Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V22, Has Been Sold 30 Million !!!

mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 11:34 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(jassonking @ Nov 12 2012, 11:27 AM)
hello and good morning.

I have noob question, perhaps sifu around here  can help.

I just Changed my s3 battery from 2100mah to 3000mah (without NFC) . do I need to 8 hours charges or just plug out when it full?

thanks in advanced.
not necessary..
old days battery yes..

nowadays the battery are not like last time already. smile.gif
mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 11:44 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(jassonking @ Nov 12 2012, 11:42 AM)
oo i c. thanks bro. later i just plug out when it full.
i use sun global battery, buy it from garage sales. but without NFC. buat spare mana tau nanti ada kecemasan.
thanks bro. later see can lasting more or sama macam 2100mah battery.
but i still advise senior citizens to charge 8 hours. lol
you know their mentality. cannot accept new stuff most of the time. nod.gif

my bro charge his s3 till its full then plug out, so far the battery's fine. smile.gif
mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 02:03 PM

6,153 posts

you mean when you plugged in the headset and it autoplays?

mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 02:28 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ Nov 12 2012, 02:05 PM)
no...when i put the fone in standby (screen off) mode by pressing the power button when i am not using it n put inside my pocket n walk...

eventually the fone will auto play music by itself...

i have disable the motion setting too...very pai seh when out of sudden the fone is playing music without me knowing u c...

Added on November 12, 2012, 2:06 pmn the stock bundled music app settings does not have the turn off auto play option ...
i tried a couple of google search queries..
most of them came back as a result of bluetooth? :S

anyway.. try this

1. reboot the phone
2. play a music -> pause it -> exit the music app
3. lock the screen
4. put it in your pocket and see if its still auto playing or not.

if its still autoplaying then

1. open task manager
2. active applications tab
3. kill the music app

mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 03:01 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ Nov 12 2012, 03:00 PM)
yeah i googled too n what others faced is the autoplay kicks in after bluetooth headset is hanging up...

thanx i will try that n c if this works
if its bluetooth, see if bluetooth is enabled.
maybe you left it on. smile.gif
mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 04:24 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Nov 12 2012, 04:22 PM)
I flashed my S3 to Sweden JB a while back and rooted the phone.

Now I'm planning to flash to Malaysia Rom. Do I just download from Sammobile and put into Odin and flash it?

Need to Unroot? And all I have to do after flash to Malaysia rom is root and do triangle reset right?

Reply is appreciated.
if you do that then everything will revert to stock without any custom CWM or rooted device.
so you have to root again using ODIN. then flash your custom ROM if you wish.
mafioso
post Nov 12 2012, 07:46 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Nov 12 2012, 07:42 PM)
So after that I just root and do triangle reset? Cause I plan to Sell my S3
erm yes. after that un-root it. (search on xda. smile.gif )

then go into download mode to check the flash counter to see if its reset back to zero.
mafioso
post Nov 13 2012, 12:19 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(IhaveNoNameOK @ Nov 12 2012, 11:59 PM)
Question.

Need to do full wipe before switching ROM?

Is it mandatory ?
if switch from stock to custom -> yes
if switch from custom rom A to custom rom B -> yes
if switch from stock to stock -> no

go to xda developers.
can learn alot. nod.gif
mafioso
post Nov 13 2012, 12:33 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(IhaveNoNameOK @ Nov 13 2012, 12:29 AM)

I got the rom from xda though haha.

So, If i do full wipe... I need to backup data and put it on the sd or on comp ? :/

Added on November 13, 2012, 12:30 am

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1815285

So, If i full wipe, do I backup data to sdcard or comp?

Use titanium?
1. advisable to back up.. (sms and whatsapp)
2. sync your contacts with google contacts so that your phone numbers wont be lost. you may check your contacts at https://www.google.com/contacts/
3. backup your files (images,vids,etc)

after that you may perform flashing.
however, just because you've done flashing doesnt mean its completed.

learn about flash counters, yellow triangle issues (if happen), and learn how to use CWM (recovery).
everything can be absorbed on xda! nod.gif
mafioso
post Nov 13 2012, 12:36 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(IhaveNoNameOK @ Nov 13 2012, 12:34 AM)
Thanks  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

