8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Model Kits GUNDAM & MECHA MODELLING THREAD V2, Share infos, tips & modification here

whoami123
post May 31 2006, 12:41 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

To be more precise
RX-178 Mk. II ver 2.0 is the most poseble one
not the first old version of Mk. II that was out long time ago
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 12:55 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(kct-86 @ May 31 2006, 12:47 PM)
Crap, I forgot to add Ver2.0 in my post >.> . One guy (living in Australia) I knew in a forum said the AEUG version of the same thing (Mk.II v2.0) goes for 185 Aussie dollar.
AEUG ver is in fact more expensive because it has a display stand
which you can joint with Zeta 2.0 display stand
but Aussie 185 is too expensive
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 01:07 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ May 31 2006, 01:03 PM)
Aussie 185  shocking.gif  is ridiculous  shakehead.gif . Can buy 3 MG wif that! doh.gif
Those countries which doesn't has much Gundam modellers will sell the Gundam at a high price
US also selling more expensive MG Gundam
Luckily in Malaysia we still have other importers to sell cheaper Gundam thumbup.gif
(Although it's still more expensive than JP)
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 01:11 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(kct-86 @ May 31 2006, 01:08 PM)
They usually overcharge any Gundams they sold overseas, especially in 'Western-focused' countries. This is even worse in any anime conventions that happens to sell the models overseas.

I remembered giving some of them a shock when I tell them the prices in IRC this week.

Considering we got peple to bring that in privately, we should be glad.

* kct starts saving money in case he really wants it.
Yeah, just like the Japanese comics in english version
they sell it at RM 35 while Chinese version just around RM 15

Titans version is more expensive ??????? shocking.gif
that guy try to con others ah ?? doh.gif
in fact Titans version improve its waist joint & allows it to turn left & right more
but it's cheaper than AEUG version due it doesn't has the stand

This post has been edited by whoami123: May 31 2006, 01:13 PM
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 01:26 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(honeymic @ May 31 2006, 01:17 PM)
Hi All ... I'm new to ur forum here .. but decided to join u all ...
some of u may know me from other forum aka young _soul, scorecold... la anywhere i have some issue one the model u all are building?

1. do u customize ur gundam? like build or own weapon and decals and so on?
2. do u all just snap and glue ur kit or do u do custom fitting? like modify the joint or cover to allow custome fitting that u normally see in the Hobby Mag? where they cut off certain part of the armor to allow better flexibility ... can any one give some references to that kind of customie building ... (perfer link/forum). book too expensive la (saw one in ikano popular on basic ... saja)

formula 409 can be found in malaysia too... found one in Hartamas City Super Market about rm9.90 for those of u that read from

http://www.fichtenfoo.com/02GiantRobots/02c-Formula409.html

but Future haven't check it out in Ace hardware ...
http://www.swannysmodels.com/TheCompleteFuture.html

cheer ...
So far I just snap fit my Gundam
never do scratch build or modification
no money to get air brush or spray can to paint my Gundam

I don't have those modelling websites with me now
but you can visit one local modelling forum which has many pro can teach you some modelling techniques
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 03:15 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(StormV @ May 31 2006, 03:12 PM)
goto MidValley MetroJaya's toy department, there is a Gundam Seed competition going on till 11th June. U will amazed by what the local gunpla master can do.
Yo bro, how many contestant this year ??
whoami123
post May 31 2006, 03:28 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(StormV @ May 31 2006, 03:20 PM)
according to the official list is like 40+ only. But quality is definitely better, that I can galantee u.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
It's because only pro will join now biggrin.gif
whoami123
post Jun 1 2006, 09:36 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

What is a scalp blade ?? blink.gif
whoami123
post Jun 1 2006, 11:14 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

The G Gundam was seen in LT Warehouse sales
I'm not sure how much they sell it since not interested in it biggrin.gif

Dark Lynx:
You should get some baddie MS
Most of the MG for baddie got a nice build
especially those weird type of MS like AcGuy, Z'gok, Gogg, etc.
you will know how good the design of the inner frame when you play around with it biggrin.gif

There are some cool baddie MS also
Personally I like Gouf Custom, Zeong, Rick-Dom, GP-02A
I'm bored with Gundam MS nowadays since they all look alike
whoami123
post Jun 2 2006, 09:19 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

Fodder Soldier:
My basic tool is just a knife cutter & a wire cutter
I don't use the art knife although I have one
maybe I've used to use the normal paper knife cutter
then find it hard to use the art knife rclxub.gif

UC series is more towards realistic world
that's why I like this series more than other series
the Gundam in UC is not like others so powerful until non other MS can fight
furthermore the Gundam design is more mechanical look rclxms.gif

In UC series, no side is totally good or bad
it's war between the space colony & earth
not good vs. baddies
so the "good guy" will switch side sometimes
like in Gundam 0079, many people will take Earth Federation as good guys side
but in Gundam Z, Earth Federation become baddies already

To be honest, I don't like Gundam Seed Destiny at all
the first thing I dislike is because too much of MS, especially Gundam type
the anime is more like a Gundam show off more than emphasize on the story itself
Sunrise should make a stop after Gundam Seed finished
GSD is just like dragging the story & let them earn more money only
No more Gundam Seed sequel !

