Headphones SONY WALKMAN® 40TH ANNIVERSARY MOVIE Club V1, Sony Hi- Res Audio

shin2l
post Dec 14 2015, 03:06 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ahaidir777 @ Dec 14 2015, 12:09 AM)
Hi,  could not found a single review on xba-a3 here,  can anybody willing to share in term of quality of the BA driver for high mid treble?  as well as the bass effect on this 16mm dynamic driver along with other sony's xb series?

With 32ohm resistance,  do it really need an amp? 

Still counting to get one..
Yesterday in Stars Picker there are good promotion price for Sony Products thumbup.gif

shin2l
post Dec 17 2015, 10:25 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(air @ Dec 17 2015, 09:51 AM)
tested a horrible combo but come with the very expensive price at Sony Centre, and I am so glad to stick with my XBA-1 + A15 player.

The horrible combo that not even Sony AMP can save it:

Sony MDR-10 + Sony PHA-1a + my A15 player

688+899+699 =>RM2200++ cant even sound decently and not even getting near my current gears RM199+RM699 => RM900
SHould try Z7 + Balanced Cable + PHA3 + ZX2 brows.gif
shin2l
post Dec 17 2015, 12:51 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Dec 17 2015, 12:41 PM)
A few weeks ago Sony had a better promo at 20% discount.
Sony ZX2 @ RM31xx with free 32Gb microSD, free Hires download code, free casing

That was during gathering at Stars Picker thumbup.gif
shin2l
post Dec 18 2015, 08:13 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Dec 17 2015, 11:18 PM)
TQ Sony Malaysia for offering ZX2 with RM2974 exclusive for today @ Sony Store KLCC  biggrin.gif
Huiyo, that is the lowest price I have seen rclxms.gif

EDIT: If Sony Malaysia offers promotion for PCM-D100, probably I will buy laugh.gif

This post has been edited by shin2l: Dec 18 2015, 08:19 AM
shin2l
post Dec 18 2015, 11:47 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ahaidir777 @ Dec 18 2015, 10:41 AM)
This is ultimately thumbup.gif  crazy man rclxms.gif
Not crazy yet, try this one:

Legendary Sony MDR-R10 brows.gif

shin2l
post Dec 18 2015, 12:21 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 18 2015, 12:15 PM)
expecting a new sony legend late '16 ... usd1999  nod.gif
Really drool.gif

Any news on that? brows.gif
shin2l
post Dec 18 2015, 12:41 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Dec 18 2015, 12:30 PM)
privileged insider info ... most probably last quarter of '16 tongue.gif
Huiyo, please bring both old and new legendary headphones to E1 Sungai Wang for audition brows.gif notworthy.gif
shin2l
post Dec 19 2015, 08:18 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Dec 19 2015, 01:10 AM)
yup. most shop is selling display unit as they have no new & sealed stock for sell. the manager @ KLCC ready the new stock & everything for me  rclxms.gif
Thinking to buy Z5 smartphone also, no promotion?
shin2l
post Dec 19 2015, 09:29 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Dec 19 2015, 09:18 AM)
if Z5, u should buy at 2 or 3 months ago. that time they got special discount. now they selling with SRP RM2543
I see I see, thanks for the info

Wait for 11street got special discount or not

BTW, how come your ZX2 can be purchased at such a low price, any special event?
shin2l
post Dec 20 2015, 08:56 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Dec 20 2015, 07:50 PM)
saw sony having some promotion, MDR-1A selling RM859 (SRP RM1059), any comment on this headphone? plan to get 1 headphone on coming Christmas ^^
Try before buy smile.gif

There are still many good portable headphones in this price range

shin2l
post Dec 21 2015, 09:33 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Dec 21 2015, 08:21 AM)
will try it before purchase, any other good headphone for this price range? (<900), thank you  ^^
Audio Technica M50X

Beyerdynamics Custom One Pro Plus (RM690 @ Jaben, can confirm with them)

shin2l
post Dec 21 2015, 02:26 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Dec 21 2015, 10:29 AM)
thanks, will read the review and compare between them ^^
These are the two most favorable headphones for budget buyers

I personally prefer Beyer sound icon_idea.gif
shin2l
post Dec 22 2015, 08:10 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(XyzionzX @ Dec 21 2015, 11:42 PM)
the walkman app recognize Hi res audio tho, it have a HR logo right beside it.

