currently, i have problem to boot up due to the ram , if allow to change ram , what brand of ram i should go for ? thank you
what ram is good for notebook ?
Feb 26 2006, 09:31 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
849 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
hi, i have finally get a toshiba notebook , and upgrade to 1gb ram , but the seller give me hynix ram ....no name , my wonder is this type of ram better than the branded 1 like kingmax , kingston ....
currently, i have problem to boot up due to the ram , if allow to change ram , what brand of ram i should go for ? thank you |
Feb 26 2006, 11:39 PM
49 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
u should go back to the seller to at least get the laptop back to previos state...
Feb 27 2006, 03:14 AM
111 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: PeeJay |
Try switching between ram slots. But the best is still to take it back to the seller ask him to kau tim for you.
Feb 27 2006, 04:43 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Ninja Turtle State |
yup. ask back your seller.
Feb 28 2006, 12:16 AM
3,368 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Feb 28 2006, 03:08 PM
246 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuala lumpur |
officeboy where u buy the toshiba and what model and price u bought?
can i know? |
Feb 28 2006, 03:10 PM
buy from scenic IT , P70-540 , rm 4500 , 1 gb ram
Feb 28 2006, 03:28 PM
like wat williamngwl said, hynix actually have no problem at all, as u say about no brand....this have to consider whether he give you is the new ram or used ram ...... as wat i know toshiba able to support kingston ram and works fine...as most toshiba dealers seldom have problems with it.
and i have something to say to you that u may have worry but I still need to tell you as i scare got cheat, as this model m70-p540 origin specs is 256mb ddr2 and i scare they change the original 256mb that may be is infineon ram to hynix ram of 2 piece 512 or 1 pc 1gb...... able to confirm for me when u bought, did u look how they put it in the ram? |
Feb 28 2006, 03:35 PM
Feb 28 2006, 06:10 PM
2,410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
btw....u should use a toshiba certified ram.
Feb 28 2006, 06:49 PM
ya....thats correct....but the situation here is officeboy not really know wat ram used for toshiba and scare he got cheated...
Feb 28 2006, 09:52 PM
finally change ram , but still the same oem ram with hynix chipset
Feb 28 2006, 11:18 PM
Feb 28 2006, 11:31 PM
rm 270 for 1gb if not mistaken , and trade in 256mb ram (original was saumsung ram ) coz original price for notebook is rm4599 but after upgrade to 1 gb ram and bargain , i get rm4500 for the notebook n some free gift like optical mouse n noteboo lock
Mar 1 2006, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Feb 28 2006, 11:31 PM) rm 270 for 1gb if not mistaken , and trade in 256mb ram (original was saumsung ram ) coz original price for notebook is rm4599 but after upgrade to 1 gb ram and bargain , i get rm4500 for the notebook n some free gift like optical mouse n noteboo lock the sales person didnt warn u? if u take out the original ram from the nb n place 1gb ram into it will void the warranty covering the ram. so if there is anything spoil on the ram side, the SC will charge u for the parts for it. |
Mar 1 2006, 12:33 PM
i think that sales person just thinking of earn money so it rarely warns him about that... actually if from my suggestion is that use back the original 256mb ram of samsung and add another 1gb or 512mb ram then it will be enough... except if u really want exactly 1gb then do it at authorised toshiba dealer only.
right now....ur notebook is 99% warranty void.....hope you notice that.. |
Mar 1 2006, 09:42 PM
salesman say change ram won't void the warantee , only the case of change harddisk , not sure is that true
Mar 1 2006, 11:32 PM
Mar 2 2006, 11:52 AM
i agree with netto hikari, u can add on ram but not to take out and change the hardware inside especially notebook ram is the sensitive hardware and moreover diff volt or MHz of ram that mis together may cause some problem.
thats y u can see branded notebooks they only have one slot for u to open up and add in the ram... |
Mar 2 2006, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(bobby3006 @ Mar 2 2006, 11:52 AM) i agree with netto hikari, u can add on ram but not to take out and change the hardware inside especially notebook ram is the sensitive hardware and moreover diff volt or MHz of ram that mis together may cause some problem. to add in yor point. all branded ram has specific ram only can be added....or certified by ibm/toshiba/fujitsu/etc ram....thats y u can see branded notebooks they only have one slot for u to open up and add in the ram... |
Mar 2 2006, 05:16 PM
ic ....too bad
Mar 2 2006, 05:27 PM
sorry officeboy, didnt mean to insult u but is the truth
Mar 2 2006, 05:57 PM
if i change my ram to kingston ...is it ok ?
Mar 2 2006, 05:58 PM
or go back n buy back the original ram ?
Mar 2 2006, 05:59 PM
8,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think Hynix chips are overrated and overhyped, at least for notebooks.
