Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

Quasar
post Sep 8 2008, 03:27 PM

68 posts

Hi guys.
Interesting discussion you guys have going on about careers in the O&G sector.

Anyway, I need some opinions and advice.

My background is in Civil Engineering, mostly, structural design, with 3 years experience.
Anyway, sometime back I got an offer for Wellsite Operations Engineer with an Oil major.
However, the remuneration package offered is a bit low compared to my current position.
I'm currently based in a neighbouring country as design engineer for a major Pulp&Paper manufacturer.
Current job is mostly coordination between consultants and vendors on design etc for their China new plant project.
Contract position. 2 years contract with posting to China next year. Salary is abt 35% more than the O&G offer [calculated as current nett salary here vs total package offered (including allowance)].
In my current position, accomodation is provided by co. while new place will have to find my own place.

Anyway, back to the story.
I ask them to review their offer and they came back to me to say that is the best they can do.
They would have to withdraw the offer if I do not want it.

However, at the same time, they tell me that they have a position in JB as a Construction Engineer for one of their deepwater fields project.
(The deepwater field is in East Malaysia, so I'm thinking this is mostly supervising the construction of platforms etc???)

Anyway, I have yet to get details of the Construction Engineer position.

However, I'm in a bit of dilemma now.

1. Do I leave my current position and take up either the Wellsite Operations Engineer or the Construction Engineer position. (both are available).
2. Which position to take. Either A. Wellsite operation Engineer or B. Construction Engineer.

So, I would like to understand more about this 2 positions and their prospect first before I make a final decision.

What is the Wellsite Operations Engineer position responsibility? I think it is based offshore, right? Then it will be on rotating basis? What are the prospects of future advancement/career progression?

What is the Construction Engineer position responsibility? Since the project field is in East Malaysia but the position is based in JB, I do not know what to make of it. Is it as per my thinking that it will mostly be supervising the construction of platforms etc? What are the prospects of future advancement/career progression for this position?

My background is Civil, so construction would be a closer fit. However, I am also open to other challenges etc.
Kinda bored of civil stuff at the moment also and don't mind a change but want to know what I'm getting into before I take the plunge.

I am thinking that the O&G sector would be a better place to be. Further more it is a permanent position vs. current contract. Also interested in the training that will be provided by the O&G co. which I hear is extremely good. I am still considered Junior in career so more training will be better for future.

My future plans are to go into management role, most probably in operations or finance etc.
Planning to pursue an MBA sometime in the next 3 to 5 years.

I hope the sifus here can give some valuable advice and opinions.
Thank you.

This post has been edited by Quasar: Sep 8 2008, 03:34 PM
Quasar
post Nov 3 2008, 05:35 PM

68 posts

Civil engineering will mostly be dealing with fabrication/construction/erection/maintennace of platform, facilities etc.
But there are also those that do production/drilling etc.
MMHE is doing some FPSO as well.
Should be good experience.
Quasar
post Nov 21 2008, 10:53 AM

68 posts

Just want to ask about Shell Graduate Engineer Position.

Normally, after they hire you, what training will they give you?
How is the 1st year like, what to expect etc?

Specifically for offshore operations engineer based in miri.

Some insight would be appreciated.
Quasar
post Nov 28 2008, 09:20 AM

68 posts

You can try apply Shell.

They are currently involved in the construction of the FPSO with MMHE in Pasir Gudang.
They are trying to train up some local people to oversee the operations/construction.
Quasar
post Feb 11 2009, 12:15 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(louishayashi @ Feb 11 2009, 09:30 AM)
Hehe...I never see that kind of students but i heard of it...I believe there are...
I wish i could b like them. I used to b the one who studied their brains out and yet got bad results.
Slowly, i went into correct path after form 4.
Mayb it's due to my personal interest of studying science subjects.
I strongly believe that studying with effort and heart can transform you into another phase.
The hardship of struggling is jz a threshold of improvement...that is wat i experienced from primary till uni life.
None of my primary friends thought that i can enter local uni and study engineering...
tongue.gif

So i think don giv up dude.if your effort does not seem to pay in the end, jz pay the due.

For this case, I reli hav no idea...I think sth bad is beneath for reputation fo uni purposes. i bet the fake phD shud penalized legally. it is illegal to do so...
Actually, there are a lot of untold sad stories behind in public uni. We as local undergraduate have no choice. I noticed it after 1 year in local uni. A bit late... cry.gif

Mayb during my 1st yr, i made wrong decision on giving up the full exemption scholarship of Nottigham uni (chemE).
Was i stupid enuff to make such decision jz because no accredition for its cert of BEng (Nottingham)?
I wonder what would my life b if i opted for it.  biggrin.gif

I still remembered during the interview, i felt somehow the UK lecturer was satirizing USM and asked me stop studying there and prepare for the upcoming intake of ChemE.
You should have taken Nottingham.
The reason for their course not being accredited was mostly because no1 graduated from the course yet.
As a full fledge uni operating locally, they will definitely get the accreditation, so students do no have to worry.

Even public unis don't have some of their courses accredited until the students grad.
Quasar
post Apr 7 2010, 06:28 PM

68 posts

Personal opinions below:

Completions is a good choice as there will generally be more and more such work in the future, combined with more well intervention work as well, which some completion engineers are involved in.
Little, almost no RA for completions, unless it's for logging/perforations??

There are opportunities for electronics grads.
Most service companies have positions for electronics grads.
Jobs range from running wireline(e-line) tools, logging, data engineer, etc.

Subsurface mainly revolves around reservoir engineering, petrophysics, geology, well engineering etc.
Subsea is mostly offshore deepwater work, dealing with drilling, production etc.
So it's kinda different in a sense.

0.0503sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:48 PM