the difference between hi res audio and non hi res
Any sound difference compared to non-recognized-hires Sony smartphones?
shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 08:18 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Dec 23 2015, 01:15 AM)
depends on hardware. Xperia Z2 is the 1st sony mobile phone which supports hi-res audio format, yet due to lacking of amplifier, it needs external amplifier or converter in order to "unlock" the potential of Z2's hi-res audio quality playback

http://blogs.sonymobile.com/2014/10/01/xpe...s-hi-res-audio/

although with proper apps, will allowed some mobile phone to support hi-res audio format, yet, situation might like Z2, need external amplifier in order to allow us enjoy hi-res music playback

yes, hi-res audio player need to pair with hi-res headphone/earphone for allow us to enjoy hi-res music quality playback

for sony, before purchase the headphone/earphone, can check the product's specification. usually sony's headphone/earphone which support hi-res will have that logo printed on the box

other brand, i not familiar. need ask the product advisor
I see I see

Initially, I thought of just SONY makes its music apps recognize higher sampling than 16/44.1 music files only, means it is marketing gimmick rclxub.gif

But in your later post, you mention it requires hires support headphone to be paired with.....etc., that part I really not understand icon_question.gif

shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 09:20 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Dec 23 2015, 09:08 AM)
yup, if ur headphone is not support hi-res (or known as 24-bit sampling rate), even ur music player or mobile phone is support hi-res audio, the particular headphone will only play music with 16-bit
It sounds like the headphone has DAC chipset which is able to do 24bit playback? hmm.gif

Which means:

Sony smartphone = music player/apps
Sony HiRes headphone = DAC

shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 09:54 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 23 2015, 09:28 AM)
i would say no.

dac is digital 11010101010111000 input. tak kan pakai audio port.
My opinion is:

Sony HiRes smartphones recognize HiRes files, but during decoding part, not sure it is resampling or not.
By right, if the smartphones can do 24 bit playback without resampling/downsampling, any headphone/IEM should be benefit the sound from it.
But it raises a question why there is HiRes logo headphones/IEMs selling? rclxub.gif

How about Sony headphone 1A DAC? hmm.gif

Sony Malaysia may only do marketing laugh.gif

We need Sony Audio engineer icon_idea.gif
shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 10:44 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 23 2015, 10:31 AM)
resample is droid limitation. mobile cpu ma...
search soomal.com for test result.

given good app it will go 48khz correctly like onkyo hf player. the best i tried. free version is good enough unless u are using external dac to bit stream.
i dont care much for 24 bit, is volume depth (a.k.a. loudness)
just max out software side everytime & control from amp.

the rest i have answer above. feel free ask again.
Yup, thanks for the info, you can be Sony MY lah laugh.gif

Based on your explanation, any headphones branded with HiRes logo means it satisfies the HiRes requirement and compatible with Hires branded music source? hmm.gif

That soomal.com keeps promoting musiland products, if you notice lah sweat.gif

To me as long as the headphone/IEM sounds great, I wont care too much whether it is Hires or not cool.gif

PS: I plan getting a Z5 compact, but cancel nod.gif

This post has been edited by shin2l: Dec 23 2015, 10:44 AM
shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 11:25 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 23 2015, 11:03 AM)
the only Sony "Hi Res headphones" is the bluetooth LDAC enabled headphones which is supposed to be able to stream Sony's LDAC 24 bit players and the MDR-1ADAC that has the integrated DAC inside the headphones.
Until now I also dont understand that LDAC those feature for Sony HiRes music player rclxub.gif

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 23 2015, 11:03 AM)
oh ya, i fail today doh.gif

forget to mention the best part of high res is sacd &  dsd format.
its very special becos using sampling rate of 2.8mhz & multiply up.
That was a time I kept finding SACD and DSD format, but give up liao, only find the song/music I like with good mastering quality. cool.gif

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 23 2015, 11:07 AM)
Depends on the mastering? Quite a number of DSDs are PCM conversion, but still sounds great though.
Any example? just to know how to differentiate
shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 11:31 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 23 2015, 11:23 AM)
true, exactly those boring music where the high res headphone can perform better than others within price range tongue.gif
i cannot say high res win all becos its not.

hope u dont misunderstand my intention is let ppl know 24 bit rate is not the only point of high resolution.
boring song laugh.gif

not really lah, depend on your taste laugh.gif

Like famous violin concerto -> Vivaldi The Four Seasons

This is not too boring lah

I am fascinated with live recording recently,

Keith Jarrett - The Köln Concert

shin2l
post Dec 23 2015, 12:41 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 23 2015, 11:44 AM)
No problem, have you tried Star Wars: The Force Awakens 24 bit album yet? Trying to buy from prostudiomasters using Hola to change IP add but couldn't get pass the checkout lol.
You hardcore, always buy genuine and support genuine notworthy.gif

Meanwhile, I am on the DARK side brows.gif

0.0460sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:35 PM