Headlight coating? or is it tinting?, coating? tinting? coloring?

TSradi0head
post Oct 23 2012, 10:47 PM, updated 14y ago

A Shocker
2,759 posts

Hi all roadster. Did a search in the forum but I can't find any info about this. Lately, I saw alot of cars being new or old and I saw their headlight got some kind of coating which a transparent headlight will have a coating like it's in blueish and some are in cromax color. I see that it's nice. Besides being nice, I'm sure it will protect the headlight as well.

Any idea what treatment it is and where it's being done? hmm.gif
Thank you.

wink.gif

Itsuki_Kun
post Oct 24 2012, 12:20 AM

54 posts

That is sticker.. And not tinting.. But hor.. Some car will cause damage after stick the sticker... Especially proton... =.=" victim here..

Added on October 24, 2012, 12:21 amAnd mostly auto accessories will do.. And.. Price about 30~60++ like that..

This post has been edited by Itsuki_Kun: Oct 24 2012, 12:21 AM
WieBoy
post Oct 24 2012, 01:31 PM

33 posts

bro, you sure will damage the lamp? Have done to my car on blue tint. According to the tint shop, it can be remove, it will not damage ur lamp. erm need some advice here cuz i have just stick it for 5months.
Naughty_Kidz
post Oct 25 2012, 05:14 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Itsuki_Kun @ Oct 24 2012, 12:20 AM)
That is sticker.. And not tinting.. But hor.. Some car will cause damage after stick the sticker... Especially proton... =.=" victim here..

Added on October 24, 2012, 12:21 amAnd mostly auto accessories will do.. And.. Price about 30~60++ like that..
hii .bro .. wad do u mean by damage ? isit it will permantely stick on the headlamp cover after long time use .
masao343
post Oct 25 2012, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(WieBoy @ Oct 24 2012, 01:31 PM)
bro, you sure will damage the lamp? Have done to my car on blue tint. According to the tint shop, it can be remove, it will not damage ur lamp. erm need some advice here cuz i have just stick it for 5months.
personally, i'd suggest those with plastic headlamps not to tint it.
malaysian sun.... might cause permanent effects on the headlamps? hmm.gif
AMDAthlon
post Oct 25 2012, 06:27 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Any recomended place to do this in kl?
Naughty_Kidz
post Oct 26 2012, 03:47 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Oct 25 2012, 05:25 PM)
personally, i'd suggest those with plastic headlamps not to tint it.
malaysian sun.... might cause permanent effects on the headlamps?  hmm.gif
im not sure about the problem is at te tint film or the headlamp itself ?
some of my fren told me this problem will occur if tint it ..
the 2nd problem is u will got problem with JPJ as well ..
is illegal to tint ..

Added on October 26, 2012, 3:47 am
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Oct 25 2012, 06:27 PM)
Any recomended place to do this in kl?
any accessories shop will do ..

This post has been edited by Naughty_Kidz: Oct 26 2012, 03:47 AM
ben3003
post Oct 26 2012, 08:13 AM

10,859 posts

there is an headlamp protector, totally clear transparent, but save ur headlamp from become brittle and yellowish and got white spot, in other words, save it from sun. use good quality one, then u can save ur headlamp. i used the one from germany, car detailer give me free becos i do coating at the shop, normally cost u 100-200.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 26 2012, 08:14 AM
Naughty_Kidz
post Oct 29 2012, 05:19 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 26 2012, 08:13 AM)
there is an headlamp protector, totally clear transparent, but save ur headlamp from become brittle and yellowish and got white spot, in other words, save it from sun. use good quality one, then u can save ur headlamp. i used the one from germany, car detailer give me free becos i do coating at the shop, normally cost u 100-200.
+1 thumbup.gif
ben3003
post Oct 29 2012, 06:36 PM

10,859 posts

The boss also test the strength, can tahan pull like those invincible shield won't puncture.. I think worth la.. can protect 3-5 yrs, take off headlamp still new.. remember buy good one, else u having trouble taking off later
Naughty_Kidz
post Oct 29 2012, 07:58 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 29 2012, 06:36 PM)
The boss also test the strength, can tahan pull like those invincible shield won't puncture.. I think worth la.. can protect 3-5 yrs, take off headlamp still new.. remember buy good one, else u having trouble taking off later
agree , those cheaper type will end up with the tint permanent stick on ur headlamp ..
ben3003
post Oct 29 2012, 08:22 PM

10,859 posts

I think those color one will.. cos tis one is like very flexi.. the tint headlamp if like car tint very keras one..
InfinityHD
post Sep 28 2013, 01:45 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Oct 23 2012, 10:47 PM)
Hi all roadster. Did a search in the forum but I can't find any info about this. Lately, I saw alot of cars being new or old and I saw their headlight got some kind of coating which a transparent headlight will have a coating like it's in blueish and some are in cromax color. I see that it's nice. Besides being nice, I'm sure it will protect the headlight as well.

