Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V22, Has Been Sold 30 Million !!!

rickk
post Nov 2 2012, 05:01 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Nov 1 2012, 10:54 AM)
If this what you are referring then you really a sensitive one to me...hahahaha! biggrin.gif

Just couldn't understand why required to factory reset when OTA from stock non-rooted ICS to stock non-rooted JB.

If you are from stock to stock there will be no data will be wipe and what it does is replacing your ROM to newest only

Unless, you installed custom ROM and going back to stock and vise-versa can simply go to download mode to wipe data and fatory reset.

LOL!  biggrin.gif  just couldn't understand.

Anyway! you are a good helper here can't deny  nod.gif but too sensitive... wink.gif

Added on November 1, 2012, 10:55 am

I guess -j-t- replied your concern but good to backup...  wink.gif
Sry for disturbing. I read through from ver 21 until ver22 pg 3 (so far), still didn't see anyone discuss bout flash Poland jb to msia jb. My one currently using Poland stock jb and kernel. Wish to flash to msia jb. Do I need unroot or just flash it? Can we consider Poland stock jb to msia stock jb as flashing from stock Rom to stock Rom?

Thank
rickk
post Nov 3 2012, 12:56 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 2 2012, 05:10 PM)
i was from poland jb too and flashed to malaysia jb. for my case, it when well, but not well. after flashing, i couldn't shutdown my phone. instead of shutting down, it restarts. so in order for me to really shutdown i needed to take out the battery. so i did a hard reset. of course i back up using TB. then restore the user apps. but for the system apps, i use until something wrong than i make a decision to configure manually or restore from TB.i don't have a checklist on what need to be restored on the system, so i just use the "use until encounter problem" approach.

hope this helps. u may want to consult an expert but i am just like u, first timer. just handle the problems as they come. my phone is quite perfect now after 3-4 days of problem solving bit by bit.

in case u want to know the problems:
1. i get the "unfortunately......" messages.
2. my viber go crazy, my wife call me, but my girlfriend name show.
3. sync doesn't work properly until u delete and recreate your google account.
4. my old preference setup all back to default.
5. many more can't remember but its minor only the big ones are above.
Hey. Base on the prob u facing now.. U got check whether can dl apps from play store? I was encountered unfortunately prob also, vuber Nvr install. Couldn't sync properly as well. And that time I can dl via play store until I did cwm recover.

Added on November 3, 2012, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(drumhitz @ Nov 2 2012, 05:53 PM)
Well, i flashed from ICS stock to Malaysia JB stock... feel not good with DLJ1, then flashed to Omega. Yesterday flashed to wanamlite and tried... today flashed back Omega coz like it more. (wanamlite is good also, just personal preference)

Im not a pro, but from all the flashing here and there... just follow the steps below, won't go wrong.

1) Backup using Titanium Backup (All users data and system data)
2) Do a Nandroid backup just in case anything happened during the flashing
3) ALWAYS wipe all data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik
4) Flash the new ROM u downloaded from SAMMOBILE or other custom ROM
5) Reboot
6) If u are flashing Malaysia stock ROM, root again
7) Restore using Titanium Backup. (FIRST restore missing apps with data. NEXT only restore all system data, select the one with GREEN colour only, RED might crash with your currect system, especially when u upgrade from ICS to JB.)
8) Reboot and you are good to go.

For your case, no need to unroot , just follow the steps above. Yeah, stock rom to stock rom
Thanks for friendly replied. And other as well. Xie xie!

A Noob question, do whatever backup, ts or nandroid, is a MUST to backup into external Sd card, as u will reset factory, all data in internal memory will gone, am I right?

But based on the previous thread v22 and here, Malaysia jb seems not stable yet.... still considering want flash it or not. Haha

This post has been edited by rickk: Nov 3 2012, 01:08 PM
rickk
post Nov 4 2012, 05:46 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 4 2012, 11:55 AM)
Yes..JB definitely better than ICS.
Just dont forget to do factory reset after upgrading.
sry if a noob question here. Assume I flash from JB Poland to JB Msia, after siap flash to Msia JB, I need to do factory reset? From what I understand about factory reset is reset ALL and your phone will go back to ICS just like virgin? Correct me if Im WRONG. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 4 2012, 12:06 PM)
Use Super Backup app for contacts..logs..sms..bookmarks..and your apps apk. Transfer the backup files to ext sdcard before doing factory reset as all files in internal storage will be wipe out clean.
Same goes to any other files such as music..videos..pictures.
I have an idea here, if I don't hv extenal sd card, can I do backup (nanaroid or tb) in internal sd card 1st, then USB copy to laptop. after that I do factory reset ( assume data all gone), I copy back the backup files from laptop to internal sd card (in s3) again? just a tot. whistling.gif
rickk
post Nov 4 2012, 06:06 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Nov 4 2012, 05:57 PM)
when factory reset it will to the last (latest) ROM you flash into your phone. As per you mention above if you from JB Poland to JB malaysia..If JB malaysia install successful when factory reset  it will reset to JB Malaysia default setting.  biggrin.gif
ok get it! thanks!
but how bout from jb poland to custom rom like waman, omega etc? After factory reset, it will to those custom rom also?

