Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

Ezra
post Nov 30 2007, 11:59 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Nov 30 2007, 05:22 PM)
high bonus as well.. drool.gif
..can see someone from petronas is sharing his bonus info in the bonus sharing thread...
High bonus, yes.. but since it is based on your basic salary (which isn't that high, really).. it doesn't amount to much in the end. doh.gif
Ezra
post Dec 27 2007, 02:53 PM

24 posts

hoho..i think i get it now..
mechanical engineering hav wider chance to get into ong companies..
i think i would choose downstream...downstream also need offshore de ar?..
i heard some of my frens say..working offshore is something like work for 15days offshore,then holiday 15days?..is it like this?..
correct me if i'm wrong...
Upstream is where the money and fun is, my friend. Work hard for 15 days, then play hard for 15 days lah!

I'm PETRONAS scholar.just finish my study,currently waiting for my final exam result.people at KLCC already contact me.starting salary for engineer is RM2510.If work as Petroleum@Drilling ENgineer RM3500.Allowance is RM30/day at platform.This is consider very low compare to Service Company(Like SCOMI,SCHLUMBERGER,OPTIMAL) coz i heard they earn RM300/day for allowance.
Hrm? So eager to disclose the salary level for the engineers in PETRONAS? sweat.gif
Btw, the offshore hardship allowance is not RM30/day, it is more than that. And all engineers are actually earning the same starting salary, no matter the discipline. Of course, there are special allowances and adjustments...

But PETRONAS is very good since it is the CLient.not much work to do and you can enjoy the salary that u earn.what point if your salary RM6000/m if u have to work hard since morning till night and no time to spend money that u earn.both have pros and cos i think..
Not really. If you are looking for technical career progression, consultants/contractors/service providers provide better opportunities. In client companies, you'll mostly be bogged down by management/supervising tasks UNLESS if you make the extra effort to directly do the work yourself. Of course as a client, you just need to review and approve procedures/drawings/specs/datasheets with occasional site visit, but how to gain the knowledge and experience to be 'qualified' to review and approve them? That's where the hardworking and lazy types are sorted out..

Without bashing too much, I find that there are parts in PETRONAS that are working professionally and diligently, ESPECIALLY those in the Petroleum Management Unit.
Ah come on now, you don't have go on and praise PMU until like that. I'm beginning to suspect that you're from there. rolleyes.gif
You should spare a thought for the PCSB guys who slog it out at fabrication yards, pet. engineers who sit at their PC reading the reservoir data in the weekends, offshore guys who spent Hari Raya out in the open seas. I haven't counted the downstream guys yet. Everyone also deserves praise what.

ya... of course easy life, but if one day when you leave that company, you might have the difficulties to adapt yourself outside petronas environment... i see most of the young staffs just waste their time only... even thou got the opportunities, if i can choose from beginning again, i would like to join service company first before go in pcsb..
Now you fell proud because you can grab the chance to work in a big company with good benefit before you graduated, but one day you will envy ppl outside who earn big figure...
Agreed. Best that you move on early, unless if you intend to stay and move upwards in the company.

forrest are u working with PETRONAS now?haha.dont cabut la..PETRONAS wont accept u anymore once u cabut.
A common scare tactic which I encountered a lot lately. True, you will probably not be able to work with PETRONAS again once you resign, but look: If you've made up your mind to leave, why think about going back? The world is big, and there are more things out there than in PETRONAS. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ezra: Dec 27 2007, 03:08 PM
Ezra
post Dec 27 2007, 03:07 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Dec 27 2007, 02:54 PM)
One reason Petronas is filthy rich is because all oil/gas found on Malaysian soil/waters belong to them. This means that foreign oil companies who discover oil here need to pay Petronas a certain amount of the profits gathered from these oil fields. True ?
True and not true.

True = all oil/gas in malaysian soil belongs to Malaysia, and PETRONAS (specifically PMU) is the guardian of the natural resources. Thus it is required that for every barrel of oil that foreign oil companies take from us, they have to pay us back a certain amount. And let's not forget that PETRONAS is the piggybank of Malaysian government. To be honest, what happens to the money once it reaches the government's hands is another matter, but let's leave it at that.

