Xbox still worth buying?

TSPro-MX
post Feb 26 2006, 01:13 AM, updated 20y ago

Izay
1,259 posts

hi guys i am on a tight budget and wanted to ask opinions from fellow Xbox gamers if Xbox is still worth buying?...i mean will there be new games coming out for Xbox for the next two years or so?....cause Xbox graphic capabilities are still quite amazing...i was thinking of buying PS2 but the graphics on that console kinda suck but i love playing RPG"S and heard that ps2 slim has weak lense and cannot play for long hours sweat.gif
ps: i was asking this question on the forum for months already and not yet decided.....no fanboys comments plz....i wan a good answer wub.gif

This post has been edited by Pro-MX: Feb 26 2006, 01:15 AM
Dothan
post Feb 26 2006, 01:22 AM

Dingle Berries
1,053 posts

slim PS2 got weak lense? You play ahem disc will weak whatever drive smile.gif
6GDominator
post Feb 26 2006, 01:31 AM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

sorry to say that if you love RPG and you decided to buty Xbox then you have to sell it fast because Xbox hardly i mean very hard to buy RPG games.
duke_hunt
post Feb 26 2006, 01:34 AM

259 posts

well...not to worry coz there will be games develop for xbox...had my xbox nearly a year although i know that xbox360 will be launch this year....
still, no regret in buying this...

like this, if you wanna play rpg or to get a lot of games, i'll suggest you get a ps2....i'm not sure bout the lifespan of the lens either playing "ahem" dvd games or original dvd games...if i'm not mistaken, ps2 can play dvd movies as well but there are button combinations u have to press on the ps2 so that it can play dvd movies...

if you wanna do more than just play games such as stream movies to your game console, play games without using your dvd, a game console being a whole entertainment system, get yourself an xbox....thats what i did...i'm not an xbox fanboy but for me, i chose practicality....my xbox as a total entertainment center, game console and movie player all in one...oh yeah, ps2 got no hdd but xbox got..and can upgrade to bigger hdd...mine is 80 gig yet still not enough....but..xbox very vvvveeeeeerrryyyy hard to get rpg games.....

conclusion:
if big rpg fan.....go get ps2.....

if not, i would suggest xbox.....

if wanna play Final Fantasy XI ...hahaha...it will be on xbox 360....so, save some money then get xbox 360.....

the choise is yours...

This post has been edited by duke_hunt: Feb 26 2006, 01:42 AM
TSPro-MX
post Feb 26 2006, 01:44 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

hmm...to be honest wif u all ..... i onli can afford to buy "ahem" games...and for all i know i saw shops that sell "ahem" xbox games as well but heard no complaining about compatibility problem wif certain games unlike the PS2....and yes i love the fact that Xbox could play custom soundtrack while u playing game and all is media center capabilities.... the game looks frickin sharp on the Xbox but obviously its not as good as Xbox 360....anyway i need more suggestion and comments....so more ppl plz drop by and give more comments and suggestion!!
ps: btw i dun play online games on consoles...and i dun play p2p online games....i onli play Guild Wars at the moments which is free wub.gif ...anyway i need more suggestion !! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Pro-MX: Feb 26 2006, 01:48 AM
duke_hunt
post Feb 26 2006, 01:55 AM

259 posts

try visit this website
http://www.xbox-scene.com

lots of info to get more from the xbox console....
includes forums and tutorials as well....
hope this will help in making ur decision on which game console u want to get..
judge-the
post Feb 26 2006, 07:43 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Feb 26 2006, 01:34 AM)
well...not to worry coz there will be games develop for xbox...had my xbox nearly a year although i know that xbox360 will be launch this year....
still, no regret in buying this...

like this, if you wanna play rpg or to get a lot of games, i'll suggest you get a ps2....i'm not sure bout the lifespan of the lens either playing "ahem" dvd games or original dvd games...if i'm not mistaken, ps2 can play dvd movies as well but there are button combinations u have to press on the ps2 so that it can play dvd movies...

if you wanna do more than just play games such as stream movies to your game console, play games without using your dvd, a game console being a whole entertainment system, get yourself an xbox....thats what i did...i'm not an xbox fanboy but for me, i chose practicality....my xbox as a total entertainment center, game console and movie player all in one...oh yeah, ps2 got no hdd but xbox got..and can upgrade to bigger hdd...mine is 80 gig yet still not enough....but..xbox very vvvveeeeeerrryyyy hard to get rpg games.....

conclusion:
if big rpg fan.....go get ps2.....

if not, i would suggest xbox.....

if wanna play Final Fantasy XI ...hahaha...it will be on xbox 360....so, save some money then get xbox 360.....

the choise is yours...
yup agree with you. just wanna add some extra info, it's true the slim ps2 cannot play for longer hrs due to its lens but you have to remember that slim ps2 anything rosak wont cost much to repair for example the lens lah. the old fat ps2 can play longer hrs but if the lens died you habislah cost you at least rm200-300 smile.gif

there are still games coming for xbox. dont think so more games coming for the next 2 year. most of the developer will move into 360 soon. if you got extra $$$ invest in 360 now because now everything must be ori smile.gif

it's your call. both ps2 and xbox sure got plus points and everything is up to you. unless you ended up like me bought both smile.gif
Tm89
post Feb 26 2006, 09:22 AM

