727 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Oct 18 2008, 08:07 PM
7,951 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Oct 19 2008, 01:41 PM
Finally its completed. And I am satisfied with the results. I used the PE parts that came with the kit, but did not use the wipers, as it was crappy. Rims are the second set from the Magnum. Other than that, there is a pair of Recaro seats.
Hope you guys like it. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Oct 19 2008, 07:14 PM
336 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Cheras, KL. |
eric>>>willing 2 help me on my Trueno????
Oct 20 2008, 08:48 PM
![]() |
Oct 23 2008, 06:16 PM
29 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: garden city of lights |
wah.. got revell... hehe.. can wait to see... but i dont like how revell done its wheels... kinda unrealistic...
Oct 23 2008, 07:49 PM
Agreed. But newer Revells dont have brands on them. The BMW has. Michelin.
Oct 26 2008, 09:18 PM
Works from popui of AF. Credits to him.
WIP Stage ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Completed ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Poor thread. Like dying. |
Oct 26 2008, 09:34 PM
210 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
of coz .not everyone is free like you to do models 24 hours a day dude
Oct 28 2008, 09:17 PM
![]() |
Oct 31 2008, 01:19 PM
Completed. Not up to my usual standards as the right front light broke. Anyhow, I accept c&c openly.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Oct 31 2008, 01:47 PM
6 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Oct 31 2008, 03:36 PM
74 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
How do u guys make ur car surface so shiny? A gloss overcoat? Or is there some sort of metallic overcoat? Or just plain wax polish?
Oct 31 2008, 03:44 PM
@lucifer_light
Spray a few coats of clear. I do 2 mist coats and 3-4 heavy coats. Drying intervals for each coat is 30-60min. Allow to dry for 2-3 days minimum. Wetsand with 1500 grit and 2000 grit. I polish using soft99 and clothe. |
Oct 31 2008, 04:23 PM
7 posts Joined: May 2007 From: de'caves of rock! |
QUOTE(Lucifer_Light @ Oct 5 2008, 03:29 PM) I ran into a bit problem while spraying my car's exterior. The plastic is red in colour and I am supposed to paint all panels Italian Red. So I sprayed each panel separately. When I put them together, damn ugly... all different shades of red. I see all your cars all even coating, but anyone have the same problem and how to rectify it? sorry, my reply might be late.I lost count on how many layers each panel got... because sometime I spray, got pockmarks (sorry, newbie in spraying... abit susah), so I wet sandpaper it down and spray again... so now each panel got its own shade of red. red and yellow is especially less opaque than other colors so is sensitive to underneath colors. even primer (gray) itself will change the hue of red/yellow. u either need 2-3 coats gunze's white base/ or white surfacer, or jus white to make sure before being spray wt red, the surface must be white or near white. i'm guessing u'd primed the parts, where some parts u may have applied more layers than the others due to the reason u stated, dat's why u get diff colors of red. this is becoz of the grey primer. anyway, red under grey primer never show up well. no matter how many layers. or if u didn't primed, i assumed the body color is dark enuf to affect ur italian red. stripping paint is a tedious job, unless the kit u building is ur favorite and rare kit, otherwise just leave it lor. start wt new kit is better |
Oct 31 2008, 07:14 PM
Thanks sifu-s.
@erh: My original plastic is bright red. And I tried this trick of spraying those lighter panels a few more times till they looked almost similar. Surprisingly, when I spray on the gloss overcoat, they looked even more similar in colour. (Haha, maybe just my brain wishing them to be the same, haha). @eric: thanks for the info. Becos I was reading up and ppl were talking about the tamiya compound. Thank God that I don't have to waste some more money. I have the sandpapers at home. What is soft99? I was looking through my friend's car-washing tools (real car, not model), and I saw this car-polish, haha... not sure if that's usable, not going to try. |
Oct 31 2008, 07:57 PM
Here is it.
![]() |
Oct 31 2008, 08:29 PM
210 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(Lucifer_Light @ Oct 31 2008, 03:36 PM) How do u guys make ur car surface so shiny? A gloss overcoat? Or is there some sort of metallic overcoat? Or just plain wax polish? there's alot of factors that will affect the result of the car surface shininess..actually explaining is quite hard. need to do a life demonstration will be much more easier. if you are free, you can visit me and i will teach you the proper way.. |
Oct 31 2008, 11:32 PM
@eric: Oooo.... so it IS car wax... Wow... now this is interesting. Thanks... I'll try it out... any car wax also can, or soft99 is the best? It is just wax right?
@cham: Thanks for the offer, man... but I am in Australia right now... abit far from home eh... I'll finish up coating and waxing by end of next week (exams coming up) and post it up here, asap. Once again, thank you for all your help. |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:45 PM |