Trying to reinstall Windows 7, failing
TSCrazy.SoT.Gila
Oct 18 2012, 08:04 AM, updated 14y ago
Just got a new ThinkPad. Swapped the HDD for the SSD used on my old laptop, and would like to reinstall Windows so all the junk from the previous system will be removed. But I am having some trouble. The SSD boots fine, I am using it right now. It is Windows Ultimate, whereas the Windows on my USB boot drive is Home Premium. (I want to just reinstall as Home Premium) Screenshots below show my attempt at installing Windows onto this SSD. (five 800x600 JPG files) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « What am I doing wrong?
amitycox
Oct 18 2012, 12:40 PM
Try Reinstall using cd or reformatt the ssd... U need to find x64bit driver if you are using windows7 home premium 64bit.. This post has been edited by amitycox: Oct 18 2012, 12:45 PM
TSCrazy.SoT.Gila
Oct 18 2012, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(amitycox @ Oct 18 2012, 12:40 AM) Try Reinstall using cd or reformatt the ssd... U need to find x64bit driver if you are using windows7 home premium 64bit..  Should be the same with CD or USB. And that's exactly what I'm trying to do, to reformat my SSD with fresh copy of Windows Home Premium  And that is the 64bit driver there. Really clueless now
amitycox
Oct 19 2012, 11:36 AM
Sorry for asking..,u mean ThinkPad....,Lappy or Tablet?
TSCrazy.SoT.Gila
Oct 19 2012, 12:56 PM
Laptop. Anyhow, I got it fixed lol. http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...75-d02871394461QUOTE Ok, I've actually solved this myself via the help of a thread on tom's hardware. I'll post it here for anyone else struggling with the same issue: OK now is the truth. This is the solution.
I assume all of you is using USB drive to install.
When Windows is asking for driver, just click Cancel. You will be brought back to the welcome screen. At the welcome screen, remove your USB drive, insert it back to DIFFERENT USB PORT. Click Install Now again. The installation process will be like usual. This problem happened to all new version of updated Windows 7 installer. I think, it is due to failure of Windows installer to remain its detection to the USB drive. It lost the connection, and became confused, don't know where to find the USB drive it used to read before.
When we re-insert the USB drive, Windows installer will detect the USB drive back, and continue like usual. Good luck and cheers! TQ. That was all that was needed. DOH!
amitycox
Oct 19 2012, 02:46 PM
Thankgod...N' good 4u...no more headache..
wayne322
Nov 5 2012, 10:42 PM
Sorry,pls let me tumpang thread to ask a noob question.
I have a genuine OEM Window 7 Home Basic that married to my Lenovo lappy.
If I wan to install a non-genuine Window 7 Ultimate in my laptop, can I still reinstall my OEM Win 7 Home Basic bac to my laptop in the future if I don wan the non-genuine Win 7 ultimate?
amitycox
Nov 6 2012, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(wayne322 @ Nov 5 2012, 10:42 PM) Sorry,pls let me tumpang thread to ask a noob question. I have a genuine OEM Window 7 Home Basic that married to my Lenovo lappy. If I wan to install a non-genuine Window 7 Ultimate in my laptop, can I still reinstall my OEM Win 7 Home Basic bac to my laptop in the future if I don wan the non-genuine Win 7 ultimate? There's should be no problem if u want to reinstall your OEM win7 Home Basic once u've install non-genuine win7 Ultimate on your lappy...just make sure u still got that OEM win7 Home Basic disc n' license key.. This post has been edited by amitycox: Nov 6 2012, 04:32 PM
wayne322
Nov 6 2012, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(amitycox @ Nov 6 2012, 04:30 PM) There's should be no problem if u want to reinstall your OEM win7 Home Basic once u've install non-genuine win7 Ultimate on your lappy...just make sure u still got that OEM win7 Home Basic disc n' license key..  Oh..i c,thanks for ur reply. Is it same to OS other than window oso?means like install Linnux then bac to win7 basic..
amitycox
Nov 7 2012, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(wayne322 @ Nov 6 2012, 08:50 PM) Oh..i c,thanks for ur reply. Is it same to OS other than window oso?means like install Linnux then bac to win7 basic.. u're welcome... Yup..,should be no problem bcoz it's just OS.. (i'f i'm not mistaken..) This post has been edited by amitycox: Nov 7 2012, 09:09 AM