Not true = A huge portion of PETRONAS revenue comes from overseas, not just from within Malaysia. So Malaysian oil/gas alone does not make PETRONAS rich.
Ezra
post Dec 28 2007, 02:32 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Dec 28 2007, 12:06 AM)
Can any one brief me on what position a Mechanical Engineering graduate can apply for within the services company. Most of the services company that I found need only ppl with geo physic background. Thanks
Weird. What kind of services company were you browsing through? If you're talking about geoservices and seismic surveying, then of course la they won't use Mech. Engineering grads.

Mech grads are sometimes found in (and not limited to):
Drilling/Directional Drilling
Well Testing/Control
MWD/LWD
Wireline
Commissioning
Operations
Construction
Installation

You need to look harder. Hint: if the requirements say Petro. Engineering and equivalent, then you may try your luck.

Worked for me. smile.gif
Ezra
post Dec 29 2007, 06:23 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Dec 28 2007, 09:25 PM)
so.... you are at which one? mwd or lwd tongue.gif
Recently i just found out my secondary school mate now working for Halliburton in their LWD team, currently at china now. He told me that about 2 years back when i still dont know what is that company about.

I'm curious to know that MWD engineer is from mech. engineering background or some other engineering field? Do they need to attend certain course or must have certain certificate to be able to do that job?
Well, if it's Halliburton, you've missed the boat. They were recruiting a month or two ago, for MWD/LWD Field Engineers. Requirements include a degree in Geophysics or Petro Engineering and equivalent. (Hint, hint) smile.gif And Baker Hughes was recruiting too, on the same day in the same Classifieds.

I'm not too sure abut the special skills etc., but training is usually provided.

QUOTE(farizuan)
Ezra looks like u r already experience in this field shakehead.gif
And your point is?

I'm not yet at the level where I can call myself experienced, so I'm just sharing what I know. What I can tell lah, of course.

This post has been edited by Ezra: Dec 29 2007, 06:27 PM
Ezra
post Jan 11 2008, 07:52 PM

24 posts

Just got my confirmation to join Big Red as a MWD/LWD Engineer today, going to be based in kl/miri. rclxms.gif

Still considering it tho, since the basic salary is way lower than what I'd expected. For a fresh grad/new entrants, the basic pay is slightly lower than that of a fresh grad PETRONAS engineer.

I always assumed that service companies give more basic salary than that of operators, but guess I'm mistaken this time. Their HR assured me that the total monthly pay (basic + offshore allowance) will be much more than that, but I dunno. Can someone give me advice on this?

Decisions, decisions. Chances like this don't come often, I know. But somehow the basic pay issue doesn't sit well with me. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ezra: Jan 11 2008, 07:53 PM
Ezra
post Jan 18 2008, 10:12 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Jan 12 2008, 04:06 AM)
they pay in what currency? what is the basic? what is the lowest allowance and highest allowance like?
I can't say about the amount, but it's in RM. I'm going to be based in KL/Miri after all. Offshore allowance, well, I don't have the figures. An employee inside told me it's at least 6x what I'm getting now, so it's all good biggrin.gif

QUOTE(forrest @ Jan 12 2008, 10:38 AM)
Halliburton... ?  rolleyes.gif
Shhhhhh!

QUOTE(mancy @ Jan 12 2008, 10:57 AM)
just go bro... u r freshies. gain experience & after 2 years test ur market. you will easily earn RM later....
Yeah, you're correct. To be honest, it is now or never, as they don't recruit regularly. And they seem to be picky since they rather hold 2nd round recruitment than just hire the numbers they need from 1st round. So I'm gonna close my eyes and take the plunge.

QUOTE(iDk @ Jan 16 2008, 11:34 PM)
Maybe he still practicing the old culture, work-done-come-first basis.
Just finished my BOSIET at MSTS. At the training, quite a lot of middle~old age men (most of them are auto-pilot welder) attended the training also. But, i quite doubt that they understand much about the training, as some of them have the dont-understand-and-who-give-a-f*ck attitude. But for all, friend told me that once you saw them working on the rig, you better run far far away from them.
Is the BOSIET also class into 3 group? Basic, tropical and cool water BOSIET? Or all are just the same BOSIET.
No idea. The cert is written as just BOSET, don't have weather classification also.

This post has been edited by Ezra: Jan 18 2008, 10:14 AM

0.0550sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:41 PM