THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

LittleGhost
post Dec 9 2006, 04:37 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(sky2006 @ Dec 9 2006, 01:41 PM)
my router runs dwrt, but now for a reason, i want to use back original firmware.

Can anyone advice the location of latest original firmware i can download?

TQ
google or linksys' website.

Oh, i just got my WRT54GL v1.1 and Aztech DSL600EU to replace my almost dying Prolink 9000G. Loaded DD-WRT, and now loving every inch of it. It's far more responsive and stable.

EDIT:
Nvm, self answered.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Dec 9 2006, 05:17 PM
LittleGhost
post Dec 9 2006, 07:53 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(sky2006 @ Dec 9 2006, 07:17 PM)
i hv searched almost everywhere, but still couldnt find wrt54g ver 3.1 firmware.

if u can help with the url, that'll be great!
do you specifically want the Ver 3.1?

http://www.wrtrouters.com/firmware/wrt54g/

This page includes the latest firmwares for the WRT54G, not sure if you want them though.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Dec 9 2006, 07:54 PM
LittleGhost
post Dec 27 2006, 10:29 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 27 2006, 02:56 AM)
Is every WRT54GL available in market is flashable to DD-WRT ?
yes, all WRT54GL in the market are flashable to DD-WRT, until or unless they decide to launch a newer revision with a few critical hardware changes.

LittleGhost
post Dec 30 2006, 02:32 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Dec 30 2006, 02:27 PM)
i am having wrt5gl version 1.1
is it correct to flash dd-wrt.v23_mini_generic.bin ..
then dd-wrt.v23_generic.bin ??? for dd-wrt version 23 SP2
You are correct.

if you need further information, please try this site also

http://www.andybswebsite.com/ddwrt3.php

very straight forward. Sweet sweet spoonfeeding article.
LittleGhost
post Jan 1 2007, 09:10 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Dec 31 2006, 01:06 AM)
any comments on linksys WRT54G v5?
i'm planning to buy one because can't find any GL
please give me feedback
You can get the GL version from Mika. It's cheaper than market price, and offers the same warranty.

LittleGhost
post Jan 5 2007, 11:57 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Prodigius @ Jan 5 2007, 11:34 AM)
erm...a newbie here, well i'd read thru lots of the forum threads regarding the linksys wrt54g, and apparently the only available wrt54g's in LYP are all v7 and cant be flashed with dd-wrt, correct me if i am wrong, where can i still find wrt54gl's? instead of looking for mika, is there really no more shops selling this model in LYP? I've been seaching around but all i can find is the basic wrt54g, i dun wanna get it coz it cant be flashed with a 3rd party firmware..
hope you guys can help out.. thanks alot..
why won't you get it from Mika?

He offers a legit receipt (from a well established shop), and original retail warranty.

It's so much cheaper than getting stuffs from LYP.
LittleGhost
post Jan 16 2007, 08:53 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

lol guys, i have a funny problem.

Whenever i was asked for a username and password to access the router, i will only have to enter the username correctly but not the password. I can simply put any password and it'll work too.

Anyone knows why this happened?

LittleGhost
post Jan 16 2007, 09:39 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Jan 16 2007, 09:06 AM)
bro what model of your router??
maybe little problem with the firmware,
or maybe this model just need the correct username to enter,
so u must assign a unic username to set in your router..
refer to my sig.

LittleGhost
post Feb 1 2007, 08:31 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

Guys, i have a few noobish questions regarding DD-WRT

1) It's true that the 218.XXX ip work better on my PC, i would love to get them whenever i connect to the internet again due to changed DD-WWRT settings or sudden disconnection. I always use the reboot router button to restart my router, if i do this frequently will it damage my router?

2) Next, is it neccessary i use QoS to reduce the router's load and probably give BT a nicer balance in terms of consistent speeds? I don't use QoS, but i don't really have problems with surfing + BT at almost full speeds without QoS on.

EDIT: Thanks

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Feb 1 2007, 08:32 AM
LittleGhost
post Feb 1 2007, 10:00 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Feb 1 2007, 09:11 AM)
1) Why do you have to reboot ? If you want to reconnect, go under Status and there is a section on Internet. Click disconnect and connect again.

