Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

carloz28
post Feb 10 2010, 04:04 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(kianhoe6 @ Feb 5 2010, 11:27 PM)
for what i know, schlumberger and halliburton can consider as very big MNC in oil and gas field. As a fresh graduate, what is the different between this two company and what is the advantage? how to compare if i wish to join as field engineer?any experience people here that join this two company before?kindly comment...
Not much difference actually. Both of them are powerhouses in the oilfield service industry. Technically, any service that SLB has, Halliburton can match it as well with their very own tools and equipment and vice versa.

HOWEVER from the career perspective, the difference can be very significant. (eg. work culture, job security, $$$ and prospect)

It wouldn't matter much to you right now because i think first u need some experience and exposure in the field first before start thinking about comparing companies.
mia_sara
post Feb 10 2010, 05:40 PM

86 posts

when i look through oil n gas companies website..
it is hard for me to find any radiation safety officer post..

This post has been edited by mia_sara: Feb 10 2010, 05:45 PM
aiskrimcup
post Feb 10 2010, 07:51 PM

750 posts

is there any post for network engineer or network security engineer in those ong?

(sorry, its hard to read from previous 180+ pages blush.gif )

Noyze
post Feb 11 2010, 11:00 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

Radiation Safety Officer, wun be a spelled out in the websites. You need to have contacts to know if the position is available. In O&G we tend to help each other or rather help our friends to get jobs. It's a close knit community. For that kind of post, i would suggest joining as a HSE officer / HSE advisor first ( depending on your qualification ) then once slowly branch out to specialise.

Oh and as for Radiation HSE officers, you would need to basically look for NTD companies who do radiography, though not many are around but there might be a chance to get into that position however I highly doubt it. I know a few major players in the NTD industry but i've yet to meet a radiation hse officer.
syyang85
post Feb 11 2010, 12:30 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Feb 11 2010, 11:00 AM)
Radiation Safety Officer, wun be a spelled out in the websites. You need to have contacts to know if the position is available. In O&G we tend to help each other or rather help our friends to get jobs. It's a close knit community. For that kind of post, i would suggest joining as a HSE officer / HSE advisor first ( depending on your qualification ) then once slowly branch out to specialise.

Oh and as for Radiation HSE officers, you would need to basically look for NTD companies who do radiography, though not many are around but there might be a chance to get into that position however I highly doubt it. I know a few major players in the NTD industry but i've yet to meet a radiation hse officer.
NDT?
Tfazuin
post Feb 11 2010, 02:10 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Feb 10 2010, 04:04 PM)
Not much difference actually. Both of them are powerhouses in the oilfield service industry. Technically, any service that SLB has, Halliburton can match it as well with their very own tools and equipment and vice versa.

HOWEVER from the career perspective, the difference can be very significant. (eg. work culture, job security, $$$ and prospect)

It wouldn't matter much to you right now because i think first u need some experience and exposure in the field first before start thinking about comparing companies.
For big companies, RSO are trained internally and usually are part of the normal crew wheter from wireline or logging. They do not specifically hire a RSO for an RSO's job since you need to be able to know and use the tools first.
mia_sara
post Feb 11 2010, 09:11 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Feb 11 2010, 11:00 AM)

i'm a nuclear science student
we learn about basic NDT..
very hard to find NDT companies in malaysia
can u tell me more about HSE officer?

syyang85
post Feb 11 2010, 11:36 PM

982 posts

Velosi, Oceancare
NDT company
Noyze
post Feb 12 2010, 07:34 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

QUOTE(mia_sara @ Feb 11 2010, 09:11 PM)
i'm a nuclear science student
we learn about basic NDT..
very hard to find NDT companies in malaysia
can u tell me more about HSE officer?
Very hard cos u're not looking in the right places. There are various types of NDT, conventional and non-conventional practised here. I'm not in NDT but i know just enough. You should know more than me actually.

One of the big players is velosi, go search them up on the net. They're public listed in the UK and all that BUT they'er essentially a training ground for those in the NDT game in Malaysia.

Oceancare is also another NDT company and so is PNR Inspections, etc. there's LOADS of em out there.
syyang85
post Feb 12 2010, 06:06 PM

982 posts

this seems like good network

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kajang-Malay...11945775?flyingspaghettimonster=ts
kianhoe6
post Feb 12 2010, 09:42 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Feb 10 2010, 04:04 PM)

carloz28, thanks for your info, so any company you recommended except slb,halliburton,bh,exxon.m, shell??i just want to try apply and get some experience....thanks for your comment~
kim c
post Feb 19 2010, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(mat_min @ Feb 4 2010, 11:06 AM)
hello....need some help here......i'm have been called by Dimension Bid Sdn Bhd to take the iq test for 30 min......is it hard???? and one more thing.....my BMI is 39.....is it possible for me to be field engineer......mmmm......  sweat.gif
wahh geng...ur BMI is really in dangerous zone man...i suggest you to cut low ur BMI..take care of ur health...later if health not good..u will got prob pass medical exam for offshore passport.

neway gud luck!

