7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University Multimedia University Thread V5, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

chaukeng
post Oct 24 2012, 12:05 AM

2,345 posts

This semester online subject registration is in a mess. So many students can't even take up any slots for those subjects in their course structure. They are not being picky but all the slots made available are full. Some of the subjects the lecturers won't even sign sign for the verification form for the student cause they say its too full already.

One of my class in clc you see students sitting on both sides of the classroom since its too cramped already. The lecturers also said he has never encountered something like this before.

*mmu campus now offers up 30 slots for those beta year students who wants to switch their course to bachelor of banking finance.
chaukeng
post Oct 26 2012, 11:50 AM

2,345 posts

The thing with online subject registration, the way i see why they give 2 separate links for new intake students and also the older students is that

The management knows exactly the number of new intake students, lets say there are 200 of them. Thats why the school allocate 200 slots for them.

Then the older student, we assume there are 800 of them, those within their course structure, which gives us a total of 1000 students and 1000 slots needed. But the management realised there are those students who have to retake, and there are those also who prefer to take subjects not in their course structure, which will compete for places with the older students.

I guessed its alright since the new student, having to adapt to a new life already, will not be able to compete with veterans. The problem lies with those students in the bold part and in this case im not blaming the students.Im putting the blame on the management. It doesn't seems to be a one-off problems, it has been happening for so many years and nothing seems to be changing.

(The students are to blamed if they can't reach the 80 % attendance and have to retake, but the school will do well to adapt to the situation.)

add: Few weeks ago before sem break after the 'alleged raping case' , each time we enter the school we'll have to flash our student ID at the guard( those walking) ,im not complaining bout this but giving it a thumbs up, however they implemented this with only one guard on duty? I saw it myself how cars without stickers are entering the school because the guard can't cope with all the traffics. And before you realise it, they only check on you for one week.

add again: I saw a new guard yesterday at the front gate, a small sized young girl in her early 20's. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

There were a period of time when the school would place a security guard at each of the entrance, not for our safety, but apparently to give fines to students with shorts and slippers. But will the school have done all that for student's safety in mind?

Im not complaning. In fact in understand most probably every private university in Malaysia will be facing exactly the same issues. Thing is, there's really nothing we can do to get our message across?
chaukeng
post Oct 26 2012, 12:23 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 26 2012, 12:12 PM)
I am not taking any sides as I am not affected at all. Let me point out the the security issue, the car not able to enter issue and so on. Everytime something is implemented, there will be a group of students protesting it. I dont see the Dress Code summons will work either. Yes, I blame this on the security dept as I am all for the rules to be enforce strictly!

Now, have a look at this scenario. Some of the student are 'brave' enough to defy the traffic and parking rules, not imposed by MMU but by MBMB / POlice traffic, so I dont expect they will even blink an eye with MMU security. Just the other day I was navigating my car along the straight path leading to MMU main gate and a student opened his car door even though he already see me. I had to do emergency brake. So these are the generations that are openly SELFISH and dont care.

Next is on the Dress Code, half of the populations are againts it, but another half are complaining that the students are underdressed. Sorry I had to use this word but it is the exact same word emailed to the President by one of the student. So what should the management in this case? But a more important question is, what are the students doing? Just ask yourself, it is appropriate to wear sneakers/slippers/short pants to a UNIVERSITY?

Damn, just week 1 and I already came across 3 couples holding hands openly in MMU! I wanted to reprimand then but worried they will say it's because I am jealous  laugh.gif
Talking about underdressed. My lecturer told us she saw one female students who were taking her final exam last semester almost has her breast dropped out from her t-shirt... doh.gif

Its not appropriate. I tried to adapt myself by wearing long pants and shoes but its so so not comfortable...Especially this 2 weeks where we have so many things to do and normally the workers will be asking you to go FBL then ACR then FBL then CLC then security then bac FBL.... rclxub.gif

There seems to be alot of issues which requires ironing out and there should be a third parties society or what to act as the in between of the school and the students. But each post i saw from SRC are actually copy paste announcement in bulletin board. rclxub.gif
chaukeng
post Oct 26 2012, 01:23 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(rachellub @ Oct 26 2012, 12:30 PM)
correction, we new intakes are facing problems too with the online subject registration.
and all the staffs say is : you cannot always depend on manual, you have to check from time to time online.
yea right ! even lecturers tell us to get the manual registration form because the online one sucks
Ya if you checked online from time to time you will realise for the past few days there are alot of new slots being offered for students.
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:03 AM

2,345 posts

You expect top quality stuff from the students. Understandably so. It takes that much quality to survive nowadays. But in turn we also hope for top quality stuff from the school.
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:18 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 01:10 AM)
unfortunately, the school may not be composed of all top quality people. so what can you do in this instance? just channel it to the right person, dean, head of department and so on. when i was a student, i always get my message across because i channel it to the proper channel and highlight my problem objectively.
There you have it. There are so many students out there and quality one are only few and far between. The thing is, this issues isn't new to anyone in the school. Everyone knows it. But no one is there fix it.

