OKLY
post Sep 28 2006, 03:35 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(izzani @ Sep 28 2006, 03:22 PM)
eh if i buy a WRT54G v5 i can flash to ddwrt sp2? hardyboyz said that i must buy WRT54GL. what should i do?
You still can flash it to DD-WRT but it's a little more hassle as you will need a JTAG cable to flash DD-WRT for a WRT54G v5. Besides, it has less RAM which could also mean less stability compared to the others.
OKLY
post Sep 28 2006, 05:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Sep 28 2006, 04:38 PM)
WRT54G v5 can also be flashed with the dd-wrt micro (not mini) which has the essential functions of dd-wrt wihout any JTAG cable
Cool, but if you were given a chance to choose to take WRT54GL or WRT54G v5, which would you prefer ? The WRT54GL has more RAM in addition too. biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Sep 28 2006, 10:55 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(izzani @ Sep 28 2006, 10:43 PM)
1. Oh then if i buy WRT54G v5 i can use micro to flash it?
2. If i buy WRT54GL i use mini to flash it?
2. Which is better WRT54G v5  or WRT54GL ?
WRT54GL would be better as it has more RAM to handle heavier load compared to WRT54G v5.
OKLY
post Sep 28 2006, 11:33 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(osxchd @ Sep 28 2006, 10:56 PM)
GL flash mini then only standard / any other firmware...

which is better i dunno but i think prasys will intro u to buy GL because GL=Gv4!
This is the recommended steps for first time users of DD-WRT :

Linksys WRT54G/GS (any version) flashing notes:
---------------------------------------------------
-For upgrading from the original Linksys firmware, please use the generic mini version (dd-wrt.vXX_mini_generic.bin) and flash it from the web GUI interface. After this first flashing you can change to any other distribution, if you want.
-For flashing via the web GUI interface, always use the included 'generic' binaries. The other Linksys router specific binaries are only meant for tftp upgrades.

This post has been edited by hardyboyz888: Sep 28 2006, 11:33 PM
OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 01:01 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Sep 29 2006, 07:03 AM)
I am sorry if the Qs I'm going to ask already been discussed. I want to ask few Qs about the router.

1. What is the function of 'Overclocking' in the Administration? If I choose higher freq what is the effect to the router / router perfomance / internet perfomance? Currently the freq of my router is 216Mhz.

2. If I turn off the firewall option the router, what is the effect to the router / router perfomance / internet perfomance? Currently the firewall is enabled.

3. In wireless option, if I adjust the Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing) to lower value, what is the effect? Currently I set the value to 500.

The current is:
Wireless - Security enabled (WPA2 Pre-Shared Key - AES + TKIP)
Firewall - Enabled
IP Filter Settings - 4096 / 120 /120
Freq - 216Mhz

For information I'm using Streamyx 512kbps package and using this router with 2 PCs (LAN) and 3 Notebooks (WiFi). The router is Linksys WRT54G with firmware version DD-WRT v23 SP2 (09/15/06) std - build 3932.

Thanks in advance, Cheers.
1. Overclocking will help out to process faster if there is alot of users connected to the router thus reducing lags. If there is like 2-3 PCs connecting to it, no noticable difference can be spotted.

2. If you turn off firewall, you will reduce some load on the router. For me, I prefer to turn off the firewall as I do not want to put too much load on the router.

3. The article on this is very long so I can't post it here. I will just give you the link which can be found here.

Hope this helps. smile.gif

OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 04:25 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Sep 29 2006, 04:24 PM)
then if i open the router cover will brake the warranty sticker.. then no more warranty la? hmmm....
Yes you are right. Any modifications done to the router will void the warranty.

OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 05:27 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 29 2006, 05:15 PM)
This includes flashing any other firmwares besides Linksys' Firmware
I remembered I sent my old Linksys WRT54G back for RMA with the DD-WRT firmware flashed and they still gave me a 1-to-1 exchange. biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 11:19 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(juDas_x @ Sep 29 2006, 11:04 PM)
anybody knows where I can get the WRT54GL with reasonable prices?
How about our forum's bulk on Linksys WRT54GL by richx ? More information can be found here. biggrin.gif

OKLY
post Sep 30 2006, 09:03 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Sep 30 2006, 06:54 AM)
i got my WRT54G version 2.2 router a year ago

was using the linksys firmware all the while,on BT long hour aslo no problem

but recently the router keep hang after 2 hour of BT,i even upgrade to the latest firmware which was 4.30.5 and my router was rename as WRT54GL instead of WRT54G,but nothing seem to be improve.Now, i was thinking to upgrade to DD-WRT firmware.

i went to the dd-wrt website,i don't know what file are needed to be download,there are just too many file list on the download page. and aslo any step need to do before flashing to dd-wrt,i don't want to screw up my router.
You can download the DD-WRT mini version using this link. Then, look for a file named dd-wrt.v23_sp2_mini_generic.bin, use that file to flash it to your WRT54G first. After completing the flash, now proceed to reset your router to factory default settings. After resetting, use a file named dd-wrt.v23_sp2_mini_wrt54g.bin to flash it to your router. After flashing is complete, reset your router to factory default settings and you are done. Please remember to do the flashing via wired LAN.

This post has been edited by hardyboyz888: Sep 30 2006, 09:04 AM
OKLY
post Sep 30 2006, 01:00 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Sep 30 2006, 12:50 PM)
after i flash the dd-wrt.v23_sp2_mini_generic.bin

they ask for my password...i try the normal linksys firmware password

access denied...wtf...need help guys
Default for DD-WRT is :

username - root
password - admin

OKLY
post Sep 30 2006, 01:35 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Sep 30 2006, 01:32 PM)
Using v23 currently,should I flash to v23 sp2?Will it make much differences?Using v3.1,thanks in advance.
Yes. There are several fixes in the SP2. smile.gif
OKLY
post Sep 30 2006, 03:54 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

@sky2006

1) Yes you can upgrade to that if you will be using the VPN feature in it.

2) Well, the more features it has the less free RAM memory the router would have too.

3) Of course you can use the mini version. This is recommended if you won't be using those additional features that the other version of DD-WRT has.
OKLY
post Oct 2 2006, 05:19 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Well, 240MHz is good enough though. Even running with stock 200MHz gives good performance too. biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Oct 2 2006, 06:54 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Oct 2 2006, 06:26 PM)
You don't need to install the wrt54g specific version. That one was made for TFTP'ing to the box. If you can upgrade via webadmin, you can just use the generic version.
They were asking to flash to other version so I gave them that recommended steps as stated by the DD-WRT team. biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Oct 2 2006, 08:09 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Oct 2 2006, 07:14 PM)
just to reconfirm , I am using WRT54G v5. So I should download the DD-WRT v23 SP2 micro generic version ? http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads.php (is this the correct one) ?

Does this comes with PPPoE ?

Thanks smile.gif
Yes for WRT54G v5 you should be using the micro version of DD-WRT. What do you mean by comes with PPPoE ?
OKLY
post Oct 2 2006, 09:33 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Sure thing. It is much improved in the SP2 now. smile.gif
OKLY
post Oct 3 2006, 03:03 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Oct 3 2006, 10:47 AM)
hey !! I just screwed up my router . I go back the same link u all mention which is correct. I try to update it , in the end it shows failed. After I restart my router , kaboommeed. My power led is blinking , while my network activity led still got blink ???

what to do now ? ping to 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.1 all failed
Your router is confirmed bricked in this case. Read this on how to recover from a bad flash. Good luck.
OKLY
post Oct 4 2006, 06:45 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I wonder why you have so much of free RAM memory left.
OKLY
post Oct 4 2006, 01:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Oct 4 2006, 09:49 AM)
i oso experiencing tis too...if someone with wifi doing some heavy downloading....then i cannot surf net even i m on the fixed lan line...hv to reboot the router...
If I remembered correctly the WRT family routers do have some stability issue when wireless LAN is in use. Somehow it just slows down the router alot.
OKLY
post Oct 4 2006, 05:19 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Mine is 14.7MB in total and I always have like 0.3MB free RAM memory left. sad.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0576sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:15 AM