Any idea what treatment it is and where it's being done?  hmm.gif
Thank you.

wink.gif
Hi, there, I do a head lamp spray coating today, the coating specialist spray coat a nanotechnology head lamp laquer on my Toyota Wish head lamp, which claim that the laquer contains uv protection toward sunlight, without this protection the head lamp tend to crack and became yellowish after sometime. After sprayed, my Wish head lamp look like new and got warranty 2 years some more.
psycho1
post Sep 28 2013, 02:16 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(InfinityHD @ Sep 28 2013, 01:45 PM)
Hi, there, I do a head lamp spray coating today, the coating specialist spray coat a nanotechnology head lamp laquer on my Toyota Wish head lamp, which claim that the laquer contains uv protection toward sunlight, without this protection the head lamp tend to crack and became yellowish after sometime. After sprayed, my Wish head lamp look like new and got warranty 2 years some more.
How much? And where to do it?
psycho1
post Sep 28 2013, 02:17 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(InfinityHD @ Sep 28 2013, 01:45 PM)
How much? And where to do it?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 29 2013, 01:04 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Itsuki_Kun @ Oct 24 2012, 12:20 AM)

what kind of damage?
teikwing
post Sep 29 2013, 10:42 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

The ones that you mentioned are color tint film for headlamps which offers very minimal protection against yellowing & stone chips as it is purely for looks. They are very thin in thickness.

If you wanted proper protection then go for 3M VentureShield. It's 6mm in thickness. Cost about RM200-300 for a pair of headlamps + foglamps. The only downside is they are not colored.
Itsuki_Kun
post Sep 29 2013, 11:06 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 29 2013, 01:04 AM)
what kind of damage?
Here's the picture..
Model : Proton Saga FLX

I've using it till 2 weeks like that it appear the scratching like that.. not exterior.. is interior.. and then I quickly tear it off after noticed it. Then my friend say maybe the heat got blocked by the sticker and can't release, that's why it got scratched inside.. 1 of my friend's Satria NEO also got kind of this problem..
and I noticed KIA Forte also cannot use headlamp sticker too..

This post has been edited by Itsuki_Kun: Sep 29 2013, 11:07 AM
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 29 2013, 03:40 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Itsuki_Kun @ Sep 29 2013, 11:06 AM)
Here's the picture..

I've using it till 2 weeks like that it appear the scratching like that.. not exterior.. is interior.. and then I quickly tear it off after noticed it. Then my friend say maybe the heat got blocked by the sticker and can't release, that's why it got scratched inside.. 1 of my friend's Satria NEO also got kind of this problem..
I believe the heat from the bulb when in used is much higher and hotter than the "trapped" heat due to the sticker. So I don't think what your friend mentioned is logical.

it could be the intense heat from the heat gun/blower that is used during installation that causes this.
Itsuki_Kun
post Sep 29 2013, 10:13 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 29 2013, 03:40 PM)
I believe the heat from the bulb when in used is much higher and hotter than the "trapped" heat due to the sticker.  So I don't think what your friend mentioned is logical.

it could be the intense heat from the heat gun/blower that is used during installation that causes this.
But it's impossible they use heat gun to blow the flat face right ? mostly they blow to curve area.. but the problem is it got crack at flat face..
Sasafaye
post Mar 14 2016, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Itsuki_Kun @ Sep 29 2013, 11:06 AM)
Here's the picture..

Yes, my FLX also got scratches inside the lamp after tinted for 2 weeks.. immediately tear it off... regret that i tint it... sad.gif
Sasafaye
post Mar 14 2016, 12:03 PM

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 29 2013, 03:40 PM)
I believe the heat from the bulb when in used is much higher and hotter than the "trapped" heat due to the sticker.  So I don't think what your friend mentioned is logical.