Added on February 19, 2010, 1:15 am
QUOTE(yuanning @ Feb 5 2010, 03:43 PM)
hey all, im currently doing my A-levels 3rd sem already. planning to pick up petroleum engineering in Uni.
i would like to know whether the companies look up at uni-s we attend (lets say we have good result) if we wanna work overseas..?im considering offshore.

ps: i've lots of interest in O&G i dont know why.maybe cause the genes run in the family? my aunt work in an OnG company in US and shes already owning 3personal planes.-___-"
hahahaha...still a long way to go lah...

focus on ur undergrad first..so u want to work overseas? with this industries very hard to say..gud grades+gud uni still's not a guarantee if LUCK is not with you....

i dont reccommend petroleum eng if u want to work offshore..ask ur aunty lah, she knows better..she got 3 plane..confirm she got a lot of experience n knowledge..

This post has been edited by kim c: Feb 19 2010, 01:15 AM
Noyze
post Feb 19 2010, 10:23 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

Is offshore that lucrative? Seriously, you guys ( those in chemical backgroud, etc) should look into chemical plants. i.e. ON shore! u'd be suprised how much yuo may get. Earning big $$ offshore is now a myth is no0t as high as you may imagine. I mean I work onshore and offshore and I find that Onshore i get more but then again, it's due to responsibility. Offshore the only extra is the offshore allowance which aint that much over time.
LeechFever
post Feb 19 2010, 01:32 PM

DodoBird
2,841 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Feb 19 2010, 10:23 AM)
Is offshore that lucrative? Seriously, you guys ( those in chemical backgroud, etc) should look into chemical plants. i.e. ON shore! u'd be suprised how much yuo may get. Earning big $$ offshore is now a myth is no0t as high as you may imagine. I mean I work onshore and offshore and I find that Onshore i get more but then again, it's due to responsibility. Offshore the only extra is the offshore allowance which aint that much over time.
I believe that for job that is almost offshore based, the money is a lot more than those who spend most of their time onshore. Cause the risk is higher and they may need to keep themselves isolated from society for longer period. Also partly due to demand and like you said, responsibility. I know someone who mostly based onshore but got hella lot of pay because his kind of expertise is rare to get.

Also the extra is not only offshore allowance but also the OT pay and saved up money as they provide free accomodation and food expenses. And depend on your position, company and etc. offshore allowance varies from as low as 2 figures to 3 figures per day.

This post has been edited by LeechFever: Feb 19 2010, 01:35 PM
jubz
post Feb 19 2010, 07:15 PM

375 posts

Hi all,

I'm currently studying electronics engineering (telecommunication) and applied for an Internship at Shell to fulfill my industrial training requirements later this year.

I got a shortlisted notification mail today and was quite surprised ... considering I send in my application barely 2 days ago.

Out of curiosity, how will the interview be like? Where might I be placed? What can I look to forward assuming I get accepted? In my application I did specify that my first choice is Commercial - IT and second Technical - Production. Other technical posts sound more suited for Mechanical Engineering students.

I skipped all 182 pages in the thread. Kindly link me to the relevant page if this has been asked before.

This post has been edited by jubz: Feb 19 2010, 07:16 PM
pc123
post Feb 20 2010, 01:20 AM

Validating
126 posts

Guys i`m a stpm graduate..results will b out next week..well i planned on taking geophysics/geology/anything related..just want to know the job prospects in these days. Is it in need?
SUSpachiinko
post Feb 21 2010, 10:30 AM

since this is an oil thread, do you guys know any buyer who wants to buy D2 or JP54 Jet Fuel? I can supply you/them with up to 500kMT per month. please PM me for further details.

This post has been edited by pachiinko: Feb 21 2010, 10:30 AM
iwanong
post Feb 24 2010, 12:52 PM

32 posts

Hey guys, any of u heard of this company EXACT AUTOMATION SDN BHD??...how's the working culture, salary and benefits??...if any of you know, pls do share with me...THANKS A LOT!!!... biggrin.gif
ICDeadPeople
post Feb 24 2010, 05:00 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ Feb 20 2010, 01:20 AM)
Guys i`m a stpm graduate..results will b out next week..well i planned on taking geophysics/geology/anything related..just want to know the job prospects in these days. Is it in need?
yes its in need.

This post has been edited by ICDeadPeople: Feb 24 2010, 05:01 PM
wickedghost
post Feb 28 2010, 02:34 PM

359 posts

hey guys, I got a job in Nigeria, is a drilling co. getting high pay and I heard alot of job scams that are from Nigeria, the company is located at Yenegoa...worth going there?lol

214 Pages « < 180 181 182 183 184 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:12 AM