over a Rolex...
Gotta have rocks in their heads...
rclxub.gif
I think what they meant is wearing their seikos as beater watches for situations where an expensive watch is not appropriate.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 8 2012, 06:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2012, 05:47 PM)
i fail to see the logic to buy a Rolex and keep it in the safe and wear an Orient Mako as a beater watch.

Wearing the Rolex, and having it accompany you in your life and timing every precious second the past, that's the whole idea isn't it? Not having such a masterpiece sit in the safe.

Its meant to tell time, not kept in a safe..that's just me lah.

My watch have battle scars, well worn, but each scar is inflicted by me, making it truly mine. If its kept in the safe, well, its just like a new watch that has not been worn, and what is that for? Museum piece?
Not appropriate as in like when i'm going to the seedier part of town or taking the paris metro for that matter
sniper on the roof
post Nov 8 2012, 06:35 PM

23,414 posts

Thats why we need more watches.. For every occassion tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 8 2012, 09:48 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 8 2012, 09:30 PM)
nothing wrong with rolex being common.
only thing is nowadays, most ppl will assume its a fake tongue.gif
I guess that especially depends on the wearer.

Btw, finally saw the tudor pelagos in the flesh titanium wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
sniper on the roof
post Nov 9 2012, 09:23 AM

23,414 posts

The black bay's nice too though not quite sure if can live with the red bezel in the long term but the pelagos ticks the most boxes. Maybe except that its a lot of money for a 2824.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 9 2012, 12:26 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 9 2012, 12:19 PM)
Those arent exactly mugging is it?
sniper on the roof
post Nov 9 2012, 12:44 PM

23,414 posts

One is a drug dealer and the other a scammer... Anyway thats not the point. My opinion is that if different watches for diff situations... No plastic watches when in a suited up meeting and no real or fake expensive looking watches outside alone midnight in shady areas of town.

Added on November 9, 2012, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 9 2012, 12:27 PM)

Added on November 9, 2012, 12:39 pmanyway, i checked out the victorinox night vision iii couple days ago...its basically the only victorinox that i like anyway cos of the built-in LED tongue.gif
just a pity the bracelet is so damn shiny...the leather one is nicer but white face only.

Checked out Victorinox's lineup yesterday in their boutique here in Taipei. Kinda pricey for what you're getting if you ask me.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Nov 9 2012, 01:17 PM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 9 2012, 03:21 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 9 2012, 03:11 PM)

You left out the religion of Panerai. whistling.gif

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top