We found something bad with the management, something which can be easily improved on, we are asked to live with it. But when something bad were found against us. We are dealt with sternly.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 28 2012, 01:22 AM
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:33 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 01:22 AM)
Due to high no of barred students, many are not following the structure That is why the situation this trimester is bad. To solve this problem, need action from students to make sure they pass and not taking juniors seat. So do you see the problem and solution now?

Added on October 28, 2012, 1:24 amchonology for kailoon. i can heart attack asking him to track the post.
i only see that the school have a list of those students failing the sbjects. Lets say they only take 2 weeks to mark the paper and key in all the results into the system. Then those students who has failed any of the subjects, say moral studies, then within the next 3 days or so they have to go online and fill up a form confirming that they want to retake the subject next semester. Then the school can prepare for the extra slot according to the number of requests received. If the students don't send in the form, then they can't register for that subject.

As for those who are still in with a chance with supplementary, just reserve the extra slot for them first in case they they have to retake. It only requires more effort from the management in data accumulating to avoid the problem of student exceeding time slot.

I mean they knew it. They know last semester alot of people have to retake because of their attendance. Don't tell me they don't see it coming. They just feel it doesn't kill even if the students are asked to register manually.

How on earth is the system is still acceptable when the lecturers are also scolding what the f... what the f.... at the system? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 28 2012, 01:35 AM
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:40 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 01:33 AM)
which part on the bad management tht you are asked to live with it?
The fact that nothing has changed shows it? tongue.gif

I don't know lah. I just felt that having 2 classes with one exceeding capacity by 70 and another one by 100 is ridiculous. Its either they are really so imcompetence to find a solution or they don't feel a need to do so.
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:45 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 01:40 AM)
the thing is, all the subjects are according to trimesters and cant be simply opened up. we are talking about facilities and teaching staffs that need to be distributed according to the trimester plan here. cannot simply offer or open subjects, and the uni is not obliged to offer you the subject when it is not according to the approved schedule.

the lecturer who is not able to control himself/herself and used deragotary words in front of students is shame. pm me his/her name and i can see it is dealt with.
Then they shouldn't received so many new students in the first place.

Don't do that. He/she stops with the sentence at the f... and says sorry afterwards. And he/she did that in the office. So nothing serious here. And he/she is a very good lecturer to me. Strict but at an acceptable level.

P/S: There's no ending here cause we are coming from different directions. But still appreciate the school lah. You wouldn't know how bad other Uni are unless you went to others before. Last week i called and contact almost all the departments in Segi University and none of them can tell me where can i get a copy of subject outline for moral studies. (I needed it for exemption). Imagine I have to drive there next week not knowing who should i approach now.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 28 2012, 01:49 AM
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 01:57 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 01:48 AM)
the intake this year is much lower compared to last year and the year before, trust me on this. this means that the uni now is bloated with students not following the course structure. and when the problem occurs at beta/gamma level, bottleneck happens.

Added on October 28, 2012, 1:52 am
lol, stop editing and adding to your post, just create a new one..people might miss it  tongue.gif
Alright just wants to avoid spamming.

Btw the only chinese stuff in the school i've seen is the one working in FBL office. He was there when i have meeting with dean. He was there for orientation briefing. And he is always there for verification. Seems quite a good guy. Any relationship with him? biggrin.gif
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 02:10 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:01 AM)
see la, i ask you to enrol according to post #4 and you ignore me, now i dont know which faculty are you from.

ok FBL, i thought there are many chinese in that faculty?

you meeting with dean? so big fish edy!

too bad i am not him, am not a good guy lol

Added on October 28, 2012, 2:01 amold man?
haha i forgot the format. Ya and now you remind me of another issues. I sent an email to the dean of FBL and vice president also if im not mistaken. Regarding my class request for the school to offer banking finance for october intake student. Then to my surprise the dean replied my email and offered to have a meeting with us. shocking.gif

So our request if firmly rejected. However,last monday they called one of my friend's friend from CDP saying they offer another 30 slots for B and F. Asking those interested to apply. So we rush to get all our documents ready and submit, before realising on wednesday that the slot is only available for Diploma to degree students/

I know there may be appropriate reasoning behind this decision but i need to know why. I felt very unjust not knowing why foundation student can't apply. At least if i know the reason i will be happier. laugh.gif

Not old man. But he is the only one chinese visible to the student.