YenS:
I'm not sure whether it's necessary to put primer before you paint your kits with acryllic paint
acryllic paint can be dillute with water, no need thinner
after you've finished your kit, you can spray a clear coating on it to protect the paint from falling off
whoami123
post Jun 2 2006, 09:22 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(kct-86 @ Jun 2 2006, 01:53 AM)
OK, after reading through dalong and all that now I get it, why MGs are worth it.
MG is suitable for lazy people like me who don't paint their kits biggrin.gif
just snap fit & draw some outline on the kit already can make it look nice

In my opinion, lower grade kits are more suitable for pro
it's because you need to modify / paint the kit to make it look nice
MG is just need more cutting on the parts
whoami123
post Jun 5 2006, 09:44 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

dj898:
Of course if you want to make your kits looks nice, then you've to paint it doh.gif
what I mean is MG kits' color are well seperated
so although you don't paint it
it still looks not so bad & can be display out

YenS:
Tamiya's one is around RM 7 for the small bottle
Big one bout RM 14
can't remember the exact price
you can get those in ToyCity

If you want to get spray can for coating
you can get the Gunze Sangyo Topcoat series
Gloss - http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZB-501
Semi-gloss - http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZB-502
Flat - http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZB-503
as far as I know Mid Valley's Miniature Hobby, Ampang City Square Hobby HQ got it

Primer is use on kits that made by material other than plastic (like metal, resin)
you'll use it on Gundam plastic kits?
If you want to get those that can cover the base color of your kits
then you should get Mr. Surfacer (also from Gunze Sangyo)
which is a liquid type putty to spray on your kits before put any paints
whoami123
post Jun 5 2006, 10:05 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(dj898 @ Jun 5 2006, 09:57 AM)
Yes but at least do put the top coat to kill off that shine which makes the kit more like toy than model... biggrin.gif
That MG Zeong I posted has not been painted at all apart from the shadow and top coat... If you look at the MG Zeong on dalong.net than you will see the kind of shine I'm talking about.
Yeah, I agree that should put coating on it biggrin.gif
I didn't put any on my kits because I planned to paint my kits in the future
after I got enough of money to get air-brush & compressor
whoami123
post Jun 5 2006, 10:22 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(dj898 @ Jun 5 2006, 10:15 AM)
well you can alway sand and reprime for painting tongue.gif
That would be double work lah
I prefer to let it unpaint & paint later
since I don't show my kits to anyone except my friends who came to my house
my family members all don't know how to appretiate it
whoami123
post Jun 5 2006, 02:53 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

Applying MG standard in such a small size MS is not an easy task
F91 will be bout the size of common 1/144 scale Gundam
we can't place the final conclusion on the kit itself right now
let's wait till the kit come out & someone can give a review on the kit (like dalong.net)
whoami123
post Jun 6 2006, 09:17 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

I wonder which MG is the most popular one & at the top of the sales biggrin.gif
whoami123
post Jun 6 2006, 09:29 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jun 6 2006, 09:21 AM)
Probably Zeta or Wing...coz they came out long ago.

Anyway...did anyone notice that Velde Buster looks a bit like Batman? laugh.gif
I don't really like the look of the Gundam in Stargazer
all too "toyish" look
whoami123
post Jun 6 2006, 10:27 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Jun 6 2006, 09:56 AM)
they are toys laugh.gif
if you wanna make it real, replace some parts with metal, aluminium, etc whistling.gif
Nah... It won't help much if the design of the kit is already like a toy
I think it's a toy more than a real-robot model kit is because:
1) Too "colorful"
2) Design lack of "Mechanic" feel, many of the parts is not practical to be a combat MS

Anyway, it's just my own opinions
whoami123
post Jun 6 2006, 12:21 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lynx @ Jun 6 2006, 11:25 AM)
lol hands down
if its zeta or wing u call as top sales, then marginally freedom is 3rd
but definately we don't judge a sales only by past statistic, we are talking bout hot sales item and its freedom! probably they stopped taking stocks coz normally they would take in a high volume of stocks at one go
yes that accursed word 'toys' don't fit for a MG!
gunplas are more for art purpose than playing, thus realistic factor is very important
the amatu design gave me a very mixed feeling, toyish but fearsome look
but it definately doesn't belongs to a MG price range.
Perhaps bandai is aiming this product for younger generations, but the price tag is too high for a HG
well if i were to get toys then transformer would be better, sufficiently colourful icon_idea.gif
its colour used is very striking, perhaps its due to the gold color
update : woops its due to the picture problems! now a better look of it in ...ahh much better...see the difference between 2 of these pic
http://www6.ocn.ne.jp/~midori-b/newpic/nes-g0348.htm
http://withthewill.myrmid.com/HJ_mar_2004/gold_amatu.jpg
Yeah, I also prefer the flat gold color
Glossy gold color made it like a toy ...
And why they change the design of the feet ??
The Amatu's feet from HJ scratch build looks better than the production one

This post has been edited by whoami123: Jun 6 2006, 12:25 PM
whoami123
post Jun 7 2006, 10:05 AM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

dalong got some pics on the MG Gyan already
http://www.dalong.net/dal65/mg/m90/m90_i.htm

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 7 2006, 09:37 AM)
It's a different Amatu... The Scratch built one was the uncomplete mecha in the manga, note the flat soles, absence of the sharp blitz like shinpads, and no swords on the hips.

The upcoming one from BANDAI is based on the Amatu Mina Custom, where the pilot customized the mecha design, giving it pointy heels, two swords, and of course the shinpads.

I must say the flat soles one look nicer (although a thicker sole like the 2nd L would be better), maybe the female pilot of the Mina Custom decided to make hers more feminine by giving it stilletos tongue.gif
I just felt this Minna Custom ver. is too "heavy"
especially the twin blade at the back

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0521sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:15 PM