I don't think it's the blower during installation that cause scratches, because the scratches will keep increasing day by day after installation.
lsm1991
post Mar 14 2016, 12:07 PM

309 posts

yeah guys, the cracks are called 'craze', just fyi. thumbup.gif
happens to these plastic headlights under the sun
mine has so much of that, i dont even know what to do lol

**ohh yes, should mention that, it can be dealt with if it isnt too bad**

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Mar 14 2016, 12:08 PM
Sasafaye
post Mar 14 2016, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 14 2016, 12:07 PM)
yeah guys, the cracks are called 'craze', just fyi. thumbup.gif
happens to these plastic headlights under the sun
mine has so much of that, i dont even know what to do lol

**ohh yes, should mention that, it can be dealt with if it isnt too bad**
Hi, do you know how to repair the scratches? Or need to buy new headlamp ?? cry.gif
lsm1991
post Mar 14 2016, 12:16 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Sasafaye @ Mar 14 2016, 12:13 PM)
Hi, do you know how to repair the scratches? Or need to buy new headlamp ??  cry.gif
blink.gif gave you the keyword, u can google it now....

basically u need to polish it, use sandpaper if nessasary
*again, only if it isnt too bad*
Sasafaye
post Mar 14 2016, 12:20 PM

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 14 2016, 12:16 PM)
blink.gif gave you the keyword, u can google it now....

basically u need to polish it, use sandpaper if nessasary
*again, only if it isnt too bad*
Okay thanks, guess i need to open the headlamp to do it cause the craze is on the inside... Thanks anyway! rclxms.gif
lsm1991
post Mar 14 2016, 12:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Sasafaye @ Mar 14 2016, 12:20 PM)
Okay thanks, guess i need to open the headlamp to do it cause the craze is on the inside... Thanks anyway!  rclxms.gif
ehhh!!!! nuuuuu.... fairly certain its on the outside
6UE5T
post Mar 14 2016, 03:19 PM

1,704 posts

If the hazing and scratches are already too bad, maybe better just replace with new cover coz it might not cost as much as you think. For my car, it's apparently cost only about rm120 to replace with new ones.
lsm1991
post Mar 14 2016, 03:50 PM

309 posts

hoho mine cannot even cari good condition headlights... mau custom buat also duo where to go.... ahh welp, just live with it i guess
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 14 2016, 03:19 PM)
If the hazing and scratches are already too bad, maybe better just replace with new cover coz it might not cost as much as you think. For my car, it's apparently cost only about rm120 to replace with new ones.
I already asked how much for my new headlight, it is RM400 plus for one set. cry.gif cry.gif
invisibl3boyz
post Mar 15 2016, 11:38 AM

244 posts

most of new car nowadays no need tint alrdy, coz the material built to release the heat or such, if u stick it will somehow damage the glass, at least thats what the tint shop guy told me, and my car headlamp still ok after 3 years without tint now..
Izwan898
post Mar 15 2016, 11:44 AM

MrNastey
937 posts

U park direct under sunlight? or have changed headlight bulbs?
6UE5T
post Mar 15 2016, 12:01 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Sasafaye @ Mar 15 2016, 11:32 AM)
I already asked how much for my new headlight, it is RM400 plus for one set.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Not the whole light housing, just the clear lens only!
M4YH3M
post Mar 15 2016, 12:19 PM

67 posts

firstly, congratz to you guys for successfully necro'ing a 3yr old thread tongue.gif

now, just to add based on my experience, if you have a new car, theres no need to apply the tint. The reason is to apply the tint, they will sandpaper/polish your brand new headlights. Then to stick it, they will blow heatgun to the headlight, which due to high temp might cause it produce fine cracks like the pic shown by on poster. Its pointless as these procedures will spoil your new headlights when theres no need to do so in the first place.

But.. if you have a 10yr old car with already yellowish plus cracking headlights and dont want to cough up rm400 to replace just the headlamp cover, this is a fantastic solution to that. Just pay around rm150 and you can have your headlights looking brand new and in colors as well. The fine cracks wont be that noticeable but the yellowish hue might remain a little after applying a clear tint (only if viewed from close range) and if you apply dark colored tint, both the cracks and the yellowish tint will be gone.