You the man !!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
no prob. nothing is easy at first.
just take the initiative to learn from xda. icon_rolleyes.gif

people here can advise, but at the end of the day the phone is yours..
if you really screwed up, there's nothing we can do.

but if you learn the basics of it, you have high chance of preventing it from happening.
mafioso
post Nov 13 2012, 06:08 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Nov 13 2012, 06:03 PM)
hey u might be right..after i upgrade to JB.if i charge using my charger it will take more than 16 hours..if i plug in usb and charge at my laptop..it works fine(only2-3 hours of charging)..

so now i donno is my charger faulty or becos of JB upgrade(my charger could not charge normally)...

what should i do?
is warranty cover for charger? mine is sme unit..bought 2 months
16? thats too long
my brother's s3.. rooted + custom ROM only takes about 2-3 hours.

i think your charger has issues.
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 03:33 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(IhaveNoNameOK @ Nov 14 2012, 02:27 AM)
Not sure bout official Jellybean but mine's stable. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Added on November 14, 2012, 3:11 amErm ... guys need some help...
Trying to flash this rom http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1815285

But at aroma ... They are asking bout modem ..
Which should i change?
DXLG2 modem
XBLFB modem
XXLF3 modem
XXLF5 modem

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
this one you have to test on your own.

different location reacts to the baseband differently
some locations might be good, some might not.

so its best you test it on your daily route/locations or places you always go..
if the baseband is very weak, move on to the next..

its the only way you can test. so you might have to flash 4 times. (but you no need to wipe, so no worries. just choose a different modem everytime u flash without wiping)
only wipe cache and d/cache!
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 08:40 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Nov 14 2012, 08:15 AM)
morning sifu,
just got the s3 over the weekend and have been meddling/upgrading at whatever's available on the firmware, but i notice somthing is missing recently

Under the Lock Screen options, i can only choose Screen Lock with Secure Pattern or With Swipe Lock. and under the Security options, the Lock Scrren tab is no more there

so let's say now i want to lock/unlock the screen via pin or face recognition, then how?

thanks yeah
disable the current one first.
then enable a different type of security lockscreen
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 09:06 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(ykh @ Nov 14 2012, 08:55 AM)
good morning sifus...I have been facing some problems with my battery recently. I leave the phone to charge before I go and sleep(battery was at about 12%) and when I wake up after 7 hours, it only reached 55%. Has anyone faced this problem before? My phone is about 5 months old
did your phone became hot?
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 10:57 AM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(servo @ Nov 14 2012, 10:24 AM)
i got no replies whatsoever.. samsung customer service experience really very fail la
why would it be gmail?

i think they should have at least an email with email@samsung.com.my with official helpdesk.
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 03:25 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Nov 14 2012, 03:04 PM)
Any one feel that after jb update the keyboard sensitive change ? I feel I type more wrong words than before or the auto correct  hmm.gif
because JB very sensitive liao.. and smooth.

have to get used to it. nod.gif
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 03:46 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 14 2012, 03:38 PM)
I can goto access mode, but when I use PC odin to flash any S3 stock ROM, it said PIT not found, so I found a ROM with PIT but I am fail to using the PIT to re-partition. It seems my phone partition is corrupted and I had no idea get which working PIT to re-partition.
PIT?
should be PDA.

go to sammobile.com and download.
that place is much more reliable. nod.gif
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 07:33 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Nov 14 2012, 06:08 PM)
which ROM is the most "google" feel? i mean like nexus types of feel and UI

Added on November 14, 2012, 6:08 pmwhich ROM is the most "google" feel? i mean like nexus types of feel and UI
AOSP
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 07:47 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 14 2012, 07:35 PM)
I did try international PIT, it not working.

The link you give me is Verizon version of S3.
did you try to check out http://www.sammobile.com/firmware/?page=3

like i posted few posts back?
if you wanna flash stock.. these are the most accurate and stable versions.
mafioso
post Nov 14 2012, 07:51 PM

6,153 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Nov 14 2012, 07:50 PM)
I try everything, as I said before I cannot flash anything on it, the partition was corrupted or faulty. I need to re-partition using PIT file, but none PIT I try can re-partition back. All failure.
okay. i might have missed this. sorry if i ask you this questions again..

can you see your bootscreen?
and does it end up boot-looping?

This post has been edited by mafioso: Nov 14 2012, 07:51 PM

0.0514sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:11 PM