The Watch Thread v5, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Lurker
post Nov 5 2012, 04:40 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

How do you guys (if ever) clean your own watches?
Lurker
post Nov 5 2012, 06:51 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 5 2012, 05:43 PM)
When it gets sticky... I bathe with it tongue.gif

Ps: I was at the shop yesterday and that Spork is still there.

My friend is prolly in Taiwan by now. Just dunno which day will be in XMT.

Lurker
post Nov 7 2012, 03:16 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Mako is less than rm400? Haha. Can get this price at orient watch shop in pavilion??
Can get as a gift! tongue.gif
Lurker
post Nov 7 2012, 07:38 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

how do you guys check for watch accuracy?
thanks!
Lurker
post Nov 7 2012, 07:55 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 7 2012, 07:50 PM)
seems like phones sync with internet time will be the same too! smile.gif
tq
Lurker
post Nov 9 2012, 10:18 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Nov 9 2012, 09:27 AM)
I think typically/relatively, watches are not expensive to make. Just that the higher-end Swiss brands command a ridiculous amount of profit margin.
Luxury item mahhh. To show that you hv it.
Lurker
post Nov 9 2012, 11:02 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Local retail shop + local online sellers, of which gives a good selection of straps? Be it mesh, leather, rubber, NATO/Zulu?

Lurker
post Nov 11 2012, 06:09 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(michaelzolt @ Nov 11 2012, 05:50 PM)
Cant decide which watch to buy! Any advice[attachmentid=3150569]
Diff gender watches?
Lurker
post Nov 12 2012, 02:47 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Made a measurement of my wrist earlier. 7 and 1/4 inch. Guess can try most watch sizes xD
Lurker
post Nov 12 2012, 03:01 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Pawn shops. Chances of ending up with a cheap stolen goods high
Lurker
post Nov 12 2012, 06:49 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 12 2012, 04:10 PM)
I read that if bring in stolen Rolex to their service center, it'll get confiscated right?
same for canon n nikon if you made a police report n furnish the company with a copy
Lurker
post Nov 14 2012, 12:11 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 14 2012, 12:01 PM)
Quick poll... who has g-shocks in their collection here?
I hv an out of commission unit. The outer shell already in pieces. tongue.gif
Lurker
post Nov 18 2012, 11:43 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 18 2012, 05:14 PM)
Just watched Goldfinger again.

ill fitting nato hmm.gif
Lurker
post Nov 19 2012, 12:40 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 19 2012, 12:05 AM)
actually its not a nato tongue.gif
called any other name it's still ill fitting
Lurker
post Nov 19 2012, 10:16 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

got time frame given to solve this issue?
Lurker
post Nov 19 2012, 11:04 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Nov 19 2012, 11:03 PM)
does anyone here would recommend shop to change watch straps or bracelet? couldn't really find one in Klang Valley ..
buy your own and DIY!
Lurker
post Nov 20 2012, 10:29 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

I'm buying cameras from a company tht manufactures calculator.

Boleh mah!
Lurker
post Nov 20 2012, 11:00 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 20 2012, 10:56 PM)
to all sifus here, i have a few questions regarding grand seiko. I went to the mall and tried out the GS spring drive SBGA005 GMT and i really love how smooth the second hand sweeps. I also tried out the hi beat GS and surprisingly the second hand isn't as smooth as the spring drive.

So my question is when one get a GS, is it a no brainer to go for the spring drive model? And the sales person told me that if you have a spring drive GS, you must send the watch to Japan for servicing or repair but if you have a regular mechanical GS or Hi Beat GS, the local service center might be able to service it.

So for someone that will buy a GS, should we only look at the spring drive models?
Either that or the sales person trying to sell u a model with higher commission tongue.gif

Lurker
post Nov 21 2012, 01:07 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

I like this mido multifort.
http://www.mido.my/en/content/m0054303705102

Kinda out of my budget tho. RM3k
Lurker
post Nov 24 2012, 12:51 AM

L U R K I N G