I've used Kingston 2 X 512MB Hynix and previously the Kingston with 8 smaller chips type..NO DIFF! |
Mar 2 2006, 06:01 PM
1,249 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang at the 5th Mile to Banting |
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Feb 26 2006, 09:31 PM) hi, i have finally get a toshiba notebook , and upgrade to 1gb ram , but the seller give me hynix ram ....no name , my wonder is this type of ram better than the branded 1 like kingmax , kingston .... Wait what Toshiba Notebook Model Please..........currently, i have problem to boot up due to the ram , if allow to change ram , what brand of ram i should go for ? thank you |
Mar 2 2006, 07:24 PM
model M70-P540
Mar 2 2006, 07:28 PM
302 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
kingston is the best as there is lifetime warranty!
Mar 2 2006, 07:31 PM
283 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: On Socket 604 |
crucial memory... they provide guaranteed compatibility with notebook...
Mar 2 2006, 11:22 PM
shit ....suddently get the blue screen ...damn ...i guess the ram not support
Mar 3 2006, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Mar 2 2006, 11:22 PM) shit ....suddently get the blue screen ...damn ...i guess the ram not support just as expected. value ram cannot fit in toshiba laptops....even ibm/fujitsu must use certified ram. coz the price different alot..... |
Mar 6 2006, 06:06 PM
officeboy.....i will check with my friend of toshiba distributor today and see what mdoel of kingston RAM that they can recommend to me and i will post here so that u can check out the compability for your notebook. and
when u say they dont wan change to branded ram as their cost unable to cover the price u pay for....so they just put it some other ram i think....but i hope can help u solve ur problem soon..... |
Mar 6 2006, 09:53 PM
thanks bobby for ur kind work
Mar 6 2006, 10:18 PM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Apacer 1Gb DDR 2 can compatible with acer aspire 5610? i tot of using apacer by the way apacer good or not? thx
Mar 7 2006, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(bobby3006 @ Mar 6 2006, 06:06 PM) officeboy.....i will check with my friend of toshiba distributor today and see what mdoel of kingston RAM that they can recommend to me and i will post here so that u can check out the compability for your notebook. and http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurat...&submit1=Searchwhen u say they dont wan change to branded ram as their cost unable to cover the price u pay for....so they just put it some other ram i think....but i hope can help u solve ur problem soon..... KTT533D2/256 256mb ddr2 kinston certified toshiba ram. QUOTE(adventures18 @ Mar 6 2006, 10:18 PM) Apacer 1Gb DDR 2 can compatible with acer aspire 5610? i tot of using apacer by the way apacer good or not? thx mind yor manners...plz dont simply hijack others topic to ask about yor question. |
Mar 7 2006, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 7 2006, 01:14 AM) http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurat...&submit1=Search i m sorry, i tot it can ask for any kind of laptop ram problem.so dun want waste the forum resources...anyway if u think there is problem... i m sorryKTT533D2/256 256mb ddr2 kinston certified toshiba ram. mind yor manners...plz dont simply hijack others topic to ask about yor question. |
Mar 7 2006, 07:42 PM
1,249 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang at the 5th Mile to Banting |
I may be mistaken for DDR1 SODIMM there is no such thing as Proprietory RAM........All can use one...........DDR2 still the same..........all brands can use.........as Toshiba normally uses Hynix Chips !
Mar 7 2006, 11:36 PM
thanks again , Netto Hikari for your guidance
i go back pinpoint the problem to seller and chance their change the ram for me on second time ....but after all...as advice of seller , i re-format the notebook , now it seem work it might cause by the window itself by caching the error ? anyway , i need more time to test it out ... for adventures18 , it's ok to me if u ask the question about ur doubt , Netto Hikari , bobby and lgs are always help |
Mar 7 2006, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(officeBoy @ Mar 7 2006, 11:36 PM) thanks again , Netto Hikari for your guidance thx for ur understanding i go back pinpoint the problem to seller and chance their change the ram for me on second time ....but after all...as advice of seller , i re-format the notebook , now it seem work it might cause by the window itself by caching the error ? anyway , i need more time to test it out ... for adventures18 , it's ok to me if u ask the question about ur doubt , Netto Hikari , bobby and lgs are always help This post has been edited by adventures18: Mar 7 2006, 11:40 PM |
Mar 9 2006, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 7 2006, 01:14 AM) http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurat...&submit1=Search wow,many days i didnt online, too much work, anyway...as netto hikari quote is true , is using KTT ram not KVR....so i hope officeboy can solve it a.s.a.p so that the seller cant blame that u use it for so long then only say problem....u also know that they wan earn money but in terms of after sales service, is hard to get a nice service anymore in klang valley area...so have a nice day officeboy and thanks alot to netto hikari as he helps officeboy alot...keep this forum alive and helpful to other forumers.KTT533D2/256 256mb ddr2 kinston certified toshiba ram. mind yor manners...plz dont simply hijack others topic to ask about yor question. |
Mar 9 2006, 04:16 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
what are the good rams for acer notebooks?
about how much? |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:30 PM |