THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

davidlowjw
post Jan 14 2007, 10:29 PM

39 posts

Guys, I am going to buy a WRT54GL~
but I want to know how the third party firmware DD-WRT's Qos function works?
it only works on Ethernet ports or wifi as well? blink.gif
davidlowjw
post Jan 14 2007, 10:48 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jan 14 2007, 10:45 PM)
QOS working on LAN and WIFI to filter WIFI you can add their mac address in the DD-WRT QOS page :-)
thanks, is there any problems or bugs with WRT54GL ver 1.1?
otherwise, I will make my order tomorrow... rclxm9.gif
davidlowjw
post Feb 23 2007, 12:21 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Feb 23 2007, 03:53 AM)
i just found a way to limit each client bandwidth according to its MAC address. it quite simple actually...
Mind to share with us? brows.gif
davidlowjw
post Mar 27 2007, 09:28 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 27 2007, 01:21 PM)
how to set the QoS feature? seem like my fren still can download bt with high speed. Later i will post a screenshot of my config.
I think ur frenz have enable "Protocol Encryption", therefore the L7 layer detection doesn't work...

u might try "wrt54g script generator" to generate script that can limit the speed/connection of a specific mac/ip...
davidlowjw
post Mar 27 2007, 10:59 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 27 2007, 10:01 PM)
oh.. true also... then if i specify the port range how?
ya, then it will work...but make sure you have disabled the UPnP n ur fren dunno to change the port... cool2.gif

to t3rmig: how far is the range of ur antenna?? I am interested in doing such project in my area... drool.gif
davidlowjw
post Apr 1 2007, 06:47 PM

39 posts

ah_Hui, you have enabled the QoS function in DD-WRT, is it?
davidlowjw
post Apr 1 2007, 10:10 PM

39 posts

ah hui~
in ur previous post, you mentioned that you get 90kb/s after QoS...and without it is 400kb/s...

biggrin.gif i came out with a conclusion that...you have make a big mistake that you input inversely for the "uplink speed" and "downlink speed"...
most probably, you have mixed them up... cool2.gif

in fact, the function of Qos is Prioritize...Therefore, it doesn't make ur connection faster...

RyanTham, there is a "Help", appearing at every pages of DD-WRT control panel...on the right side...

This post has been edited by davidlowjw: Apr 1 2007, 10:12 PM
davidlowjw
post Apr 2 2007, 02:49 PM

39 posts

Opps, dun follow what is shown in the screenshot...
Do what azmihamzah has mentioned "always set the uplink/downlink speed at 80-90% of your actual broadband speed" ~

so you can have a speed test from TMnet Speedometer and calculate 80%-90% of ur speed...

Remember not to mix the uplink and downlink speed...btw, downlink always larger than uplink...
davidlowjw
post Oct 26 2007, 06:42 PM

39 posts

If you upgraded from another firmware, a complete reset is recommended. Go to Administration/Configuration and select "Erase all NVRAM..." after installing Tomato.

Source: Tomato FAQ
davidlowjw
post Oct 27 2007, 09:30 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Oct 27 2007, 03:14 AM)
I am a happy tomato user.
Me too, happy user of Tomato firmware.
My WRT54GL used to reboot itself/disconnect streamyx line after a few hours, with DD-WRT sad.gif
Now, flashed with Tomato, no frequent reboot or disconnection anymore rclxms.gif
Not to mention, its excellent QoS feature. biggrin.gif

0.0204sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:17 PM