PS: dont touch the tint for a day or two after applying it, but leaving it under the sun is okay. Just ignore the temptation to remove any bubbles that might form and it will go away in 2-3 days time. Learnt this the hard way mad.gif
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 15 2016, 12:01 PM)
Not the whole light housing, just the clear lens only!
New car don't sell the lens only, they sell for the whole set though. Of course I would buy the lens only if they have it on sale.
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(invisibl3boyz @ Mar 15 2016, 11:38 AM)
most of new car nowadays no need tint alrdy, coz the material built to release the heat or such, if u stick it will somehow damage the glass, at least thats what the tint shop guy told me, and my car headlamp still ok after 3 years without tint now..
Tinted it because it looks cool with darker headlight not because of yellowish or other thing.. biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Mar 15 2016, 02:40 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Sasafaye @ Mar 15 2016, 02:35 PM)
New car don't sell the lens only, they sell for the whole set though. Of course I would buy the lens only if they have it on sale.
Oh so for your car not available separately? Hmm I guess not your luck then. smile.gif Other option is try to find in chop shops if available.
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 15 2016, 02:40 PM)
Oh so for your car not available separately? Hmm I guess not your luck then.  smile.gif  Other option is try to find in chop shops if available.
Nah, my car is still new in town. Maybe if my car is 10 years old then there will be separate parts for sale. lol
rcracer
post Mar 15 2016, 02:47 PM

?????
3,772 posts

use plasti dip 'smoke' color

can peel off
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 15 2016, 02:47 PM)
use plasti dip 'smoke' color

can peel off
Where to get it?
rcracer
post Mar 15 2016, 03:02 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Sasafaye @ Mar 15 2016, 02:50 PM)
Where to get it?
ace hardware, lelong, mudah
Sasafaye
post Mar 15 2016, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 15 2016, 03:02 PM)
ace hardware, lelong, mudah
Okay thank you so much !! icon_rolleyes.gif
killerpigglet
post Mar 30 2016, 03:16 AM

135 posts

anyone know where to get clear coat to spray on headlight? Cant seem to find it anywhere.
ZZR-Pilot
post Mar 30 2016, 08:46 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Mar 30 2016, 04:16 AM)
anyone know where to get clear coat to spray on headlight? Cant seem to find it anywhere.
Clear spray anywhere can buy. Clear spray with UV inhibitor, I've been looking for that too for my headlamps... then I gave up & decided to tint them.
lsm1991
post Mar 30 2016, 09:38 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 30 2016, 08:46 AM)
Clear spray anywhere can buy. Clear spray with UV inhibitor, I've been looking for that too for my headlamps... then I gave up & decided to tint them.
also been looking..... cannot seem to find it at all.....

nak tint, but all the horror stories.... unsure.gif my headlight ko, i also duno where to find a replacement set
killerpigglet
post Mar 30 2016, 12:37 PM

135 posts

Buy replacement like rm 150 per piece. But the clear coat spray for uv from rustoleum cost around usd 6 per bottle nia. If include sand paper also less then rm 50...
loki
post Mar 30 2016, 12:41 PM

2,109 posts

wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif

This post has been edited by loki: Mar 30 2016, 12:45 PM
lsm1991
post Mar 30 2016, 12:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Mar 30 2016, 12:41 PM)
this is just protection film eg windows film to protect your headlamps against small stones damage and turning yellowish (for plastic headlights) it can be removed as you like. I don't understand what damage it will cause?
some claim it it causes craze
Hydroxy
post May 23 2016, 12:50 AM

70 posts

hello,
for those who interested to use my service for headlamp uv coating, can pm or cntact me 012 61 46 446
and i have selling this diy kit using special spray can.
loc shah alam
askm3
post May 23 2016, 08:46 AM

382 posts

still traditional sanding + coating the best result.

cost me 120-150 for a pair.

last at least 5yr+

This post has been edited by askm3: May 23 2016, 08:46 AM
garrick86
post May 23 2016, 03:56 PM

169 posts

where you did it bro?
therain01
post May 23 2016, 10:53 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Hydroxy @ May 23 2016, 12:50 AM)
hello,
for those who interested to use my service for headlamp uv coating, can pm or cntact me 012 61 46 446
and i have selling this diy kit using special spray can.
loc shah alam
Please pm the DIY kit details and price.

If it is cheap enough then I could just say bye bye to meguiars headlight protectant.
Hydroxy
post May 24 2016, 09:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 23 2016, 10:53 PM)
Please pm the DIY kit details and price.

If it is cheap enough then I could just say bye bye to meguiars headlight protectant.
hi bos rm80 only
can coating at least 2 car.
Hydroxy
post May 24 2016, 09:25 PM

70 posts

https://m.facebook.com/Headlamp-SPA-Service...23022347726559/

please like my fb pages

0.0384sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:27 AM