EDIT: Chaukeng / Marketing / Beta / Melaka

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 28 2012, 02:13 AM
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 02:18 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:13 AM)
if i follow your post correctly, i assume that it is because it is according to CDP structure as you mentioned offer another slot, while for foundation it has to add something which is not existance at the first place.
But supposedly CDP they also don't offer any slots for B and F (October intakes). They are not offering extra slots as in there were already slots opened for them (my bad). Which means they said in the meeting they are not offering any B and F slots for october intake students. Be it diploma or foundation. And now they suddenly opened up 30 slots exclusively for diploma students. rclxub.gif

I want B and F. Very nice starting pay in public bank. drool.gif
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 02:20 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:13 AM)
if i follow your post correctly, i assume that it is because it is according to CDP structure as you mentioned offer another slot, while for foundation it has to add something which is not existance at the first place.

Added on October 28, 2012, 2:15 am
sounds like a PR manager lol

visible, but there are many more staffs regardless of race doing alot of background work too  smile.gif
You said you dealt with students alot so i don't think you are background stuff. whistling.gif
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 02:24 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:19 AM)
hmm, maybe you should ask the dean again the reason. first trimester mostly common subjects? not possible to change major to BF later?
We need to finish 3 semesters first sicne there's a pre-requisite subjects in the third semester. Never mind lah later he meeting again. And they said even after one year the priority will still be given to those new students first. If there's any extra slots after that then we can try to apply. with a minimum cgpa of 3.33 for beta year.
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 02:32 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:26 AM)
get within first class range and you will have a strong case.

when you joined MMU, you memang want BF or just recently?
Try. tongue.gif Even my foundation also no first class. Midway during the first semester i made up my mind for banking finance because of the jobs prospective. I will be working in my hometown in Muar after i graduate. So to me working with public bank with a starting pay of RM2800 is a very good offer for me. If im taking marketing it will most likely be 2000-2200 for my place here.
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 11:26 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 02:35 AM)
i know pb staffs get good fat bonus! but their credit card sucks  tongue.gif

what is a marketing job like? my mind tend to relate it to promoter/sales person
Good fat bonus? Not bad... drool.gif

Added on October 28, 2012, 11:28 am
QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Oct 28 2012, 02:48 AM)
off topic..
who here already uses Windows 8?
going to buy tomorrow,
promotion RM50
Can buy in malaysia already? Not bad it seems very good.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 28 2012, 11:28 AM
chaukeng
post Oct 28 2012, 08:14 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(freakyleon93 @ Oct 28 2012, 04:44 PM)
hey, anyone knows when is the next Hari bersama Ptptn Mmu 2012? Is it around december?
The stuff told me its at the end of November. Get ready your documents with verification first.
chaukeng
post Oct 29 2012, 12:23 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 28 2012, 11:06 PM)
slack part is cannot use current digi no, with 300 credits in it..ya for sure HV RRP but see got what free gift or installement. Buying at SEP, free gift out of stock.

alright thanks, will google what is NFC chip lol...
You want to buy galaxy note 2? When my stock arrives i can pm you my price. Sure cheapest in Melaka. haha. Original set. biggrin.gif

Ei serious one leh...
chaukeng
post Oct 29 2012, 12:30 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 29 2012, 12:27 AM)
what????? you selling h/p now?  sweat.gif

yeah why not..pm me the price and if possible ori flip case and sp free biggrin.gif <-- time to test your marketing skill

but no guarantee will buy la coz i very kiasu might buy from senq, harvey norman or SEP coz easy to contact the boss if something go wrong
No problem im just helping out my boss. Last time i worked part time for him. i Have been selling to my friends for quite some times ady. Will quote you the price as soon as they inform me.

chaukeng
post Oct 29 2012, 12:38 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Oct 29 2012, 12:35 AM)
Abang, S2 how much now?  tongue.gif
Including warranty 1year?
Sorry abang, dun buy S2 from me. I don't know why also my S2 price so high.haha. tongue.gif

RM1299 include one year SME warranty.

Added on October 29, 2012, 12:40 am
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 29 2012, 12:32 AM)
alright, thanks!

no wonder students nowadays so kaya everytime change h/p..i need to find a part time job too
Im not kaya i also buy 2nd hand one from lowyat. cry.gif

and i can never afford a note 2...

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Oct 29 2012, 12:40 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0400sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:28 AM