Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V6, RM2299 It's here!! Woohoo!!!!!

ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 06:53 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Oct 29 2012, 05:59 PM)
erhh life nowadays.. no time for leisure.. sad.gif fews days did not peep in, already new thread with close to 1000 posts.. how to keep up.. now also dunno what to discuss. laugh.gif

i remember i read in previous thread, flip case with magnet can harm the device. i have kelaideng casing with a magnet.. been using for few days, so far still ok.. but due to get sked, i don't want to use it anymore.. now my note is naked.

but, really, magnet will cause damage to the touch screen? i mean, how persistence? every case with magnet will cause it? or it depends on how strong is the magnet, and the magnet location...? (i should google this anyway. lol).. just... super curious...

on another thought, white note seems nice la.. who want to exchange with me?
user posted image this is roughly what is inside the note 2. the strips of wires inside are what enables your s-pen to function the way it is. magnet has an effect on flow of electricity and that will impact the sensitivity depending on how strong the magnet and proximity and current level. place a magnet source long enough next to it and it can magnetise the strips of wires thus damaging the functionality of the s-pen.

QUOTE(jerrywan @ Oct 29 2012, 06:30 PM)
Any idea how to check our phone is ap set or sme set? Sm of the forumers said tat the middle no of imei which is 05 is refering to sme set?
Just check using sms of your imei. if it ain't registered or can't register, you got an AP set. you should also able to see the SME sticker at the back of the phone and the sirim sticker as well. failing any of that, you got an AP set tongue.gif
ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 06:54 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(cocoscrapy @ Oct 29 2012, 06:50 PM)
Qucik question,normally when you purchase the device in any maxis outlets they open for checking or they just sell the sealed set?Thank you in advance
sealed set. if they pass you an unsealed or opened set, reject it. please remember to do the check *#0*# before leaving. obvious faults like dead pixels and non-functioning buttons you can outright exchange 1 to 1 at center.
ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 06:57 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Oct 29 2012, 06:56 PM)
Oh.. I just posted a reply then saw yours.

So the issue here is the wacom thingy la? Hmm.. but still, its just a theory, any fact of this?
electronics 101. you can look it up online. or take a course to find out yourself smile.gif
ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 07:05 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Oct 29 2012, 06:59 PM)
laugh.gif haha bad idea bad reply. You suggest me to blend my Note do u. tongue.gif
just look up any uni lecturers or friends who teaching or learning triple EEE or similar courses. they should know the theory behind this. but again, it depends on the power of the magnet, the proximity and current/design of the device.

i can't really say how long it can take to damage nor will it even damage cause that depends on the above factors. generally if you don't want to take the risk, then don't do it. if you want to take the risk, then go ahead. it's not like it's my note 2 on the line tongue.gif

however, if you really want to see the effect on the damage sped up to human patience time, borrow someone's loudspeaker driver and place it next to the note 2 for say a day or so. consider it as an experiment thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ebackbone: Oct 29 2012, 07:08 PM
ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 11:05 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Oct 29 2012, 11:04 PM)
anyone have problen with your charger
mine get heat up within 30mins and there is this random beep sound that sounds like those high frequency misquito repellant
anyone have this issues?
nope. hence something is wrong with yours. go warranty it.
ebackbone
post Oct 29 2012, 11:18 PM

755 posts

can you all please stop with the chat on the bulk here? this ain't garage sales thread.
ebackbone
post Oct 30 2012, 02:55 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Oct 30 2012, 02:30 PM)
Anyone can answer me on this ...

How to set WIFI to auto sleep after 15 minutes of inactivity ?

my desire HD use to put my WiFi to sleep after 15 mins ...
kasian ask questions multiple times but nobody answer you.

not exactly 15 mins but at settings > wifi > advanced > keep wi-fi on during sleep, you can set it to "never" so that it goes off when inactive.

Added on October 30, 2012, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(fghvbn @ Oct 30 2012, 02:41 PM)
How to test the 32gb memory card after I purchased it?

What should I be expecting?

Not really sure about memory cards, they all look the same to me and I can't tell the difference of the speed of the different classes
do a full read/write test of the card with something like hd tune to test for speed and reliability. then again, sometimes it is purely luck as it could successfully pass the first 10 times but fail on the 11th.

