Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

Aurora
post Jul 9 2007, 02:51 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jul 7 2007, 03:50 PM)
Hi all...finally stumbled upon this topic.

Nope, there are always hope although you are not a master degree holder.

Positions like Operation Technicians requires only Diploma level. (provided if you are interested)
Based mostly offshore, the gross pay can be up to 5K per month including aloowances & overtime.
I have been working in this industry for 2 years now as a Control Room Operator / Process Tech. Basically a somewhat hectic job & long hours of monitoring the plant/platform. Chances to get big overtime is high, but patience is also needed because of continuous pressure. Not only the boss have the work pressure but the kuli also!

About safety, offshore location is certified the most safest place on earth. excluding the helicopter ride to your rig/platform...hehehe.

BTW every year our company SSB/SSPC recruits new OTs to replace the ageing offshore population. be quick & check out the major newspaper for the 7th intake!
What company are you working at? I just graduated (from UTP), and am looking for job soon.
Aurora
post Jul 9 2007, 03:05 AM

630 posts

Ah.. yes. I was searching for SSB only. Pardon me. laugh.gif
Aurora
post Dec 30 2007, 11:07 PM

630 posts

Hi there,

Ex-UTP and PETRONAS scholar reporting here rclxm9.gif and currently working in PCSB as commissioning engineer. It seems like there has been some misleading infomation and circulation about client company, especially PCSB. To put in simple, working in PCSB and other client company is more challenging than what rumours said.

Our work evolve as how the work progress. Being as a client representative, we deal with a lot of people, from skill workers to professional engineer and manager level. Document review is only part of the work. PETRONAS staffs are very marketable in O&G not without any reason. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(WildChai @ Dec 30 2007, 05:05 PM)
Hey,

Sounds like everyone here is offshore based. Anyone here is on rotation abroad but working onshore?
What do you mean by rotation aboard and working onshore? Meaning working onshore and offshore at the same time?
Aurora
post Jan 3 2009, 12:32 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(Ladysue85 @ Jan 2 2009, 07:06 PM)
anyone know abt sapuracrest petroleum? i'm interested to join this company. Currently there is not much position offered in their website. Btw i'm a chemical engineering graduate. sad.gif
Sorry to disappoint you, but sapuracrest prefer civil or mechanical graduates.

QUOTE(Noyze @ Dec 31 2008, 02:17 PM)
HSE personnel - HSE Officer average daily rate is USD 800 - USD 1k per day. =P~~
10 to 15 years of experience in HSE related job, with a pinch of luck laugh.gif
Aurora
post Jan 3 2009, 09:36 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Dec 31 2008, 02:34 AM)
Seriously, you are making it sounds like some McD part-time job, get in and get out. It is not as easy as you look at it. I simply ask you a very easy question, what is the requirement to be a diver, and what it needs to take for you to become a commercial diver?

Added on December 31, 2008, 2:38 am
Under deep water pressure, you need to adjust your body to use the high concentration of N2 of oxygen. This is where thing get nasty, you can get high from this air supply. In the end, you will see some one chase after fishes or worst cut themselves with knife under water.
First you need to pass 3 level of diving courses. There are written and practical test. You will need to learn hand signage, gears, safety, evacuation and most importantly how to combine N2 and O2 (only in level 3). Underwater, oxygen is very corrosive. Diver breath in more N2 and less O2 as they go deeper. There is this cumulative effect of saturated N2 in bloodstream which cause health problem at later age (forget the details blush.gif ).

Then you need to go for welding course, then only underwater welding. For info, welding isn't just about skill, it is also an art, not everybody can do it. You need to perfect your welding skills before going for underwater welding. In O&G, client can't afford defective welding, especially underwater. You will be out as soon as you get nt if you can't perform.

As for underwater inspector, you need to have a handy of experience in underwater work (7-10 years) before you are qualify.

