[Tutorial : Advance] Flexible Magic Button, version 01

TSsiaukia
post Feb 26 2006, 10:05 PM, updated 20y ago

1,491 posts

Full tutorial @ http://myflashportal.blogspot.com/2006/02/...gic-button.html

Hope you enjoy what i shared here, i'm not a pro but i'd i can be a help and likes flash more thumbup.gif

Have you ever stucked in a situation where you need to duplicate tons of button where it looks the same but only varies on the text? Let's say in a survey or trivia game, or probably a website which expands to a lot of different section. And you're in confusion and clogged with bunch of unnecessary repeated and hassling steps. Here's the help that might bring you out of the dark world. Welcome.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
etsuko
post Feb 27 2006, 04:37 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Good one..

right now just wondering how expandable are the buttons if each of it had seperate animations like what JunkieG was looking for 1 time. hmm..
momochi zabuza
post Feb 27 2006, 05:21 PM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

erm just swap symbols.. at the swap menu can duplicate.. so when editing the symbolds it didnt effect other's
angeldothack
post Feb 27 2006, 08:58 PM

Ore.?
1,072 posts

it's like doing link buttons using <li></li> in css/html. simple n easy. thanks for the tutorial! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by angeldothack: Feb 27 2006, 09:02 PM
mclelun
post Feb 27 2006, 09:27 PM

662 posts

simple, not advance tongue.gif
TSsiaukia
post Feb 27 2006, 11:06 PM

1,491 posts

of course, this button is expandable and you can make it how advance you can, of course, it all comes back to your creativity

enjoy!
mclelun
post Feb 28 2006, 10:44 AM

662 posts

yup, i mean this tutorial is simple and nice for ppl that want to learn it,
dun make ppl scare by just putting "advance" there. biggrin.gif

too many ppl already thinking flash is crap and use alot of bandwidth, but the crap is actually those ppl that dun know how to use and optimise it properly
TSsiaukia
post Feb 28 2006, 01:49 PM

1,491 posts

the purpose of putting advance on the header is to at least encourage people to take up the effort in learn and read up a bit more on the basics of how to use flash more effectively.

And of course, a lot of myth that being thrown to flash previously has been fixed and even suprises a lot of people, if you have seen those great websites lately.

It's not the software that is crappy, but its the person that designs it that bears the responsibilty. I second your point
jayhan
post Feb 28 2006, 09:21 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

whoa, thx siaukia, I learnt alot from ur tutorial thumbup.gif

now, I can create my buttons more easily with those rocking functions!
Syfq
post Feb 28 2006, 09:32 PM

Sense of Definition
1,138 posts

hhahahha cool tutorialz
nice .. thanks in advance
TSsiaukia
post Mar 1 2006, 08:55 AM

1,491 posts

thanks dude, that really kept encouraging me to do more biggrin.gif~
sinx
post Mar 1 2006, 09:46 AM

15 posts

Thanks for your effort to come out with this kind of tutorial.
It's only good for fairly newbie.

Since it's nothing [Advance], don't you just put the title as [Step by step] or [Learn * in 60 seconds]?
I think it'll more attractive for a beginner!
TSsiaukia
post Mar 5 2006, 01:59 PM

1,491 posts

haha, thanks for the compliment again,
newbie? its really a subjective opinion though, because you might find yourself explaining rocket science to them about 'functions' and writing A/S to the 'timeline'

so i think it'll still be good for those beginner to take a firm grasp before taking on this, because else they'll end up copying a whole bunch of codes without knowing how to modify and make it work the way they want, a/s is not hard, believe me,
mclelun
post Mar 7 2006, 12:01 AM

662 posts

well, to made this more super advance, i will share my way of doing dynamic button/menu. right now, with this method, u still need to write quite alot of scripts. Let say, you have 100 buttons, u will need to

btn1.onrollover ............... btn100.onrollover
btn1.onrollout ............... btn100.onrollout
btn1.onrelease ............... btn100.onrelease

Many way can be use to solve this. First, use Class file, write a generic button behaviour class file and attach it to the button movieclip (right click the button movie clip, and put the classname under AS2.0 class field)

class btnClass extends MovieClip {
public function btnClass() {
}

private function onRollOver() {
this.gotoAndPlay("frmOver"); //this one goto play roll over frame in button
}
private function onRollOut() {
this.gotoAndPlay("frmOut"); //this one goto play roll out frame in button
}
}

second way, no need to use class file. just use attachmovie function with a loop. when u attach the button on stage, attach the onrollover,rollout and release for them as well.

for(var i=0;i < numba;i++){
attacMovie("buttonname in library", "newname"+i, i);

["newname"+i].onRollOver = function(){
this.gotoAndPlay("frmOver");
}
. // and all the remaining button behaviour
}

- EDIT -
and more tips, use XML to store all the button names, links and other details.

and something more, which is not really needed to do most of the time. use action script to create the dynamic text field. you might asking why use actionscript to create it. because in this way, if your button has a long name, so it wont like cut out by the dynamic text field size you manually set in the button.

As you see, I m just posting more of a "way" to do it, and not the full source, because I believe one person can learn more, if he/she research more on him/herself instead of modifying a source file provided or copy and paste

This post has been edited by mclelun: Mar 7 2006, 12:19 AM

0.0170sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:12 AM