Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

jianh
post Oct 7 2010, 10:51 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Oct 7 2010, 02:29 PM)
Hey guys, just started in the O&G industry. Working in Miri at the moment. Proud to be one of the grease monkeys!
hi, I'm Mirian, nice to see you hahah rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

welcome to Miri! Where are you working at?
jianh
post Oct 13 2010, 12:26 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Oct 12 2010, 04:26 PM)
Guess where the 1st oil well was drilled in malaysia? MIRI!!! lolx hance the name Oil town .. DOH! lolx. gosh for those in O&G who dun know this is soo shameful! lolx.

Anyways, those new in miri from the west ( bachelors only please) ctc me lah!! we go party together!! i'll intro you to some friends i met here and probably know ur boss lol. ( i'm a westie but i grew up in Miri and left and now am back again1 lolx)
haha, i'm studying BEng Mechanical currently and I'm interested in O&G too in the future, wish I could go haha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jianh: Oct 13 2010, 12:33 PM
jianh
post Oct 31 2010, 10:36 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(kellefe @ Oct 31 2010, 01:49 PM)
Hi, anyone working in Shell Technical department ?

Usually shell place Mechanical student on which department ya ?
and usually which state they usually place ? i heard some like Miri or PD , is that correct ?

Can anyone advice on Shell technical department working environment ? Working Content ? and Working life etc ?

Appreciated Much if anyone could share it ~ Thanks Alot =)
so envy.. that u can work in shell, appreciate the job
jianh
post Nov 24 2010, 07:15 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

Guys, I'm going into Petronas in Miri for internship in a few weeks time, is there anything I should know? Such as working time?

Anyone has interned with Petronas before? How was it?
jianh
post Nov 25 2010, 06:58 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Nov 24 2010, 08:41 AM)
good to hear that bro..  flex.gif
Thanx.Skinnydude thanks for your help as well, appreciate it lots!

Anyone has interned in Petronas before? How was the overall experience? Great? Meaningful? Learned a lot?
Mind to share share please

This post has been edited by jianh: Nov 25 2010, 03:25 PM
jianh
post Nov 25 2010, 03:19 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(kalkulator85 @ Nov 25 2010, 09:36 AM)
let's go abroadddddd.....middle east people love malaysiannnnnn
Ooo is it??? They love Malaysians???
Actually i tongue.gif have an interest to experiencing working in the middle east, has anyone been thru there b4? Mind to share your experience pls?
jianh
post Nov 26 2010, 11:10 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Nov 26 2010, 09:17 AM)
Now im in OnG, as a distribution exec, i dont mind if no life for 2-3 weeks every month as long as have money and can go home safe. Still cant work off shore yet, if have the chance i will sure grab it!!! I've no engineering background, any idea how can i join off shore?  help help icon_question.gif
In a month you're living as a no-lifer for 2 weeks which accounts for half a month, that means if your whole OnG career is gonna be spent on the ocean, half of your career you don't have life

just a joke no offense though notworthy.gif

Still I'm having a huge huge interest in this industry though, because the environment is challenging and not to forget, the money is good.

But I suppose the risk is high coz you're working close to heavy machinery and most of all, you're way out in the ocean, right?
Hence all the trainings & safety stuff by those OnG companies.

This post has been edited by jianh: Nov 26 2010, 11:14 AM
jianh
post Nov 28 2010, 10:05 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Nov 28 2010, 09:26 PM)
PS2... gawd... they are like so yesterday....we are talking PS3 and Xbox 360 now
o.O it's the middle of the ocean what more can you ask for?
jianh
post Nov 30 2010, 09:14 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 30 2010, 07:48 AM)
Since youre taking petrophysics, than its very likely you will work in office (although you can always try a diff position). Petrophysicist is quite in demand in Malaysia, since its quite hard to find locally breed petrophisicist (mostly regional or expat). In oil companies or consultants, you'll work in the office (not lab). Your job will be assessing well log data to determine reservoir quality, fluid, pressure, etc. You will be busiest during drilling season. Other than that, its just a normal office hour.
IC, what about for those with BEng in Mechanical? What are the positions possible in OnG for Mechanical?

This post has been edited by jianh: Nov 30 2010, 09:14 AM
jianh
post Dec 2 2010, 11:15 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

Is Ranhill Malaysian company? What about WorleyParsons? It's Australian company is it?

I came across Ranhill Worleyparsons so I think there must be some relationship between these 2 companies?

Anyone care to enlighten me regarding this please?
jianh
post Dec 4 2010, 06:55 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 3 2010, 03:10 PM)
Ranhill is malaysian company..WP is australian..they're doing joint venture for malaysian o&g project..
oh, ok... rclxms.gif
jianh
post Dec 5 2010, 06:41 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(madblacktt @ Dec 4 2010, 11:11 PM)
you should have done chemical engineering...
You can't be this sexist right?
Well yeah, from my POV, the world of engineering is, though.

0.0548sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:19 PM