This post has been edited by ebackbone: Oct 30 2012, 02:59 PM
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2012, 09:37 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(PeanutButter~~ @ Oct 31 2012, 09:35 AM)
[out topic] what i should do for this problem for my 64Gb sandisk? any1? format for whole night d~
\
thanks~
looks like faulty card. send back for warranty.
ebackbone
post Oct 31 2012, 09:56 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Oct 31 2012, 09:54 AM)
If NTFS not supported, why get high capacity (64G or 32G) micro SD card as FAT retricted to max file size of 4G.
before being so quick to replying without understanding, go lookup the difference between FAT and exFAT.
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 08:05 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(codenamew @ Nov 1 2012, 07:59 AM)
aspire, how do you manage to clock so high for your hour of display? mine max only can go up to 4hrs. For your information, i on my wifi 24/7.
why you ask others and not show yours? i am getting about the same results with aspire on my phone.

likely there's something you're doing on your phone that is eating up all the juice if you can only max 4 hours. post something and maybe we can help u track what is going on

This post has been edited by ebackbone: Nov 1 2012, 08:05 AM
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 08:32 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Nov 1 2012, 08:17 AM)
Any battery genius can answer this
this is quite tricky to answer as they don't specify the exact contents that make up the battery. different manufacturing generation for the batt may use different materials.

however, if they are using good materials, then the memory effect factor is mitigated so you can safely charge while using the phone without significantly reducing the lifespan of the battery. most new devices from reputable manufacturers would ensure this.

the switch off while charging mentality came from before the Li-Ion batts aka NiCads and the first few generations of Li-Ion batts.

For me though, i still charge it while it is switched off because i only charge it during the early early mornings when it is completely unused smile.gif
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 09:20 AM

755 posts

android thread posts count into your lowyat post count. that is why garage sales thread exist.

otherwise if allowed, like before, the thread was inundated with pages and pages of people back and forth discussing about bulk purchase, whether he/she is in or out, updating the list of bulk purchasers, bla bla bla.

not the right thread to do such a thing.
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 09:23 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 1 2012, 02:32 AM)
fooh. if this also have the feature of charging an extra battery, then this is a must-have dock for all note 2 users thumbup.gif
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 09:41 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 1 2012, 09:26 AM)
no, it will not charge an extra battery.  It will only charge the internal battery. Eyeing on this too.  biggrin.gif
that's why i said, IF haha. IF it able to do so, i sure buy it without need to think much already biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Nov 1 2012, 09:32 AM)
i dowan to get into whether right or wrong... but it's not like he was bugging and bugging the heck out of us. he did ask all to PM him if interested... if i recall correctly.

i dun go to GS section that often... and even if i do, i could have missed it. but yes, if everyone starts spamming this thread, then also not good... but i'd have to say that depends on situation la...

it's no different then ppl posting a link to a case or a SD card... i wonder if anyone goes and reports those posts as well...

anyway, i'm no mod or admin... so not going to add more other than that i think he's helped some fellow owners.
actually, doesn't matter whether you or i think is right or wrong. the lowyat thread rules is quite clear that this is wrong and few times got mod already mentioned about all this and even got "war of words" back then smile.gif
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 10:36 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Nov 1 2012, 10:23 AM)
hi~quick question here,why i cant see downloaded pics on my gallery? still can browse it in file manager but not inside the gallery under download folder.
number of reasons.
1. your view in the gallery settings
2. unsupported image type
3. ghost in the machine laugh.gif
ebackbone
post Nov 1 2012, 11:21 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Nov 1 2012, 11:13 AM)
hi all sifu,

noticed my wife note 2 get pretty lag after 1 day of usage.

it is more apparent towards the evening. normally it is back ok after restart.

do we actually need to restart the phone every day? it there is some thing i can do to avoid this lagging issue?

btw, she is using go launcher.

no. you don't need to restart phone every day. lag can be lots of reasons. could be CPU being used indefinitely or some malware app running in background. you need to check what is hogging the cpu or memory.

0.0207sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:15 PM