[WTA]Sound system setup, What are the required parts?

TScarcraze66
post Oct 30 2012, 04:52 PM, updated 14y ago

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

hi all sifus here, im actually having this question in my head for a very long time and need someone to enlighten me... smile.gif

i would like to know what is actually the required thing in order for a simple sound sytem with rear speakers and a subwoofer in the boot and maybe tweeter in front..

do i need a amplifier to install a subwoofer?

my setup now is a pioneer deh-1750UB cd player taken from perodua kelisa, then with 2 rear MTX speaker...if lets say i want to add a subwoofer in my boot, can i just add in straight away by linking to the speaker? or do i need an amplifier...?? icon_rolleyes.gif

thanks for your kind words and im really noobie in ICE... notworthy.gif

vickyz
post Oct 30 2012, 06:10 PM

15 posts

hi..here some option for you.Yes u need a suitable amplifier to power your sub.

1) Head unit play your front & rear speaker + 2 channel or mono amp play your subwoofer

2) Head unit play ur front tweeter + 4 channel amp, channel 1&2 play your rear speaker, channel 3+4 bridged for subwoofer

Choose your option which suit your budget.
ezmeer94
post Oct 30 2012, 07:23 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(vickyz @ Oct 30 2012, 06:10 PM)

1) Head unit play your front &  rear speaker + 2 channel or mono amp play your subwoofer

2) Head unit play ur front tweeter + 4 channel amp, channel 1&2 play your rear speaker, channel 3+4 bridged for subwoofer

Choose  your option which suit your budget.
This thumbup.gif
But if on a tight budget just get a simple amp and a sub

6UE5T
post Oct 30 2012, 10:47 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(vickyz @ Oct 30 2012, 06:10 PM)

1) Head unit play your front &  rear speaker + 2 channel or mono amp play your subwoofer

Choose  your option which suit your budget.
I believe option 2 is not a good one. A sound system should be more towards the front so to create a frontal sound stage/image as if you're listening to a concert in front of you. If you power the rear with power amp instead of the front, then your sound will get pulled to the back, hence your sound staging will be a mess. If you have a 4 channel amp, better use 1 & 2 to power the front and leave the rear speaker just powered by the relatively small power from the HU so that the rear will just function as a rear ambiance fill and not overpower the front/clutter the sound staging. Then you power 3 & 4 for the sub.

If you have even more budget, you can use 5/6 channel amps then use the first 4 channel to power the front mid & tweeter (provided that your power amp has suitable x-over for this or the x-over of the component set can accommodate such active setting), and still leave the rear speakers powered by just the HU. This will give a good strong kick for the front sound. Then channel 5/6 is used to power the sub.

Added on October 30, 2012, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Oct 30 2012, 04:52 PM)
hi all sifus here, im actually having this question in my head for a very long time and need someone to enlighten me... smile.gif

i would like to know what is actually the required thing in order for a simple sound sytem with rear speakers and a subwoofer in the boot and maybe tweeter in front..

do i need a amplifier to install a subwoofer?

my setup now is a pioneer deh-1750UB cd player taken from perodua kelisa, then with 2 rear MTX speaker...if lets say i want to add a subwoofer in my boot, can i just add in straight away by linking to the speaker? or do i need an amplifier...?? icon_rolleyes.gif

thanks for your kind words and im really noobie in ICE...  notworthy.gif
The answer to your question is yes, you need a power amp to power your sub as your sub cannot be driven from your HU alone. Subs need bigger and more stable power to drive them (mostly at least 100W average/rms power). When selecting sub & power, better get at least the same rms power rating of power amps compared to the sub, slightly higher power from the amp will be even better. For example if you select a sub that is rated at 100W rms (not max power ya), then at least also get power amps that is also rated to produce 100W rms for the channel that will drive the sub, if can get 110-150W rms that will be even better.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Oct 30 2012, 10:56 PM
TScarcraze66
post Oct 31 2012, 12:33 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

great comment! thank you guys so much for all your kind words on explaining to me smile.gif

btw for the amp right, i heard there are 2 types which one the mono or the 2 channel and some even 4 channel if im not wrong...

2 channel does it mean left and right speaker is separated into individual wires? while mono is 2 in 1... smile.gif
ezmeer94
post Oct 31 2012, 12:55 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Oct 31 2012, 12:33 PM)
great comment! thank you guys so much for all your kind words on explaining to me smile.gif

btw for the amp right, i heard there are 2 types which one the mono or the 2 channel and some even 4 channel if im not wrong...

2 channel does it mean left and right speaker is separated into individual wires? while mono is 2 in 1... smile.gif
Mono block amps are better for subs but its more expensive
You can bridge a 2 channel amp to power your subs
MyWifeCar
post Oct 31 2012, 02:40 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Oct 31 2012, 12:55 PM)
Mono block amps are better for subs but its more expensive
You can bridge a 2 channel amp to power your subs
Just some minor corrections,
To get a better amp for your sub, it depends on what sort of music you listen to... and of course your budget too.

Mono is NOT more expensive than 2ch, there are so many amps in the market. A 2ch can be more expensive than a Mono.

Set your budget right, share your expectation with your installer then enjoy your ICE.

0.0182sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:21 AM