Unifi Router recommendation (Unifi) + questions.

adventures18
post Sep 10 2013, 08:23 AM

176 posts

hi, i encounter the router auto off after 1.5 hrs used...may i know do you have any idea what was happening?

thank you

UnifiDr
post Oct 3 2013, 09:54 AM

Validating

QUOTE(adventures18 @ Sep 10 2013, 09:23 AM)
hi, i encounter the router auto off after 1.5 hrs used...may i know do you have any idea what was happening?

thank you
You may have to call the UniFi center to get the technician help you to change it.

But, you may also try to upgrade/downgrade the router firmware first before calling the UniFi center (TMUC).

UnifiDr
post Oct 3 2013, 10:01 AM

Validating

QUOTE(GG_AT3 @ Jun 25 2013, 10:40 AM)
im looking to subscribe to unifi vip 5 in saujana puchong. how much i have to pay for installation and other.
You may go to http://unifi.tmspot.com/ for registration. smile.gif
guitarleo
post Oct 11 2013, 03:24 PM

146 posts

Seem like we all have the same problem. Using the L7 router provided by TM, the wifi sometimes just dropped, no response. I need to switch off and on the router until it back to normal. I got no problem with LAN, just wifi.

What's the solution to fix this problem? Is it better change a new router?
chopin
post Oct 15 2013, 06:40 AM

234 posts

hi all sifus,

I just got unifi installed. The wireless router given is L7 NR2000 (DIR-614):

Product Page: DIR-614 Hardware Version: A1 Firmware Version: 1.05TM

I know that I need to some settings to make it secure and to optimize it for better wifi performance. I bumped into the following link that's very excellent but it is for DIR 615:

6 Things To Do when you got your Unifi Wireless Router D-Link Dir-615

i have no problem assigning the login password, and have also changed the SSID name and wifi sec. key. But, I have problem finding where to do these:

4. Enable WAN to LAN Firewall

5. Block WAN Ping Responce, Block FTP, Block Telnet and what so ever.

6. Change Wireless Bandwidth Frequency to 20MHz

the interface of DIR-614 and DIR-615 is quite different.

I'd like to know if there is any similar site for DIR-614? It would be a great help! notworthy.gif

westlife
post Oct 15 2013, 06:32 PM

14,258 posts

QUOTE(GG_AT3 @ Jun 25 2013, 09:40 AM)
im looking to subscribe to unifi vip 5 in saujana puchong. how much i have to pay for installation and other.
Zero entry cost and it is excellent.....
zulk_77
post Sep 5 2014, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 15 2013, 06:32 PM)
Zero entry cost and it is excellent.....

I would like to ask...how to block facebook,torrent & other media social website in TM unifi new router L7 model,there's no parental control option at the router interface...please advice...urgent...thank you
SUSraynman
post Sep 5 2014, 02:02 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(zulk_77 @ Sep 5 2014, 12:51 PM)

I would like to ask...how to block facebook,torrent & other media social website in TM unifi new router L7 model,there's no parental control option at the router interface...please advice...urgent...thank you
Get a new router which has the parental control feature to replace the L7.

Next question please.

zulk_77
post Sep 5 2014, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(raynman @ Sep 5 2014, 02:02 PM)
Get a new router which has the parental control feature to replace the L7.

Next question please.
hahahahaha...why?
SUSraynman
post Sep 5 2014, 04:54 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(zulk_77 @ Sep 5 2014, 03:06 PM)
hahahahaha...why?
I had a similar situation like you.

When I installed my Unifi VIP5 three weeks ago, TM gave me an Innatech RG4332 wireless router.

The damn thing cannot port-forward 25565, which I needed for hosting my Minecraft server.

DDNS support is also broken. Sometimes my server hostname is not pointing to the current WAN IP address.

So I bought an ASUS RT-N12 D1 to replace the damn thing.

Porblem solved. rclxms.gif
edisoner90
post Sep 16 2014, 04:39 PM

355 posts

Any better solution to improve my Unifi Wireless coverage? The coverage is terrible.

0.0183sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:27 PM