Model Kits Plastic Car Models, ******* Car Modelers!! Come In *******

ar188
post Feb 15 2008, 01:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Dec 28 2007, 05:23 PM)
sorry bro,
i have something in mind that i must say.
it seems like to you only metal cars can have such finishing and not plastic models ?

unsure.gif
agreed, actually plastic scale models have better details (panel gaps are much sharper and closer) than metal diecast, so maybe it's the other way around. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jul 24 2008, 12:52 PM

9,206 posts

wah cham2020, your modelling skills really upgraded much since the 1st time I saw your 1st model car which you posted... thumbup.gif
ar188
post Aug 6 2008, 08:23 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(hitsugayat10 @ Aug 4 2008, 10:05 AM)
Eh?what kinda effects?
d sandy looking paint was from a can spray brand called Dove laugh.gif
wah lau.. isn't that the RM4.50 spray?
ar188
post Aug 7 2008, 02:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Aug 5 2008, 09:07 PM)
using primer will not hide those sinkholes( original defects) on the body. you would need putty to cover them and smoothen out with sandpaper.
wetsand body with 400 grit sandpaper is a very bad idea but it is usefull for removing mould lines.
after doing so wetsand the body with 1200 gritt sandpaper to 2000 gritt so that you will have a smooth surface.
if you attempt to paint after sanding with a low grit sandpaper, you might risk exposing scratches on the body
bos, what primer you use? I like gunze mr primer.. very smooth stuff...

as for holes, you can fill them with tamiya putty..

wraping parts for metal effect, I use bare metal foil..

masking, tamiya yellow tape

black lines, gundam marker pen..

ar188
post Aug 11 2008, 12:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 9 2008, 08:16 PM)
Bro, where do you get your BMF from?
my BMF got when I was in UK.. got the smoke/black one also..
ar188
post Aug 16 2008, 03:23 PM

9,206 posts

nice mr. 2020!
ar188
post Aug 16 2008, 04:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(zefflodo @ Aug 16 2008, 03:34 PM)
for 4 years i cant locate where is daisheng at petaling street T.T
isn't that the one along the road "going" toward petaling street (meaning not at Petaling street yet)
ar188
post Aug 19 2008, 08:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cham2020 @ Aug 19 2008, 01:44 PM)

wah no wash car ar? cabuts.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Aug 21 2008, 02:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(masta_hafiz @ Aug 21 2008, 12:00 PM)
evo.....

tomolo update photo... tongue.gif
wow! evo with 4 wheel steering?
ar188
post Aug 26 2008, 08:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(elgee @ Aug 24 2008, 12:02 AM)
hello fellow pro car modellers, i have a a few questions.

firstly, if i want to strip the paint off a die cast car, what is the most adequate way to do it? i heard soaking it in acetone for a day works well.

also, do you recommend applying a primer coat then the spray the colour of your choice on top of a die cast car without stripping the original paint?

finally, where can i purchase clear coats to apply as a finish after im done with my paint job? also asked in context of a die cast car. i know this thread is for plastic car models, but id really appreciate it if you can help me out. thanks loads in advance! smile.gif
I'm sure you can brush some paint stripper/remover and wait a few minutes for it to take effect, but use protection like gloves, it hurts if get on your skin.. like mild acid burning into the skin..
ar188
post Aug 28 2008, 01:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(elgee @ Aug 28 2008, 12:11 AM)
thank you loads guys! anyway, i'm reposting the pics i have done but this is my first hot wheels customization. i did not strip the paint, but i painted over the roof and hoods. also added some detailing and changed wheels + calipers. this is a 1/64 scale car.

nice paintjob, maybe you can cut the inner wheel a little to put it in the wheel arch, the offset of the rims is judding out too much like monster truck.. biggrin.gif

0.5481sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:19 PM