Since you are from marine, my advice is to stay on. Once you promoted to chief engineer position, you get 5 figure easily, more stable job than underwater, more lasting career, less health risk, and overall better money. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(wkphang @ Jan 2 2009, 10:49 PM)
It is a very good pay career, great future, but there are risk involved... working in offshore platform is not easy job.. you need to go for 2-3 off-shore training, medical checkup, and all of the engineers have a offshore passport where we need to get it sign, etc.

If you are good in performance, you get really good bonus.. and they have really good food at offshore... every 3 hours, can makan.. smile.gif

====================

There are many jobs in the o & g industry... not just marine diving, you can also do alarm system, mechanical system, control system, commisioning, etc...
It's not that difficult to pass the survival test and get the offshore pasport la~ Provided you are not afraid of water and height laugh.gif
Aurora
post Jan 3 2009, 04:52 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Jan 3 2009, 03:05 PM)
tanx. becoz people are saying that working on platform got better pays than marine. can chief engineer onboard ship enter platform job? if can, what is the position and what is the pays?
Yeah, you can join O&G,but you need to start all over again when you join operation. You will get high salary only when you reach platform supervisor, manager status (depends on company though). Only those who are professionl and rare, i.e. turbine, engine, generator, compressor, system engineer will get those figures.

Get your sailing experience with tankers, cargo ship. Need to sacrifice few years of your youth though.

After a 5-10 years, join service company that provide troubleshoot, overhaul service to vessel's engine. Build your reputation, then you can go further by joining luxurious cruise ship, join 3rd party service company and become inspector, surveyor, etc for engine. You be travelling from port to port, usually within our region. Your income is either daily, per job basis, or hourly, depends on your experience and knowledge. Annual income can reach 0.5 million (with 15-20 yrs experience, by then you would probably be 40+)
Aurora
post Jan 6 2009, 07:26 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(poy @ Jan 5 2009, 08:33 PM)
no rush hour,no traffic jam,go to work=free travel/vacation,challenges...big buckssss,,,one more thing,nothing beats the feeling of watching the sunrise and sunset over the horizon...if your lucky you may get to see dolphin and whales too heh icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jan 5 2009, 09:23 PM)
My ex also told me that noise pollution is rife at the oil rigs, told me to stay with the office instead of going offshore. She is a hearing aid sales exec now, got some clients working offshore.

How about the 12 hour work shift? Plus demanding deadlines to reach the oil? I would love to hear from the experienced hands.
In project, standard working 15-16 hours/day. Life is indeed very demanding and challenging. There are more one can learn when working at offshore than working in office. Everyday there are different problems and challenges, more stress and frustration.

For operation and maintenance, there are less challenges, and usually work on shift. Usually working >12hrs only when turnaround.

We use ear plug/earmuff when working in noisy environment, everyone is provided with 1 set. But some people just lazy to put on, that's how they lost their hearing.

Sunrise and sunset are good. But when weather pick up, it is also 'good'. laugh.gif
Aurora
post Jan 6 2009, 09:36 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Jan 6 2009, 03:08 PM)
Ic... how about well services or wellsite operations? Is that the project 16 hours daily that you speak about? I want to learn more of this lifestyle. Makes me quite interested as to why people are willing to put in 12+ hours while other industry normal office workers are already complaining when they go back home from their 9 to 5s at say 9 pm.
People work 16 hours not because they want to, but that is what the industry demands. Operating cost at offshore is extremely high. Some operation runs 24 hours (hence the 2 shift). And because of the fact that it demands the employees/workers to work >12 hours/day, that's why the salary is so high. At some extreme cases, people may require to work 18 hours, until morning 2-3am.

When you get paid with freaking huge salary compare to your batch, don't expect the demand is the same as desk job laugh.gif You need to be physically, mentally and phychologically strong. (ok, perhaps I exeggerated tongue.gif ) And can be disasterous when you start lossing focus cause lack of rest.

This post has been edited by Aurora: Jan 6 2009, 09:36 PM

0.0685sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:35 PM