what's the PC hardware specs like?, to do 3D with little or no lagging

TSninelives1980
post Feb 23 2006, 03:58 PM, updated 20y ago

680 posts

hmmm....was wondering whether my current setup would be enuf....
it's 2.66 GHz Intel with 512 MB RAM for the moment.
Using an onboard graphics card and sounds card.
if it helps, my board's Intel D915GAV.

fantagero
post Feb 23 2006, 04:08 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

that ok laaa....
if u got money so much.. buy more ram...
GFX card and so on...
wut for high perfomance rig if u r not using it to da max....
huhuuhuuhuhu
goldfries
post Feb 23 2006, 04:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

onboard graphics will be slow.
momochi zabuza
post Feb 23 2006, 06:22 PM

I never think about money, beautiful things make money
719 posts

since u said u using 3d.. i say it is not enuf. u using onboard graphics and ram oly 512.. not enuf la i think.. just my opinion since i hv experienced using fx5200 with 512 ram and ati radeon 960 pro with 1gb ram.. really different.
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 23 2006, 06:42 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

at least get 1 gb RAM to do 3D stuff.

but u can try to use at 512 Ram for a while...

u will see how much important the RAM is in a PC spec.
ndextreme
post Feb 23 2006, 06:44 PM

Retired From Doing Trading !! But Will Shop !!
1,249 posts

As a start ok...............but do grap a AGP Card Soonest Possible..........Intel GMA 900 Extreme Graphics just Sucks..........Even Though it Supports DirectX9..............
ndextreme
post Feb 23 2006, 06:45 PM

1,249 posts

Huh is this topic in the right thread ?
MohdRidhwan
post Feb 23 2006, 11:18 PM

337 posts

6600GT good for 3D/graphic stuff?
TSninelives1980
post Feb 23 2006, 11:38 PM

680 posts

what graphic card do yall recommend?

aww gosh, cos' the last time i saw the top end graphic card was like RM4K.....
blood sucking!

1GB RAM would be okay in terms of pricing, though i would consider putting it to 3GB. heh.

fansoption
post Feb 24 2006, 09:56 AM

3,065 posts

change a graphic card and add more ram 1GB or 2Gb will help,
azxel
post Feb 24 2006, 11:00 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

when using Intel for 3D, turn off hyperthreading. that alone would help double your performance.
night killer
post Mar 5 2006, 06:08 PM

542 posts

wat kind of 3d u wanna do first? if only for modeling i think is okie enough.. if u say wanna do paritcle and another effect .. u should get more memory...
TSninelives1980
post Mar 6 2006, 01:11 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(night killer @ Mar 5 2006, 06:08 PM)
wat kind of 3d u wanna do first? if only for modeling i think is okie enough.. if u say wanna do paritcle and another effect .. u should get more memory...
3D static images and 3D animations like those evident in films.
wat do you suggest for the former and later?

1GB and 3GB of RAM perhaps?

This post has been edited by ninelives1980: Mar 6 2006, 01:12 AM
TearDrop
post Mar 6 2006, 02:14 AM

thriller O_O
984 posts

Get something like mine. I bought this specs specially for CAD and 3D randering. Dosent fails me like my old system do. thumbup.gif

And if you have extra cash to burn, raptors will be great. drool.gif

This post has been edited by TearDrop: Mar 6 2006, 02:15 AM
night killer
post Mar 6 2006, 04:44 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Mar 6 2006, 01:11 AM)
3D static images and 3D animations like those evident in films.
wat do you suggest for the former and later?

1GB and 3GB of RAM perhaps?
for me i think alot my friend doing 3d static image was using old machince to do it.... is okie to do modeling in old pc ... if u say doing films i think will need more ram to render out the video ... 2 or 3g... but remember ram always not enough to do that video thing.. dun expec too high and running smooth for that... tongue.gif
zeist
post Mar 7 2006, 12:14 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I need a upgrade too.

Nowadays 1GB ram is the minimum for designers, especially CS2 versions. Most of my friends also encounter the same problem as you, they are running 512MB ram, yet still having difficulties like slow loading.
TSninelives1980
post Mar 7 2006, 09:06 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(TearDrop @ Mar 6 2006, 02:14 AM)
Get something like mine. I bought this specs specially for CAD and 3D randering. Dosent fails me like my old system do. thumbup.gif

And if you have extra cash to burn, raptors will be great. drool.gif
what's raptors' functions like?

by the way, you've got an external GEForce graphic card there huh?

and wat's really the NForce?

and what are the differences you felt with the more-than-normal 550W of power supply ?

This post has been edited by ninelives1980: Mar 7 2006, 09:14 AM
Rishy
post Mar 7 2006, 12:40 PM

Starry Starry Night...
691 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Feb 23 2006, 11:38 PM)
what graphic card do yall recommend?

aww gosh, cos' the last time i saw the top end graphic card was like RM4K.....
blood sucking!

1GB RAM would be okay in terms of pricing, though i would consider putting it to 3GB. heh.
RM4K for a graphics card ??? i hope it wasnt A card...better be something like SLI 7800GTX's or something...

also, about 3GB...if you have 4 RAM slot..then it should be ok...but if only 3, then some boards dont like all the RAM slots being used up...
ndextreme
post Mar 7 2006, 12:43 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(ninelives1980 @ Feb 23 2006, 03:58 PM)
hmmm....was wondering whether my current setup would be enuf....
it's 2.66 GHz Intel with 512 MB RAM for the moment.
Using an onboard graphics card and sounds card.
if it helps, my board's Intel D915GAV.
Wrong post Bro......................
night killer
post Mar 7 2006, 10:24 PM

542 posts

.... trust me dun buy too expensive card to doing 3D......not really worth it.....

0.0182sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:12 AM