.Master of Pupu.
1,780 posts

terus buy the nxt gen ony lor
TSPro-MX
post Feb 26 2006, 10:27 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 26 2006, 07:43 AM)
yup agree with you. just wanna add some extra info, it's true the slim ps2 cannot play for longer hrs due to its lens but you have to remember that slim ps2 anything rosak wont cost much to repair for example the lens lah. the old fat ps2 can play longer hrs but if the lens died you habislah cost you at least rm200-300 smile.gif

there are still games coming for xbox. dont think so more games coming for the next 2 year. most of the developer will move into 360 soon. if you got extra $$$ invest in 360 now because now everything must be ori smile.gif

it's your call. both ps2 and xbox sure got plus points and everything is up to you. unless you ended up like me bought both smile.gif
finally i got opinion from owners of both Xbox and PS2 haha.....yea i already expected all next-gen system would need to go ori already so i am still waiting for all 3 next-gen system to come out onli see which one is the best to buy....but now my budget very tight ...yes i could afford a X360 but i cant afford the games in the long term...unless my dad support me wif money to buy the games lar sweat.gif ...i found Xbox very tempting to buy cause its price is reasonable now...cheaper than PS2....thanks for all the opinion.....i think i shall decide based of all of ur opinions notworthy.gif
xxboxx
post Feb 26 2006, 10:37 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,258 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Feb 26 2006, 01:13 AM)
i mean will there be new games coming out for Xbox for the next two years or so?
you go straight buy like 50 titles or more and you're pretty much confirm will be playing xbox for 2 more years.
pirateguy
post Feb 26 2006, 02:19 PM

1,409 posts

To make Xbox more value for your money, use it as media centre (XMBC) or to emulate old consoles (NES,SNES,Neo Geo, Megadrive, GBA, etc).

prazole
post Feb 26 2006, 02:41 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

like everyone said.. buying xbox for RPG is like.. probably not a good choice..
ya. it has some good western type RPG.. not ur regular japanese RPG..
plus not many of them.. can count with one hand..

for myself i like XBOX for more arcadish game.. and DOA series..
right now.. its my XBMC.. can't live without it.. seriously!
TSPro-MX
post Feb 26 2006, 11:05 PM

Izay
1,259 posts

yea i played DOA on Xbox before......and i love it.....but so far i onli like 1 game in the XBOX... and i dun know how to mod it to XBMC i scared something bad will happen to the Xbox if i dun know how to do it
TSPro-MX
post Feb 26 2006, 11:11 PM

Izay
1,259 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 26 2006, 10:37 AM)
you go straight buy like 50 titles or more and you're pretty much confirm will be playing xbox for 2 more years.
yea i know...but i am not really interested in playing FPS on a console and i know Xbox has lots of FPS ...i prefer mouse control thumbup.gif ...i still love Xbox for some reason....i love the logo sweat.gif and also the "under the hood" specs which makes games like halo 2 looks so good
sniper82
post Feb 27 2006, 12:03 AM

324 posts

Long live the xbox

i already had my xbox almost 1 yaer now the main fuction of it is to play mp3 watch dvd and home entertainment.....

as xbmc still developing there is no limit to this consoles hope the open dash project complted and we have a legal dashboard for xbox.....

There is rpg game like jade empire and fable (still havent finished...)

but xbox rock at FPS and driving simulation FORZA

cheers
Zerol
post Feb 27 2006, 01:14 PM

379 posts

Not to mention the Xbox have games like Star Wars: KOTOR, Crimson Skies: HRTR, Project Gotham Racing and the highly unique JSRF if you can still find it.

This post has been edited by Zerol: Feb 27 2006, 01:16 PM
yoroi
post Feb 27 2006, 01:58 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

the xbox is worth buying due to its current price but if you can wait best to put the money aside and save for the xbox 360
nshady
post Feb 27 2006, 07:24 PM

354 posts

Halo 3 is on X-box 360 but not xbox , it's just like Ps1 after Ps2 being released.
judge-the
post Feb 27 2006, 09:36 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

hmmm just wondering how much will the old xbox price drop after the singapore launch... hehehe
TSPro-MX
post Feb 28 2006, 12:43 AM

Izay
1,259 posts

it will drop a lot i guess....anyway i bought a ps2 from Djinn... since i love the DMC series and FF series so much.....anyway i might be buying an Xbox soon due to my interest of certain games on the Xbox.....or i might be buying X360 if it will be able to play "ahem" games sweat.gif
ps:after the singapore launch?....sure the price will drop more for the Xbox...maybe can get for 500-600 that time since Xbox 360 price also will go down to around RM1600 i guess wub.gif

This post has been edited by Pro-MX: Feb 28 2006, 12:44 AM

0.0161sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:45 AM