Sry really duno factory reset cuz it is PROHIBIT ACTION for me. (Due to scare lost all data) . ahah
rickk
post Nov 4 2012, 06:32 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Nov 4 2012, 06:10 PM)
Just backup tb in intenal SD.. once complete the USB it to PC... Finish ROM installation then copy Tb backup to phone then go to playstore dl TB n install. finish install.. press option (then left key beside home key) select preference >Backup setting (Backup Folder location)> detect.

Added on November 4, 2012, 6:19 pm

same ... better Factory reset once you flash to other ROM...for me once update ROM or Change ROM, I will Factory reset. to make sure my latest rom or app will be in default setting other wise you phone program is controlling you...(you Dun know why is this on or off or why its sync or why lag or why battery problem etc ets etc and etc  biggrin.gif and give you this  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif )
Alright! Based on what u said, we can backup TB and nandroid to internal memory 1st and usb copy to PC, after factory reset, we copy back the backup file from PC to internal memory la?

Okay means factory reset will wipe away all ur data, but not ROM, can I say so? rolleyes.gif
rickk
post Nov 5 2012, 10:42 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 5 2012, 09:36 PM)
+1 to wanamlite
else ARHD
nothing will gone
ARHD, wanamlite, checkrom
*checkrom is the lightest, remove all bloatware, and download back from their kitchen (see what you want only download)
sry bro, i'm kinda interest on checkroom now, do several google search but not much bad thing about checkrom found.

may I know what cons that checkrom having? thanks! cool2.gif

Added on November 5, 2012, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Nov 5 2012, 10:15 PM)
when no JB ppl ask when got jb... got jb ppl wany ICS  rclxub.gif
+1 +1...
this is what we call, human being meh! lol

This post has been edited by rickk: Nov 5 2012, 10:43 PM
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 12:46 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 5 2012, 10:58 PM)
cons :
need download the things you want from kitchen app whistling.gif
Means no more play store, Samsung app or any other ah em market?
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 12:57 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 6 2012, 12:50 AM)
got, don't worry
Wookay. Perhaps I need to flash it 1st only know Whats the different btw stock and checkrom! Will try 2ml.. hope somebody here can guide me later
Lol
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 09:03 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 6 2012, 07:59 AM)
Just read this. It's an old article but i think it is saying just press the home button to exit the app. Let android handle the ram for u.

android-developers.blogspot.com/2010/04/multitasking-android-way.html?m=1

Added on November 6, 2012, 8:05 am

I know android is a geek phone. But normal users use it too. Telling normal users to install stuff to close app properly or telling them the right and wrong way of exiting an app make them scared to use android. I don't think Google wants that
This is what I always wondering bout. Why don't they just create a button/function that allow users to completely close it? Just like wat we always do in our computer. X = exit; - = minimize? Lol
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 11:50 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 6 2012, 09:11 AM)
That is what I do not want to do. I just want to open apps. I hate closing them and I feel it's not my duty to close them. It's the operating system duty to close. If I want to use another app I just open that app. Why do I need to close the current app? It's one extra step to me. Android is doing it correctly. PC is doing it wrongly
Ya juga. But since so many ppl worry and not sure whehter rrheir apps got completely exit or not, so just my own suggestion la.