2) If you don't have problems downloading with BT and doing other things at the same time, then just use it without QoS for full speed.
true true, thanks alot!
LittleGhost
post Feb 1 2007, 06:59 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Feb 1 2007, 06:56 PM)
now i have one problem... er.. should say problem since the day i use the router..

using one wired connection and one wireless connection...
i set max ip :4096..
timeout for both: 120.....
but me now encounter slow web browsing... bittorrent are not affected...
my active ip mostly around 1.8k....

after the wireless connection disconnect...
my web browsing speed back to normla..
and active ip around 1.1k...

using WRT54GL V1.1, DD-WRT V23 SP2 standard....
you should use QoS to prioritize the connections

Even with both BT and Emule on, my Active IP rarely hits 1k and above.

LittleGhost
post Mar 14 2007, 02:27 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 9 2007, 11:52 PM)
another question,

is it possible to implement script that will only find ip range 218.111.xxx.xxx for streamyx? Its available for pc using vbs...
i second this. Anyone mind helping?

Also, 218.111 are shitty these days. I get better speeds on 60.50.xxx.xxx.
LittleGhost
post Jun 28 2007, 02:08 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

hey guys,

How do i set dd-wrt so that it accepts CS 1.5 for lan gaming between my house buddies?

For some reasons, when my friend created a game via wireless connection, it doesnt show up on the list.
LittleGhost
post Jun 29 2007, 10:23 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

actually i think the problem is with the windows LAN configuration.

I created a game and no one can detect it at all sad.gif
LittleGhost
post Jul 1 2007, 08:16 AM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

erm is it neccessary?

I mean since all pcs are connected via router and port forward only matters with outside internet connection?

Oh well, i guess i'll have to try to find out XD
LittleGhost
post Jan 2 2008, 06:54 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

hey guys, i have a question for QOS.

So let's say i have a few people using wireless and another set of people using the Ethernet line. Router = Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 flashed with V23.

Problem is, how does i setup QoS so it's limitations are imposed on individual users (individual ips of each computer), instead of the services?

I tried adding the list of ips to Netmask Priority, changing the priority there, and leaving all other settings by default. Am i doing it right? Does not seem to work very smoothly sometimes when my housemate is raping the line with porn downloading. EDIT: The key here is to QOS my housemate's PC only while leaving other pcs normal because that idiot needs a lesson taught.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Jan 2 2008, 06:55 PM
LittleGhost
post Jan 3 2008, 12:40 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

thanks alot! From prasys' review, tomato does seem much more appealing than DD-wrt. Meh, cant flash it to tomato now, finals, no time at all.

Btw, i believe bittorrent is not the only thing he's using to dl porns and stuffs. laugh.gif

Does your method work by throttling ANY packets coming from my friend's pc from his ip in specific? (more like i'm going to down prioritize every single thing coming from his pc)
LittleGhost
post Jan 3 2008, 05:48 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

again thanks alot guys, really appreciate it.

mikelanding, your method is too extreme haha. My objective is simple, it's to prioritize my friend's packet to the lowest priority. So every other pc's packets gets to be processed first instead of his. Erm, it's not throttling but prioritizing.

LittleGhost
post Feb 2 2008, 01:30 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

hey guys, i need help.

just installed Tomato and i need to down prioritize my idiotic housemate's PC.

Let's say, his network ip is 192.168.1.104. I want to down prioritize THAT particular ip only. Meaning, i want every single data requested or sent from that IP down prioritized. Other PCs of course, left unaltered. How does i achieve that? Seems to be Tomato's QoS does not support internal network regulation.

I've had enough of the idiot downloading everyday and even when i have bigger shits to do. Too tired at shouting at him everytime. Waste me and my other housemate's time. I'd just want to cripple his line and that is all.

This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Feb 2 2008, 01:31 PM
LittleGhost
post Feb 2 2008, 02:24 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Feb 2 2008, 01:53 PM)
Did u try use MAC address(Src Mac) at the QoS?
Aiyo..better la..just use Access Restriction...block all his traffic!! when he come to contront U..just said all pc are ok..except him...bluf him that his Pc lan got problem...IP address problem..bla bla ( u know those shit)... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Hmmm, doesnt quite work for the first sentence. It doesnt not have any specific settings to down prioritize individual ips.

lol, i didnt want to use full restriction. It's pointless. We did something even more straight forward, e.g. pulling out his plug, but shittily it's futile. Finally we came to the agreement that if he wants to download then it's fine. Precisely why we chose to down prioritize every single connection of his computer since he's the only moron who downloads everyday. sad.gif

0.0497sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:28 AM