For me, I duno whether this consider completely exit or not, whenever I didn't use the certain apps, I will hold the home button, then drag away the certain apps. smile.gif

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Nov 6 2012, 09:36 AM)
the answer is simple. Android aint no PC.
So when android OS will attack pc market? Since Windows already enter phone market while apple got also MacBook and ipong. Lol
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 12:06 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Nov 6 2012, 11:56 AM)
And I thought they are already there with Google. :/

@drumhitz polaris has been disappointing ever since I don't know when. It's sad to see a good app go to waste like that.
Google is a leading IT company no doubt. What I mean is OS. Means we no longer need to use windows, Mac or linux but ANDROID in our pc! Haha
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 12:25 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Nov 6 2012, 12:13 PM)
Well, for me, I don't think that they'd try to venture into the PC market anytime yet as the market is covered by mostly windows and mac only at the moment. Since they are doing great at the moment, they should continue to concentrate on Android. (For now that is.)
Ya agree. Just a tot. But who knows? B-)

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 6 2012, 12:14 PM)
in pc, we have a paradigm where all your open apps are at your taskbar. we know since years ago we been unproductive and  not even aware of it. notice when we open too many apps, we will say "sekejap let me close all my unused app first before i open another one". why are we the user doing that? the paradigm we been living in all this while is the user manage the RAM. it should be we just open and open and open, if windows run out of memory is its pasal. windows should figure that out, not us! go and figure out which app we open that never use for so long and close it for me. but don't tell me its closed coz i don't want to know (its info i need not know). when i open it again, it should be as how i left it. whether windows open the app by bringing it back to RAM or not i don't care, as long as i get the see my app as i left it.

android way of doing things can also apply for PC. windows 8 knows that now, finally!
Yes inded, w8 is freaking awesome!!

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Nov 6 2012, 12:15 PM)
Err... is that any heard about 'project butter' for s3 icon_question.gif my girlfriend ask me jor sad.gif T-T

Added on November 6, 2012, 12:16 pm
Yes , u can but it may factor failed to save ur sms sad.gif if u want save for Ext.SD ba ... Just share tongue.gif

Added on November 6, 2012, 12:18 pm
Haha yeah may be come true smile.gif rclxm9.gif
Just tell ya gf butter project means apply butter on ur s3 and ur S3 will become smooth, and oily. Lol
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 12:38 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Nov 6 2012, 12:32 PM)
basically it's a software lubricant
Ya correct, just tell ur gf it will makes ur s3 bcome smoother. Simple. No need explain much. Otherwise ask uncle google. wink.gif
rickk
post Nov 6 2012, 03:25 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(inthedark @ Nov 6 2012, 03:21 PM)
i got a problem with my s3. after i upgrade it with the official JB..when my phone start..it was going into SAFE MODE. i have read several solution and they said that have just to reboot it back. when i do so. my S3 is still in SAFE MOOD.

Please Sifoo...WHAT TO DO! T_T...
Safe mode? How is it? Stuck at Samsung logo?
rickk
post Nov 7 2012, 01:23 PM

1,130 posts

Just flash from Poland to UK jb!! Did factory reset as well. Do I need to clear cached or wipe dalvik?
rickk
post Nov 7 2012, 03:48 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(drumhitz @ Nov 7 2012, 02:14 PM)
Yeah.. better wipe cache and dalvik.. standard procedure

1) wipe data
2) wipe cache
3) wipe dalvik
4) then only flash the new rom..
5) restore from ur backup..

just a few clicks only to wipe cache and dalvik, not even 5 seconds, its done.. so why take the risk for not doing it? I always do that when flashing new ROM..

Added on November 7, 2012, 2:17 pmOmega 31.1 ... anyone upgrade already?
Oh mai. ... I just factory reset then straight flash to UK jb, then factory reset again. I skipped the clear cache and dalvik step!
rickk
post Nov 7 2012, 06:51 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Nov 7 2012, 05:52 PM)
No problem one...dont worry about it smile.gif
Yea hope so.. haha last time from ics to Poland jb even worst, Nvr factory reset b4 flash, didn't factory reset after flash. Haha! But run smothly. Lol

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Nov 7 2012, 05:53 PM)
if i factory reset, it will remove everything from the phone, right ? even the apps as well right ??
Yes
rickk
post Nov 7 2012, 11:05 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ Nov 7 2012, 10:58 PM)
anyone wanna buy yoobao?i got few new set 10400mah..sell at cheap price to clear stock..fren shop closing=(..check my topic..all brand new genuine
Bro pm me ur link. What else seling there? Sd card, car charger etc
rickk
post Nov 8 2012, 09:31 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Nov 8 2012, 10:08 AM)
pm u d...not good disclosing here...LOL
Pm me as well dude!
rickk
post Nov 11 2012, 01:52 AM

1,130 posts

1 question here. Just wonder.

Normally from one ROm flash to another ROM:

backup with TB & CMW -> factory reset -> flash new ROM (custom/stock) -> flash reset -> restore date from TB & CMW.

then if I restore data fr cwm and TB, will it restore back those battery stats ? Meanning that when I backup files, will it backup the battery stat as well?

0.0393sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:59 PM